223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake George Escape Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (518) 623-3207
CGID1966

Lake George Escape Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
575
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$80



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   9   6   10   8   2   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$80
This park is all about kids. Lots of kid friendly activities. The sites are huge with a very natural setting.There was a wide variety of camping styles here Labor Day weekend, including some who camped in their car. Wi-Fi is only available at the lodge or grill and it was very slow. It was not worth $80 per night. I expect a more upscale atmosphere for that price. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$80
This camp ground is starting to show it;s age. There needs to be more upgrades to make it the number one in the area. Sewer trucks in and out everyday is a bit much. Pool is showing age badly. Sites in the back need more upgrading. I still like the campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
We stayed here in for two nights and it couldn't have been better. The staff was friendly, the campgrounds were nice, and everything went smooth. Would definitely recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Made reservations here for a week, because of the listed amenities. We are active adults & bike, play tennis & workout in the pool on a daily basis. Tried to play tennis, but kids had knocked a net post out of the pavement on one of the two courts, were playing on them with badminton racquets or using it with skateboards. We saw a family playing a version of volleyball on the tennis court. No security in sight to enforce the posted rules. The larger of the two pools was always filled to capacity with kids all day & evening. The kiddie pool was pretty much empty most times, but at only 3 feet deep so it's hard to work out. Biking was rarely possible because of the small kids playing in the roads. They have a DJ nightly, but the dance floor was packed with little kids jumping around. Definitely a family park & not for the 50+ age group. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
Incredible place! Let my husband make reservations at another campground (big mistake) and left immediately after seeing conditions. Called Lake George Resort and they were SO helpful and fit us in for 2 nights during their busy month. Very private sites - even though we backed up to the activity center and playground we had privacy. Kids had a blast - Bingo, games, biking, henna tattoos, fishing, swimming, etc. etc. VERY Helpful staff. There were some rowdy teenagers at the park after hours and 1 phone call ended it immediately. We were sad to leave! Would highly recommend and visit again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We were here near the end of the season, so many of the park ammenities were not operating. The park access from the highway is good and pretty well marked. The park roads are not as well marked and the roads are fairly potholed and windy, so we were a bit concerned we wouldn't find our site without a lot of driving around. The sites are long but fairly narrow and many are not very level. We wound up having to park very close to one side to get level enough to use our jacks. Had to trim some of the nearby trees/shrubs and the overhead trees dragged on the roof. Probably would not camp here again as we saw some other campgrounds in Lake George that looked more inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
This park is pretty. The staff (and their attitudes) are not. Was refused the Good Sam rate upon arrival and we spoke with their office manager about their declination of giving our discount upon our arrival. First, she again refused to give it, claiming that even though, 1. There is a Good Sam Club sign on the wall saying that members get a 10% discount. 2. She was so adamant that she called G.S. Customer Service and was told that she is supposed to give it. After she got off the phone, she said that “this one time” she would give it to us, but they were absolutely NOT going to be forced to give it in the future and she ripped the sign off the wall. We left this place a day early due to horrendously rude campers (one man screaming curses at his wife and kids for over an hour) with multiple families (tents, rigs, etc) on each site, dogs running loose through campsites, kids unsupervised running through sites, rude staff, manager and an employee who came to our door and asked if we were “enjoying our stay”. We asked him about “quiet” rules, maximum people on site rules and the G.S. issue. He suggested we buy a “pet alligator” (we are from Florida – so we believe this is why he made this snotty comment), to keep the kids and dogs out of our site. We just wanted you to know that they have NO INTENTION OF HONORING GOOD SAM MEMBERSHIPS THERE and are NOT motivated at all to actually service their guests. Just want to pack them in as much as they can for the money and ignore all the horrible behaviors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Group rate, we added an extra night and rates had dropped to $20. We were in site 14, a nice level pull through with 30 amp, water, sewer and a decent cable lineup. Verizon broadband was outstanding here. I did note some of the things mentioned in previous reviews, but do not have the same complaints. Good value for price paid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$63
This park is huge; but also very clean and quiet. Sites could be bigger but not too tight. Campground offers regular shuttle service to Lake George Village and great escapes with lots of daily activities. They could add another pool as it is small and far from some of the sites. This campground would get a higher rating if Wi-Fi was available through out campground (currently only at office) and if they didn't charge for everything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
Love this campground plenty of stuff for the kids to do all day long from the minute they wake up till dusk. The grille is great only wish prices were a little better and they offered kids meals. Love that you can do the beach or the pool. Staff is extremely friendly been going here for years and can't wait to go in August this year. Only complaint is wish the reservation system was better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
