214562 User submitted reviews online!!
1000 Islands / Association Island KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (800) 393-4189
CGID1959

1000 Islands / Association Island KOA

Camp Information
Sites
305
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   5   7   9   9   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We registered online with KOA;, however, when we arrived they told us they wouldn't honor the space we reserved. We had wanted a lake view and that seemed possible seeing as though it was an island. The young man working the desk was kind and wanted to please us, but the older grumpy man must have outranked him. We ended up in a corner space that had an abandoned building on one side and a stand of unkempt trees behind us. It felt like we were outcasts. The mayflies are bad and get into everything! As far as food and supplies, bring it in with you, because there is nothing nearby! However, it was one of the most beautiful places we've ever stayed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
Campsites were level and hookups were in the right location. Rain made this campground a pond with mosquitoes and mayflies everywhere. Sunsets were great. Location is pretty but for the price it's not worth it. We camped here in a 40' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
This is a good park for fishing and boating. Sites were level. Wifi average to poor. Cable fair. Watertown shopping 25 min away. On the first morning we were engulfed by thousands of may flies. When I asked about them I was given a sheet that also included the Canadian geese info and advised against walking on the grass to avoid their dropping. Also advised about the smell from the lake. WE did not have the smell but lots of bugs and geese. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$60
This must be a great spot for IN SEASON time. We were not there at that time. Don't get me wrong . This place is great just to sit relax and watch the lake. The sunsets are fabulous. The sunrise and great also. Sitting at a fire watching the sun go down is relaxing. When we arrived we were greeted by a goose, and hundreds of their friends. You know what a goose can do--I mean doo-doo on the ground. It's everywhere. In defense of the KOA, it's the location and the time of year. This place was literally empty. With a crowd the geese would not be there....I don't think. Don't miss the boat ride and the town at Alexandria Bay. Millionaires row is a site of opulence in another generation. The food and bars are great too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
The only reason I didn't rate this park a 10 is that I try to reserve that perfect score for perfection. This campground comes close. This is a newly designated KOA with a long and varied history. Gravel sites are wide and roomy. There's a view of the lake from virtually everywhere. Bath houses are clean and modern. If you are into boating and water sports, this island, with its marina, would be heaven. The few downsides: Cable at our site didn't work -- off air stations were reasonably strong. Wi-Fi was OK, but I used my 4G cellular data service most of the time. Depending on the time of year you are here the bugs and Canada geese can be annoying. But heck, its an island. This is our second visit here, the first was in pre-KOA days, and we would definitely come back again. This is a true destination RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Great campground. Friendly staff. Wonderful views of Lake Ontario. Be warned about camping in May, the mayflies are terrible. Will be back but not in May next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
The rate reflects an out of season discount prior to the park closing 15 October for the winter. Both the Wi-FI and cable worked well. The setting is an island one mile into Lake Ontario is has exceptional views from just about every site. Because of the distance from shopping, the ability and desire to remain in the park for your activities would be helpful. Though I would certainly stay here again, I would not be willing to pay their normal rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
If you’re traveling down Interstate 81 and need a stop, or if you’re looking for a destination, this is a wonderful place to stay. This large gated park is on a peninsula surrounded by Lake Ontario complete with its own marina. This is a great place if you’re a Class A of any size because the water front lots that surround the park are all pull-ins so your windshield looks out over the water, beautiful! The park has two sides, sunrise and sunset, both are equally nice. The road around the grounds is hard packed gravel with no sharp turns or close trees and easy in and out level gravel sites. Trees line the waters edge and some are scattered thru out the park but few will block your satellite dish. A farm house was converted into bathrooms, showers, laundry, TV room, game room, and play room, all clean and well maintained. Sprint phone and 3G worked well. Free park WI-FI was slow and limited, but you can pay a small fee for faster Internet. Staff was friendly and helpful. We pulled our 40ft Class A with 4 slides into a lake front spot that had lots of room to spread out in and enjoy the water just remember, you’re on lake Ontario, so never leave your awning out unattended. The park also has a lot of rec facilities and hosts functions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$70
Great campground. We had site H22 on the sunrise side that was large and had a beautiful view. Had originally requested a sunset view but after arriving and walking around, we are really glad we got the sunrise. Sites were more quiet and the bad odor others have mentioned was not on the H site area at all. We only stayed 4 nights but plan to spend at least a week or two next summer. Close enough to Sackets Harbor to go for great meals, especially Tin Pan Galley with their delicious, HUGE breakfasts. The stuffed French Toast is a must. Back to the campground: this is a beautiful campground on an island all to itself surrounded by Lake Ontario. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$62
The waterfront sites are very nice, especially the sunrise side, which is a little less frenetic. Views are superb of Lake Ontario. Interior sites are treeless and tight. Great if you have a boat. Cable has terrible reception, but over the air broadcasts are good from Watertown and Syracuse. Wi-Fi is horrible, slowest I have ever seen, and it costs extra. Paved roads, gravel sites and grass. It is a special place out on an island in the lake. Association Island has a unique history as well. I'd go back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$68
After a recommendation from several campers on the RV.net, we reserved 4 nights and possibly 5 at this campground. We were so surprised with the gorgeous views of Lake Ontario and the Harbor. This place is wonderful. Cable very good, views amazing, hookups were good, too. I would return here anytime and recommend it highly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
