223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Chautauqua Lake KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (716) 386-3804
CGID1943

Chautauqua Lake KOA

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$63



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   9   8   8   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$63
We stayed in a full hook up back in site that is very large and had a great view of the lake. Fantastic sunset! We stayed during the week and after "the season," so very few people in the park. Plenty of space on grass behind our trailer for all of us to enjoy the view without being overly close to other guests. We opted for the view with no trees, but shaded sites were available. Sites are gravel for rigs and fairly level, and surrounded by grass. Staff escorts to site and helps with back in. This is a very large KOA with perhaps half the sites occupied by seasonal units. Grounds were very well kept and clean. WiFi good. Price includes $16 for two additional adults--basic rate covers only 2 adults. Also reflects KOA membership discount. We would definitely stay again, but not during the busy season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
We have stayed here a couple of times and love it. The owners clearly care about their campers and their park. Everything was clean and neat. The bathrooms were spotless and modern. The sites were some of the biggest we have stayed in. The sunset--stunning. We took a dinner cruise on the lake on the advice of the owner, and it was great. Our pups loved the large Kamp K9 run around area. Fantastic stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
The grounds are beautiful, with mature trees, level gravel sites and multiple, well-appointed and modern bathhouses. This is a large park with views of the nearby lake from some sites. This is a large, fairly new park that appears to provide a seasonal vacation getaway for many, as there are a large number of park-model type homes, and a large number of RVs of many types with permanent decks, patios and storage sheds, all of which were in good repair. The wifi was free and the signal was strong at our site. The only negative we found was the shower in the unisex bathroom we used. The shower head projected from the high ceiling and directed the water to a spot about 6 feet high on the back wall of the shower. We couldn't adjust the stream because we couldn't reach the shower head. Tall people might be okay using that shower but one of us is only 5' 3" and it wasn't okay. Also, the showers are closed for cleaning from 8 to 10 AM, which is inconvenient for many transients that aren't early risers. All in all, a very nice park, but like most KOAs, the price is higher than the value given. The park was very convenient to the area we visited, so we'd stay there again and just choose a different shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
We enjoyed our stay here. The owners were friendly and always out and about in the campground. The upper sections of the campground are older and mostly filled with seasonals, some well maintained, others pretty run down. We stayed in the lower section, specifically the K row. The sites in this area are fairly new and quite large with a gravel parking area for both your camping unit and extra car. All the lots in the lower sections are grassy, although there is not much shade. The lower sections are quite a walk from the pool, playground, store, etc., but owners are willing to pick you up on the golf cart. This campground is a convenient for visiting the Lake Erie Wine Trail and the many state parks in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Concur with previous poster; however, we had no power issues. Very nice KOA. New sites have no shade but they did have some available shaded sites. Odd thing about the park is the pool and office are near all the seasonals while the short termers are a long distance away. But I saw the staff ferrying families to the pool on golf carts. They strictly enforce visitor policies including extra charges. Easy in/out for big rigs. Camp WiFi worked okay and Verizon worked great on 4G. Price shown is holiday rate before KOA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$47
Big warning: DO NOT use mapquest directions to find this place, simply STAY on 430 north off of I-86 and take towards Dewittville. Big bright KOA sign on the right, just before you reach town. Super friendly host and guides to site, and though the in and out sites had no landscaping and just located in an open field, we had a nice glancing view of the lake and a nice wide site. Bath house was super clean and looked very modern and almost spa like. Individual restroom/shower area with all the amenities. Only bad thing, as it did not go with the quality, was the push button shower (which does not bother me much) but the no way to adjust temperature was not appreciated. Way too hot. The other bad thing was the electric hookup pedestal. The 50 amp hookup kept tripping our surge protector until it got so hot, we could not use power at all. Finally, let it cool and used our adaptor to hookup to the 30 amp and was fine. Called the office to have them check it, but not sure what the outcome was after we left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
The park had only been open for a few days but it was immaculate. There is no doubt the owners care about their campground. The view of the lake/valley is magnificent. Our site was clean, level and all utilties worked fine. WiFi was good. The bathrooms are spotless and modern. Security was evident and appreciated. A fantastic place and we can't wait to get back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
