219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Chautauqua was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (716) 789-3435
CGID1998

Camp Chautauqua

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   4   4   7   6   2   7   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
We stayed here in a RV four weeks. The place is kept spotless. Daily onsite trash pickup. Extremely friendly management always on site. Spacious sites. Nice store. Easy access. I will return to this campground and highly recommend it to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This park is mostly seasonals. Park policy checkin time was not given with phone reservation. Arrived at 1:48 pm, charged $2 per hour through 6:00 pm check-in time and also charged $2 for 12 minutes (prior to 2 pm. as check-in paperwork took that long!) Should have been told with phone reservation about check-in time and the costs over and above nightly rate. Park staff is mostly young and just following rules. Park staff mowed lawn while we on the site, throwing debri on RV and car. Again, young staff just doing a job. Would not stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Chose campground for great Woodall rating. Had a full hook-up site in Choctaw area. Fairly level considering campground is very hilly. Bathhouses were big disappointment. Not updated and clean like advertised. Very dirty sinks, toilets & floors with caked on black dirt/mold around edges and corners. At 5 p.m. & again at 8 a.m. the next morning, there was still toilet paper laying on the floor in several stalls. Showers are tiny and hard to maneuver. Actually smaller than the one in my little 24' motorhome, which is why I always use the campground facilities. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a summer resort located on Lake Chautauqua. We stayed here for one night as a stopover. We might have been the only ones here. There are limited sites for "drop-ins" but we were able to park our 55'+ motorhome/toad combo. Access roads are fairly narrow, and I suspect someone towing a long trailer might have difficulties. Wireless and cable TV worked great. Restrooms and showers were OK, but must be busy in the summer. BTW: Woodall's says go "southeast" on 394 off I-68, but you actually go northwest toward Stow, NY. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We stayed here in the off season. I was glad; it looked like there would have been a lot of people with all the permanent housing. The lake was beautiful from the site. The site was paved and very nice. The bathrooms weren't clean, and the laundry room, I cleaned up. Because of the lake we would stop here again. The wi-fi was very good, too, and it was free, and so was the cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
We were not at all impressed with the management of the facility. They have that "I'll do it when and if I feel like it" attitude. Office hours are posted but don't count on it being anywhere near accurate! The propane price was outrageously over-priced! You have to wind your way down very narrow steep roadways to where the office is located near the lake. We had a pull thru in front of the office but many folks had to re-wind their way back up on the hill to various sites. You enter off the road thru a very elaborate security center which could easily assign camp spaces without all the other nonsense. Not much there if you don't bring your boat to fish or ski. The store might/might not be open, not close to any amenities, overall-overpriced! Wouldn't recommend or stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Because I could not find a review of this park I thought I would say something. We camped here because we were attending the Chautauqua Institute. It is located only 5 or 6 minutes from the Institute. This is a very nice campground with lots to do if your staying on the property and just taking it easy. There are some trailers here that look like folks live in the all year long. There are boat rentals and a well stocked store. The campground runs activities on weekends. Perhaps 10 minutes from Jamestown (home of Lucille Ball). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
As noted it is older and really caters to the seasonal set. Our site was quite unlevel but it worked as a one nighter. The site even though a pull through require us to unhook. The trees probably won't get you but the narrow entrance and exit are doable but not a favorite of mine. The sites over looking the lake are nicer. It has a 5:00 PM check out and 6:00 PM check in. It was quiet by me but a few spots down we had the 20-something party crew. Would not avoid but would not drive out of my way to get here. It is showing its age We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$57
I thought that I made the mistake of reading the reviews AFTER I reserved, but it was no mistake. My experience here was lovely, though I understand how others could have had a different experience. I was in sites 50 and 51, which are in the set of long cement pads away from the store and main road. (One site had lovely morning and evening shade. The other, full blast sun all day) Tiny lake view from the most expensive site in the park. Look between some permanent cottages, then over the parking lot, and then beyond the marina, and there is some lake visible. On the other site, I had to move my chair to beside the fur trees to see the same narrow strip of lake. I wandered through the other transient sites and found some magnificent and some suitable for a small pop-up. If the staff doesn't know the campground well, it could make for a frustrating camping experience. I loved the upper part with all of the woods, but didn't see many sites where our rig would fit. Didn't like the upper, big-rig pull throughs at all. Be prepared to take the car to the pool if walking up/down hills is a problem for you. Don't plan on sitting along the lake on one of the benches. They are ALL unusable. Too bad. Such a little expense as a few stable benches would have made the experience so much nicer. The bottom camping area is all steak and no sizzle. The camping at the top of the hill is mostly sizzle and less steak. Super pricey for what you get, but there is little choice if you want to be in that area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