We have been staying here for most of the last 7 years. Usually for 2 weeks ever since the made a effort alter the sites to allow backing in of trailers. This year they went out of there way to provide great service in the form of weed removal so we could have access to the water behind our fifth wheel camper. This campground is wonderful as far as we are concerned and would recommend it to anyone especially if the like water views and access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Average. At check I asked if they had more than one site to choose from. I was told they were busy. Stayed all weekend at least 1/3 of the sites remained empty the whole time. They had a guide lead us to our site, but he paid no attention to what he was doing smoking a cigar, leading us down the road around vehicles we could not pass without driving off the road. The site we were given had our awning 3.5ft from our neighbors sewer connection. We called and asked for another site we saw open and they said that was OK. No organized activities other than a live band Sat night that was not announced. We just heard it. The pool was nice. The sites looked fairly level, but some would need leveling. Your site choice will make or break the stay. It's along Lake Ontario so it had beautiful views and sites on the water, but odd hook ups with sewer on both sides and electric on the passenger side. So depending on how your neighbor positioned their unit you could be camping with them. The mayflies where bad, huge swarms, but they don't bite or land on you, just watch walking or riding and talking or you could get a mouth full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Our rate reflects Seasonal rate. We have been here for 8 years and always look forward to getting back. Most sites are large enough to accommodate large RVs. Views are spectacular on the lake. A lot of bugs but they don't bite. Sites are not always level and are gravel. Being on the lake, it can get pretty windy. It became a KOA about two years ago and the number of campers has greatly increased. Most lake sites are taken during the weekends, so if that is your preference, you will want to book ahead of time. Kayaking, boating, pool, fishing, kids activities. Eagles, Osprey, blue herons are seen regularly. Pretty unique campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Overall, we quite enjoyed this park. The roads and sites are wide, though the sites could use some levelling. No problem setting up a dining tent, which was a requirement. They don't tell you about the swarms of Mayflies. Maybe it's just at this time of the year. They don't bite, but they are a pest. Grandkids had a ball on the bouncer. This was opening weekend, and perhaps that's why the grass seriously needed cutting. This park has the potential to be world-class. With recent KOA affiliation, perhaps that's what it will become. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
This was our second visit to Association Island. We have seen improvements from last year since they became a KOA campground. Yes there is a strong algae smell in the office area but we camped on the water in the H sites so the smell was not there at all. We had AT&T and Net 10 phones which got good reception. The Wi-Fi did work at our site but was a little slow at times. They do allow dogs. We didn't use the boat dock or access. They do have a pool which was very clean. One night they had a band in the club house area. Very friendly staff. We re-booked for next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$63
What a location. What a view! Our site was in the H's. Very close to the edge of Lake Ontario. Infrastructure was OK. The campground needs sprucing up and the Wi-Fi, the little we needed it, was spotty. As mentioned in other posts: the algae odor was not near our site and the may flies that were present were not a bother. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
This could and hopefully will be one of the great campgrounds in the Northeast. However, as of today it is far from being even a good campground. It has just become a KOA campground and is far from KOA standards. The Wi-Fi does not work and the cable TV does not work and the whole place is in rough condition. Lastly it is very remote, and unless you bring a boat it is not near anything, with nothing to do. We stayed 3 nights at the price of $70 a night. It is not worth anywhere near that price. I don't see us coming back since there are other parks in the area that are a much better value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
The rate reflects our KOA club discount. Association Island is a relatively new KOA conversion, but has been in business for quite awhile, and the facilities are showing some age. The sites are clean and well laid out so you don't feel too cramped. Our site required several boards under the front jacks and lifting the front wheel off the ground to get level, but many other sites we looked at appeared to be closer to level. The hookups are well located for most RV's, and the WiFi signal was strong at our site, as well as reasonably fast. Our Verizon cell and data signals were also strong. When the wind blows from the wrong direction, there is a bit of a fishy smell that some may find objectionable, but this is an island in Lake Ontario. Most sites have at least a partial view of the lake, and the waterfront sites have a great view! We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$70
We stayed at this park for the 4th of July weekend fully expecting it to be over crowded. To our surprise it wasn't and was also much quieter than we expected. We also brought our boat and access to Lake Ontario and the harbor was very good. The site we reserved was lake front, and although it did allow access to the water, it wasn't as good as some of the neighboring sites. Not a big deal but something to note when you're looking at the map and making reservations. In my personal opinion, site H1-H7 are the best in the park. On the negative side, there was a drainage ditch dug out between out sites and the water access which created a definite hazard at night as our fire ring was on the other side of it. We moved it after the first night, against park policy, but I wasn't risking another injury. The boat launch ramp needs some serious overhaul. Granted, I've seen worse, but this is not of the quality you'd expect in a KOA park. Watch out for concrete barriers out of place and the ramp stops short on the dock side creating a definite trailer hazard. Also, watch the ankles around the boat dock access as there are many holes and trip hazards in the bank boulders that create the supposed walkway to the little half-broken bridges. Some complained about the algae smell. It is very obvious when you first come in and I pity anyone that camped on that side of the park. It's nasty at times, and I can't help but think there are solutions available but someone doesn't want the expense. I've heard of some other areas using salt and it worked wonders and its natural and cheap. It seemed this place is capitalizing on its location and ignoring some basic maintenance requirements to give the customer full value for their dollar. All in all, we liked it and will be back: for its location and scenery, not for the value. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We spent four nights at this campground, about which we'd heard great things. Admittedly, the campground has an incredible location that most other campground owners would kill for, situated on an island in Lake Ontario. The sites are quite large, well-spaced out and have all the site and campground amenities one could ask for. On the weekends there is even a band for dancing or just listening. Further, the staff is extremely friendly. Unfortunately, and no fault of the campground, the sites along and near the causeway/entrance side are often in the path of an unpleasant odor. The source is not septic but rather: Cladophora, a variety of algae that has proliferated along the shorelines of the Lake. When its strands break off they are carried by prevailing westerly winds and accumulate along the shorelines where their decay produces this smell. The proliferation of pesky Mayflies is also a real nuisance (at least in July), and while they do not bite, can drive you nuts and invade your rig at night, even through mesh screens. At the same time there are a number of issues which are within the control of the management and easily resolved. These include weak/unreliable Internet connectivity. Many pets are off leash and roaming freely around the campground, including in and out of other people’s sites. The lack of a separate pet area, allows people with pets on leashes to let their dogs “do their business” between and/or on other sites. They do not check for litter left on sites by prior RV’ers. Our site had two fire pits, one of which was right beside the our picnic table was left with cigarette butts making it inconveniently messy for us. They allow many under-aged children to drive golf carts throughout the campground, some far too fast and one of which almost ran into our car. There is a lack of policing of people being overly loud after “quiet hours.” With a few changes, this campground could easily become a 9 or 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
This park is now a KOA. Nice enough place, definitely a beautiful view and nice waterfront lots. I didn't see any pull-throughs, but there might have been a few. The park needs some general maintenance and upgrade work. Grass was uncut everywhere, but at the grounds keeper's site (lawn mover was parked there). Not enough garbage bins. Like I said before, nice enough, but nothing over the top to give it anything over a 7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
We stayed opening weekend. We picked this site as it was affliated with KOA. We thought it would be neat to try an island. We were disappointed. Our power kept going off, cable was grainy. But we were camping. Grass and grounds could use a tiddying up. Pool hadnt opened yet so no feed back to offer. My impression was this place has potential and appeared to have been taken over by new owners. The other sites on the middle of the property were not suitable for small rv's or travel trailers. Small and sloped. Marina appeared to have been over hauled recently and looked fantastic, no boats present. We may try it again in a year or so and see if there has been improvement. There are some recent newer structures on the property. Some of the old buildings and docks scattered acround the property, some history from days gone by from when GE and other corps owned this property. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
I have been a strong and vocal supporter of this business, camping there since it opened every year for nine years and enjoyed sun, bugs, rain, wind, and cold. This would have been the 10th year except for the surly attitude of the "manager" toward a loyal customer. Calling to confirm my week in September 2011 for site H8 I was informed that no specific site could be assured, and furthermore he knew of no campground anywhere that reserved specific sites as he was a seasoned "RVer". He was advised that I had reserved specific sites for the past 9 years. Not possible he countered, in spite of my experience doing it. Furthermore, if I had reserved a specific site and someone arrived an hour earlier and wanted the site I had reserved, he would give it to them. I cancelled the 10th year at AIR. I wrote the owner whom I met on several occasions and never received an answer. Just be forewarned about "reservations" that are not really reservations at AIR. I'm spending my vacation dollars at another RV park in the 1000 Islands. And I have a reservation and confirmed site number -- just like many others in the US and Canada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
In our minds, this is the ultimate camping spot! Amazing views of Lake Ontario in every direction, welcoming and helpful staff, well maintained grounds and spacious sites, all with full hookups, cable TV and Wi-Fi. (Unsecured, but it actually works!) The bathhouses are a bit old, but spotlessly clean. The only negative is access to groceries and supplies. Anyone camping here needs to plan ahead, as stores are some distance away. There is a small general store in Henderson, but it’s not well stocked and very expensive. For groceries and liquor, one must travel to Adams, NY which is about 15 miles away. We were informed that this campground will become a KOA for 2012, as they appear to be missing a huge part of the “market”, and think they will become more popular if in a KOA directory. Actually too bad, as it probably will become difficult to get in! We camped here on our way back to VA from Ontario, but will make it a point to return to this lovely spot. When we were here, it was considered “off season,” and our waterfront site was priced at $35.00. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$70
Highly recommend. This campground is on an island in Lake Ontario. To get there, campers will make a right hand turn on Snowshoe Road which narrows slightly as it runs parallel to the lake. Don't panic at the "road ends" sign -- the road turns into a causeway to the island campground. No problem at all for big rigs. What breathtaking scenery! You'll want to pay the extra cost for a "Premium Lake Front" -- you drive the motorhome front first into the site facing into the lake. Fifth wheelers have the option of backing in to the Lake Front sites. Sunsets are outstanding and the Sunset RV sites are popular. However, we like the Sunrise sites the best. As others stated, there are a few mayflies, but they don't bite and are not always present. Some trees have an outgrowth of "sucker branches" at their base which are very unattractive and need the owner's attention. The beautiful lake, quiet setting, and an assortment of ducks and geese make this campground one of our most favorite destinations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This is a very nice RV Park. We were about 15 miles from 1-81. It's actually located on an island accessible by a causeway. We had a premium site that we could drive straight into and it overlooked Lake Ontario. We found the park to be clean with long and wide sites (plenty of room between each site). There are lots of Canada Geese and ducks, and maybe because of the time of year, lots of mayflies. The sunsets off the Lake were beautiful and we couldn't have asked for a nicer spot. Although the Cable TV did not work because of the park's technical difficulties, we had our digital TV's and WiFi, plus 50 Amps. We used our CRV for touring the area. Would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$55