Wi-Fi .58 up, .51 down. Strongest signal in the pool area. Signal is reliable from campsite, but slow. ATT phone full bars and 3G faster than Wi-Fi. Rate is for two adults and two 12 year olds with full hookups. If more KOA's were like this we'd be in KOA system. Wonderful site on heights on NE shore of lake with grand view of lake. Very peaceful and quiet. Wooded. Very clean pool kept at nice temperature. The entire place is kept clean. Easy access to sites. Pull through for transients like us. Mostly long term, seasonal folks most in "campers" that never move. Very helpful, friendly staff. Very caring about the park and their guests. This is a unique park. It is it's own destination and close to places fun to visit, too. From 10 subtract nothing. +1 exceptional helpfulness, +1 clean, +1 site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$60
We camped here on closing weekend. Many seasonal sites were closing up. Most of the sites were empty, but what a beautiful time of year. Hosts were super friendly, and kids enjoyed the playground area. Wish this campground was closer to where I worked, I would probably book a seasonal site here. Easy to access sites, quiet area, great sky view, though little shade where we were (not that it was needed in October). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$44
This was our first time here at Chautauqua Lake KOA. We like the KOA's. Beautiful time of year to visit with the beautiful overlook to Lake Chautauqua. The only complaint would be that there were too many seasonal around which made us feel a bit out of place. Everyone was VERY friendly. The staff was OK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
First year under KOA banner; rate paid this year then discounted by my KOA membership; very friendly-helpful registration; went out of way to be sure I had a site per my specific needs; staff very responsive when power service box had one 20 amp circuit not working and my toad battery drained, so they came and 'jumped' it to get it out of road; newer section opened and we were in an older, but shaded (w/o cable TV) site but a 'bit' of a walk to the shower house compared to when we stayed here last year under its previous name on an unshaded concrete pad. Easy drive around Chautauqua Lake to Mayville, State Parks, Jamestown, NY, the Chautauqua Institution, Lily Dale Assembly and other lake resort communities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We love it here! Heaven forbid a campground have rules so everyone has an enjoyable time. This is a beautiful park and we always stay in the weekender loop. The new "Camp Read-a-Lot" activity program is wonderful a program for our daughters. Everything has always been more than up to par here: from the sites to the restrooms to the pool and playground. Plus we always take the girls to Midway and Bemus Point for enjoyable afternoons. Bottom line is we feel safe here. We've been to other campgrounds that are extremely noisy and nothing was enforced. We will continue to camp here for a long time! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
The owner of this camp has a personality issue. WOW the best part of this weekend was when we aproached the gate to leave. All reviews point towards this. They only cater to the overpriced seasonals, and treat the weekend warriors like garbage. Will not stay again, there are too many nice campgrounds and only a few nice weekends a year so don't waste them here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
After two phone calls to this campground, one to make a reservation and one to re-book it, we decided to suck up the $39 and camp anywhere else. Why are these people in the hospitality business? I have never talked with a nastier person in a campground. When I called to make a reservation the woman on the phone told me she couldn't make a reservation over the phone, that I would have to e-mail. She relented, but then told me she couldn't send me a confirmation because she couldn't do e-mail. Later that day I received an e-mail telling me she couldn't e-mail me. Huh? And all of it very nasty. When we needed to re-book because of some trouble with our rig she was even nastier. I'll spare you the details of that encounter. We don't care how nice this campground is... it could be inside the Pearly Gates, but we will never camp here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
We left another camp ground and came to this one. We stayed in the Deer Run section for weekenders. The park was absolutely beautiful; clean, well maintained, with spacious sites. There were a few rowdy neighbors and the owners quieted them for us. Who wants noise at 1:30 in the morning when you are getting up to fish at 5 AM. The store is well stocked and the facilities were spotless. Even the bathrooms were spotless. I noticed the owners cleaning them many times throughout the day. What a wonderful place to be for a family! The playground looks like new and appears to be very safe for our children. We just loved it and were glad we left the other park. We were also accommodated on very short notice. We will be back! Thanks for a great vacation! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This place had way too many rules. When inquiring for space for 12 families, they should tell us this is not a place for groups. We have been camping as a group for 11 years now, and this is the first place we were told to be quiet. In the evening is understandable, but being told this at 3pm is a bit ridiculous. My son, who is twice the size of me, was also told he could not use the bathroom by himself, after 10pm, because we don't know who is lurking in the woods. He is of "legal age" to babysit other children and should be able to us the bathroom on his own. We, our group, will not be coming back, and we will discourage anybody else we know, not to come here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We have been coming to Chautauqua Heights for 4 years and absolutely Love this camp ground. The bathrooms are ALWAYS clean and the pool is crystal clear. It is a family oriented park that keeps the comfort of all its campers in mind. The owners bend over backwards to accommodate you with whatever request you may have. Yes they do have rules at this camp ground, it is NOT for party animals who enjoy staying up until the wee hours of the morning disturbing other campers. We were in the Deer Run area over the Memorial Day weekend and the owners had to be called down to quite a extremely rowdy group who were disturbing the other campers, they handled this with as much tact as one could possibly expect! I would highly recommend this camp ground for a terrific family experience! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We have been camping at Chautauqua Heights for 13 years and have always found it to be the best of the best. Both owners are friendly, helpful and the place is so quiet. My daughters, 4 and 6, just love "Miss Anita" who colors and plays games with them. The store is always stocked with the the best variety of things and great things for the girls. The pool, bathrooms and grounds are spotless. We have camped for years and the Deer Run area at Chautauqua Heights is absolutely wonderful. The sites are large, and well maintained. You couldn't ask for a better place to be. Last weekend (Memorial Day 2007), I was extremely thankful to the owners who quieted a large group of people at 1:30 in the morning when my girls were sleeping. Thanks for the rules. They are there for the benefit of all of us who camp at Chautauqua Heights. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Beautiful campground. But the bathrooms and the showers were dirty. We had a group of 12 families and on an afternoon we were told that while playing a bean bag toss game that we were too loud. A large group of 24 adults and 15 children in any given one area, will make noise. I should not say noise, laughter. The pool was warm but dirty, one guest found a nail in the pool. Owner was very rude and nasty. We all understand that rules are necessary but at least use a little tact while enforcing them. I don't need to be told many times that the owner is a school teacher, we were not one of her students. Would love to go back once the campground changes ownership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
Great new view of the lake. Big wooded sites in the weekender's loop. We appreciate the 11 pm quite time enforcement. I camp to have fun with my children and to develop a closer relationship with them, not to hear people party all night. There are lots of opportunities in the campground and around the lake for family activities. We camp here every year and have no problem with the rules. If you like to party all night or have a problem with basic rules of common courtesy and family values, then this is not the campground for you. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
I just have to say that this was a nice campground however, it definitely was not ON the lake, try four miles away. It definitely was not meant for the weekender. The owners make it quite clear that they are not interested in dealing with or having weekenders there or children for that matter. They were rude and mean to us throughout our stay this past labor day weekend 05. They never once ran any type of activities so as far as some of the other reviews that were made in the past...none of those positive things are going on now. However all of the negative things that were said in the above reviews in that past, are still holding true. ALL OF IT!!!! All of those things happened with us and the owners. We went with seven families and rented seven sites plus a cottage rental and a lux Cabin. You would think the owners would have been a little bit hospitable to us. Not one bit. We understood that there were plenty of rules, policies and everything else that this Owner wanted to make sure that we knew of. However it was her approach and the way she talked to all of us and the kids that was not acceptable nor should we have tolerated it but we did for the sake of our children not seeing us get upset with an angry old women. The owners clearly are there for there seasonal money and as far as the weekender that is just side money and your just paying someone to be rude to you! Please if you are considering going to this campsite, DON'T waste your money! I am telling you those things written above complementing the place were definitely written either by seasonal or relatives/employee of the campsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
They are not driven towards families or kids at all. They are very protective of the campground and did very little other than remind you of the rules. Adult supervision was required even for the kids to use the restrooms after dark. They are not weekender friendly I will not go there again. We had 7 families there over a labor day weekend. I never met such unfriendly hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$?
