218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Brook N Wood Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (518) 537-6896
CGID1945

Brook N Wood Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   6   8   8   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
This rate includes the Passport America discount on 4 of the 7 nights we stayed. Very nice campground with extremely friendly owners and staff. They answer any questions you have and will give lots of great suggestions on tourist attractions. The campsites are extremely spacious, there is a lot of space between RVs which gives a nice sense of yard. The wifi worked great during the week but slowed down during the weekend when it was more crowded in the campground. There a large field to walk your dogs and a nature path near the brook. The campground is about 10-12 minutes from Red Hook and 20 minutes from Rhinebeck. The campground does have a visitor's fee for anyone who comes to visit you, even if they don't use any of the facilities (pool, minigolf, playground). Also our pad was a mix of gravel and dirt but with all the rain, the pad was a bit soft and we found our leveling jacks/boards were slowly sinking into the pad. We had to re-level about every 3 days to compensate. Overall we were extremely happy with this campground and would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Rate is for Passport America. We stayed here for one night on our way to Canada. The campsite was clean and had lots of room. We used the restroom near our camper. It was old, but clean. The lady checking us in was very helpful. We would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Positives: 1) The camp owners, are fantastic people. They are very friendly and helpful. 2) The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. There are very nice shaded and "tree-free" sites (for satellite users). 3) There is a very nice, heated, and well-maintained swimming pool. 4) Full recycling facilities are available throughout the camp (hard to find at most RV parks). Negatives: 1) The main gravel road leading into the camp is full of deep potholes that were impossible to avoid. Even at the slowest speeds, they really bounced our truck and fifth wheel around. 2) The camp is borderline big rig accessible. It was very tough maneuvering our 43' fifth wheel through the camp's dips and curves without bottoming out or scraping against trees. The owner is very willing to help you with this process, and I would recommend taking him up on his offer. 3) WiFi was weak and pretty much inaccessible in the 50 amp service section of the park. 4) Water pressure was adequate, but low (did not exceed 30 psi in the 50 amp service section of the camp). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
The rate was Passport for 4 days and 1 night regular rate = $33/night average. The campground is very spacious (62 acres for about 120 sites). We stayed on the "hill" and the sites were huge. The owner was very nice and helpful. The hook ups and cable were good; however the water, but neat and clean. The laundry and recreation room were lacking. Both laundry and recreation room needed maintenance badly. It appeared as though no money had been reinvested in those two facilities.The campground is very convenient to Hudson, which was very nice as we were visiting relatives. All in all, we would stay here again, but hope to see improvements made to some of the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Pleasant, friendly campground. Mostly level, roomy, grass only sites. Some shaded. Planned activity for children and miniature golf, paved basketball court and playground. Friendly, helpful staff. Touring in area includes Hudson Valley homes of F.D.R, artists Thomas Cole and Frederick Church and the Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome vintage aircraft museum and airshow. Good TV cable and WiFi. Although somewhat pricy, a good place to stay in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We spent 2 weeknights in late September here in a 33 foot rig at a full-hookup site (electric, water and sewer). Since we were here very late in the season and it rained on both days, we didn’t have a chance to get a good sense of campground life. However, we can report this: very friendly, helpful owners. Had lots of information about the area in the camp store; discovered that FDR’s home was nearby. That was a great adventure for a rainy day. Clean, well kept campground. We were on a site high on a hill; adequate room. Had a big open space for dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Rate reflects the Passport America rate. I am used to paying way less for sites out in the country. The campground is very nice and well cared for. Many seasonals, but most were empty all week. The road on the way in could use some work on the potholes. We arrived July 5th. The voltage was only about 110V. I think if the campground had been full and everyone was using their a/c there could have been a problem. The whole transient area was almost empty the rest of the week so the power wasn't an issue. We were told by a seasonal resident that there was some sort of a electrical problem over the 4th of July weekend when the c/g was full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This is a Passport America park with a friendly, helpful staff. Instead of the lists of "Don't do this", their list is "Do this for happy camping". Many seasonals, all well kept. Great variety of sites. Fairly close to Hudson Valley historical attractions. We will go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$46
This is one of the better privately run parks we have seen. It was quiet, clean, well appointed and with many family activities. Even the seasonals are clean and tidy. Sites are fairly well spaced, level and easily accessible by our large motor home. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Nice CG with ample room between sites. The electric and water are good. Bath houses are very dated and somewhat clean. Nice owners until you exceed the speed limit of 5 mph. Because it is very dusty here you will not be able to keep your rig clean. All sites are 30amp except for a few 50amps near the seasonal sites. The Seasonals are very friendly. A good family park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$51
Stayed here 4 nights a had a great time. The owners appear to work around the clock to keep the campground immaculate. The grass is well-trimmed, the roads (dirt) scraped and watered to keep the dust down. We stayed on "the hill" (site O-11) and that put us right at the side of the huge dog-walk area. We didn't have any trouble with Verizon cell service or 3G internet service. The owners are great and would do anything to help you. The campground is close to several towns with grocery stores and services, and it's about 30 minutes from the Rhinecliff Amtrak station that gets you straight to NYC Penn Station. No complaints at all and we'll definitely stay again when we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$61
