223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Sylvan Lake Beach Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (845) 221-9889
CGID1961

Sylvan Lake Beach Park

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   5   6   9   8   8   3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Decent place to stay, no amenities, far from the expressway, not cheap. On our way to the Boston area from the west, we needed an overnight spot with full-hookups and in the area, there was not much other choice. I called ahead and spoke to the manager. Very nice fellow. He told me he could accommodate me. He warned me to use the directions from their website. We did and it took us right there without worrying about low clearances. At the office, using the outdoor wall phone, we called the number indicated and the manager was there quickly. He took our $45 payment (accepts credit cards now) and escorted us to our site. It was a 50 foot deep back in. No problem. Note that the sewer was at the back of the site. I was able to reach with my standard (long) sewer hose. We didn't use the cable but saw the hookup. 50 amp power was fine. Water pressure was low (about 30 PSI). We felt safe. I'd stay here again if I needed to stop in the area for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Where do we start? The beginning is always a good place. We actually booked this through email with no money down. I thought that was strange; however, the manager asked me to send him an email. When we arrived, the long unkempt road should have been a hint of things to come. Narrow and in need of a few repairs, we trekked through to a "shack" that served as an unmanned office. Almost immediately after arriving a gentleman showed up and introduced himself as the manager. When I tried to pay by credit card he told me that they didn't accept them. Luckily, friends were staying on the next site and they had cash on them. The site was nice and pretty level. The sewer hook up was all the way in the back of the site and my hose just made it. Wi-Fi was non existent as was cable TV. Bring your own dish. I asked for and received an open view of the sky. The lake was great even though I did not swim in it. It was warm and clean. My grandson would not go in as the fish were quite visible and looking for hand outs. There was NO store, No pool and NOTHING to do. There weren't many children around and few campers. Most of the few that were here, stayed to themselves. I wouldn't recommend the camp unless you are looking to do NOTHING. If so, I'd rate it a 9.5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
We camped here for one night but I wish it could have been longer. It is beautiful. The lake is amazing with a swimming area. The sites are all back-ins but are easy. Roads are paved but sites are on half grass, half gravel. It is a little hard to find because you cannot drive your RV on the Taconic State Parkway so you have to drive a little out of the way to get here. The driving instructions are excellent on the website. Great site and I would love to come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
I grew up in Hopewell Junction, but moved out of the area 30 years ago. Back in the day, this was a day-use park, with limited camping (tent only). The beach area is now only available for those camping here, and not to the public. The road in is in very poor shape, and we were wondering if we should go on. We were parked up the hill in the "Meadow", and the camping area itself was OK. The hookups are old, and the sewer is all the way at the back of the site, so make sure you have plenty of sewer hose. (We had to go to Wal-Mart in Fishkill to get another 10-foot section). We had 50 amp power, decent water pressure and good view of the sky for the satellite. They only accept cash or checks, and it's $45 per nite, no tax. Way overpriced for what you get, but there is nothing else in the area, and it was convenient for us as we were visiting friends in the area. The bathhouse/laundry room combo is a JOKE! There is only one shower stall each for men and women, and there is only 1 washer and one dryer, and it shares space with various tools and the snow blower, plus it's a hike down the hill from the campsites to even use it. It hasn't been updated since I left here in 1981. AND you have to pay 50 cents for 10 minutes of shower use! There are several seasonals in the campground, but they seemed friendly, and kept their lots neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Warning, DO NOT use your GPS to get here. Use the parks web site for directions because the Taconic Parkway allows cars only. The sewer is all the way to the back, water pressure (very low) at 30 PSI, and Wi-Fi only if you get in the car and drive over near the managers house, no cable TV either. The road going in is full of potholes and very rough, if you have a tow dolly it will drag on the hump in the road. The lake is for park residents only and is warm and clear. The park has lots of permanents but all of their spots were kept up and clean. Had it not been for the fact that we were in the area to visit some friends we would not have stayed here. We did see lots of deer and turkeys. The area is heavily wooded but the sites are out in the open. Electric was good and stable. The park is over priced for what you get, but it is the only one near the area we were visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
This is a little out of the way but a pretty good park. If you have a big rig, you have to detour around a narrow and low overhead turnpike. Where it says passenger cars only, believe it. Had FHU. The sewer was all the way to the back so I used my macerator, rather than try to connect all my sewer hoses together. The cable TV at my site did not work but I was only here overnight so I didn't mind. The guy running it now is Johnny-on the-spot when you pull up to register and leads you to your site. The road going in is full of potholes and very rough. If it was up to me I would never repair it. You can bet there won't be any hot-rodders on that road. The lake is for park residents only and is warm and clear. Lots of fish too. The park has lots of permanents but all of their spots were clean and the few we talked to were friendly. If not for the price I would give this one a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Stayed here over 4th of July. I was in the meadow. Mostly seasonals. Very quiet. Convenient to the Stormville Flea market. The road in really needs to be repaved as there are potholes and in some areas the pavement is gone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is a great park for big rigs and RVs in general. If I were tent camping I think I would be disappointed in the restrooms which are too few and run down from years of neglect. The RV site we used had true 50 amp, 240 volt service, not the 50 amp 110 volt service that many parks claim as 50 amp service. The water and sewer hookups were perfect. The only thing missing is internet service. I would rather have WiFi than the cable TV included at most sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
We spent one night here because it was halfway between the Red Apple Campground in Kennebunkport and the Drummer Boy Camping Resort in Gettysburg. It must be the off season...it was almost empty. It looked deserted as we pulled in and we were not sure where to go. So, we stopped and called and someone came out. The restrooms were not at all clean and they charged for the showers (I would not have used them for free because of the way they looked). It seemed expensive for what you got...very "rustic". Also, the easiest way to get there is the Taconic Parkway, which you cannot drive with an RV (so you have to take a much longer, windy route through Hopewell Junction). The manager was knowledgeable and friendly, but doubt that we would stay here again. It seemed like a good place to spend some time camping and fishing, though (the lake looked nice). They did have cable tv at the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
We did not use the bathrooms so I can't attest to their condition. This park is on a lake. Sites are not paved, and took a bit to level. It is not a resort destination, but we would stay here again. We weren't looking for a lot of amenities just somewhere to hook up and visit family and friends. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Restrooms and showers were horrible - dirty, falling apart, plugged up. The lake front facilities were falling apart. The cable TV hookups were not hooked up. Overall this campground appeared to have potential but had not been maintained in several decades other than a coat of paint. Lake front swimming was available only from noon - 5 pm on weekends. 4 pm on weekdays. Skip this place. We were there one night and wouldn't even do that for a stopover again. The only redeeming quality was that the manager was friendly and accommodating - hence the score of a 2 instead of a 1. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This was definitely not a nice campground. There was no camp store and the grounds could have used a little work, ok a lot of work. The bathroom were horrible. They had a very small playground. The lake was nice, but must have missed the beach part, all I saw was a small strip of what was supposed to be sand (not sure what it was). The few people around us were there because they were temporarily working in the area so they were living here. Not a place to go for recreation! We will not be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com