Being surrounded by the water was very nice. There were beautiful sunsets. Enjoyed my stay. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We had a great time. Staff was nice, very convenient for boaters, we didn't bring a boat. Pretty view. Would go back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$58
It's all about the views of Lake Ontario at Association Island. There are loads of lake-front sites and every one of them has a gorgeous view. We were facing West in sight L14 and got to see some of the most beautiful sunsets ever! Sights are set up for either pull in or back in, but some of the utility connections aren't friendly for backing in. I was shocked to find the park nearly empty! I'm guessing that weekdays were 25% full and weekends 40%. There are loads of other campgrounds in the area, so I'm sure competition is tough. Sites were gravel and nicely leveled. Restrooms clean. Nice pool, but most days, we were the only people in it! Downsides - No food or snack bar onsite. Sacketts Harbor, the closest town is 15-20min away. Nearest shopping and large grocery store is Watertown, which is 35-40min away. The wind blows steady, most every day. We had one calm day, but the wind is not uncomfortable at all. Mayflies are everywhere, but the wind does keep them at bay. There are millions of them, but they do not land on you or bite at all. There is a small harbor near the office where the prevailing wind drives algae in. the algae gathers there and begins rotting, causing a sewer like smell, that comes and goes. The maintenance staff tries their best to keep up with this by cleaning the shoreline in that area with a backhoe. It really is only an issue for the sites closest to the office. I would stay there again in a minute, but would recommend a site toward the north side of the island, beyond the marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
Nice park, but pretty far from Alex Bay/Clayton area. No problems with bugs while we were there, even with all the rain/wet weather. Did have a problem with spiders...yikes! Not sure if it was because of the rain or the location under the trees, but they were everywhere! Small, almost translucent ones that made webs everywhere. I felt like I was camping in the woods. We asked for a waterfront site for our 43' bus and were put on G4. If you have a big rig, pretty much any site in that area OTHER than G4 would be larger, more open and not blocked by trees. Because of the angle of the sites and the curve of the land, the view of the water was through the trees and branches to a cove and then the lake beyond. The other sites were more strategically placed (and with taller trees) so that you had open water views and nice grassy areas to set up chairs, etc. In my opinion, I really did not see anything special about the park itself, other than its location on the water which was very nice. Others loved it. It took over 20 minutes to get to the park from I-81; roads to get there were not bad although there were some really slow areas with tight turns. No problems for a big motorhome as long as you don't meet others coming the opposite way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Despite the high Woodall ratings, this campground was a real disappointment. The campground seemed mostly un-kept. Not that they can control this, but there were goose droppings everywhere. And not just a bit of it. You had to watch where you stepped. The beach was closed due to the amount of Canada Goose and bird droppings everywhere. This camp ground is extremely windy. You cannot leave your awnings opened unattended. There are warning sheets when you register. The wind gets up very fast. To avoid the wind, we would shelter ourselves on the other side of the motor home, only to be greeted by swarms of mayflies attached to the motor home hanging on for dear life. We had a premium lake side site, which provided a beautiful view. But the sites in the middle of the island are horrible. No trees. The pool was nice. The club houses were closed. Wifi was virtually non functional from where we were. This campground is tired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$94
It was very dissappointing!! The website is misleading. There was no sandy beach available. It was overgrown with weeds about 2 feet high. The playground was filthy. Bugs & spider webs were everywhere. We used a towel to clean off the slides so our daughter could have some fun. Our cottage #2 was really dirty too. Spider webs in every corner of every room. The door was covered with bugs. At night when the lights were on bugs just swarmed everywhere. The next morning the walls were covered with bugs, flys, and etc. My young daughter who is still crawling was not allowed on the floor because it was so dirty. Her pants were brown from the little bit of moving around we let her do when we first arrived. The grill that was supplied was tipped over and cracked, so it was almost impossible to cook on it. We ended up microwaving our hot dogs for dinner. We did have a camp fire and there was a nice sunset, but the wind was blowing so hard we had to put winter clothes on (luckily we brought some). Needless to say we cut our 3 night stay to one night. We checked out the next day and went to a much cleaner place and finished up our vacation. We will never return and will warn anyone that ever thinks of going there! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$58
Association Island RV Resort & Marina is a very nice relaxing campground. I must say it is very impressive as you pull up and cross their man-made causeway onto your camping island getaway. We stayed in a W/E/S/C (water, electricity, sewer, cable TV) pull-through site right on Lake Ontario. The site was cozy with ample space and a nice fire-ring surrounded by rocks. The sunsets are beyond beautiful and you will want to watch it set every night. There were only two downsides to this RV Resort. One, I could not get their cable TV to work and two, the May-flies are a little annoying. As for the cable not working: you get good reception and more channels with your antenna anyway. The May-flies are attracted to light so just keep them off at night and spray insecticide fogger around your campsite, it helps keep them away. We would go back to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