I've camped at this campground for over 15 years. When it was privately owned it was great now that is was purchased by a large corporation, it is now run-down, no improvements in at least 5 years, dirty/backed up bathrooms, dirty showers, laundry out of order. Hardly any visible staff around. The septic system is failing resulting in septic trucks pumping around the campground every two hours like clock work, noisy and smelly! This campground is not worth $70 per night and they charge extra for every little thing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
We have stayed here in the past in a Motorhome which is why we returned this year. The Reservation desk was under-staffed and there was a line-up . . . we had made reservations though their new central service but it was recorded a day after we arrived! I gather that there have been many complaints. The clerk was very helpful, thank goodness, because I was tired. Sites are belly-to-butt and not level. This is a very noisy campsite - loud radios until curfew and way too many yapping bloody small animals mascarading as dogs. WAY over-priced by about 50% higher than another spot less than two miles away. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$70
The GOOD: Huge lodge and well stocked, great activities for all, great amenities, easy check-in and warm staff. Short distance from LG Village where you'll find great prices on souvenirs. The GOOD TO KNOW: Bug spray needed EVERYWHERE you go as "ponds" are more like swamps, and there are quite a few. A bit on the loud side with a lack of security and/or policy enforcement. The WOULD LIKE TO SEE IMPROVED: Security, no drinking in the pool especially where it is a family campground and certainly NO DOGS in the pool. I thought that was terrible. A staff member was close and nothing was done. A mosquito warning should be posted on your website especially for people that are highly sensitive. My daughter was bit so many times that we had to check out early, drive back 6 hours and see her doctor. Not good at all. The ice cream area should be more "kid friendly". Perhaps it should be separated from next to the register. There was always a line and no where to stand and wait. Wi-Fi is offered around the lodge and grill. The connection was so slow that I was not able to connect. It be best to charge a small fee for internet and have it available in the entire park. We would not go again. Sorry! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
We stayed off season so the rate was lower. Check in was quick and the site was clean. We had great power and a nice view of "Moose pond." The staff was friendly and attentive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$76
This park is huge, and we have stayed here in the past and had a great time. The big draw for us is the access to the river for kayaking and tubing down the river. The staff is friendly and helpful. A great place for families. There is big room for improvement in the infrastructure. This campground is now owned by Encore and has not seen the maintenance that it deserves. The sites need leveling and new gravel. Trees and brush need trimming and general maintenance. Additionally, there were some low power issues in the area we stayed. The extra treat for us was the septic truck that needed to empty the galleys directly behind our trailer - hey, at least they are on top of those type of issues. We will be returning; just need the ownership to reinvest in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$70
This is a BIG place and devoted to kids. We selected it because we were a big-rig (45’) and places that could take us were limited in that part of upstate NY when we were here. First was the oft-heard promise, “No problem! We have sites that can accommodate you easily.” Actually, after we got into it and trimmed a few branches, we fit quite easily. The problem was getting here and turning into it without scratching the sides too much. I do wish that park owners would just once try parking a big coach before telling customers “no problem.” I know that if we were traveling with a coach full of kids we would have felt differently about this campground, but without them this was just an oversized, mediocre park in need of a lot of gravel and tree trimming. We will try to avoid it next time we are in the neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$80
I would normally rate this campground a lot higher but there is no need for a campground of this size to have dirty restrooms or showers. They should be able to afford a full time attendant. They also need closer restrooms in the back of the campground. They had constant patrolling security who did nothing about loud music all night long. Other than that, our stay was pleasant. They have lots of stuff for kids and even a bar for adults. My site was on the river but couldn't see the river unless I climbed under uncut brush. Most sites were close but I was happy with mine. Staff was very friendly and the store was the best I've ever seen. I would camp here again but would pay the extra money for a larger riverfront site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
The campground is nice enough but not quite like the pictures on the net, they must have taken the river shots in late spring when the water is high and moving. The river is more like a creek, not very appealing. The staff was very nice. The bathroom and showers were immaculate. Our site was large #70, we have a 29ft TT, full size truck, pop-up screen house, still plenty of space. I don't think there is much for security, our neighbors were loud, and playing music until 1am. If you are using this as a jumping point to go do stuff in the area and then go back, eat, have a campfire, sleep, then this is a good place. I wouldn't want to stay here all day. The general store is one of the nicest I've seen and the prices were all that bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