My family and I camped here two times in July of '04. I have 4 children that range in age from 17 to 3. I don't understand the mixed reviews on this campground? We camped in the "deer run" area, I guess that is were the non-seasonal types are put. It was great. The Area was like a state park,(wooded sights) but the restrooms and pool were close. The Bathrooms were not bad and the pool was great. I do know from talking to other campers that the woman that manages it, or owns it (or both) is a stickler on the rules. We had no problem with that. There were no kids roaming in large groups at night, no minibikes, no NASCAR racing in golf carts, etc... We did have a loud neighbor over the 4th of July weekend, but the manager handled it without us asking. All of the "family campers" were very pleased because when we get the kids to sleep it quiet time for Mom and Dad. We have camped in everything from private owner to KOA's from Ontario to Texas and if you are looking for a western NY campground to spend a few days in this one is great. There ARE a lot of seasonals but we made friends with several of them. If you want a Quiet, family campground this is nice, if you're looking for a late night party place you'll be diapapointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Having camped for over 40 years in tents, trailers and cabins, throughout New York State, I consider myself to be an "experienced" camper. This past Labor Day Weekend, my wife and I had the pleasure of tent camping along with my cousin and her husband, in adjoining sites), at the Chautauqua Heights Camping Resort. This was among the most enjoyable camping outings we ever experienced. In fact, it was our first outing,in a tent,in many years since our children grew up and have gone in their own directions. I had almost forgotten what a wonderful feeling it was to sleep outdoors, enjoy a late night campfire, cook over a fire and yet enjoy the amenities and conveniences provided by this campground. We found the campground facilities to be extremely clean and the camp store well equipped and very reasonably priced. The swimming pool and playground areas were very clean and were filled with children throughout the weekend. The pool was well supervised for safety. The sites were quiet, owing to the discretely managed and enforced rules of the owners and the respect exhibited by our co-campers. Lake Chautauqua is a stones throw away from the campground and Long Point State Park is within 5 minutes by car offering a beach, picnicing and boat launch. Area restaurants are plentifull and good. We can't wait for next year and the opportunity to camp at the Chautauqua Heights Camping Resort again!! PS: This past weekend, October 3rd, we were at Long Point State Park and ran into another couple that had also camped at Chautauqua Heights over Labor Day weekend. They expressed having the same wonderful experience, as we had, and noted that they too couldn't wait to return next summer. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$30
I can perhaps explain the wildly vacillating reviews of this park. We had reservations there several weeks ago because we could not find this location on RVParkReviews, and took the Trailer Life rating. After we discovered it was in DeWittville, NY, we went back to RVParkReviews, found it and saw the first two reviews, and called to cancel our reservations. The owner, asked why we were cancelling and we told her she got bad reviews on RVParkReviews, and we would not stay there based on that. She was very upset, and called me back twice, once to get the web address of RV Park Reviews, and once to tell me that she was going to get some of her happy campers to submit reviews. Seems that she did because she got three 10s in a row. Unfortunately, the next camper (over labor day), confirmed the first two reviews which said it was lousy, and basically said the same thing as the first two reviews. It is likely that this campground owner "stacked" the reviews with friends or permanents. I gave them a 5 ranking because I did not actually stay there! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Right from the start my wife and children felt not welcomed at this campground. Being Labor Day weekend and wanting to start out early we called on Thursday afternoon to see if we could check in early only to be told that there would be an extra fee for early check in. I guess that you pay by the hour at this park. As I checked in the park my wife and children went to view the pool only to repremanded by the owner for not signing into the pool area. They were standing inside the gate for less than 2 minutes. They advertise lakefront. You can see the lake, no access. Bathrooms were filthy all weekend long. They were cleaned only one time each day by the end of each day they were gross. I read all reviews prior to our stay. I disreguarded the negative ones because the others outweighed them. As I see it now the three positive reviews were writtten by family members or seasonal owners from the campground. How else would you know the name of the owners (actual names were removed by webmaster in above posts). They never introduced themselves to my family. All they did was act like fools that is who I assumed were the owners. I don't like being negative, but do yourself a favor and stay somwhere else. They will survive with all their seasonal renters who don't like weekenders. Disgusted We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Chautauqua Heights is a well run, well maintained campground. Security is better than most campgrounds that I have been in. The management was very cordial and did their best to make us feel welcome. We enjoyed our stay there very much and would recommend Chautauqua Heights to any level camper from the tenter to the motor home owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$18
We highly recommend this campground for seasonal or week-enders. We recently enjoyed 3 days there and found the grounds to be very well maintained and clean and owners very accommodating to all needs. We have stayed in many campgrounds in most of the 50 states and would rate this a 10. We have a Motorhome and we are two senior adults. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$33
After camping at Chautauqua Heights Camping Resort for three years running, I still consider this the best RV park that I visit on a regular basis. I am a professional Vendor for RV rallies and travel over the entire US and visit many different Parks over a years time. This park has owners that are concerned for the safety, comfort and enjoyment of our RV experience. They patrol the park at 10 each evening, making sure the rest rooms are clean and ready for the next day. They also make sure that the kids are on their own sites and the noise is not going to bother the neighbors. It is always a pleasent experience to visit New York and stay at the Resort. This year we had rain almost every day of our five day stay and it was still very enjoyable. Owners are doing a great job keeping a good balance between seasonal and overnight residents. Chautauqua Heights is a definite stop for anyone looking for a great RV place to stay! Keep up the great work owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Owner does a wonderful job keeping things in order. I like the fact that when I do decide to go to bed that I won't need to deal with loud neighbors keeping us up all night or unsupervised kids running around. This is the only place we camp. Great sites, great area, great atmosphere, great people. Owner really goes out of her way to have planned activities for the kids or a potluck dinner/breakfast from time to time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$39
This place is anti-weekender! The seasonal people will do everything possible to make you not feel welcome! When I checked in I was told that my concrete pad site probably had water on it so I would have to sweep it off because they had swept it off once already and it rained again!! This was just the start! Like the other review said, check in and out of the pool and God forbid if you didn't sign out!! One of the older kids (16) went to use the restroom which was about 50 yds. from our site after 10 PM and was met at the door and told "get back to your site and bring a parent with you if you have to come here!" They also advertise "1/2 mile from the lake" what they don't tell you is there is no way to get to the lake. This weekend started bad and ended worse! NEVER AGAIN!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$39
If you are a weekender or looking to stay a week this is not the place. The park is largely populated with seasonal renters and they do not want you there and let you know that from the start. The ownership also does not want you there and cater only to the seasonals. The bathrooms and showers were filthy, we didn't see a cleaning crew come through the entire long weekend. The pool was dirty and you have to sign into the pool and out even to take your child to the restroom. The owner also makes the children get out of the pool and checks the sign in book to see if all have properly signed in. The residents patrol the grounds at night with walkie talkies so it leads me to believe that they have had some trouble although they will not talk about it. It is nowhere near the lake, you can't see it, and the nearest access to it, is by car. If you are visiting I recommend Camp Chautauqua in Stow New York, clean, on the lake, and very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com