221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Catskill Adventure Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (845) 888-2161
CGID2017

Catskill Adventure Resort

Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   9   8   7   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
We stayed here while helping in a youth camp for the week. The rate shown is for a week-long stay. We pre-paid so once the correct person arrived at the counter, checking in was easy. We were given a site amid several well kept seasonal/long term sites and it was quiet and shady. There was a nice amount of room between the sites, which we liked and we backed up to some woods, which we always like! The site was level and was gravel. All hook-ups were sufficient but there was no cable that we could find. Wi-Fi is not included but there is a subscription site that was very cheap for the week ($13 or so). It worked pretty well considering cell service was hit and miss. Since we were working all week, we didn't really have time to explore the campground but it looked well taken care of. The weekend had themes which seemed fun. They have a small convenience store and restaurant that had a breakfast buffet on the weekends. We did stop for that before heading out and it was very good. Overall one of the nicest places we have stayed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
Private membership RV resort. Paved main and gravel site roads lined with trees. Almost all the sites are seasonal members with park models and RVs. The traveler section has back-in sites with full hookups. Each site is wide and has grass, table, and fire rings. Weak 3G Verizon and cell signals; no TV antenna signals. Wi-Fi signal at the sites through outside service. Most of the travelers sites have clear sky for good satellite signal. Large swimming pool, playground, small lake and skate park. Large snack bar with breakfasts on the weekends along with events and entertainment on weekends. Friendly and helpful staff. Will stay there again. Rate for ROD; does not accept C2C, AOR, PA, or RPI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$44
I stayed here mid-week across from some friends who rented a cabin. Overall the park was nice and clean. There was a pool, skatepark, basketball, and softball field to keep the kids entertained. The site was level, however it was up a steep hill and I almost took out a sapling across the way trying to back in. My friend's cabin was very nice and clean with a small bathroom, kitchenette, and air conditioning. There were some negatives to our stay, most notably was that this seems to be a campground which leans heavily towards seasonal campers, and being there mid-week was like living in a ghost town. Also, with so few people there the store closed at 5pm and was out of ice while we were there. Although the pool was kept very clean, it was definitely in need of repairs and had big chunks of cement missing. The bathrooms were a long walk from our site, and the showers, although clean, were open air, meaning that they were private and had doors, but no roofs. Apparently you can't shower in the rain or your clothes will get soaked! Lastly, I was a bit annoyed that I had called before making online reservations to ensure that I would have a site across from my friend's cabin, only to be told upon check in that they weren't sure they had any sites available near the cabin. It all worked out in the end, so I guess all is well that ends well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$0
The staff is nice. The park has a lot of curb appeal. It's lovely, green, and spacious. There are many permanent cabins/trailers which are a mixture of nice and old/messy. There is an older large working pool. No real adult activity while we were here. The laundry room is small, in an old screened-in room. We stayed here for 6 nights through our ROD membership so didn't pay anything. The bugs weren't too bad but it did dump rain for a few days. The grass around our trailer was puddled most of the time. We drove to nearby Bashakill to a vineyard and the wildlife management area. We had lunch in Parkesville at Rolling River Cafe and drove to Bethel, NY to the Woodstock Museum. All-in-all a nice area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$46
This has become one of our favorite places to camp. We are mostly weekend campers with 3 children. There were plenty of organized activities (including arts & crafts) for the kids as well as a stocked fishing pond. The family entertainment at the pavilion was wonderful. The staff seems to go out of their way to help and are very courteous. (One note, if you’re pulling a camper and you’re smart, follow the directions on their web page, we didn't our first time and it was a big hill to climb.) Also, I’d like to comment on the breakfast buffet. If you are not in the mood for cooking, go to the breakfast buffet. The food (quality/price) was unbeatable. This was our third visit and we will camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
The park located in a hardwood forest setting. We had a large pull through site for our one night stay. Noted that the power voltage was at the low end of the range. Local seasonal persons stated that when the park is full in the summer the voltage is so low that it damages equipment. Considering that there were very few people on site, I figured they were not exaggerating. When going to the park be sure to follow campground site directions as GPS takes you on a difficult and unnecessary long up hill climb. Will not likely stay here again due to power concerns; although, other aspects of campground were acceptable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$3
We stayed down in the flat in the 50 amp sites (the $3 rate w/ROD). These sites are grass and would be fine had there not been a lot of rain which turned the sites into a soggy mush. My jacks pressed my boards in the muck and broke. I couldn't get level. The other downside is very poor cell/datacard reception and the Wi-Fi from the office doesn't reach to the sites. The bathrooms were dirty with hints of mold. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Very nice park, management and campers were very friendly. The rate we paid is non member. The only negative here is the sewers run up hill to connection and long run of hose 25’ as all utilities are to the rear. Plenty of activities for the whole family. Very enjoyable park, best in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$3
This park met our needs and wants beyond our expectations. The $3.00 cost was for 50 amp service. We were in the park under a ROD reservation. We will return. Cell phone service was spotty at our site, however service was great at the Adult Lodge. Sunday church service was great and well attended by all ages of people in the park. This park has a season of May to November. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
