223208 User submitted reviews online!!
Wind Creek State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (256) 329-0845
CGID2

Wind Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
633
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   7   7   10   6   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
We are amazed at the size of this park! Bath houses were very clean. They are renovating 39 sites that will have 50 amp service and water, sewer too! Also they will be lake-front sites! Park is beautiful and lots of boat ramps and areas to keep boats in the water. A beach is on site on the lake and a large marina too! Great place to stay. Our RV is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Great camping on Lake Martin! One of the waterfront loops is under construction, but the rest of the park is well kept and has good facilities. Some sites are rather close together, but usually is not crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
We had to drive through a storm and arrived very late in the night. At the registration office is instructions for late arrivals but you must pay attention to the note posted up that gives a code to open the gate arm in order to enter the campground. Once we entered, we found Campground B which has large fairly level spaces that you back into. Being November there were very few people staying in the park, perhaps 30-40. The restrooms were spotless. Was very impressed with how they were clean and well maintained. Staff was very pleasant and made sure to invite us back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$21
Very nice state park. Sites are tight on approach on most loops, and many aren't too level. Loop roads are narrow for backing. Great for walking; about 7 miles from Alexander City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
We are here and it is not crowded, thank goodness. All the sites are paved, but a little narrow. There is no improved patio on any sites, they are grassy or dirt and not level. It could have been a very nice campground with a little forethought on design. We originally signed in for a waterfront site with sewer, but changed to a non waterfront with sewer. Most of the trailers here are older with some permanent types. We most likely would not stay here again, but it's not the worst place we've stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
We last camped at Wind Creek in 2010. We liked it then and now that the State has put some money into the facilities, it's even better. Wi-Fi is now available: weak signal at our site, but useable. New shower/toilet building in our section. Online reservations now: but not site specific. Nine year old son went to a Saturday night concert on the playground by himself. They might have those weekly. Very large campground. Many activities are available. We will be going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$21
The park itself was very pretty. The trails and picnic areas were great. The campground sites were very close together and over the weekend it became overcrowded with RVs, trailers, tents, boats, and cars parked anywhere and everywhere. Don't believe the "strictly enforced" quiet hours. It just didn't happen and did not appear to be monitored at all.  We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$21
This is our 2nd Thanksgiving at the park and we had a blast. The weather was in the mid-60's, the people were so friendly, the food we cooked was delicious, and the activities for the kids around the park were entertaining. I love Alex City and its surroundings. The first night we stayed had some terrible weather expected, so the staff put us close to the new bathrooms in case evacuation was necessary. It wasn't! Thanks for another reason to be thankful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Thanks for the great service! Loved the clean bathrooms. It was so quiet and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This was our 2nd camping trip to this state park and once again, we were not disappointed. This is a wonderful state park. We stayed in E section and it was very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$23
It was spring break while we were here. One of the biggest concerns is watching kids riding their bikes. They will pull out in front of you without looking. Another concern I notice was others trying to back their trailer in with so many other cars and trucks in the way. A couple of them came in after dark and it is almost impossible to see what you doing. The great thing is other campers will come over and help in anyway possible. Yes, we would come again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2010
$26
Just an okay state park. If you want to stay in the New York City of campgrounds stay here. 642 sites. Registered about 4:30 and had to do night registration. Instead of having the price you have to figure the cost and calculate the sales tax. The state has to be making a fortune off these off prices during the season. They have coded security gates trying to keep out non paying guests. No pull through sites. Would probably NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
The park has many sites with great views of Lake Martin, but they are without sewer hookups. There are about 18 lakefront sites, but the views are disappointing, as the patio faces away from the lake in most cases. I would recommend a non sewer site with a much better view. A lot of the sites are pretty small with unlevel patio areas. Maintenance seems to be great. As I was planning my exit route, I noticed some very low branches over the exit road. As my coach is over 12 ft high, they would scrape the stuff on my roof pretty badly. I called them at 7:30 AM and they were removed before 9 AM the same day! Overall, it's a very nice park with some very beautiful vistas of the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
What a great place! The bathroom facilities were perfect, the grounds were nice. We were close to shopping and fun, and the other campers were SOOO friendly! I love this park. We're planning another return trip for Thanksgiving. It's such a lovely place. Just follow the rules. I misunderstood one, and thought I was going to get kicked out of the park until one lonesome, nice attendant stood up for me. I think with that many sites, they have to run a tight ship! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
This was our first time here to this state park and it was wonderful. The park was clean and our site only required minor leveling. This is a big park so be ready to explore, and the lake views were awesome. Will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$21
The weather didn't cooperate, until late in the week, but the campground was excellent. There were several campers that offered help, for set up and any assistance. The camp store was pretty well stocked with whatever one might forget. It was well patrolled by park Police, without intrusion to the campers and kids that were there. Really nice campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$70