This was a lovely, peaceful campground. While wifi is available it is NOT available at all sites (ours on the hill near the entrance included). I would have rated this a 9, BUT we asked for a pull through so we would not have to disconnect our tow trailer (preferably 50 amp) and that is where we were - 50 amp pull through. When I went to the office later during our stay to ask if we'd received our Passport America discount I was assured we did; it was then that I found out we'd been charged an extra $10. night for our trailer - no electric, no water was needed, but because we "took up a space" in an empty field we were charged an additional fee. We were never notified of this ahead of time and I am not so sure that we'd stay here again as $61 a night is a bit much. With all that said the campground was quite nice, peaceful and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
It took a little while to find but was well worth the trip. The owners were extremely friendly & stopped to ask how things were going each day. The sites were amazingly large, well kept & hook ups were well placed. We enjoyed our stay & are planning to return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$54
This is probably the best bet on the east side of the Hudson River for anyone visiting the area since it can handle just about any size rig. The 50 Amp sites are on a hill that you pass as you drive to check in, so a little backtracking is required after registering. Pet owners note - you will be required to present current rabies certificates for your pets. Sites on the hill were good size, especially the patio area. Close to the camp store the sites are smaller and seem to have a lot of seasonal campers. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful - excellent recommendations for local restaurants. Price, while high for grass back-in sites, was competitive with others in the area and they do honor Passport America (which is 50% off what we paid) for non-weekend, non-holiday nights). Wifi on the hill was too weak for a reliable signal. We will stay here again when visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$50
This campground may be OK in a pinch, but it's a long loooong way from a 10, or even an 8, in my opinion. I wonder if the previous raters have ever stayed in a really nice park. A rating of 6 is generous. On the plus side, yes the spaces are wide. And if you like all grass the campground is all grass. On the other side, we didn't find the host very friendly; you could barely get him to talk--he just ignored us--I would say the man is customer-relations impaired, and views his customers as a burden he must put up with. Speed bumps are frequent and badly made, and will jar your teeth out even at the 5 mph speed limit. The grass is mowed without collecting clippings, and the clippings were impossible to keep out of the RV--they got everywhere and we had to sweep up constantly. We looked at the bathhouses/latrines and they appeared very dilapidated. Most of the trailers are seasonals. On the whole, not a great park; I suggest one should seek other options in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
You might find friendlier owners but I don't know where. The Mrs. gave me directions on the cell to get there, checked me in gave me all the tourist site info we needed and then her husband took us to our site, guided me back in and even went and got a saw as a tree branch was barely touching one of our slides! That's how you run a campground! GREAT customer service. The site was huge, all the hook-ups were to the rear, which wasn't a problem for us but our host offered to get me a TV cable, sewer hose or whatever we needed to hook-up if ours wouldn't reach. They reached fine. But his offer was in my opinion a gesture from someone who is trying to make his customers vacation as stress free as possible and that did not go unnoticed. Wide dirt roads, our site was all grass which was nice. Beautiful scenery. Older park but nice. It rained hard all night but the next morning there was no mud. Great people, great place. Would stay again no question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
We camped here 4th of July weekend. My kids loved the activities. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Sites were big even though they were not very shady and private. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
Very nice park with quite a few seasonals. Unlike many parks parks however, we didn't notice any of the seasonal trailers in a run down state. All were well kept and there was plenty of green space. Lots of room to maneuver in the upper area but lower area seemed a little more cramped. Hookups are well located and park was very clean. Camp store has only the barest of necessities. Owners were friendly and quite helpful and made our stay enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
Not a bad little campground, a great launching point to see the sights of the Hudson Valley. The new owner has done a lot of work here and continues to improve on the years of neglect from the previous owners. Some sites can be tight, but they are all pretty well maintained. Owners will go out their way to make your stay enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$39
Very nice camp ground. Very friendly staff and they go out of their way to may your stay nice. Great place to base your vaction from, there is so much to do in the local area. Sites are large and some are shaded. Most are level but a few need a little attention. Nice little camp store and pool as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$34
The staff seemed very nice and also escorted us to our site. At first I didn't care for the campground. It seemed a bit run down. There weren't any planned activities for the kids and not much of a playground. The store was small and not well stocked. We are used to campgrounds that have lots to do, but by the end of the first day I was starting to like this place. The kids loved it!! There was trails to hike on through the woods, along side the brook. Our campsite was nice and grassy and had enough shade. We learned that the kids can have just as much fun with nature as they can in a game room! We cannot wait to go back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
This is a great family campground. Located in the beautiful hills of upstate New York. The owners are very nice. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy. When you check in, they go to your site with you and even help you back the trailer in! Many things to do such as mini golf, volleyball, a playground for the kids,a pool, horseshoes, and basketball. The grounds were very nice and well taken care of. I give this campground a 9 because some things need updating. But otherwise, a great place to take the family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com