Sometimes I wish I could do park reviews for Trailer Life. We spent two days at this campground. Although there are some good points, there are some things people should know before they book this campaground. The good; bathrooms are cleaned frequently, good roads, DJ and dancing at night till 10, the kids enjoyed the pool. The bad; a campground owned by a corporation and they intend to make money. We have a pop-up that when folded out it is 24' long. It has a small slide out and 8' long awning and we barely fit on the site. The slide out was against the boulders that divide the sites on one side and my awning legs were almost on the boulders on the other. Once set up we had a problem, where to park my full size Chevy Silverado. We went to the office and they told me for one night I could park it on the site next to us. Then the next night they just strugged their shoulders. The campers next to us had a large tent, and their stakes were under our awning. They stuff as many campers together as they could. While that might be ok for some, it was not for us as the neighbors like to stay up and talk, and we could hear every word. Not a great camping experience. If you like this sort of thing it's up your alley, if you don't, stay away. And that's exactly what we told them when we checked out. We won't be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$80
This is a giant campground and we were not able to choose our site when we made reservations. The campground worked well for our needs. We left every day and spent the day outside the campground. However, it is not a place I would want to spend a lot of time. Our area had good people that were quiet, but in other areas, and especially near their bar, it was really loud with various campers playing different types of music. So, it was OK but probably very bad if you were in the wrong spot. Some people like mega campgrounds and, for those people, this is a good one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
Our first time camping at LGE. This campground's name says it all. It provides an "escape", and it has a "resort" atmosphere. There are wooded sites, seasonal sites, RV sites, and waterfront sites on ponds and lakes. The facilities were clean, and showers were free. There is always something to do here-shuffleboard, horseshoes, 2 heated pools, tubing trips, boating, bicycling, etc. We were able to get discount tickets to many nearby attractions through LGE ("The Great Escape" theme park was a blast). Our only complaint was the nightly DJ, who plays on Friday and Saturday only, but nightly during holiday weeks. Would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Very typical large resort park. We camped here over Father's Day weekend. The park was busy but there were still many open sites. Free breakfast for fathers on Sunday. Sites in Moose Pond area were spacious and secluded. Wi-Fi only available in the vicinity of the Lodge. Well stocked camp store. Lots to do in the Lake George area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Very large woodsy campground that is quite spread out. It was a little tricky maneuvering our 41' M/Home through the access roads to our site in many areas. Once we reached our sandy/gravel site it was very expansive and private. Sites were very level and hook-ups were conveniently located. They have a newer camp store that is well stocked with camping needs. We would return as this is a great area to spend time. On a previous trip we attended the hot air ballon festival nearby. Each Sept this event is held and if you've never been to one it is well worth doing so. A spectacular event. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$90
This was our second stay here. The reason I came back is because it is really a beautiful park. There is a beach area, frog pond, and 2 pools. Very large campground. Also, because I hardly saw my kids at all! There are so many activities there that there is absolutely no reason for anyone to be bored. We had breakfast buffet 2 days, very good for what little money you pay. I enjoyed the bar and the nightly entertainment. My husband and I like to do A LOT of walking around campgrounds while we are there, and we still did not see the whole place for the 3 days we were there. Staff VERY friendly and the park is VERY clean. I plan on returning here every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
I'll start with what keeps this location from being a 10. It is the only campground you will ever find with a bar. This leads to the second observation: a bar leads to loud music. Apparently this family oriented location includes those who like to drink and party. Otherwise this is a great place to visit. The staff is nice and there is plenty to do both within and near the park. Enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$65
We spent a week here, on our first trip to Lake George. This campground was very clean and our site was perfect. The staff was great. The work campers enjoy camping as much as we do, unlike the usual summer teen help. The campground shuttle saved time and money in an area where parking is at a premium. There are plenty of things to do, but it's quiet enough to do nothing at all. I would here again and would suggest it to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$70
Three years ago I said I would not return here because of a reservation foul-up. Well here I am again (Oh, come on Papa. Give 'em another chance) and glad of it. This time they gave us a site "near the action" and it was great. Lots of activities for the G'kids, Woodland Grill is open all day with rea$onable meals and buffets, live entertainment in the evenings, good store w/scooped ice cream, etc. (Go to "kids" section of their website, print and color a picture for a free slushie). That's all good but I stand by my original assesment: If you don't get lucky with a good site near the center of this big park, you might as well be boondocking in the Adirondacks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$58
When we arrived security met us at the gate. They were very friendly and helpful. Check in was very smooth. Site was very level, clean and spacious. There is several laundry facilities and bathhouses located throughout the campground. Free shuttles going in and out of the campground until 10pm. There is lots of family fun. This entire campground is geared towards kids. We did not take our kids on this trip but we will certainly return with them in the near future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
