206704 User submitted reviews online!!
Cheerful Valley Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (315) 781-1222
CGID1979

Cheerful Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   8   8   8   6   7   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Sites are a nice size, not crowded together. Bathrooms clean. Pool area is nice, but there are no chairs. Plenty of open space to walk your dog. Enjoy going there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
I would not recommend this campground except for an overnight if you have no options. Basically, "cheap" and "greedy" show itself in the camp's ownership and management. Camping here is essentially field camping with site numbers and posts for organization. The 8.5 bathroom rating should be a 4.0. Only one litter/trash can in the park is at the office. A locked can with a hole in the top is labeled "RETURNABLE CANS AND BOTTLES ONLY". We reserved for electric and water, but the electric turned out to be 20 amp with AC not allowed and the breaker was not located on the post. No 50 amp service. Although the campground map shows two 50 amp sites, they are occupied by the camp's workkampers. And lastly, they charge guest fees of $5 Adults and $3 kids. An employee is at the entrance in a golf cart to make sure this easy money is collected. I asked about this and the employee said that the State of NY requires it (I do not believe this answer). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Our site was great. Lower sites were not so great as we have had a TON of rain this year. We have gone here for 2 years now and will be back again. Had friendly people, clean rest rooms, a nice pool and park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
The previous reviewer that mentioned the road in was tight, but it was not that bad. They were in the process of fixing it when we left. This is a beautiful place and very kid/dog friendly. Lots of stuff to do and convenient to the wine trail. The only problem we had was if your campsite is in the back in the full hookups. If the breeze is blowing the right way, you can really smell the sewage area. I would camp here again, but a little farther to the front. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
The campground is easy to get to and neat in appearance. Most of the full hookups are occupied by seasonal sites and some of those sites are rather uneven. Quite a few of the overnight sites are only electric and water with a dump station at the entrance/exit section. The biggest complaint is the horrid odor from the compost area. I am all for recycling but there are better areas on this property to place it other than next to sites. It smelled like an open sewer and permeated the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
This park could easily be an 8 or higher but the owners have chosen to not do the things to make it better. The road in is AWFUL! Potholes that would swallow a VW. We did see evidence of coming road work. We had a nice site (#30) that was fairly level and had 50 amp, etc. A lot of the sites are far from level, often a 2' slope. The first site they offered us was at least 2'+ out of level. The sites are all grass which makes it difficult to see exactly where you are supposed to pull in. I saw several travel trailers give up and just live with the angle. Down in the "valley" there are a lot of nice level sites, but limited amenities. The restrooms were very old and very tired. They smelled like they were cleaned on a fairly regular basis, but they were not impressive. There are a lot of seasonal/permanent residents, some OK, some close to Sanford & Son. I would not commit to stay here until I was sure that the site had the hookup I needed and was level enough. When I called they said (referring to the first one we would not take) my site was level. Not sure that we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Cheerful Valley is a nice place to stop when going across New York. The access road leaves a little bit to be desired (ruts, holes, etc.), but the campground is clean, and the sites are mostly grass and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Looking out the window of our RV one would be impressed with the view. There are lush rolling lawns going down to the playground that abuts the meandering river. This is definitely a family oriented campground. The staff is friendly and appears to take pride in their establishment. There is no cable TV, nor wi-fi, but excellent cell phone reception. The roads are still a bit rough, and the interior roads are somewhat steep, but navigable. It could be tight for a larger motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
This is a really pretty park not too far off the Parkway. It reminded me of camping on a golf course, because the sites are large and the lawns extensive. Everything was lush and green. Very nice. The park was quiet and orderly, with both open and more wooded sites. It provides a nice respite from the stress of the NY Parkway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Very nice park with plenty of room between the sites. Great place for an overnight stopover or extended weekend. Very close to the Waterloo Factory outlet Mall. Friendly staff. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
The owner is a class act and working hard to improve the excellent location. The roads are very rough, but we were told that they would be improved this fall after they added a few sites. They had about 4 in. of rain in the week before we arrived. The sites were not well drained and very rough. The owner assisted each unit into their site. The restrooms were OUTSTANDING! As another camper mentioned, the setting is one of the most pleasant that we have ever visited. It is also in a convenient location that allows you to visit the Finger Lakes from one location. I would give this site a much higher rating if the roads would have been better. We would return if we are ever in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Probably the prettiest piece of property I have seen a campground sit on. Rolling hills with lush green grass. We camped with family and had a pair of corner lots #28 and #43 that were together and afforded a huge site for two trailers. Close to Seneca Lake and other Finger Lakes attractions. Check out Roseland Waterpark if you go there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
We liked the campground but now that we have stayed there once we know what sites NOT to pick. We were in site #33 and never been in a site where we had to try to parallel park the trailer. Was not easy to get level and had to board up the door side of the trailer, which made the step side awful high. Next time we stay we will ask for a site on the lower end of the road they were a lot more of a conventional setup. Dump station is in an awkward spot on a curve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Quiet campgroud, shade, easy in & out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$34
This is nice older campground. Small creek runs thru with pretty willow trees. With some tlc this could be a very nice campground.Bring bottled water as we were told by the seasonal campers that there is a problem with the water. Shame on the owners for not being forthright regarding the water. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com