We picked this park due to rain in the area, and this park advertised paved roads. Park has good curb appeal & is very clean. They are celebrating their 40th year. The park is very tight for a big rig. We requested a pull thru site of at least 60'. The check in staff was not knowledgable of the park. We were assigned a site that we could not get into due to a tree and would not have been able to exit due to campers across a very narrow street. The staff allowed us to take the next site. Like most campgrounds 40 years old the gravel site was very narrow & the footprint of the coach totally covered the gravel. Therefore hooking up utilities and walking around coach was on muddy, soggy wet grass. Our unit fit in the site from road to road with the coach & toad in the road a little. The main roads were paved but the interior campground roads were very narrow gravel roads. For this we paid $48. They had some sites that were nice concrete pads, but they were short and back ins-they were $58. The utilities were modern, but the post was very unstable. The wifi was weak, but usable. The exit has a security gate that I barely cleared the toad without getting into the busy highway before the gate came down. We felt this park was grossly overpriced and facilities needed to be upgraded to justify price. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
This park has paved roads, grass around the sites, and tables. There is a security gate at the entrance. We were in a 50 amp full hookup site that was up near the road so it had some noise but not bad. The waterfront has docks and facilities. The wifi has limited range so I had to use it from the laundry room area. The staff was friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$65
Camp Chautauqua is very clean although the quality has been declining in recent years. This place used to be strictly for camping, but now much of the land is rented out to cottages. The outdoor pool is heated; the store is located at the bottom of a steep hill which makes carrying purchases back to camp difficult. The "game room" is almost completely empty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$60
I stayed in Camp Chautauqua twice this summer. This was our first year visiting there. Reading the other reviews, I see a very mixed bag. It was our experience that the camp sites here were some of the biggest we have ever stayed in. Our last stay we were in a site around site 95. It was huge as was our neighbor's site who had room for a boat. We had room for two cars and our unit. Much of the park is heavily wooded. Really nice. Except for the executive sites the pads are not concrete but are just gravel, not a real negative in a place like this. There are a great many seasonal sites and there is sort of a club atmosphere around the seasonals, they tend to hang together in groups. This did not bother us at all. The pool was lake front, clean and guarded. There are boat docks available, a feature that we used. There is a pavilion serving meals, and ice cream in the camp store. The park is kept clean. Ii is usually, but not always, quiet. We have had some issues with loud music in the early evening and daytime, but never at night. The animal park is cool. A couple of caveats. If you are new to the park and arrive at night. Good like finding your space and getting backed in or pulled through. They need to escort folks to their site as the layout is a bit hard to discern at first. Though things are currently in good shape, some of the recent repairs and other work lack professionalism. This could drive the conditions there negatively if it continues over time. Summary: A very nice place to stay, especially if you bring a boat. State park like wooded sites in part of the park. A little noise control in the evening would help. Sewage availability needs to be expanded, watch that the park does not become neglected in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
This is a mixed report, hence the score of "6". Stayed in one of their "executive" sites. This means a concrete pad. It was right by the office, but not noisy. Excellent free wifi service, at least at this location. We also had cable TV. Some confusion when we originally registered - told the young lady we wanted lake view, but she assigned us to an executive site without it. The site she gave us was right next to a school bus that was painted green and apparently being used as a motor home. Not our cup of tea plus no lake view, so we asked to move to the area by the office for the same price. From this location, the lake is at a distance, not really much of a view. There are MANY seasonal guests, and families on vacation, where we were just passing through. The showers were awful - black crud in all possible crevasses, the first place I felt it necessary to keep my shower shoes on while using the shower. They have ice cream in the store which was a nice treat. This place is for people who want to stay in one place for a while, and walk to the lake. However, there is a steep hill which doesn't look like fun to walk up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Really nice campground directly on the lake. Camp store was pretty well stocked and the staff were very helpful in local attractions. The facilities were very clean and well maintained. Trash pickup was daily directly from your site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