This was our second, but hopefully not our last, visit to Lake George Escape. The name says it all. This is truly a great escape for a weekend or a week’s vacation. The roads are a mix of dirt and asphalt, wide enough for all size rigs. Sites will meet the needs of all campers from tenter to full time RVers. The camping store has everything that you need for your stay. The shelves are well stocked with food, camping needs, and souvenirs. They have check-in down to a science. All staff members are friendly and helpful. There is an activity shop that handles all the events from arts & crafts, family sports, and equipment loans & rentals. There is so much to do here for campers of all ages. Their activities start around 8 am and go all day until about 9 pm. With all they have to offer you may not want or have to leave the campground. There are two heated pools one for the little campers and one for the bigger campers. The pools have 2 times set aside for adult swim. There is a café and bar near the pool. The café has $2.00 breakfast every morning which is a buffet with muffins, eggs, potatoes, sausage or bacon, French toast or pancakes and juice. You can’t beat the value! There are a few showers/restrooms throughout the campground, all cleaned throughout the day. The laundry room is clean with newer coin operated washers & driers. There is an arcade with a few games of change to collect tickets and win small items. If I had one complaint it would be their mini golf; it is a 9 hole course that is very out dated and needs of some TLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$75
This is a very family oriented campground. We camped here with two other families in the pull through sites in front near the recreational field. Our sites were a nice size with plenty of room in front and back of our trailer to park our vehicle, along with nice spacing between trailers. The campground is level throughout. There are numerous kids throughout the day walking, riding bikes or pedal cars. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. They have a shuttle to the village that comes and goes hourly. There is lots to do in the area. It is 6 miles from Lake George village. They offered daily breakfast buffet for $1.99, also a nice convenience. A group of us also took advantage of tubing down the lazy river into the campground. This campground has lots to do and is convenient to Lake George. We would definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Truly a family resort. Lots to do for everyone. We stayed as Coast to Coast members at $15 a night plus $3 resort fee. I guess the membership doesn't afford us sewer sites, but we got by just fine. We would have upgraded to sewer had we known that was possible. The office staff was very professional and helpful. They have someone visit each site as it becomes vacant to make sure it is neat and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Camped on Ready, Camp, Go Program sponsored by parent company of Lake George Escape. No sewer as part of standard site although all other campgrounds stayed at on the program have provided such. Made double reservations and called home phone while we were traveling to say they would give our site up unless we paid in full. Full bar in family campground at the family recreation and pool area. Not the usual. Loud music from 4 - 8 from DJ at this area. Sites were clean, roads well kept, rules enforced to a fault, and lots of activities for kids. Free local newspaper and $1.99 breakfast buffet were nice touches. Management exhibited attitude toward cut price programs during the peak season even though they were definitely not full and even indicated season had been really off. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Outstanding management and park. We were part of a Rally group and they did an incredible job for our group. Would highly recommend this park for people traveling with children. We were preseason and the rate reflects that. Not too many kids, our group was older couples. We really enjoyed our stay and the great food they served us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
Showers were cold first night, cable dead but we were moved promptly. Stay there, they listen to complaints We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$80
We just spent 10 days at Lake George Escape. I would like to rate the campground higher, however, the bathrooms at the playground, snack bar and pool area were always filthy! Other restrooms in the park were very clean. As I've stated previously, the 600 sites are large and private and our favorite place to stay in the park. They are far away from the activities but so much more peaceful. The grill menu is basically burgers but the prices are modest and the portions are ample. We enjoyed eating dinner while overlooking several of the smaller Adirondack Mountains. This time we did kayak the Schroon River. It runs right along the campground and is a lazy way to spend a summer afternoon. There are so many activities and the staff was always pleasant. We did hear some loud music on 2 different occasions but the "safety patrol" handled the situations quickly and quietly. We are headed back in October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
We make this trip once a year to this great C/G. Facility is exceptional. Kids have a great time. Many events if the kids want. (bicycle rental, River tube excursion, game room, miniature golf, cafe, ice cream parlor, DJ certain nights, etc) We pick our sites and request them when making reservations. Staff friendly and helpful. Shuttle bus to Lake George Village a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$61
We were pleased with the overall campground however we were disappointed in the site. The site was more suited for a popup not a large 30 ft. with a slide out. The campground does offer a lot of activities for the kids which they did enjoy. The cafe had great music both Friday and Saturday night which we enjoyed. I would go again if I could be sure of getting a suitable site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$47