This park is now Catskill Adventure Resort. We stayed here for 2 weeks under ROD: cost $0. Very nice park. They do have a 50 amp section along the road but when we arrived, they were just finishing up installing the 50 amp power and it had been raining for days: the place was a muddy mess. So the owner put us up on the hill with the seasonals and residents. Very quiet during the week and on Fridays everyone starts arriving from the cities. Nice big gravel spaces and we even got satellite TV. Verizon aircard couldn't get Broadband though, so we had to suffer through 2 weeks of National Access dial-up. The bath house and laundry were OK. We don't use the restrooms and showers so conditions really don't matter to us. Laundry had 4 washers and 4 dryers, 1 of each weren't working for the whole 2 weeks we were here. The restaurant serves breakfasts and dinners on weekends. We were parked between 2 park workers' rigs and had a few words with them about loud raunchy music and dogs that barked all day long. But they turned the music down and kept dogs quiet the rest of the time we were here. Beautiful area and had a great time driving around through the Catskills and the site of Woodstock. Even went into NYC. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
Really, a great place. We were RoD so cost was $0. Had 30A/W/S. Plenty happy. Well kept and managed park. Involved residents who welcome transients. Always saw someone cutting, trimming or fixing something. Had to go to the Snack Bar for WiFi, but no biggie. Just needed email. Who wants to spend all day online at a place like this with weather like we had. Lots to see and do in the park. Drive 20 miles east and catch a train to NYC. Can't say enough good about the place. First place we've stayed that qualifies for the "Resort" label! We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Park has gravel roads and grass sites. Our site was relatively level. Fires allowed and rings provided. Water was good. Dumpster provided for trash. No escort to site and no WiFi. Too far off the beaten track for an overnight, which is what we did. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Very nice park and as others have said, the new owners are very friendly and accommodating. This park is mostly full timers but had many short term sites available. No cable TV and very poor TV reception. Not a big deal but worth noting. WI-FI (free) available near the registration office. Roads were pretty wide and easy to navigate. I think there was only one bath house and that was just so-so. I think it is on the schedule for updating. Lots of activities on the weekends, nothing during the week. There was also a small camp store open during the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
We stayed here under our ROD membership, so nightly rate was actually $0. Name of campground is now Catskill Adventure Resort. Most sites seem to be occupied by long term/seasonal guests, but there were still an adequate number of short term sites available. As others stated, follow directions on website, don't use GPS, particularly if you drive a big rig. Lots of pluses to this campground. Lovely area. Some paved roads, rest are good gravel, roads easy to navigate in our 41' motorhome, very large sites with both wooded and open sites available. Nice pool area, friendly campers, very accommodating and responsive owner, ready to grant any reasonable request to make your stay more enjoyable. Quick to address concerns, such as a tree that was bent low over one of the roads. We mentioned it to him one afternoon and the tree was cut down by the next morning. On the down side, antennae TV reception is almost non-existent, at least at the wooded site we stayed in. Most sites available for short term stays are only 30 amp, but power was very reliable. Cell phone reception was iffy though aircard worked pretty well. Nothing much of interest to us to do or see nearby. If you are looking for a friendly relaxing campground for a week or weekend to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, this is perfect. If you are looking for a base to explore more of New York, maybe not quite so good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
I've been coming here for a few years. Seen the worst, but getting better. New owners are hard at work. They have put new sites in, overlooking a small lake, upgraded electric, put winter water on some sites and upgraded the sewer system. They have wooded and sunny sites. they have pull-thru's, and sites for the big rigs. most of the sites on are the large size. Roads are easy to make your way through. On weekends they have entertainment, sometime dinners and theme parties. They do have a lot of seasonal, but from what I have seen, they are all very friendly and willing to help out if you need it. On the down side. It still needs more work. Some of the seasonal sites need to be cleaned up a bit better. Most of the sites are well kept. It should have a bath house by the tenting area. Although the roads are alright they could be fixed a bit better. it is located in a secluded area. As the other posters stated follow the directions they give you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$1
Membership park - our ROD rate actually $0. Can't comment on improvements under new owners, having never been here before. But the current owners are very busy fixing & upgrading. Most of the park is long-term and permanent occupants, but the transient sites are separate from the permanent sites, and quite close to the pool. Our site was grass, almost level, quite large. Staff very friendly. On-site restaurant open weekends for breakfast and lunch. Only RV park we've seen with a skateboard park - and a pretty big one at that. Be sure to follow the arrival directions on their website to avoid the worst of the hills. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Not as good as others I've been to. Rather expensive for what's available. Most sites small, and looks/feels more like a seasonal site campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$8
I agree with the latest review. New owners were very nice and accommodating. Park still needs some upgrading, but the owners are working very hard and what they have finished is really nice. Using Masten Lake/New Road, instead of CR-209 to Mt. Vernon will relieve you of one very long, steep hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
The park is now under new ownership and in the few short months that it has been open this year, the new owner has done a lot to upgrade the park. I truly believe that the new owners will be able to turn this camp around and make it what it use to be. A beautiful resort. New people are people friendly and willing to make your stay fun and worth the trip. They now have activities, the bathrooms and pool are clean. If you need help, they are there to assist you. It's great. I definitely recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
This park is a disaster. The owner is never around and they have a young adult caring for camp and with him there are no rules. Garbage goes days before being picked up and garbage dispensers overflowing in park and across road. Numerous broken sewer pipes and at times running down camp roads. Roads washed out and just left never repaired. Bathrooms and showers filthy. If you have a problem and wish to speak to owner he gets nasty with you and says dont make your problem my problem. So if its his camp and you can't speak with the owner not a good sign. Park has alot of potential but right now a waste of a vacation. No activities. Don't waste your time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$36
This campground is a dump. There is garbage all over the campground. The roads are in total disrepair. Seasonals with shabby, shanty units abound. Everything is dirty and broken. No quiet camping hours. Anything goes in this place. Please folks, don't even bother. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$36
Garbage is across street and overfilled. Tennis courts, basketball and other courts not usable. Store/restaurant only open on weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com