206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Saugerties / Woodstock KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (845) 246-4089
CGID1991

Saugerties / Woodstock KOA

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   4   8   9   5   3   4   10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
This is a wooded and rustic campground. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay comfortable. We have been coming here for a number of years and love this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Like all KOAs, This park was overpriced. This is a rustic campground with large and small sites. We had a pull-through that was wide and long and quite level. The amenities are good, the staff is very nice. We were led to our site. Tall trees and woodland grounds, no clear view of the southern sky. A little below average campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Friendly staff at check in and escorted to site. Not very well maintained grounds and a pretty dirty and dusty appearance. Wouldn't care to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Mostly wooded so it did feel like a campground, not like parking in a field with no shade. Staff was pleasant. Didn't use the showers/restrooms, pool was clean and went from 3ft to 8ft deep which was nice so the whole family could enjoy. The only downside was the roads were very dusty. Few dump truck loads of gravel packed down would make it much nicer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Clean nice wooded park. Staff very nice and helpful. A lot of rain while we were ther and except for low areas dried out pretty quick. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
We don't usually stay at KOAs because of the higher price, but most campgrounds/RV parks in New York close by Oct. 15th, so we didn't have a choice. This one is probably a bit "rougher" than most, since it's rather remote and not near any major attractions. Paid $41.95 for FHU. Good electric and water. Road going in was very steep. Tights turns inside...don't know how a really big rig would do here. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
Park looked like the grass had not been mowed in weeks. They did not even move things to mow. Grass was very high under rental bikes. Store was filthy and dirty with very high priced merchandise. I would not camp here again. Sorry I tried it. Moving to another place tomorrow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
This campground to us was dusty and somewhat unkept. Never found the bathroom but did not need it, saw people walking all around looking to take a shower, not sure if they ever got to. Grass at our site was half way to our knees and the firepit was in the middle of the grass area. People seemed friendly enough but most likely would not return. With a little TLC I think this could be a great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This excellent run KOA provides a great stopping point in or out of New England, via the I-87 to I-90 Corridor. The CG is located about 100 miles north of NYC, which is just about perfect for avoiding the madness and frantic rush hours you will find just a bit closer. the CG is only about two miles off the highway, on a good road in. Absolutely NO highway noise, seems you are many miles into the sticks. The CG is set in very tall impressive straight shady pines, which provide for an interesting "in the woods feel and effect". Excellent reception and staff, was escorted to site. All connections at site were excellent. Bathrooms and showers older, but very clean and useable. Pool looked nice. Wi-Fi free and strong. Loved the outside large SS Dish Washing station - cool! (Wish more places had that.) All in all, this is a perfect KOA to spend a few days at, or just as an overnight lay-over, on your way in or out of the New England area. Safe and comfortable, run by caring intelligent folks who live on location. Great. I'll be back! Rating: 10 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$58
Interesting, not as nice as other KOA's we have been to, dusty roads, Sat night entertainment was over at 8:30 so we missed it, pool it tiny. They warn you of killer squirrels or food thief squirrels. Most likely would not go back. Old trailers at the entrance, grass needed to be cut badly. In general the place needed a good cleaning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This is a repeat stay for us, as it is located conveniently between home and our final destination. As always, the owners are extremely friendly and helpful, and appeared when we pulled in late (having called ahead) to help us settle on our site. Since we were there last summer they have redone the entrance driveway and it is no longer muddy and rutted. The sites are fairly close together but the pull throughs are sufficient for our 30' trailer and dually truck. It still would not be a destination for us, but it's a fine place for an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
The entrance road is in terrible shape and the sites were muddy. The pull through sites are small and my truck with a 27 foot 5th wheel took the whole length. The turns on the interior roads and around the dump station are tight. On the plus side, there is a decent walking trail around the property. Park is o.k. for overnight or short term stay while touring the area. It is not a resort destination. We would stay here again if traveling through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$50