Heard a lot about this campground so expectations were high and was happy to get waterfront sites with a sunset view. The wind blew at about 30 mph steady with gusts that rocked the RV (putting out the awning just wasn't possible) on four of the seven days we were here. When the wind didn't blow, small flying insects were all over the place and literally covered any object where they could find shelter from the wind. Nighttime by the campfire was not very pleasant because of these flying pests or the high winds. Cable TV consisted of 13 channels: the 3 main networks and a few minor stations, CNN, AMC etc. Not one sports station or ESPN! The Wi-Fi was OK at best as I kept on loosing the connection. Overall, this campground seemed to be fairly well maintained and clean. I enjoyed the sunset views but the bugs were horrible and into everything. I don't think I will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
The views around this campground are beautiful and tranquil. We camped with two other families. We were all on lakefront sites, sites H19-H21. The campground is very clean. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. It was odd that less than half the sites were taken, even during the weekend. There is not much in the immediate area. The bugs were the only true drawback. They are small and did not bite, but swarmed. Because of the wet summer they have hung around. During the day they tend to stay to the shaded side of the trailer. At night do not leave any light on inside or outside your trailer. The first night we learned this after hundreds covered the trailer side wall. We brought bikes and enjoyed daily rides around the island and out on the causeway. All was level, paved and a great way to get around. Our teenagers kept busy with pool, ping pong, tennis, etc. I would recommend this campground, but would stay away from buggy periods. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
The location of this park is beyond description. As we entered the Island, we were truly amazed at how nice it was. The sites were gravel and uneven. Make sure you have fuel and all the supplies you need as the closest gas station is 14 miles and the closet supermarket is 20 miles. The only problem with this park is the small insects. They swarm all over and covered my vehicle and motor home. Unfortunately this spoiled the time we spent there as we could not sit outside and enjoy the view and the weather. Would have given it a 9 if the bugs weren't so bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
First time at this campground for long holiday weekend. Had a lakefront site with beautiful sunsets. Needless to say for our vacation in mid-August, we had planned to go to our annual Cape Cod trip. Well, now spending the week at Association Island, again lake front!! Loved it. The people were very friendly. Husband loved the fishing, and I loved the view and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$59
Rate shown is for premium lakefront pull-through on a holiday week. This is the 8th year we have spent time at AIR. For us, it is complete relaxation and recharge time. The staff is accommodating and the owner "Doc" is frequently seen on the island insuring smooth operation. The constant breeze is refreshing and unusually cool (70) for a July week this year. The marina was busy with pleasure craft and fishermen the entire week. Our area was quiet without ATVs, motorcycles, and while the puppy population was high, they were well behaved. If you just want to read, watch the water, or sleep, try AIR. There are good restaurants in the area and Watertown is 20 minutes away with all things required. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This park is right on Lake Ontario, we got a spot with a lake view, and it was gorgeous. Nice clean restrooms and showers. We could not get the WI-FI at our site, had to use the clubhouse close to us, which wasn't a real problem. Getting WI-FI in the North has been a hit and miss situation. There are lots of flying insects, they don't bite or buzz, more like swarms of gnats (could be the season). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This was our first visit and will not be our last. We had planned on visiting this campground all year and finally made it in September. Just settling back and watching the beautiful scenery was so very relaxing. This park has everything you are looking for and more. It has many paths to walk and ride on, and you are always surrounded by the great lake vistas. This campground has no bad sites, as all have a great view of beautiful Lake Ontario. And the sunsets and sunrises are to die for. I even got up earlier than ever to see the sunrises. The owners and crew are very eager to make your stay a great one. If you are in the area, this is a must see. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$60
The pool was closed after Labor Day, and we were told the restaurant and bar were not open all season. There was a new club house with a nice play room for the kids and a ping pong table a TV and reading room and WIFI. It also had 3 washers and dryers in the building. There were no activities planned, but the campsites were nice, and we had a nice view of Henderson Bay. There wasn't much fishing from shore, because the water was very shallow - about waist deep 20' to 30' out around the island, and in some spots the weeds are very thick. There were a lot of gnats all around the island, but it was still a very relaxing and beautiful place to stay. We met a lot of seasonal campers there that have been coming back since the park opened. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$54
We spent 3 nights here at site H24. This is a premium site right on the lake at the north end of the park. My view of the lake was blocked by trees. Pad was gravel. Roadways inside the park are black-top with easy curves. Wi-Fi was not available. Cable was non-functioning. No phone modem at my site. Narrow causeway leading out to the campground. Park was essentially empty with only a dozen rigs scattered around. Most of them appeared unoccupied. Trees in the park appeared to have been damaged from ice storms since many lacked tops. Some old buildings scattered around with some evidence of modest re-building taking place. Small pool. Very windy and plenty of rain for the 3 days. Wind did not keep the bugs away. Clouds of small, non-biting bugs swarmed about us each day. Wind only moved them to the downstream side of the motorhome. Each day I had to hose down the rig to minimize the number of bugs that would enter the coach when the door was opened. So many bugs were present that outside activities around the picnic table were impossible. Not much to do here if you are not fishing or boating. We met some friends here and spent the days touring at Sacketts Harbor and Alexander Bay where we ate at several good restaurants. Henderson Harbor itself has no restaurants that I saw. There were no activities at the campground as it was off-season. Rate of 54 dollars reflects a 20 percent off-season rate. I would probably not stay here again but would look for something nearer to Alex Bay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$49
