219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Spruce Row Campsite & RV Resort was rated 4 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (607) 387-9225
CGID1962

Spruce Row Campsite & RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
181
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   1   2   7   1   4   9   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This place is a DUMP. We paid for 3 nights, but left after the second a $40 good decision. Quiet time 11-7 - forget it. Water pressure - zilch plus smelled like swamp water. Shower(ONE)filthy, bathrooms - dirty. Destitute trailer owners as well as some trailers that are obviously abandoned and slowly crumbling. Many have out buildings, extra tents, plies of trash, 'toys' in a mish mash. Never did see a management individual - we were left a map with a line drawn to the site but had us entering from the wrong direction which meant a circle around the muddy dirt roads. The pool - I think that's what it was - closed. Then there was the idiot at 6:00am that started his truck with loud mufflers and tried to see if he could rattle the valves on the engine. This could be a fantastic campground if the right owners were to do a house cleaning. Nicely sited, beautifully treed - but it needs a major overhaul and clean out of 'seasonals' who make their own rules. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Request full-hookup sites with Electric, water and sewer. We try to provide quick, objective reviews of campgrounds. We spent a week here around Labor Day, September 2011. Pros: Friendly staff who seemed to take good care of short term maintenance issues. They very quickly responded to an electrical breaker problem we had. The dog walking paths were the best – a maze of long paths cut through a meadow, and into nearby woods. Kids seem to love the play areas and the hayrides. There was live entertainment in the common facility during Labor Day weekend. Great location for exploring Lake Cayuga, the area wineries, the town of Ithaca, and don’t miss Taughannock Falls. Cons: Lake was overgrown with vegetation. Pool was used a lot, but it looked in serious disrepair. Very small campsites. We were crowded up against neighboring campers. Narrow roads . No laundry facilities. Many of the seasonal camper sites looked like junkyards; we guess there aren’t many rules. This is an old, large campground in need of some serious capital improvements. We do NOT recommend this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
One of our worse experiences. There was no one to help us find our campsite or help us. When we found it, the RV behind us was parked on part of our site, so we could not fit our 35' 5th wheel in. The road was extremely narrow, with many vehicles parked on the road, so it was difficult to back in. We asked for another site, as there were several pull-through sites that were empty. There were reservations for them at the end of our stay, but they wouldn't let us use them. They remained empty until the day before we left. It took 1 hour to get our rig in our site, and had to park it catty-wampus to get in. Then we were still hanging out in the road and had to use a cone to warn drivers/bicycles. If there had been another campground in the area we would have left. But we were here for a seminar in Utica, and it was the only campground in the area. Next time we will drive the longer distance and stay at a campground we can fit into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
If we could have checked out early and received a partial refund we would have but their policy doesn't allow it. Instead we took day trips around the area which has many gorgeous natural attractions. We thought this campground resembled more of a trailer park than a campground or RV resort. As you drive in you pass by their "pond" which is overgrown, swampy, and stinks. My kids were disappointed because they thought they would be able to fish in it. Many permanent residents don't take care of their lot. The "pool" was a large dip in the ground that has been cemented which we avoided. Much of the playground equipment was broken but there were so many bees nesting we avoided it anyhow. The roads are all dirt/gravel and between the potholes and mud my kids couldn't ride their bikes. The water pressure was too low to take showers with so we had to fill the fresh tank and run the pump. I rated it a 2 instead of 1 because I appreciated the amount of trees and the staff was very nice. Their web site looks great but the place left much to be desired. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This park has apparently been cleaned up a lot since the other reviews. The roads are gravel and dirt so they get very muddy, though. Our site under the trees was also dirt. There is no cable TV and you will not get satellite in a lot of the sites. I got two channels on the TV. The WiFi is Tengo with the first 3 days free. The pool and play areas are beautiful, clean and the grass mowed frequently. There are large open grassy areas. The seasonal sites didn't look bad at all, just not new. We saw people catching bass in the pond at the front of the resort. The roads are a bit narrow, but we were okay getting around in a 34' class A. We saw a dog walk, but we didn't use it because it was muddy and not near our site. No one else used it and no one from the park made any comments. Everyone walked though the park with their pets so I guess their policy about pets has changed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
Park does not like dogs. They are allowed to only walk to and from the dog walk area, not around the campground on the roads. However, "quiet time" has no meaning to management. Many loud, drunken parties went on far past 11 p.m. Several seasonals should be condemned for human use. Then add the "junk yard" feel with two old milk tankers and an old fire truck accessory sitting roadside in the middle of the park. We will not visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
The Pits. How this place got a 4w rating is a mystery. One area of the park is wooded and pretty but you have to go thru "Skid Row" to get there. The "seasonals" and "forevers" are a miserable mess. Even the nicer area is dotted with "Fred Sanford" imitators. No cable. Trees block satellite. WiFi unusable (clerk had no idea of User ID or pass word). Batten down the hatches and everything else when driving through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Nice clean campground with a mix of seasonal sites and overnight sites. Clean wide pull thru sites in between the trees. Very nice and shady. Gravel roads thru out. Campground owner is SIL of original owner and very interested in making sure every thing is OK. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$29
We were here after it had rained heavily for several days. We got our rig and truck stuck in the mud...more gravel is needed on most sites. The off-season office hours were very spotty. A lot of seasonal campers, making the park look run-down. Pay showers, and very few of them, and there were even a couple of "privies"! Sites were fairly wide, though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Might have been a nice place 15 or 20 years ago but I don't think there has been any upgrades to this place since then. Bathrooms were NASTY, picnic tables rotten, water smelled exactly the same as the stream that runs through park. Store/registration was nothing more than a old shack. Won't be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$28
The staff was always friendly and always were able to answer any questions. We arrived to find our fire ring was missing. I told a staffer on an atv and in less than 5 minutes we had our ring. That was the kind of service that we received all week. The region was beautiful and there was plenty to do all week. We will go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com