Nestled in the woods, the sites are dirt and rough. It was hard to level but we managed in the pull through site that we were given. The sites are fairly close together. The road into the park was very rough. We were there to visit Hyde Park Roosevelt historical site and would not advise staying here for that purpose. It took us at least an hour to get there, even though it was only about 25 miles away.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
This campground is poorly maintained. Campsites are level but very close together. All roads and campsites are dirt (no gravel) and were so dusty we could hardly see to pull into facility and everything (including our clean RV) was covered in dust. Must be a sea of mud when it rains! Biting bugs were awful. Bathroom was old and dirty. Entire facility not up to KOA standards. People in office were nice at check-in but we could hardly wait to leave the next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
The first thing you see is a dump truck driving into the park. The owner-wife talked on the phone and ignored us for 10 minutes when we walked onto the office to register. Her husband then came in without saying a word and flipped on the TV. After paying the fees we went to the site, which was narrowly between two trees behind a mud hole. We changed sites, and found the full hookups were not possible to use at the same time as the electric and water were at the very front of the site and the waste pipe 30' at the rear. Park sites were not in good shape as was the park itself. Apparently there is gun range not far away as gunshots could be heard all afternoon and evening which proved to be so close as to be unsettling. The requisite KOA store closed early and you had to use a walk-talkie to get someone to come to the office. And KOA says this camp received a president's award in 2010. From this experience I decided to not stay at a KOA in the future if I have a choice. I would never stay in this mosquito infested place again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
We stayed one night passing through the area. Everything worked fine. We had a back-in gravel wooded site. We were unable to put up our satellite dish because of the trees. It was quiet and clean. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
This is our fifth stay here, as it is halfway between home and our favorite Adirondacks campground. The owners are always friendly and so helpful; we called to say we were running late and they stayed up to help put us on our site. It had rained a lot and the site we had reserved was partially flooded; they upgraded us to a pull-through with no extra charge and stayed to make sure we were settled. The bathrooms are clean and the park is safe and quiet. I would not use this as a destination, but it is a great place for a stopover. The owners are the best part of this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Best selection of camping supplies of any KOA we have seen. Management friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. Worst roads of any KOA we have visited. Full of potholes and VERY bumpy. Biting insects the worst of any campground we have ever stayed in. Place needs spraying soonest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
The sites are nicely spaced with lots of trees and shade, features that we enjoy in a campground. The location is well off the highway so road noise is not an issue. The owners are terrific, going out of their way to help us with a temporary repair to a leaky exterior drain valve on our trailer. The small arts community of Woodstock is nearby. The only reasons we didn't rate the campground higher are fairly minor: the locations of the hookups (water and electric way at the front of the site and sewer connection at the back); rather old bathrooms/showers; and the condition of the picnic table. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Great base camp to explore the town of \Woodstock and tour the Hudson River Valley area. Great hosts, clean, well maintained areas. Well stocked store. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$44
Our fifth time staying at this campground, each time in a different site. I am always impressed at the ongoing improvements at this KOA. I like that you are always escorted to your site and the owners are on site and very friendly and helpful. Improvements have been made to the children's playground, and the back in sites are being fixed up with what looked like new water and electric lines. Our site was a pull through. It was nice and level and exceptionally long. This campground is not a party place and does not have seasonals. If you are looking for a resort type atmosphere, go someplace else. If you are looking for a nice, quiet park, then come here. This campground has a really nice nature trail that goes completely around the campground. I will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$47
This was our first KOA experience and it was pretty much what I expected, except I thought the incoming road would be in better shape. The electric and water connections were located in the very front of the site. I never saw this before and I did have extension cords, but they did offer to loan them to me if my connections were short. I thought that was a nice gesture. Also, I thought the sites were a little cramped, but I would return. By the way, there is nice Italian restaurant a couple of miles away called Elianos. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$47
We stayed here for a weekend get away with my wife and kids. It is a very nice, quiet campground. We got there after dark and the owner was very nice, escorted us to our site and helped us get settled. The kids had a good time, especially on the banana peel bikes. Bathrooms were clean. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$42