We were really disappointed to find that they had raised their off-season rates from $37 to $49 a day in one year. We're going to have consider going elsewhere for our outings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$65
Our favorite campground by far. We have been heading here each of the last three years, and have reservations for this year again. Though somewhat expensive, it is most relaxing with sunsets to die for, and it gets better every year. In three years we've only used the a/c one day (and I don't think we needed it then either). If you do go, do yourself a favor and leave your awning rolled up, as others have mentioned. We were warned about this and have seen several tear apart in the high winds. The bugs aren't a problem outside (too breezy). Easy to get to off Rte 81. The hook ups are set up for motorhomes -vs- TT/5ver with the rear living rooms, but we're outside the whole time anyway. Bring extra sewer and water hoses. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This is a lovely part of New York. Yes, there are lots of bugs, but they're tiny and don't bite. The only real negative for us was the WiFi. It was expensive and "skipped" constantly so that you couldn't stay online longer than a few moments. There's no way there should have been a charge for it. There was a smell of rotting seaweed as we drove in, but that's only at the very entrance and nowhere else in the park that we could tell. Unlike some of the other reviewers, we liked the old buildings. It gave the place a sense of history and prompted us to research the history of the island. The sunsets were wonderful, the people are friendly and we will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Outstanding facilities. We stayed on the lake front sites (13 & 14) on the north end of the campground. Millions of dollars have been spent to make this historic site (former GE retreat site) a public access campground and marina. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Lake front sites have wind a good percentage of the time, bay side sites less so. Sites on the water's edge are "pull in" type, basically so a Class A windshield is facing the water and not the rest of the world. If you have a boat or jet ski or like to fish this place is for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This was an interesting campground with a lot of history. The swimming pool was nice and they had a nice bar right next to it that had a live band the one evening. The store had a good variety of things, should you need something. The lake was nice on one side to swim in. The only thing bad were the bugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$49
I want you to know how disappointed I was when I arrived at your RV park and found out that it was almost entirely set up for motor homes. I own a large Cedar Creek 5th wheel RV which has large living room windows in the rear. This unit like many other units that were at you facility are perfect for backing in to one of the water sites and enjoying the view just like the motor homes got to do. We had committed to a two week stay, so we set up the best we could on the bay side spot H6. We did our best to enjoy ourselves and we did enjoy ourselves as we always do, even thought the realization that it was apparent that towables were second class citizens at this facility. The irony of the situation is that for the entire first week on the bay water spots there were only 3 motor homes and nineteen towables, Nine or ten of these towables were rear living room units with big back windows all facing the road. Week two there were a few more motor homes but it still never came close to be even half of the units in the park. I was able to set up my trailer and get my truck out from in front of it with not too much trouble because I had no neighbors at the time. I spent the rest of my two weeks watching and helping other towables go through contortions to get there trailers set up on the sites near me. Twice I had to move my camp chairs and tables so a new camper could drive on my site so he could get setup on his because that was the only way to set his trailer. I was glad I had not set up my screen room on that location because if I had my neighbors would never been able to set up. We actually watched one camper with a towable give up trying to set up and left in frustration, as you are well aware of all these towables paid the same amount as did the motor homes that just had to pull in. I have been RVing for some time now and have been to several other water front RV parks. All these others made arrangements for both type of RVs by having both hookups on each site or sites for each type. Even though your map says pull in spots that type of description is somewhat misleading the description does not specify which side and what location the utilities are located making it impossible to know what the true arrangement is. I want you to know I probably will not stay at your facility again because of its position on towables. If you are going to set up an entire park for Motor homes you should say you are motor home exclusive or you should set up your park so that all types of units can take advantage of the beautiful scenery equally. I will be advising all I come to talk to about this problem with your park and posting my reviews where appropriate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$58
We had a waterfront site by the marina, what a nice view of Lake Ontario. Sites were nice and they had a bar with a restaurant that was nice. The staff was very friendly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
We have gone to the island for over 3 years at least 3 times each year. We love the pool & bar/restaurant. Our son can ride his bike all over the island. The sunsets are spectacular. Only negative is there are not many trees for shade. I would recommend this to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Very nice campground. We camped there over Labor Day weekend and had a great time. If I had to find a minus it would be the flies (sand flies I believe). Be sure to bring along the bug spray. The staff was friendly and the seasonal campers were very friendly as well. Nice recreation hall too. Since this was a holiday weekend, they had live music on Saturday and Sunday night. A very family oriented campground. We will be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
