218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (518) 946-7878
CGID2012

Lake Placid / Whiteface Mtn KOA

Camp Information
Sites
218
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   9   9   9   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
Great location with an easy drive. The roads can be very narrow at times along with the sites. All sites are dirt and many flood when it rains. We first arrived while it was raining to find our site underwater. Asked at office and luckily were able to move. Be aware that the rows to the front of campground are larger and less prone to flooding. My first impression was not good. It is also confusing how to drive around the campground as I went the wrong way. Again it was pouring and very crowded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$54
This is by far the best campground in the Lake Placid area, and the best in the ADK mountains. Its initial appearance when you first enter is breathtaking. The lodge is a beautiful large 2 story log built building that hosts the camp store, registration office, adult lounge, laundry, novelty store, breakfast kitchen, and a dining room. The staff is very friendly and professional and will do what it takes to make you feel like family. There is also a beautiful clean pool and game room along with a snack bar on the property. This KOA is a recent corporate purchase and undergoing major changes. Most sites are shaded and level and it is truly a big rig friendly park. There are some new premium sites with concrete patios also. The new management is what makes this park an A+. There are cottage rentals available as well as tent sites. KOA has great plans for this park and it will only get better. We will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
A true Adirondack adventure awaits. Beautiful park and so much to do. Great nature walks and tons of activities available. Movie nights and ice cream social were a hit, and breakfast. Feel a bit nickel and dimed with needing to pay extra for some activities but at least they have much to offer. Bring your tennis rackets, basketball and hiking shoes! Very spacious sites. Would definitely come again and recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$46
The drive to this park in a big rig is very doable and it is a great location for exploring the Adirondacks. Within the park are 4 long rows of 50 amp full hookup with cable sites that will accommodate large rigs, some are gravel most are dirt, but all look level. We were given a site on row C, which faces the tent and cabin area. This row is nice for a class A because you’re not looking right at another RV, but into a wooded area and if you are really lucky you might even get a spot of sky for your satellite dish. but the whole park is very wooded so don’t be disappointed. The road around the park is hard packed gravel with some large pines close to the edge, but nothing that can’t be easily navigated in a 40 ft class A or 40ft 5th wheel. Sprint does not provide service in this area, but the free park WI-FI worked just fine from our campsite. Bathrooms are well maintained and staff was friendly and accommodating. This park sits next to the Ausable River and there are walking trails that go a beautiful flume waterfall, a must if you stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
Nice KOA in a REALLY nice location. We actually stayed in two different sites because I decided to get there a day earlier than originally planned. It was Ironman weekend in Lake Placid so they were pretty full. In fact, when I first tried to reserve they WERE full so I asked to be wait-listed. I got a prompt call when a spot opened. The sites were big, clean, and level. The facilities seemed very nice and clean. The things that keep it from being a 10 are that the road has 3 "humps" that I would classify as ditches dug for drainage. These really need steel plates or something over them. We actually bottomed out our car on one of these and I had to spend a half hour fixing a couple things. There was also no flexibility in checking out late. I was worried about getting back in time Monday morning to leave by 11:00 and other KOAs will offer late checkout for a couple bucks an hour. No such luck here. I found the Wi-Fi to work very well. There were two wireless networks and when one didn't work. I switched to the other and really had no issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
Great campground on the Ausable River. Close to a ton of fun activities for all ages. All sites are shaded with plenty of trees, but sites where roomy and not on top of one another. Clean facilities. Only reason I did not give it a 10 was the WiFi. You had to log on every hour and speeds where slow. It's an annoyance that shouldn't be in this day and age. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
This is a very nice campground! The entire campground is in the forest making for lots of shade. Although the roads are dirt/gravel, there was not a lot of dust or mud when it rained. The setting is quiet and very relaxing. There are plenty of hiking trails nearby and the Ausable river is within walking distance from the campground. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again since it was close to Lake Placid and other activities in the Adirondack's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
We camped here for 2 weeks. We have been going for the past few years. EXCELLENT campground with very friendly staff. Clean environment, great quiet location and large sites. Has a snack and breakfast bar on location. Highly recommend this place. We will go whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