This was our first time at this campground, first time in New York for that matter. We were very surprised and pleased. All amenities for tent camping were excellent, rest rooms and showers, sites, etc., were very clean and orderly. The Resort amenities were better than any other camp ground we have been at. Pavilion, pools, bar, restaurant, etc., were much better than expected. Finally, the Adirondacks, and Lake George are a very beautiful part of the country. From Lake George Village to Fort Ticonderoga, there is plenty of eye candy, shopping, and restaurants. Finally, we were not scalped for everything, something we come to expect on the East coast. I highly recommend this campsite/resort and we will return soon. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$60
I love this campground! We have stayed here twice. Once last year in July and this past Memorial Day. The campground is super clean, lots of activities for the kids and all the people that work here are real nice. The store is huge with lots of neat stuff to buy. I would recommend this campground to anyone with kids. This one is definitely a yearly visit for us! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$53
We're back from another great time at this CG. We always stay back in the 500 section as it is much quieter. We rarely saw our son (14)as this CG has sooo many activities for kids of all ages. We will definitely return next year. Big rigs are no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$56
We really enjoyed this park. We were here for the Labor Day weekend and the place was packed. It is a place where there always seems to be something to do, especially for children. But there was also enough adult stuff to entertain us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$52
This place was outstanding!! When we first made the reservation I thought the price was a little steep, but I can say it was worth every penny. We had the best time there. The staff goes way above and beyond, when you leave and come back through the gate a staff member says "Welcome home" and that is exactly what it felt like. The kids had a blast, there was so much for them to do and they were treated very well. It was very clean, the sites were spacious and well kept. I really just cannot say enough about this place. I very highly recommend it, we will go back for years to come. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Big park with lots to do there and in the area. The tiki bar is nice, snack bar was handy when the kids were in the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
This was our second visit to this campground. Our first was in 2000. This place has everything. You could easily spend a week here and not be bored. But if you choose to leave the campground within 15 minutes drive there's amusement and water parks, white river rafting just about everything under the sun in the area. The only problem we see with this campground is it's gotten to big for the two pools it has. They need to expand on their pool Area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$75
This is a well-maintained campground, with many amenities. However, it is extremely large and busy, and some of those amenities can get a bit overwhelmed (notably the pool, which was completely full while we were there). They were celebrating "Christmas in July" while we were there, and the kids enjoyed a free wagon ride around the campground while Christmas carols blasted from the speakers. As mentioned, the campground is very busy and seemed to be made up mostly of campers from "downstate" NY, enjoying the country. The campgrounds are actually in Warrensburg, NY, but are within an easy drive of Lake George. A fun side trip from here was visiting the Stone Bridges and Caves in Pottersville, about a 25 minute drive up the Northway. All in all, it is a nice campground, a little pricey, and not a place to go if you are looking for a lot of peace, quiet and solitude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
We were in the 600 area sites which are big and wide but not near anything including a bathroom. We had to drive to get to a bathroom or shower. The bathrooms at the rear of the front office are the cleanest. The ones near us (and not really that close) were dirty and crowded. The pools are very small(one for small children and the other for everyone else) and quickly become over crowded. The reservations system is a joke as this place is part of a corporation and when you call the 800 # you are not speaking to anyone that actually is at the campground. You can make reservations directly through the campground if your resourceful and can find the local phone number. However apparently the local campground and the corporate reservation people don't communicate and one can't tell you any information about your reservation if you've made it through the other entity. The check in took a long time too as apparently they have only 1 or 2 employees that wait on customers while the remaining 10 employees are either on break or just plain ignore you. This place is just to over run with kids, golf carts, and RV trailers coming and going at all hours. Lake George RV Park is a much better run, cleaner and a quieter campground than this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We went up here with friends. The place was great. 2 pools but they were on the small side and you were only allowed to have 35 people swimming at one time. The same went for the beach at the river. There are no life guards at either the pools or the river. There is a ton of stuff to do both for free or a small/reasonable fee. They have electric boat rentals along with canoe's and both 1 & 2 person kayaks. The wifi was spotty at our site but we were pretty far from the office. It did work great by the pool area though. The showers and bathroom were some of the cleanest and well designed we have seen. The biggest downfall I think is the $60 a night and you aren't by the lake. You are about 10-15 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
Let me start by saying this is a great park if you are traveling with kids. Allot of activities. The sites are a little tight but manageable. Campground is worth the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