We just completed our annual "4th of July" stay at this campground and it was good as usual. The campground is well maintained and the staff is friendly and accommodating. Sites are level and roomy -- we had our camper, boat trailer, two tow vehicles and still had room for volleyball net and fire ring. There are many seasonals, but they are well cared for. All guests behaved properly and there was not a "party" atmosphere -- all was quiet. This is a wonderful campground and I would highly recommend it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$54
We stayed here for Father's Day Weekend. This is our 2nd trip to this campground. Pool was clean and warm. Check-in was friendly, store was well stocked, bathrooms were clean and our sites were large. Will return next year. I know that some of the sites are small but a good amount of the sites are from what I can see are of good size. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
This is not a great park in which to stay. The sites are small, and the park is overcrowded. It is very noisy and I will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$55
I will avoid this park next time. It is not worth the money. I had to back around a corner and into my site. I took some tree limbs along with it. The back in around the corner was a seasonal suggestion after I failed to make it the logical way. The office gave no clue on this issue. The seasonal sites next to our were busy all night with their landscaping. The site was muddy beyond the cement pad...leaving little usable room for set up. I don't get Woodall's rating of 5. Doesn't rate in my book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Party central. Loud noisy place that is clearly not for quiet family excursions. Sites are cramped and too close together. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
Although this park is open all year, we stayed at the end of their summer "tourist" season and we were the only campers at the upper full hook-up sites. There are "executive" sites that overlook the water, but they were going to charge us an extra $15 per night for these sites so we declined as we were already paying $40 per night for a full hook up site. The campground has a lot of "seasonal" campers, but these were not real close to us which was good as some were pretty run down. In our area, there was no shower house. The camp store was at least a mile from our site so we went there via car just to buy a few needed items. We didn't find the staff friendly, but we had very limited contact with them so this may have been why. Maybe because we were the only campers in our area, our trash was not picked up for 2 of the three days we stayed here. Needless to say, we had a lot of peace and quiet. Our site was fairly level and the grass was mowed and the area was in pretty good shape. There are many nice shops in the area as well as several good restaurants. We didn't utilize the pool, but it looked nice and is also right next to the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
Sites were too close together and the park is very noisy and crowded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
This was a nice park with lots of room between campers. Some of the positive features were shaded sites, nice access to the lake, very quiet at night and the pool was very nice. Some of the areas that need improvement were that the restrooms were old and dirty and needed updated, the teen center was pretty run down for campground standards. All in all if staying in a campground in the area this is probably the one to stay at. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
We just completed a 9 night stay at this campground, which is a truly remarkable place. This campground is the standard against which all other campgrounds should be measured. We took our boat also and used one of the campground slips. Gas dock service has a bit to be desired, but does not detract from the campground as a whole. We would highly recommend Camp Chautauqua. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$55
This place is over rated as far as I am concerned. It is nice if you have a boat because it is right on the lake. It seems like the price is too high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
What a wonderful place -- this is truly heaven on earth! We stayed for a weekend and took our travel trailer and boat. The staff caters to your every need. I can't say enough good things about this place -- if I could give two thumbs up, I would! I would HIGHLY recommend this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We enjoyed the campground. The park was clean. We had a lovely view of the lake. We stayed on one of their executive sites. It was a pull-thru on a concrete pad. All the hookups that could be available were there. Each site had fire ring, picnic table and a park grill. Our site had a concrete patio underneath our picnic table. The park is mostly paved with only the wooded sites unpaved. The kids loved the petting zoo. Although it was not a real petting zoo but a place to go look at the animals. The pool was pretty busy. My husband brought a bicycle and rode to the boat rental site at We Wan Chu. It is about a mile and a half from the campground. If you have your own boat there is boat launching right at the campground. We enjoyed having the pontoon boat to spend the days on the lake. We also used the boat to go to the Chautauqua Institute. What a beautiful area. One night at the campground, there were a couple of campers that were partying and being really loud. When we called the camp staff to tell them about it, it literally took only 1 minute for them to get to the offending campsite and quiet them down. We were impressed with how fast the staff responded. The beach area is really not a beach area at all. The lake has lots of seaweed growing so the areas right next to the shoreline are not really enjoyable for swimming. At 11:00 pm the camp quieted down. Their teen center is just video games and other coin games. On the weekends they have a kitchen where you can buy breakfast, lunch and snacks. A big negative-there were too many teens racing around in their golf carts all day and into the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com