This is a simply wonderful campground! Wooded yet the sites are wide, spacious enough accommodate wide rigs with multiple slides and separated from one another for some privacy. Despite the fact that there are many children around, it is remarkably quite. The staff is friendly and maintains a neat and very clean campground. Strong Wi-Fi signals. There is also great walking trail along the Ausable River. Finally, it is conveniently located near Lake Placid, Whiteface Mountain, and the High Peaks area of the Adirondacks. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
Convenient location to eastern Adirondacks. Great staff. Wi-Fi worked well. Large campground with good angled sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$42
This is our third time staying at this campground. We have to downgrade it only because the staff is so deadpan. Someone needs to give these people a peptalk and some people skills. Campground is fine, roads could use some work though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
This is a very nice, busy, but quiet campground. We were in a premium site which was near the office/lodge and near the pool, game room and snack bar. The site was pull-through and very level. They have a nice dog trail and park and there are trails along the Ausable River. The campground is very close to Whiteface Mountain Ski area and Veterans Hwy which takes you to the summit of Whiteface Mt. Lake Placid is not too far as well. Check-in was quick, the staff was efficient, not as friendly as other places we've been. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Very wooded, level, and generally well run. Sand at the site wasn't a big problem; we just swept the floor more often. Nice dog path. Excellent cable TV. We had a site near the office, because we requested good Wi-Fi. The signal was usually strong, but it was disconnected frequently. That's my major beef. If the Wi-Fi had been better, I'd have given this place a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Park was a nice setting, but the sand was terrible. Every site that I saw was sand, had to clean air conditioner filter as when we left it was black. Pool was nice, most sites were big and well treed. Very close to Placid and attractions. Park was very quiet. Wi-Fi, and cable TV were good. Nice park except for the sand! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
This park has about everything except paved roads, paved camp sites and grass at the sites. The roads could use grading and some additional grave as could the sites. The sites are spacious and treed. The park is very quiet. It must get busy some time because there are lots of sites and cabins but it is mostly empty tonight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
This is a nice park to serve as a base campground for the Lake Placid. They have all the amenities that one would expect from a KOA plus excellent cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
This may be the best KOA we've ever stayed in. A pretty forest setting like a state park, very clean showers, laundry, and helpful friendly owners. Great location for exploring the Adirondacks. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$46
This is a lovely RV park; sites well spaced, about 25 feet between sites. Mostly pull throughs, a few back ins around the perimeter which afford a little more privacy. High cost RV parks seem to be the norm in the Lake Placid area. We found many things to do and see, kept extending our stay to do more. Area restaurants are mostly very good. Recycling for cans, glass, plastic, but not for paper. They have had occasional transient bear problems here, have installed electric fence around the dumpsters. We were here two weeks, saw no bear activity. Good laundry facilities. We would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
Despite a small issue described later, we felt that this was a great campground. The grounds were clean and the staff was friendly. There is a nice pool with a play area for kids that seemed well maintained. The bathrooms were impeccable. The campground features mostly shaded sites by large mature trees. We hiked our way to the Ausable River to find a gorgeous view of the river. Many kids were cliff diving into the water. Didn't seem safe to us, but the kids were sure having a great time. Our ONLY real disappointment is that we were located near an area of the campground that was being upgraded. For the entire weekend, we had to hear and smell the diesel fueled tractor dig trenches. What could have been a peaceful sojourn ended up being nerve wracking. Upon our return, we sent an e-mail to the owners to complain that they should at least perform these activities either pre-season or during the week. They were very apologetic and compensated us for our troubles. Nevertheless, we recommend this campground and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$44
The campground is clean with large sites and well-defined roads. Personnel are courteous, friendly, and helpful. Store is very good. The proximity to Whiteface Mountain provides spectacular views a very short distance away. We had a very pleasant time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
Rate reflects KOA discount. Some will complain that the roads aren't paved, but the campground reflects the Adirondack Mts. Very quiet first week in May and it snowed on Mother's Day! Had good WiFi. Fair amount of upgrades being made, with more sites having sewer installed. Camp hosts from Oregon were very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with a slide our first night but were given the name of Tom's RV Repair. Great guy and will come on a moment's notice. He is also the only one in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
We have tent camped here several times over the years and just love it. We can't wait to stay there in our travel trailer. It's very shady, quiet and cool. The facilities are excellent, the store is well-stocked, it's very central to so many activities in the Adirondack region. There are hiking trails along the Ausable River that border some beautiful falls and a gorge. The "back end" of the trail borders private property, so pay attention to the signs that direct you up and back to the campground. This is a place you'll want to return to visit, time and again, as we have. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
