221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Lakeside Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (607) 655-2694
CGID2014

Lakeside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   1   6   6   6   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
This campground is about 6 miles from I 81 over a hilly twisting country road with the last 2 miles being dirt road. However, the dirt road was in good shape. The signage from the highway is good. The roads in the campground are gravel and narrow but we were able to maneuver our 40 foot motor home to our site but we un hooked the toad first. It was a pull thru in the pavilion section where 3 sites were lined up front to back. There was a fifth wheel in front of us and a travel trailer behind us. The site was grass and gravel with a fire ring and picnic table. The hook ups were adequate. There was a cable hook up but it did not work. The Wi Fi was great. The campground was very quiet with a pretty little lake with rental paddleboats and canoes. There were playgrounds for the kids. I wouldn't try this campground with anything bigger than a 40 foot motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Too far off main highway, up steep hills, low trees in park and tight turns for unit 35' or larger. WI-FI and cell service non existent. Stayed over night and would not say again. Over priced and expect more from a Good Sam rated park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$52
I called ahead asking about sites for big rigs. Was told they have a 60ft pull through. What they have is 3 sites in a row front to end, thank goodness no one else was there. Very tight getting in. Nothing around. Horribe, windy, hilly, dirt roads getting there. Camper and truck were filthy when we got there. No store to speak of. Just a tiny "hole-in-the-wall" type of campground. Stayed there for one night thinking a fairly quick off I-81. Terrible. Will never stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
About 6 miles from I-81 in the woods of NY. Pull thru sites are in a line at the top of the hill. Get directions. Don't trust your GPS. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions when we left. Power (50 AMP) was good. Lots of seasonal or full timers near the lake. Quiet and peaceful. No road noise. Access is on paved road that turns to dirt which was full of pot holes and mud from lots of rain when we came in. We had no problem with a 40' motorhome with a toad. WiFi and AT&T cell was non existent, limited cable with poor quality, satellite impossible due to trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
My grade of 6 is based on this CG being suitable for overnight or short-term campers. It is probably an 8 for the full-time and seasonal occupants which are the norm here. If you are looking for an overnight stay, I recommend you continue on (or stop before). We stopped for an overnight and this CG turned out to be more residential than camping. We were assigned a muddy and inconvenient space, I presume because this one was set aside for the occasional overnight. They had Wi-Fi but we were too far away for a signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This is a destination campground geared for just getting away and camping. The campground surrounds a small lake. The staff is friendly and we had a escort to our site. The only downside was our site was about 15 feet from the main road out of the park, so we had a lot of traffic. Cell phone and Wi-Fi service were sporadic. Access from the south is via a narrow paved turning to gravel road. Access from the north is a paved narrow 2 lane road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
The Pull-Thru was a little tight with some low branches but we got in OK. The park is very scenic but very remote. No cell phone service and no internet or cable TV. The park is clean and the owners are friendly. We would probably not stay here again as it is not near anything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This is a nice place in the middle of nowhere. You are about 30 miles from Binghampton. But the views are beautiful and the people are friendly, the folks that own it were very nice. It is very quiet. No TV, cell phone or internet service. A great place to loaf. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Older but nice camping. On small lake, only problem is that is way out in boonies. Nice people and sites on the water . Would stay here again if we wanted seclusion We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is an old style campground, much like the way I remember camping when I started camping 25 years ago. No cookie cutter sites, that all look alike. There's a winding road around the lake, and the sites put in between the trees around the lake. If you like relaxing and fishing this is a good campground for you. I didn't like the 'catch and eat' fishing policy, because it's not a huge lake. There isn't much activities for kids or a pool. (My daughter wouldn't go swimming in the lake after she saw us fishing in the same spot). The owners were friendly; they walked around and visited each site to say hello. I think big rigs would have a problem here, because of narrow roads and overhang branches, but for us that added to the seclusion. We enjoyed this retro-campground, but I think I have been spoiled with the modern amenities. However I would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
We visited on Memorial Day weekend and it was very crowded. The staff was cordial and tried to be helpful, but they were obviously overwhelmed by the number of customers. The campground is a hard drive from the interstate and I wouldn't recommend it for an overnight. Our site was supposed to be a pull-through, but we were actually just parked along the side of a road with our end slide hanging out over a side road about which the staff said, in a hopeful way, "No one is supposed to use that road." We were parked directly across from a pavilion where there were loud campground-sponsored games until 10:00 pm one night. Another nasty surprise: there is no cell-phone service unless you go to a phone booth at the office and use a cell booster. Forget about using your laptop's air card. Dogs are allowed, but the leash rules were not enforced and the only dog-walk area was badly in need of mowing. Although the town of Windsor is near by, it has no services that we could find. The nearest city is Binghamton, about 25 miles away. This campground would probably be OK if you lived in the area wanted to get away for the weekend with small kids. But if you are adults looking for a peaceful getaway, look elsewhere. I'd give them a lower rating, but I'm cutting them some slack because it was such a busy holiday weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Wanted to update my review from 2007. We now are seasonal and have enjoyed Lakeside for the past two seasons. The views are fantastic. We travel almost 3 hours to get there when we have many campgrounds that are closer and we know we have that choice but we have not found one that has the views and other features that Lakeside offers such as the personal commitment by the owners. They are continuously updating the facilities, they truly enjoy the children and families. It is the perfect place. We are passionate about the choice we have made and have signed up for the next following year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Lakeside Campground veraciously expresses the scenic beauty of Upstate New York and offers a variety of activities. The owners are ever present and go to great lengths to make campers feel at home. It is their passion and enjoyment in what they do which this reviewer feels created Lakeside Campground's unique selling point: A warm and wonderful community—including Ricky, the camp dog—making it the perfect place for a family either seasonally or just over a weekend. There is obvious pride in maintaining the grounds, as all sites and facilities (bathrooms and showers) are well kept and clean. The bottom-line is, when planning a family getaway, the Lakeside Campground will prove to be a nostalgic experience. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Family owned campground - nicely spaced sites, nice lake, dj dancing on some Saturdays. Plenty for kids to do. Beautiful surroundings. There are quiet areas for those that choose that. Enjoyed it so much - doing seasonal next year. Owners and the neighbors are wonderful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
We came to Lakeside from a large 400 site campground that we had been a part of for over 20 years. It is now corporately owned and is no longer enjoyable. We were looking for the same feel. We did our homework and searched most of the summer for a new place, we looked at websites, emailed the owners and visited the campgrounds themselves. We visited Lakeside and liked what we saw and decided to stay. We have stayed at Lakeside 3 times and decided to go seasonal. The owners treated us like family and made us feel comfortable. The park is obviously smaller than what we were used to and the Lake is smaller but the surrounding beauty makes up for it. When you are a seasonal camper and camp for long periods of time at one place, you get to know the ins and outs of the campground, the people, the way you are treated and what the campground offers for activities. I can honestly say we made the right choice and are looking forward to a wonderful 2008! I might mention that their Halloween party was fantastic! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
This is the second time that we have totally disagreed with previous ratings. On the other hand the park lends itself to smaller trailers & at best class C motorhomes. In a smaller rig I would raise my rating to about a seven. The road to the park from the north is 2.5 miles of narrow, paved road that is overgrown by trees and then 1 mile of dirt road overgrown by trees. The road from the south is 5 miles of dirt road. The interior roads are dusty, narrow, dirt & gravel with tight turns for a big rig. The only sites for big rigs are in an open area with one road & three pull in sites lined up on each side. Our site was long enough to keep the toad hooked up. The big rigs sites were satellite friendly while most of the park was not. The utilities were modern & well placed. The lake is a rather large pond that the kids were enjoying. There was a positive family atmosphere at the park. In a smaller rig have fun. I will not take my big rig to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
I Have Camped at Lakeside Campground for 6 years. It has always been very family oriented and clean. The owners are very friendly and are committed to giving you a relaxing place for your family vacation! They are eager to help if a problem should ever arise, but, for the most part this is a quiet and peaceful campground. I wouldn't go anywhere else. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
What a slice of heaven! This is truly what camping and nature are all about. The restroom facility was newly done and beautiful. I think it was one of the longest showers I have ever had for $0.25, maybe 12-15 minutes on one quarter! The owners are wonderful people that went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The lake and setting are as picturesque a campground we have ever seen. Thanks for everything and we will see you again!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
Very amazing owners, courteous friendly and alot of fun. Great planned events, beautiful, clean grounds and facilities. Store had alot of knick knacks (and important things) very well stocked and clean. Showers run a long time, very clean and well decorated. I understand the ducks didn't come back so they no longer have a droppings problem. Great landscaping, cheap boat rental prices. They are very wheelchair friendly. Also they fundraise for different charities which is amazing! They care alot about their campers and go out of their way to make sure everything is running smooth. Great Job! We will be back again very very soon! Would highly recomend to anyone who wants a great camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
We stayed here in June '04 and thought it was a nice CG. The owners were very nice. The CG has a tremendous amount of possibilities if the upkeep was better. Showers and restrooms were decent. Sites were kept nice and it is in a very tranquil area to stay. Store is absolutely a mess and disorganized, but not a reason to not stay here. Very relaxing and will stay here again if in the area. Goose problems make for a bad lakefront. But not too much to do about that. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We enjoyed this park and it's owners so much that we visited it again in August 2003. The campground is very clean and well maintained, and the owners are friendly and helpful. We attended a romantic dinner, at the pavilion, which was a refreshing change of pace. The store is always stocked with goodies, and the bathrooms are exceptionally clean and bugless! Our newlywed children rented a honeymoon cabin that was beautiful, and likewise clean and comfortable. We plan to visit this park at least once a year, in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Stayed four days in july 03. A real campground, not a resort. Lake was perfect size for row boat or fishing. My little ones didn't care at all that there was no pool. Site's on lake were abundant of shade trees, and seasonal sites were well maintained. Weekend drew kids of all ages and must say they were the most courtious, well mannered i have ever seen in a campground, yet they seemed to have a lot of fun. Great place! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$26
We visited this campground in mid October, at the end of their season. The owners were extremely personable and helpful throughout our one week stay. This campground is in a rural setting with lots of peace and tranquility. It rained the whole time we were there, but the owners were quick to engage us in interesting conversation. There is a nice sized lake on the property for lake swimming, and which actually contained a good amount of fish. Boats, canoes, and pedal boats are available for rental. There is a rec hall, pavilion, and playground with planned weekend activities. There are also plenty of trails to hike. The camp store has plenty to offer, from fishing gear and camping supplies, to all kinds of food staples and treats. If it is tranquility you are looking for, this is the place to visit. We plan to visit Lakeside Campground again this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com