This campground was very pretty, fun, and close to Lake George center. The owners were extremely nice and professional. Bathrooms were clean as can be! Laundry facilities were great to. My husband and I stayed there for a week on a waterfront pond site. very nice campsite and big campground. two pools and a river beach, all very clean.. I give this place a 10+!!! I would will be coming back for years to come! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$56
Took a long time to check in due to long line at registrations. Staff was pleasant. Interior roads good. Campground is like a city of Rv's. Site was gravel and level. But sites are close together with very little privacy, at least in the section we were in -- 600 #'s. It was a 10 minute walk to the bathroom/showers. The showers had a separate changing room that was muddy unless you showered after 8 pm. Any earlier and it was difficult to get dressed without getting the mud on your pants as you try to put them on. Road noise was constant. No ventilation so it was like a sauna getting dressed. Bingo was expensive and prizes were in store/cafe vouchers rather than money. Every evening at dinner time a tractor with blaring music comes through the campground pulling a "train car" of kids with parents. We found it very disruptive to our dinner and had people yelling at us "what are you eating?", What's for dinner?", "Got any extra?". Would most likely NOT stay here again, as I prefer wilderness compared to RV city and nature sounds compared to highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$65
While the campground was very well maintained, the campground was so packed that you couldn't even move without stepping on a child! The original site we had upon arrival was packed with the neighboring sites things (this didn't surprise me judging by the size of the sites) The site was too small for our pop up. We had no room for even a picnic table or to put or fire ring. We went to the front desk and requested a site change which they did for us right away. Our second site was a little bigger, But not great. There were a million kids here and if you were not a kid you were a 22 year old with a group of 15 partying it up all night. While some may enjoy this it is not my idea of a fun relaxing camping trip. I had a hard time sleeping because of the noise and no one enforces the quite time rules. I will not return to this campground. Too busy, too loud and too many children!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Nice very wood lots. Big Pines were nice but were dropping needles, sap, and pollen while we were there. Not the park's fault. Super nice owner who is strick with rules and is on premises active in park operation. Don't try to get in this park with a junk RV! WiFi is spotty (office area only) in that it drops out and you have to go into the office to reboot the router (once to twice a day). ITS guy can't seen to get it fixed. Large sites, very wide. Restrooms were absolutely spotless and well supplied. Book exchange. NO PETS in this park. Pool clean and nice but not heated. Rec. hall is great and well stocked with stuff for kids to do. Kid friendly park. Excellent maintained park. Take insect repellent this time of year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$64
We stay here whenever we visit the Lake George area. Pros: The 50 amp sites are large and screened from the next site with trees and shrubs. I love the space of the 50 amp sites. Well stocked fishing ponds as well as river fishing is available. They have great activities. Cons: They allow large groups at the tent sites and these groups can get very rowdy. Note: This year over the Memorial Day weekend, the park did hand out notices stating that loud campers would be asked to leave ! The 2 pools are inadequate for the number of campsites and guests. When you make reservations, request 50 amp sites as far away from the tent areas as possible to avoid the congestion and noise. Also, the campground is in Warrensburg on the Schroon River not Lake George.(Wifi is an extra charge.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$65
We stayed here twice this season. First visit had us in a site that was next to a swamp; unable to remain outside due to heavy mosquito infestation. Pool was too cloudy to safely use. We chalked it all up to fate and decided to try it again. On the morning of our second visit, front desk called my home at 10 am to say that they were "booked" and that our reservation was now cancelled. Trailer was loaded in the driveway, kids were excited, and now no campsite. Woman on phone said that she was sorry. I wouldn't accept "sorry", so she said that maybe something might open up. I drove up there anyway, received a site, and counted no less than 30 open sites. Bring lots of $, as everything is extra. There are better options in Lake George than this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$60
The park itself was nice but our stay was spoiled because we did not get the sites we reserved. Three months in advance, we reserved five sites (2 RV & 3 tent) and were promised and assured they would be "near" each other. One RV site was 1/4 mile from the nearest tent and the other was 100 yards in a different direction. Too far from the playground and activiy center for the kids to go alone. Neither RV site could get a WiFi signal. Our plea at the desk was answered with a curt "I can't do anything for you". What she meant is "I won't even try to help you". None of us will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$52
While it has lots to do, you'd better bring a pocket full of cash, because everything your kids will want to do costs extra; even the little river tube ride is $7 each. The pools were small for a campground this size, but the playground is nice. We didn't expect to have to pay for Wi-fi at a campground of this caliber (and cost), so that brings its mark down for us, and the river beach was disappointing too. The water was cold and the roped area was really small, so we only spent about 20 minutes there. Our site was up in the front, and it's like a big RV parking lot -- very close quarters, very crowded. But I think the thing that irked us the most was that this is a family campground, yet we had to pay extra for our son, who's 14. We won't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