We came here last year and liked it so much that we came back again, driving 13 hours to be here. There is excellent access to beautiful hiking and mountain biking trails. The campground soil is sandy, as others have mentioned, but that is how the soil is here. Having an outdoor rug helped keep things neater as well as taking care to remove footwear before entering the camper. There is plenty for children to do when not "out and about" with the family. Our kids greatly enjoyed the pool, game room, playground and the movie shown on Thursday night in the lodge. We were totally comfortable letting them roam about the campground on their bikes or on foot. It is very family-friendly. The Wi-Fi would occasionally boot us off for no apparent reason, and I can't believe it's because we were using too much bandwidth. That's my only critique: and I wasn't here for the Wi-Fi, anyway. However, it would have been nice to be able to upload a few more photos to our online album so the family back home could see how much fun we were having here. It's a great campground and if we lived closer, we would probably come every year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
This is the nicest KOA we have stayed in; in fact one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in. Nice pull through sites and lots of amenities. The dog walk and dog park is the best ever; if you have pets it's a must stay. Lots to do in the area and Lake Placid is very pet friendly as are the hiking trails. While there visit Jake Placid's Doghouse! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
The office was beyond rude and unhelpful. The campgrounds were sandy, which tracked into the camper constantly no matter what you did. Security went around and left notes on people's doors constantly about ridiculous violations. Seemed like security was around to enforce petty rules and not to protect campers. It was like they were doing you a favor allowing you to stay here and were not very welcoming at all. They overcharged (quadruple charged) for toiletries and snacks in the convenience store. LOOKS ARE DECEIVING. DO NOT STAY HERE! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
Stayed for one week and although nice the sandy dirt ground cover was a mess when it rained. Most sites have a lot of space and the big rig sites are very good. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We very rarely camp at a KOA as they are usually over priced and sites are close together. However, this park had good reviews and has won several awards from the KOA Corporation. Unfortunately, we had a horrible experience here. The site we were assigned was extremely slanted. When we inquired back at the office for a level site we were told none of them are level. We did try another site but we could never level up. The manager did give us a full refund. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Price is shoulder season with KOA discount. This campground is pristine, lots of woods throughout, very helpful and friendly staff. Nice upstairs lodge-type gathering room. Office area has great gift shop with some basic groceries. Ready access to the Ausable River (great fishing), canoe rentals, 15 minutes from Lake Placid. We liked it so much that we extended our stay for 3 weeks, and have reserved a month next August. Reservations are highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
This was an excellent campground. We were thankful we broke our cardinal rule concerning KOA (Keep Out Always!). We have disliked KOAs because of their tight spaces, uneven ground and close proximity to neighbors. This campground was able to accommodate big rigs and yet maintain the woodsy atmosphere. It offered a central location to all that we wanted to do in the Lake Placid/Lake Champlain area and even western Vermont area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Friendly, accommodating, sites VERY easy to access. Office hours very limited and store prices were VERY high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
Excellent place to stay. All sites are among trees, plenty of room for RV and toad. Short drive to Lake Placid and stores. Within minutes of Ausable river. Staff friendly. Stayed 4 more days than originally planned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
We stayed at this campground towards the end of a three week east coast vacation and were looking forward to visiting the Lake Placid area and this campground in particular after viewing information and photos online. Although this campground is a good base for visiting the Lake Placid area, we felt like cattle being moved through the chute while checking in and didn't meet one employee that was the least bit friendly during our stay. And this was during a very quiet time before the large summer camping season began. The majority of the campsites are under large pine trees and the mostly dirt and needle sites were dusty and, well, dirty. Thankfully it didn't rain during our stay. On a positive side, the showers and bathrooms are fantastic and the pull through sites are huge, but we were turned off by the unfriendly staff and all the extras you pay for but never use when staying at campgrounds under this national brand. We will look for a different campground next time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$42