We stayed at the park and agree and disagree with some of the previous reviews. First, the park has a beautiful setting, and is surrounded by water. Saying that, we feel there was not much to do if you were not a water or water sport enthusiast. The buildings on the island were rundown, but very charming, and added an ambiance to the whole place. If the buildings could be restored to their earlier grandeur, the island would be so unique that I feel people would flock to it. As it is, there were not many RVers there (we weren't as fortunate as the earlier reviewer as to have a "Motorhome Rally" going on at the time we were there.) As for the bugs-there's a difference between "living with a few bugs because you're camping", and having your RV so covered with bugs that you see more black than you do the sides of your rig. The bugs were horrendous. This could all be remedied with a regimented schedule of environmentally-friendly spraying. The person that said "you're camping-expect some bugs" apparently was not on a "buggy" part of the island, or, for some reason, is used to being surrounded by bugs.(???) Overall, if some things were improved on (roads and sites being taken care of better, bugs being "tamed", and the buildings being restored to their earlier elegance), I would not only definitely go back, but I would make sure that every one of our RVing friends took at least one visit to this very unique island RV resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Our 5th year here for a week and we have reserved for next year. Quiet and relaxing as usual. We're out of the "kids" part of our life so all the points raised below may be valid - don't know. As to the "old buildings", they are part of the history of the island. The auditorium is particularly interesting because of the famous entertainers that came there in years past. Unfortunately it cannot be restored economically. From the number of units here and the number attending a motorhome rally, the island is becoming "discovered". As for the bugs 1) it's on the water 2) spring is when the "hatches" occur 3) you're "camping" - expect some bugs. We'll be back again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$49
Very nice campground on an island on Lake Ontario. Our campsite faced the lake and we had a beautiful view. Stayed a few days to explore 1000 Islands area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$65
This is a great campground if you are looking to relax and enjoy some excellant views. While they're still upgradeing some buildings the sites are level and most if not all apprear to have full hookups. Marina is nice. I rented a small boat at a local propiortor to take the kids fishing and when they had enough I called my wife and she met me at the dock and I droped the kids off and took her for a ride in the boat. Will be going back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$70
This a beautiful campground but much more fun if you have a kayak or boat. There's some recreation on the island, but we spent a lot of time leaving the island to explore the surrounding area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$65
Very relaxing, and scenic, location. Routine was coffee by the water, fishing, swimming, dinner, ending w/a beautiful sunset and campfire. Was very breezy all week. We never opened the awning or needed to use the a/c. Even got out of bed a couple of nights to assure things were still where we left them. It was dusty but that was a comprise I could live with. We didn't have a problem with the bugs outside, just inside when the door wasn't shut immediately. Only suggestion would be to bring extra...hoses, extension cords, and sewer line. I am already set to go back this year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$65
Good Points were the location is awesome and if you have a boat it is a great spot. Waterfront sites in most cases were very nice. This could be an awesome place BUT, Bad points were The DUST was everywhere and got into everything. I could not stand the dust! They would not give one of our friends a FMCA discount even though it is advertised in the FMCA book, they told him it did not apply to a holiday weekend. But they gave us a Good Sam’s discount even though it was a holiday? Upon arrival one of our friends site was full of what looked like big dog droppings, she went to office to complain and to get it cleaned. They came and looked and she was told it was geese droppings and that they do not clean that up so: “she would have to deal with it.” Wi-Fi was available but for a fee and you need to sit at the office with your laptop to get it. I don’t mind paying but want to use it in my coach when ever I want. Surcharge for 50 amp service and a surcharge for the WHOLE holiday week, not just the 4th. Pool is too small in my opinion for the size of the campground. They should have 2 pools: one for adults and one for kids. It was just always crowded and noisy. Several abandoned buildings, just sitting and rotting. What a shame that is. Tear them down and put up a second pool. I'll go back someday because of the location and views, hopefully the campground owners will make the improvements that are so desperately needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
We had a seasonal site on the water. We could see the sunset outside our door. Good points: People running it are very nice, very helpful. You are on an island (there is a causeway to the island). Bathrooms, laundry, shower were clean. Sacketts Harbor, Henderson Harbor, Thousand Islands, Canada are all pretty close by. Nice Marina. Lots of birds. Great fishing. Great for boating. Pretty good spacing between sites. Not so good points: some areas had a seaweed odor. We didn't but close to main entrance was most noticeable. Bugs and spiders. Not horrible but they could be annoying. This is why there are so many birds. Wind - being on the lake,this is not surprising. Some of the other seasonals said 2006 was an unusually windy year. Playground is small. The inner sites do not have much shade. The lake sites are made to pull in to. This is okay if you have a motorhome but you need to do the same with a fifth wheel or trailer. I think it is a little expensive. This place is less than 5 years old. They sank a lot of money into this place and it is getting better and better. I don't know if the owners yet have a clear vision of what this will become. I believe they will evenually get there. After all is said and done, we booked for next season and look forward to watching the sunsets while drinking rumrunners this summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
This is an excellant campground and we go out of our way to stay here. It seems to be managed very well & the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is very clean and peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$34
