223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Birchwood Acres was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (845) 434-4743
CGID2016

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park at Birchwood Acres

Camp Information
Sites
254
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   10   6   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$62
Great family campground, the grounds are clean, staff is very friendly from the guy checking parking passes to the guy cleaning up sites. The splash pool is great for little ones. The sites are level but could use more gravel as it rained on us and we had a lot of mud. The playgrounds are great and the kids love the fire truck rides. Fishing is awsome, the lake is well stocked and all you need is some bread and small hooks (we used left over pancakes). There is always something to do, if you get bored its your own fault. The ranger station is at the bottom of a big hill which can be troublesome, but it is well stocked and priced fair. We have been here 2 times a year for 6 years. To show how dedicated the staff is to their "guest" (I say that b\c you feel like one, not like a customer) last year there was a power outage and they gave everybody a free night voucher. If you live in NYC or Long Island I would go to this one, or Gardiner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$66
We camp here several time a year. This is is still a family owned campground that is super well maintained. Everything is clean and spotless. The pool is spectacular!! We will keep coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$64
Our site was clean, spacious and shaded. We were on top of a steep hill, and the pool and the store was at the bottom of this hill. That was a detriment, especially in the heat. Other than that, it was a great campground. We love the candy bar bingo and the staff was so involved with all of us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$60
We stayed here 5 times over the past 2 years and have always been extremely happy. Staff do a great job and the maintenance is excellent and if you have children there are plenty of activities for all ages. Great wadding pool for the little ones as well as a nice large pool for the swimmers. There snack food prices are very reasonable(great soft ice cream)I highly recommend Birchwood Acres even if your going without the kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$60
We just returned from our 3rd trip to Birchwood Acres and it remains our favorite!! The staff is very friendly, the nonstop activities were a hit with the kids. The grounds and bathhouses are clean and well maintained. I recommend this place to anyone with children. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$65
We did not camp here, just drove through park. Seemed to be a nice place but the rates are just too high for what you get. (We did not stay here.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
It's a nice park if you want to go go go all the time doing activities, our son is only 2 so he couldn't do many of them. There is lots to do. The Down side is the large number of seasonal and fulltimers campers. They seem to have the run of the park. Their sites are mini homes with decks gazebo's, and depending on your taste somewhat gaudy. The parks proximity to NYC/NJ means you get the feeling your staying in one of the 5 boroughs. We never got a car tag when we checked in and the next day when I drove my son up the "hill" to the playground the security guard hollered at me and told me I couldn't go any further without a tag. The sites were filled with pea gravel so they drained well and were fairly level. If you wanted to go somewhere with stuff to do all day and don't mind crowds this would be an ok place, just not for us. We wouldn't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
We love this campground. We came here for the first time last year for a weekend. This year we came back for 4 nights. There is TONS to do for all ages. There is no way anyone could be bored here. There are constant activities, but no pressure to join if you don’t want to. Of course the spray pool was a HUGE hit as were the fire truck rides, large playground, campsite visits from Yogi/Cindy Bear/Boo Boo and the crafts and activities. The wifi worked up top but was very slow. Staff was all very helpful and friendly. All the seasonal sites are nicely landscaped and well maintained (one of my pet peeves is campgrounds that have seasonal sites that look like junkyards). Not the case here! The owner was very generous and helpful to another member in our party who reserved a site, partially paid for it and couldn’t get their RV running. The only drawback was the bugs/mosquitoes which were VERY BAD up top, in the back. We camped here with 2 adults and 2 children (3 and 6 YO). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$65
Clean park, nice sites. The hill down to everything is a killer for kids and bikes: had three accidents while I was watching, just on the hill. The security guard is a grouch as well as the night time guys. There are A LOT of rules. We put our fire out, we were a group relaxing and enjoying our night talking with citronella candle, because the bugs were bad. The night guy and his posse of 2 others came over with a bucket ready to put out our candle. Heavens its not a fire! Then proceeds to throw, yes throw, a copy of the rule sheet in my lap. He said to us, "You signed it, don't make me have to start asking you to leave." WOW what did I say? It was like this the whole weekend. Heaven forbid you toe the line or look at some of the staff funny. We watched a woman walk by the hot tub with her baby to talk to her husband who was in it. She had a cover-up on, and the life guard was on her like white on rice within seconds about the kid can't be in there. I doubt we will return, it wasn't relaxing with all the staff on you like a hawk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$65
There are alot of positive aspects for this campground: very clean restrooms/showers, crystal clear pool water, clean & tidy surroundings, alot of sport amenities, well stocked camp store, excellent snack cafe, alot of daily children activities, game room with air hockey/pool table/ping-pong table (rarely see all 3), modern playground equipment, excellent rental lodges/cabins, & a very helpful,courteous staff. However, there are 2 reasons why I can't give a 10 rating. First the HILL. The entire campground is a hill, and all the amenities are at the bottom. So everyone drives their cars to get to the pool, store, etc...There is a town road, which separates the campground by the pool, and the locals drive beyond the speed limit on it. Second, the RV sites lacked gravel. The rental RV sites had gravel, but the rest were grass/dirt. It rained for 1 day during my stay, and I spent the next day battling mud. Despite those 2 exceptions, it is a wonderful park & I will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Nice campground-well kept. Many seasonals and the kids of the seasonals think they own the place. They are running amok and sometimes inconsiderate. The pool and splash pool were great. The main entrance is located directly on a main road and residents drive down the road at unbelievable rates of speed. Good activities for the kids but would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$58