The campground is an older KOA with large pine trees so it has a "state park" feel. The campground is very dusty or muddy if it rains since there is very little grass. Our black dog turned gray... We enjoyed the large pull throughs with a lot of room between the sites. You can walk to the Au Sable River. There are several "lean to" sites available right on the river as well as one camping cabin with a river view. We all appreciated the 2 free BBQ tickets that were included with a three day stay over Memorial Day weekend. Check out their other specials if you are booking a reservation. This was a great place to stay to visit Lake Placid, Whiteface and the 1980 Olympic sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$44
Overall this campground is very nice - lots of trees, very well laid out, family-oriented. Whiteface Mountain is within view. There's a small playground for the kids, and various types of bicycles were available for rent. There were a few things that were a bit less than desirable - such as the dust. Due to all the pine trees there really isn't any grass, so the fine dust was everywhere. Not the campground owners' fault of course, just one of those things. As well, we were placed in a less-than-ideal site directly under one of the cottages higher up on the hill. It was a very intrusive lack of privacy having people looking down on your site at all times. If I were to give one small bit of advice - don't select the Back-in 30 amp Wi-Fi sites (with no cable) offered to RVs no longer than 30'. It'll be as described above, with a tight fit as well (we were in a 25' trailer). The pull-thru sites looked great, lots of space. And the Wi-Fi was terrific too - fast and consistent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
Great campground. Sites are spacious with easy access. Some leveling needed. Beautiful area - Whiteface Mtn towers over the campground. The grounds are clean. Did not use pool. WiFi works great. Nice trails to hike within the campground area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
Beautiful wooded CG (mostly pine woods, some deciduous & mixed woods). Some tent sites and cabins are spectacular - private, a few with mountain views. Lots of pull-thru sites, but tight turns and leaving many trees in place for natural appearance means challenges for even moderate-sized rigs. Many sites relatively spacious, even the pull-thrus. Log lodge is main bldg, with lg store, meeting room, other facilities. All bathrooms very clean; satellite bathhouse has overhead "rain" shower heads - interesting. Nice pool area, activities (even during the week). Owners continue to improve the CG and their care is evident. Great place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
This campground has become one of our family's favorites. Lots of activities for the kids, camp store was well stocked, and the facilities were well taken care of. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
Excellent park, very clean! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
My family and I camped at this campground and found it to be nice. The pool was nice and well kept; however, there didn't seem to be a whole lot to do - unless you drive into Lake Placid. It would have better if access to the Ausable river was a little easier. Overall, the campground was OK. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
This park has received very good reviews, which is why I was a bit surprised by the condition of some of the things I've found. Overall, I'd say this is a good campground, not great, but if in the area I'd stay here again. On the positive side, nice pool area and playground. The layout makes for easy getting to your site, etc. It's a large campground, but you can comfortably walk to anything you need. Store is nice, but lacks in basic food items. What disappointed me: the bathhouses. We used the ones away from the campstore. They are the single-room kind - shower, toilet, sink in one room, one at a time. I like this set up, but the floor was warped from water damage, the baseboard had rotted away and just plain wood was put back up, and it had serious mold. I would not consider the bathhouses clean at all, and this is a basic requirement for me. To be fair to the owners, their help is very poor, we watched at least 5 folks spend 2 hours "cleaning" the one bathhouse, they were playing, sitting, goofing off, but not really doing their job. However, the owner must know that the bathhouse needs floor repair and a cleaner environment. The only other thing I didn't like was the laundry room hours, I prefer the ones open all the time, this one didn't open until 8, and I was up, jogged, showered, and was ready to wash clothes by 6... not really a criticism of the campground though, because I realize they can't please everyone. I think if the bathhouse conditions had been better, I'd give this campground a much higher rating. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$35
We just came back from a trip from Lake Placid. This was about our 10th stay at the KOA Lake Placid. Each time it's been great, but our favorite has been these last two times. The new owners are terrific, friendly people and go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. On holidays the CG owners put on a fun dinner with dance after with a dj. There are also a lot of other activities they put on through the summer, rallies, scavenger hunts. The campground is clean and great ambiance. The floor of the campground is dirt with pine needles, but that's because of the fact that it is heavily wooded. Almost all RV sites are pull through with lots of room. Drove through North Pole park, and wouldn't stay there. Just looked like a stretch of grass with campers parked against a fence. Most people we talked to at the KOA loved it and would return. I know we will next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Heavily wooded park, the full hook-up sites are large and flat. Due to heavy shade and sandy soil not grassy. Access in and out with a 40' MH was easy. Stayed over July 4th and park was not noisy. I would definitely stay in this park again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com