About 3 miles off I-87. Easy access. Gravel interior roads bumpy; they'd had a lot of rain so that didn't help. Long pull throughs, we stopped overnight. Wi-Fi worked OK. A basic KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. They escorted us to our site, and once there, decided to give us the next site so we would have more room for our dogs! They stayed until we were all set up, and were very friendly. The campground was very clean, with garbage cans available all over the grounds. The other campers were also very friendly. It was only an overnight stay for us, but we plan on returning just because our stay was so good! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Our second stay here - park is clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint (and we've had this problem elsewhere) is that I always tell them when reserving we have a 30' trailer and a 22' dually truck. While the trailer would technically fit on the site if I could pick it up and plunk it down, they failed to take into account the maneuvering room needed and obstacles such as trees, rocks and other campers. It took about 45 minutes with several "helpers" to get our trailer on its site, and the owner then said she was going to change the site length maximum after seeing the trouble we had. Also, it had been VERY wet and rainy; our site had a huge puddle which wouldn't have been a major problem except it wasn't just water, it was clearly sewage and smelled like it. BUT - that being said, we will return as it is a good stopping point on our way and is near some family. A decent overnight or home base but I wouldn't make it a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
The family stayed at the Saugerties/Woodstock KOA Late July 2009. The owners are some of the nicest and most helpful people you would ever want to meet. They help you back into your site and stay with you until you give the OK. They do this for you whether rain or shine! This in itself made our vacation that much more enjoyable, since I didn’t have to yell at the wife and kids :) Our site was a little bit small, but since we had no one next to us it worked out well. The WiFi and cable worked fine as did all other hookups. The Pool was clean and refreshing! This is a good base for day trips to area attractions. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$51
This is the fourth time we have stayed here, each time in a different area of the campground. We have been happy with all four sites. We were in the back section of the campground this stay where they have added pull thru 50 amp sites. Even after a deluge and overnight rain these sites dried out very quickly. I did notice that the tent sites need some work to dry them up more quickly after a rain storm. They were still wet 2 days later. Wi-Fi was good in our section. The owners are terrific and very helpful. They escort you to your site and help you in your position and set up. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Sites are a little tight but nicely wooded and shaded. Very quiet and the Owners and Staff are the most helpful and friendly people you could ever meet. Took us to the site and helped us back in, and stayed with us until they were sure we were set. Without a doubt we will return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
I wasn't crazy about this place. Close, tight spots like being in a wooded, shaded parking lot. Only campground I've been to that insisted campfires be out by midnight! A little too strict for my taste. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
This is my 1st time posting on this site. I am at the campground as I am doing this review. This is our 2nd time here and I have to say this is probably one of the nicest places we have been. It is clean, friendly, quiet, and offers a nice relaxing time. We stayed last year for a weekend and decided to stay this year for a week. They offer a pool, small arcade, playground for the kids. While it isn't fancy if you are looking for a relaxing time in a nice clean campground this is the place. We live about 20 minutes away and this is a nice place for us to go and close enough my wife can run back and forth to work each day. The owners are very friendly and will assist you in anyway that they can. If you are looking for a place to stay in the Hudson Valley I highly recommend the place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$52
Loved this KOA. The site we had was perfect as we were on an end. Large trees, privacy and exceptional staff. Extremely well maintained and they even had a fire engine for hay rides and a brand new children's park. We will definitely revisit this KOA in the future. Did not use the pool area because it was still a little too cool, so I cannot comment on that. We are looking forward to a return trip in October. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$49
Being a KOA, you know exactly what you are getting. The restrooms and showers were clean and well stocked. T the staff was VERY friendly, and my daughter loved the playground. The sites are on the small side (width wise) and you are rather close to your neighbor. There were no noise issues though. Everyone was very courteous, friendly, and helpful! The ride on the fire truck looked like fun (daughter was napping at the time). I cannot comment on the pool as it was not yet open. This KOA seems geared more towards those looking to get a way for a couple of days or those simply passing through. I would not book more and a weekend at this facility. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Visited this place last year and it was very good and was even better this year. The owners have really worked very hard in making this place a great campground! It's no wonder they won the KOA Presidents Awards last year. Lot to do in the area, don't miss the Catskill Mountain Railroad and go back in time to the 60's walking the streets of Woodstock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$49