Very nice place to stay. Staff was great in all aspects. The campground was very clean and organized. The store was probably the best I have ever been in, they carried everything you would ever need on a trip. If your going to this area this campground should been your first call for reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$51
Largest, most amazing campground I have ever seen. Tons of stuff to do. Make sure to take advantage of the discounts for local attractions. Sites are not huge, but we had site 86 which backed up to the athletic field and gave us room to the rear of the trailer. They need more pool facilities and desperately need to re-do their mini-golf. The mini-golf is free, but in disrepair. Hopefully they will build a moderate course and keep the free part. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$53
I have never encountered such a friendly staff!! Any questions or problems we had were handled with the most professional attitude. Everyone was so nice, from the guard at the gate, to the game room attendants, to the folks at the snack bar. We have never felt so welcome at a campground before. They were also very accommodating to a group of teens camping together. One employee even said to the group leader "I want to accommodate you as much as possible" and meant it. Ditto the earlier comments on the cleanliness of the rest rooms, laundry, pool, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Great campground. All staff that we encountered were "workampers" fellow RV'ers. They were all polite, friendly, and knew answers to our questions. And there are a lot of them. If you need help, there is a staff person nearby. The camp store is HUGE. Basically has everything you could need for camping/RVing, along with stuff you didn't know you needed. An extensive list of scheduled activities, especially for kids. A lot of activities are extra cost, but a lot is also free. Shuffleboard (maintained in excellent condition), tennis, basketball, mini-golf, ping pong, etc are free with equipment provided by the campground. Two pools, large one is heated, with a couple hours a day set aside as "adult only" swim times. Bathrooms / showers are CLEAN and FREE (no paying for showers)! We highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$47
We stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday. Park was packed and all was quiet and orderly. We stayed in the newer section with large pull thrus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$38
We picked this park because of the high reviews on this site, and we were definitely not disappointed! It was an easy on and off the highway, with a friendly, breezy check-in. We easily found the area we were supposed to park in, but we had missed the street. Within minutes, a friendly gentleman on a golf cart scooted up to our trailer and showed us where we could turn around to easily access our site. In the purple section, where we had been assigned, the lots were flat and sandy as it was dry. Leveling was easy and within minutes we were hooked up and ready to unpack. Water pressure was good, with no sulfur smell from the line. Electric was steady. The site was large with brush/tall pine trees between each site. We easily opened our slide and opposing awning, and we still had room! The rest of the park was spotless. It was a pretty busy weekend because of the hot air balloon festival, but everything was clean. The pool was sparkling, and still open since it was heated. All amenities seemed to be in tip-top shape. The next time we go, which will probably be next spring, we'll probably stay in the blue section. It seemed to consist of smaller pull-thru sites with no break between sites, but more families with kids seemed to be concentrated here being that this section is next to all of the amenities. The purple section, although very peaceful and quiet, seemed to be older adults in fifth wheels and although our teen boy found a few kids to pal around with, we think he would have definitely found many more in the main area of the park. We didn't give this park a 10 for only one reason: the park is so close to the highway that we could hear highway noise 24 hours a day. The blue section will probably be noisier as it's even closer to the highway overpass with no trees in the space between to buffer the sounds; but the park was so nice, we're willing to live with this inconvenience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
My wife and I, and our 2 kids, stayed here for a week in a pop-up camper in August 2005. I've camped for many, many years, and now with kids of my own, I found the campground to be one of the best to stay at. One of the best things to note is that the main bathrooms and showers were absolutely immaculate. Hats of to the cleaning crew. Many of the staff members are campers as well, so they know what a camper expects, and as a result, we found them to be very friendly. The camp store is top of the line with anything you want available at a reasonable price. Cafe Alfresco also had great food and drinks available if you didn't feel like making your own. The campground was well maintained, and the sites were adequate in size, without you feeling crowded in. There were many roomy sites on the river. Don't expect a lake on-site, as the other waterfront sites are on a pond, with no swimming. The actual "Lake George" lake is about a 15 minute ride, with a few places to go to para-sail or to rent a boat. Additionally, we had season passes for Six Flags, and they were valid for a day of fun at The Great Escape amusement park, which is also a quick ride away. On-site, there were plenty of activities for the kids, though at an additional cost, some a bit pricy; mining for gems/fossils ($), stuffed animal making ($), playground, 2 pools, game room ($), bingo ($), and pedal cars ($). We all really liked the pedal cars, but the half hour rental went too fast to even make a full loop around the campground, making a bit expensive. Swimming was mainly at the pool. The river was too low at the time we went. In all, a great campground and one we'll be sure to return to. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$67