We decided to give this campground a try after reading the reviews. The entrance to the campground is amazing. You enter the island by a small road completely surrounded by water which makes it feel as if you are in the middle of the ocean. Upon entering we immediately noticed a very strong "sewer" odor at the check-in area. Luckily the smell was only in the beginning of the campground. The office people were very helpful and the gentleman suggested we take a spot one row back from waterfront since it was not very busy and it would save us some money, while still allowing us the same views. This turned out to be a huge mistake since the spot we pulled into seemed to be infested with bugs. By the time my husband got out to hook up, our entire motorhome was covered with bugs!! It had just rained very heavy, possibly causing this problem since the spots were swampy. We just assumed the whole campground was this way because its surrounded by water. We did notice the gentleman behind us (who appeared to be a seasonal had a BUG LIGHT IN THE INSIDE OF HIS COACH! That obviously says it all! Anyway, the views were amazing. It is more like being surrounded by the ocean rather than a lake since you cannot even see land in many directions. One suggestion, if you like to see activity on the lake stay in the marina section of the campground. The views are great however that only accounts for part of the overall experience. As for the campsites: well that is definitely a whole other story. The hookups were all covered in spider webs (including the picnic tables) and were unkept. They were supposed to be gravel but had more weeds in them than gravel. Alot of the sites were extremely sloped. If anyone was in the site right behind us and pulled in all the way the rear of their coach would have been about 2 feet off the ground. As for the old run down buildings everyone refers to in their reviews? Yes, there are probably 3 or 4 really big run down buildings, but they're actually cool if you look at them. One or two of them are very old horse stables. The rest of the grounds are so so. There was a pool, restaurant, office, etc. We don't have kids but unless you like to fish I can't imagine where kids would enjoy it at all. It is literally in the middle of nowhere. Remember to stock up before you go here. The closest big town is Watertown which we drove to and it was over 20 miles away! Other than the small store on site there are no grocery stores, delis, etc. anywhere in the area. Remember you are going to an island in the middle of nowhere! We only ended up staying one night which is unfortunate since the owner (We think he was the owner: an older asian gentleman.) was very friendly and talked to us for awhile. I guess we should have mentioned to him about the unbelievable bug situation at our site. They didn't seem to be too bad when we walked throughout the campground however it was too late for us to even move to another site since the bugs were already everywhere. We must have killed at least 30-40 bugs inside and we were still killing them days later. One or two more things to note (well actually three). They do have internet access but you have to sit in the office right where everyone checks in and use it there. Also they do have cable but there is only 5 or 6 channels and they don't have all the major networks. They do allow pets and our two boys enjoyed it! Overall I wish I could say we really enjoyed this place but I can not. Please remember though that our bug problem might have been an isolated incident. We talked to several people before we went here and no one ever mentioned this problem to us. Many of the people come here several times a year. Please take that into consideration before you make your decision on whether to stay here or not. It is a place I am glad we went to, so that we were able to experience "the Island." However its not a place we will probably ever go back to. As for all the reviews that say there is potential for the island and they will return when there are more improvements done, I would definitely say that in my opinion this is as good as it will ever get! Enjoy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$45
We had read other reviews prior to making the reservation for this campground and they were correct. The campground really has tremendous potential. The views are breathtaking. The waterfront sites are very nice and combine a nice mix of shade and sun. The bath house and laundry facilities were also very clean and somewhat new. There is a pool and a small marina, although no boat rentals are available (I was told that this was because of a deal made with the local township, so that it wouldn't threaten the previously existing boat rental companies). The problem with the resort is that there is a ton of potential but not enough development. There are many areas that are run down. Sites that are unused and unkempt. An old "motel" looking building that looks like it is ready to fall down. The staff was friendly for the most part, although I did see them kick a young boy out of the pool for the day for a very minor infraction of the "rules", that everyone else seemed bewildered about. I would recommend the campground ... if they would just invest a little more money in the facilities. (i.e. they had a restaurant/bar but it was only open two days a week because of staffing problems). I would stay there again, but maybe in a few years when they have completed more of the projects. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$55
This fairly new campground has excellent potential. It is on an island (actually the second island from shore) right on Lake Ontario and some sites offer spectacular views of the lake. The island is the campground! There is also a marina, so everything is in place for a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly. There is still some work to be done, however. The first thing we noticed when we checked in was a very strong odor the reminded me of dead fish. Thought perhaps it was due to low tide, but it remained all 4 days. I also feel that the roads need some attention. Although smooth, they seem to consist of some sort of stone dust that, when wet, turns into a filthy mess that gets all over your vehicles. We arrived in the evening in the rain and, the next morning, I couldn't believe the enormous mess that covered the sides of my truck and RV! It was like they had been sprayed with a coating of watered-down concrete and it was all over everything! In a year or two, if the owners pay some attention to the little things, they can have an enormous success to go along with the natural surroundings and beauty of this setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$50
Visited in 2002 (opening year) and 2003. Have made reservations for 2004. Sites right at water's edge with cool breezes all summer. Perfect place to relax and unwind. Improvements constant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$55
It was incredible. We drove across a bridge on a island and camped right on the water. Beautiful views and sunsets. Very unique. Did not want to leave. Reserved one week and stayed 15 nights. Every thing was new and clean. Great new pool and clean lake water. Great fishing. We caught many bass and perch of the shore and marina. Shared a fishing charter with another couple and caught huge lake trout. Very friendly and helpful staff. Can't wait to return to view the stars and sunsets, hear and see the water. Clean 50amp power, good potable water can't wait to see next year's improvements We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$50
We arrived on a Sunday and had an OK time.The staff was helpful but there was not a lot to do on a rainy day for 2 kids. Showers and bath are brand new but they were not cleaned the 4 days I stayed. Sites are level and most overlook the lake.Only 1 year old so I hope they make improvements. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com