With many lakefront sites, clean and spacious restroom facilities, a magnificent lake, beautiful cabins, adequate security, and an abundance of wildlife, this campground is truly a gem. Be forewarned, though: the hiking trails are confusing and poorly marked, and the "maps" provided at the registration station seem to magnify the confusion. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
The park was at capacity again, and was still a great place to be. We meet some really nice folks camping next to us. Our family loves this park. With the park full, it was still quiet and enjoyable. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We spent 3 days here and really enjoyed it. Most spots are level but we saw quite a few that were not, so choose your spot wisely. You can request another site after being assigned one if you wish. Most sites do not have sewer hookups and are W/E only. Sewer sites are $3 additional per night and the drains are all located at the front left of the site instead of the left rear so make sure you have a 20' or longer sewer hose. Lots of waterfront sites but they are $3 extra per night, worth it in my opinion if you want to swim or fish. Very family oriented park with boat ramps, beach, playground, fishing pier and marina. Nice laundry facility and a general store are available as well. We will definitely visit here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
It is clean, and family friendly with lots of folks on bicycles. There is friendly staff. Many spaces do not have sewer hookup and many are not level. Choosing your site at time of registration is smart thing. There is a beautiful lake with many lakefront lots. Again, watch to make sure you have all the hookups you want before settling in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
We absolutely love this park. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great security. We go here at least two or three times each summer and once or twice in the fall. A very kid friendly park. All campers we have met here have always been very friendly. During the summer on most weekends they have some sort of entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights at the playground common area. We take our lawn chairs and listen to the live music. They even have an area that you can camp with your horses and lots of great riding trails. The only reason I marked this park a 9 is because of not having Wi-Fi or cable TV hookup, other than that this is by far our favorite place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
Wow, after a long drive on Hwy 280, we were glad to find this gem. Our campsite was right on the water with a 25ft dock. We loved the fact that we could go swimming from the campsite, not only restricted to the beach areas. The camp area was well maintained, ease of hook up was nice and overall feeling of safety was good as there are multiple gates throughout the park. Nearby bathroom facilities were clean and well maintained. Everything was easily accessible by bicycle. My only complaint is that the camp store is expensive (it's staff was not friendly) and the maps are horrible due to over copying. If you like to use the provided BBQ grills and tables pay attention because not all campsites have them. There were many campsites available and the camp office was helpful in deciding where to make camp. We had no problem letting our children play freely in the park because of the overall family vibe of the park. We are looking forward to the next time we stay there. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$21
We camped here the week before July 4th, and the weekend of the 4th. The park was at capacity, but it was still nice. No problems with noise even though it was full. Fireworks show at Kawliga bridge down hwy 63 was great. Probably 1,000 boats or more in the water was an amazing site. This is probably our favourite park to stay in and always enjoy camping here. Lots of activities, from karaoke to bingo, to scavenger hunts for kids and adults. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Wind Creek is a beautiful campground. This was our family's first time at Wind Creek. We had a waterfront campsite with water and electric. While we didn't use the bathhouses or laundry facilities near our campsite, both were very clean. We swam in the lake in front of our campsite and we also visited the beach area. The beach was a short bike ride from our site and the bathhouses here were also very clean. This campground is perfect for bike riding. Our family rode our bikes all over this park. We can't wait to visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
We camp here most every spring break, and other times through out the year. Its a great park, our favorite. I can't say enough good about this cg. They are planning on putting in several upgrades including Wi-Fi from what I understand. This is one of the best parks I have camped in. Even when they are at capacity, you don't have the overcrowded feel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$76
My wife and I have spent the last two of our anniversarys at this park. The first year in a tent, the tent site was clean and we had a great time. Last year we decided to rent a cabin and it was great. Could have slept four kids and two adults easy, was very clean and well stocked. Everyone we encountered was very polite and helpful. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$17
We camped here over the Labour Day weekend and had a wonderfull time. The park was nearly at capacity this weekend and no problem, not to loud. As I have said before, the only thing that keeps me from giving this park a 10 is they need more sewer, and cable would be nice. TV reception is not good at all where we were. But, with that said, this is one of the best parks I have camped at, and plan to continue coming here years down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Pros - Lots to do for everyone in the family. Some really great sites, some not so great. The kids love the activities. Lakeside spots are available and very nice. Cons - You cannot make reservations and this park is very busy during summer months which makes it difficult. Staff can be pretty rude at times. During summer months it is very busy and noisy so if you like peace and quiet this will not be a good place to stay during the summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Beautiful state park. Very well maintained. Heated bathrooms and separate shower rooms. Great! Only complaint, and it was very irritating is that when we arrived and asked for a site was told they had one left. No.8, was extremely narrow. Found out the next day that it's the worst spot in park and that there were numerous spots in the next section of campground. Windy Hill section was very nice. I complained at the desk and they apologized and we packed up and moved to a better location. They do lower the lake level at times during the year. Might want to check into that first if you're wishing to fish from bank. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