We love this campground. The people are nice the place is clean. Staff speak to the kids like they are people even when up to no good. We stayed a week and it was wonderful. My only complaint is everything costs an arm and a leg we spent approx $2000.00 for 5 people for a week of camping and entertainment. We went to six flags - which I don't recommend and the rodeo - which I do recommend! The rodeo cost less and we had more fun. Plenty of shopping down down for those who want to. If you must wash and dry clothes you may want to look elsewhere or you will spend a couple hours waiting for it to dry. Even with all of this known to us we would go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Lake George Escape Campground- A $210 deposit (half the total amount) was sent on Aug 5 to rent a 40' trailer which sleeps 8. Even though there were only two of us, we were checking out the facilities for a family reunion. That idea disappeared quickly as this was the most customer unfriendy place I have ever been in. After 4 hour trip we arrived at campground at 12:15. My husband pulled up in front. I went in to register. The man in line in front of me was told that the rental units were not ready till 2, so he could not stay. He said something to the registration clerk , and she gave him a car pass and told him to come back later for the key. When I got to the desk, she gave me the same speech. I asked if I could just leave the car and small kayak trailer in the lot by the registration building which was at least 4 acres big and contained 1 golf cart and nothing else. She told me absolutely not, first because there would be too many people parking there and then she said it was for insurance purposes. Another person behind the desk said we should go across to MacDonald's and have an ice cream and wait there for an hour and a half. At this point I went out to tell my husband but the guard at the gate had already let him past. We went to the very back of the very large empty lot, parked the car and then went to the restaurant in the park and spent fifteen dollars for lunch. At 1:30, my husband went in and was almost registered by the male clerk and the original clerk started yelling that she couldn't trust us to follow the rules and she wanted us out. When we asked to speak to the owner, she called security, wrote up a credit and threw us out. I would not leave until I talked to the owner, I told them to call him. Finally the security guard told us the owner wanted us off the property. We had no where else to go and were forced to come back home. After 8 hours of driving, my husband's back problem (the reason he is on disability)was aggravated and will probably need medical care. I can find no mention on their site of not coming before check-in time. Can you imagine a hotel not letting you park in their parking lot until you check in? Avoid this place at all costs. There are many other campgrounds on the Schroon River. We camped here in a Campground Cabins.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$52
Very nice park with lots of available activities. Even included a free shuttle into Lake George. Improvements could be made on how to manage the extremely dusty conditions in some parts of the park. The dust was all over everything and impacted the cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers. The dust would track and quickly make the bathrooms ugly and the drying area of the showers very poor. Thought should be given to how to better manage all the dirt. The only other complaint was that the paper toweling (in light of the prior comments) needs better attention to keep a full supply. I have always tried to leave park rest rooms/showers in better condition than when I walked in--however, with all the dust and lack of paper towels, this is was very difficult. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$46
Campground has lots of stuff for children to do; but alot of activities cost extra. Some sites are very sandy. Excellent Store! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$46
This campground is above average. Staff is very helpful and friendly. We stayed toward the very back where there are mostly pull-throughs. The sites seem a little wider there, but it does take some effort to get a long truck and RV around some of the corners and through some of the tight spaces. The most undesirable thing about staying here were the very thirsty mosquitoes! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$50
This was one of the most enjoyable campgrounds that we have been to. Very kid friendly with multiple organized activities all day long. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom/shower facilities were spotless. We stayed in the newer section in a back in site on a small loop. The newer section is mainly pull thru's with full hook-ups. The older section is very nice too and more rustic and spread out. The older section offers a combination of full hook-ups, electric and water, and dry tent sites. We definitely plan on going back again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$40
This was a very nice campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant "Cafe Alfresco" in the middle of the park prices were fair and food was very good, service was also very good. Many activities miniature golf, canoeing, tubing on the river, pedal kart rentals and LOTS more to do. On 2 or 3 nights they have a DJ with line dancing lessons. Lots of fun. Showers and Bathrooms were the cleanest I've ever experienced. Very nice pool. . I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$42
The Staff is Excellent. Very friendly and courtous. We stayed at the beginning of the season (Mid-June) so we where able to pick our site, which was very spacious and easy to get into. They are opening a new section of the park (Where we stayed) and the sites are somewhat private and not close to each other, however, you are at a distance to any of the activities and general store etc. Very quiet. Security patrols seemed to be every 1 to 2 hours during the day and evening hours. Their brouchure is nice and reflects some of what you will actually see. We would visit this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$50
OK not as nice as the web page! Expensive, Crouded sites. Very clean We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$42
Nice campground but pricy. Some roads awfully hard to drive thru when park is full. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com