We just returned from our second week-long stay at this campground and will definitely be back. The camper sites are nice sized, grass and mostly shaded. There is a large pool with clean bathhouses and a spray pool for kids. There are nonstop organized activities for kids everyday of the week in the summer which I find to be rare. My kids loved the daily hay ride or fire truck ride with the characters. This place is very clean and their countless staff members are always very friendly. The only negative is the pool and fishing pond are on a public road and although it is posted at 25 mph there were people driving much faster than that which makes anyone with kids nervous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This park has it all and if you want a family friendly, fun-filled, spacious and clean campground, then look no further. We stayed 5 nights for the price of 4 and were busy the entire time. The grounds are well kept and there are non-stop activities for all. The sites are large and the restrooms were immaculate, it's no wonder they won the 2007 "Yogi" national award. Don't miss this as one of your destinations for fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$55
This was the nosiest campground I've ever been to. All day long groups of campers blared their music systems . We were 500-1000 feet away from the tenting area but the music was so loud we had to speak louder at our site just to hear each other. When I spoke to the park ranger he said "they can do anything they wanted until 11pm". The check in area/pool area is a maze. When you first pull up to the campground you need to squeeze your rig by all the parked cars by the pool area. The staff was mostly teenagers who lacked any campground spirit.The activities were ok and the pool was nice except the area around it was muddy. The pool was a far, far walk away from the campsites. The family dances were scary (you felt like you were in NY city) . They didn't play family kid songs. Instead they play rap music with foul langauge in it. Sites we good size and clean. Playground was nice. We went here expecting a cute family campground. We left extremely disappointed. Too bad because if the management wanted to they could make this place a family campground. We'll never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We enjoyed this park immensely. Fun events for the kids. Pool was great, and the water park for the kids was an excellent bonus. Snack bar not too much to choose from. Camp store had necessities. Staff was friendly. The only thing is to disregard the surrounding developments. They have nothing to do with the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
This is a nice campground. Be aware of the "NO CAMP FIRES AFTER 11:30 RULE". The staff will extinguish the fire for you. I support and respect other campers but this rule belongs in a retirement village not a campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$52
Excellent campground. Spotless w/ large sites. Very nice camp store and lots of activities for the children. Nice swimming pool for the adults and the children. Great fishing too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$48
We arrived and shortly there after we were faced with a power failure, the staff was great but the other campers all I can say is they needed major attitude adjustment, yelling at the staff as if it was their fault, complaining about the restrooms which were clean before the power outage (seems like people could not use a toilet with a flash light and decided to use the floor!) The staff cleaned it up to sparkling the next morning and gave a fee camping voucher to everyone who was there during the power failure. Wife is only available in certain area's of the park, with a wireless ready PC or lap top My only complaints are the sites are small and not to private and the new campfire policy of campfires out by 11:30 pm, I like to sit by my campfire until at least 1 or 2 am and just watch it and relax. This is probably the major reason I will not go back. There was mega activities for the kids which was a real plus, and the Spray Pool was a major plus, but on the whole I will not go back, too many seasonal campers and fellow campers with a "city attitude" for my liking. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We had a great time at this park. The grounds were clean, the staff was friendly, and there were plenty of scheduled activities. The ball fields and all the "racquet" courts were well maintained. We would recommend this campground and will be visiting it again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$50
This campground is very clean. The park has laundry facilities and very clean restrooms, we did not use showers, however they appeared clean. This campground also has seasonal sites, which were well-kept. The camp store is well stocked and not overly expensive. Many items in the store were priced very reasonably. The campground employees are polite, courteous and extremely helpful. There are numerous planned activities for children of all ages and some for adults. The children's heated spray pool was a big hit with our son. There is also an regular pool and an adult only jacuzzi. We enjoyed our stay at Jellystone Park, we did the pay for 4 nights and get one night free for a total of $200, and will definitely go there again. We would highly recommend this campground as an enjoyable place for families with children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$44
This is a very family oriented, friendly campground. I agree with all the nice things that others have written about it. They also have 1 and 2 room cabins and "deluxe lodges" which are log cabin styled park homes. All are fairly new and very well kept. A great opportunity to camp with your non-camping friends or relatives! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$50
We spent a week at this park in summer of 2002 and had a great time. We are going back this summer for the July 4th week. The spray pool is fabulous for the children, and they have many planned activities for children, including theme weekends from May to October. The staff is friendly and helpful. They can accommodate big rigs but the roads are narrow. Not all sites can accommodate 50 amp but they are in the process of converting over. Some sites were too close to the theatre where there are noisy nightly activities, so you might want to avoid that area. Other areas were quiet and pleasant. You'll find plenty of shade here, too. I definitely recommend this campsite if you have children! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$47
This is a great park. Very clean and pleasing to the eye. The grounds are kept in superb condition. Activities are plentiful and geared towards the family. A very large staff is extremely nice, courteous and helpful. Large pool with a seperate heated kids spray pool-(worth the trip for just this pool--it really is nice). Park is quiet even though most campers have children. An overall nice place to spend some time. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com