We camped here for vacation this year and loved it.There were a lot of campers, probably half full or more, but the park was still quiet.The showers and restrooms were cleaned every day. The host rode the park and greeted people and picked up odd things laying around. Rangers patrol the park on regular rounds. There was a slight problem with the older boys yelling off color remarks at my daughter, and friends. I called the desk and a ranger dealt with the problem promptly. There was not a problem after that. I would rate this park a 10 if it had more sewer, which is suppose to be added next year from what I understand.Great park, great people, and we will surely be back many times in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$21
We were here over a holiday and had a great time. Park was full, but not crowded. We had a waterfront lot with access to our boat. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$22
We love Wind Creek! Our stay was during Spring Break for some school systems. There were a lot of children in the campground, but it never got noisy. They are in the process of doing some upgrades to the park, cutting down trees to make sites larger, adding more sewer sites, and adding 50 amp service. There was a concert Saturday night. The new management is working on improving things! We can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
It is a very large park and has several different sections. We arrived about dark and registered for a full hookup water site but after driving through changed our mind and picked a back in site with water and electric only. The campground is older and I think it must have been built before slideouts. The site we picked was a bit narrow but after a few tries we got in it. The sites are mostly gravel and dirt. I have to say once set up, it was a nice place to stay. A shower house near our site was very clean and was cleaned each morning. There were larger shower houses that were brand new. Like I said, this park is older so some of the roadways are narrow with drainage ditches so you have to watch about backing. We rode around and there were many very nice sites that would have been easier to get in to. I gave it a 7 due to the narrowness of the roads and some of the sites. I also need to say the park was patrolled regularly. We would go back and I do think it was a good value for the price we paid. I would also expect my rating to go up with a better site picked by myself. It was the weekend before Halloween and the campground did have activities for the kids and several camp sites were set up for the kids to trick or treat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Very clean park with clean restrooms and showers. Extremely nice staff. Only negative was no campfires allowed. Wonderful that park now has gift cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
We camped at Wind Creek in April. We liked the campground very much. It was clean and very roomy. The staff were helpful with any questions we might have. The only reason they didn't get a perfect "10" is the fact that they need to install more full hookup sites. Everything else we couldn't complain about. It is well worth your trip down to check them out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
I love this park! I camped here in the 70's as a teenager, and its better now than then. Only reason I didn't give it a 10, is a lot of the sites don't have sewage, and the tv reception wasn't great in our spot. I was near the swimming beach, and was able to watch my daughter from my "back yard". Plenty of fishing area, bike riding, playground, all roads paved, sites paved. This will defenently be a stop for us many times in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Nice campground. All back-ins but good angle. Bath houses very clean. Security patrol good during day but not at night. Lots of wildlife to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$21
Wonderful campground. Bathroom and showers need air conditioning but were the cleanest I have ever used. Plenty of waterfront sites. Will definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
This is a very big campground, the biggest we have ever visited. There are many sites on the water. There are only a limited number of full hookups, many are not on the water. The sites are reasonably well spaced in most of the campground. Some sections are very crowded, though. When we visited, there were several renovations in progress. The beach swimming area is also clean. There were lots of people that parked their boats right up next to their RV site. Overall this is a nice campground that we would visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$24
By far one of the nicest campgrounds I have stayed in. The campground is beautifuly situated on Lake Martin and the sites contour to the lake well. The best sites are out on the point where the B and C sections meet but on the waterfront sites most do not have sewer although there are a few waterfront sites (I think in the B section) that do have sewer. In the summer on the weekend nights they had bands that played near the playground and also they had bingo and Kids activities. The also had onsite Church services on Sunday. I almost hate to rate the place so highly and keep a good thing all to myself but at the same time I want everyone to find good places like this one so they can enjoy their time off. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Great campground. Spaces were large, no pull through sites. Each space had a picnic table and outdoor grill. Some had a combination grill and fire ring. There were lots of play areas for the kids. It is on beautiful Lake Martin. We saw at least 2 dozen eagles roosted not far from our campsite. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We will return when the weather is warmer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$19
This park has the cleanest bathhouses I have ever seen in a state park. They were excellent! It is on LakeMartin. There is a marina, store and laundry. Also several boat ramps. Large playground for children. Community room for activities. Security patrols. quiet and clean park. Sites on the lake were closer together than those away from the lake. Ours was at least 50 feet wide. Of the 642 sites over 300 are full hookup sites. There are two hiking trails that go through a wildlife refuge. Pleasant staff and store employees. I highly recommend this park. We will go there again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com