We stopped here for one night while passing through NY towards Maine. We occupied a large pull thru site which was nice and level. The kids enjoyed their pool. Was also quiet and relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Very friendly staff. Easily accessible from the highway over a gravel road. Close to the I-87 . The entire campground is gravel with plenty of loose rocks available to support your sewer hose. We were there during the week and found it very quiet. A few kids on those low trikes flying around but not a problem. There was plenty of poison ivy in the area so when we went walking we stayed on the trails. Lots of mosquitos despite our fire. Fire rings are made out of stone. My site was level but required a back-in. Pull-through sites did not come with sewer hook-up. Close to Woodstock which is a very nice little town to poke around in. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Nice, smaller park with very friendly camp hosts. They've recently added a small dog park/run area so pets can be off leash for a few minutes. Good wi-fi. Very peaceful park during the week. Summer weekends are crazy with kids running through sites, riding on recumbent trikes and not paying attention to traffic or if they are close to the road. We definitely recommend the campground for non-weekend stays if you don't have kids and it's probably a blast on weekends if you do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$45
We chose this as Newburgh KOA was booked for Memorial Weekend our normal get away campground. Quite impressed with the friendliness of the staff, we camped in a large rustic wooded site. The site was level easy to get in and out of. The store was well stocked, bathrooms were clean, kid and dog friendly, only set back is the bathrooms were quite a walk from our site, not an easy task to make the first morning dash or middle of the night run :) We have now found our second place of choice for weekend getaways. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
We camped here in the coldest of April's I can remember. As alwasy the staff was wonderful and as cold as it was (20's at night) we still enjoyed this campground very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$39
The owners were very friendly and accommodating. She took us to our site and made sure we got parked OK. We arrived on a cool day (end of March) and didn't spend a lot of time outside. We did have a brief campfire but then the wind picked up and the temp went down so inside we went. There was limited wi-fi, 2 hour limit. I logged in for about 10 minutes to check some things and once logged out, I was out for good. I didn't inquire further since we were only there for one night. The sites were somewhat tight but since there were not many campers there, we had plenty of space for our 34-footer. Nice spot, very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$48
New owners are doing a great job and they are very nice people. There is only one seasonal in the campground ( a leftover from the previous owners) and the new owners will not accept seasonals. Subsequently, there are no trashy sites. Some spaces are a little close, but it is a very nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$45
Nice basic campground. There are very few seasonal campers. This is a great location for sightseeing or hiking in the Catskills. Only 5 minutes off the NY Thruway. Some sites were a little tight but not bad. The store was stocked with the basics. Bathrooms were clean throughout the entire Columbus Day weekend. CG hosts were very accommodating and helped with directions around the area. One negative is that there were very few scheduled activities for kids. This may be different during the summer months. There was an old fire engine ride that parents and kids both enjoyed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$44
Some of the nicest owners every encountered. From what I understand, the CG was in sad shape prior to them taking over. They are truly doing everything they can to bring this place up to par. Unfortunately there are still some issues but I certainly can't hold it against them. Great home base for trips to the Catskills, Woodstock, etc... Would probably go back but I generally like to try different places. If you have kids...Great new playground! and Firetruck rides. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$47
Very nice campground. New owners are doing a great job. We really enjoyed our stay here and plan on returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
The park had really gotten run down a few years ago but new owners took over and really turned the place around. They have added nice cabins, a great kid's playground and on top of it, they are very nice and helpful people. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$47
A really nice place to stay while in the area. We used this campground as a base camp during the Saugerties Garlic Festival. The owners and staff could not be more helpful and the campground is kept very clean. A must return on our list!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$46
This is a nice campground located about 2 miles from the New York State Thruway. We had a very large back in site with full hookups ( there are only 14 full hook up sites) which was shaded and level. The staff was very nice and the park is clean. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com