223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Forest Lake was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (336) 998-4135
CGID2019

Forest Lake

Camp Information
Sites
293
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   7   4   9   9   5   3   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$3
Rate reflects TT membership. This was our second experience with a TT park; the first was horrible, so this seemed great by comparison! We really don't like the self-service way they do things, we think it is tough to have to drive a big rig around a park to pick out a site. We picked a spot in C loop out in the open, not very scenic but we wanted tv satellite reception. We paid an extra $3/day for 50 amp, not a big deal. The Verizon signal was very strong, so we had internet. Walking trails are nice, and the pools and lake are pretty. Roads are mostly gravel, need a little smoothing out. As previously reported the seasonal people have the nicest sites. All in all we might come back here but it would be nice to have a better way to pick out your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
Rate is based on TT membership. This is a nice campground with a lot of annuals (not bad); the annuals are some of the nicest people we have met while traveling. 2 big pools and a hot tub (not open in mid April). A little money in this park for improvements would go a long way. Sites need rock and so do the roads. The annuals are doing a great job of making this place better than management. Fires are permitted. Most roads are dirt. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$44
Park is off the beaten path, but offers lots of amenities. It is clean and well maintained. Many sites are leased for long terms so there are often a shortage of spaces in the summer season. Nice pool area, lounges, play grounds, and lake area. Thousand Trail members may have difficulty finding sites in prime areas if they arrive late in the day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
Park has gone downhill over the years. The settlers have taken over some areas of the park leaving the leftovers for the members. Park needs road work, be careful of the holes and sloping roads. Good points are laundry is very clean and all machines working. Pool was closed for the season but opened for a few hours for a family group. While everything was great the park has a run down look. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$8
We paid the member rate plus $3 a day fee for 50 amps. There are several campers in the park, but it is far from full. We were pleased that the pools are open (there are two of them) post-Labor Day. Sorry to say the spa is out of order, but over-all, things are in good shape. There’s a nice trail around the small lake, a worn-but-interesting mini-golf course, and laundry that gets a lot of use. There are also several cabins and a number of them are right on the lake. My Verizon 4G signal couldn’t be stronger. From our campsite we can see the cell tower just east of the campground. My wife’s T-Mobile is just as strong. The campground is just a few minutes from Lexington, which is a mid sized town that is famous for North Carolina barbeque. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$3
Just Love it!! Quiet unless you're on the pool during the summer then it's loud with children. Beautiful park, friendly staff and visitors alike! Great rec-room with tons of puzzles to work, WI-FI and ice cream/ gift shop. Weekend events always great fun. A church group meets on most Sundays (sorry we didn't partake so can't access). Music and pancake breakfasts from time to time. Childress Vineyards close by for a delicious meal and vino plus an interesting tour of the winery. Great walking trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$1
Forest Lake was a beautiful park when we first joined Thousand Trails in the late 1990's. In my opinion it has declined quite a bit in recent years. There is a sign on the rec hall that says "closed due to unsupervised kids", so you can't go in and use the arcade. There was a wonderful general store that had the best ice cream and snacks. Closed. The grill/restaurant that always had breakfast on Saturday mornings, closed. Family pool closed for sometime due to them needing a new pump and have not gotten one yet. There is an adult pool they are using. It is smaller than the family pool and had at least 100 people in it which is over the county set capacity rating. Just not fun there anymore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Referring to the check list - there is one pull through, and about three waterfront sites available. Many of the sites are not level and if you are in a motorhome it is hard to get level. The entrance is very unfriendly. No one is at the guardhouse and you have to call on a radio to get into the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
I made the reservation the morning of going to the park. After reading the reviews, I figured I would try it out. I wasn't impressed with the website. It wasn't very "user" friendly, nor was the advertising for the campground. When I got there, the staff was very friendly. I was advised to drive around and pick out the site I wanted. I found that odd, and a bit annoying that I was driving around this park in my RV trying to pick out a site. In the future, it would be good to have golf carts. The staff was very helpful in getting me a lake side site, so I could fish. I stayed on site B4. According to the previous reviews, it states that the park needs some TLC, which I agree. My site had some overgrown weeds, but overall I was satisfied. The pay Wi-Fi worked well on my site. I felt safe and had friendly neighbors. I think the off season rate of $45 per night is a little high; however, I would stay there again. They offer sites in the "D" section that are very easy to get in and out of in a big rig. The campground offers wooded sites for the "true" camper, and also offers open sites for those who care more about getting satellite reception. I enjoyed my stay and will be back again. I hope in the future they work a little harder on their landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
We are in a 40' motor home and have been here since Monday. Being TT members we have stayed here several times. This time we have found the park rundown. There was never anyone at the gate, (we came in and out at different times) only saw one worker, and he was mowing at 7:30 AM, he didn't do a good job of that either. The sites for short term guests are not level, rutted and grown up with weeds. However the long term permanent sites are beautiful. I know this is off season but the park should look it's best at all times. We are here for a family emergency. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
Over all friendly. Price;$0.00 for members, non members around $45.00. Site description; We had a back in site with full hookups and 50 amp electric. Site was gravel. Site was level. Most roads are gravel, but there are a few paved roads. There was no privacy between sites where we were. There are other areas with some bushes/trees between sites. Some areas are on dirt/grass. I didn't see any pull throughs. Amenities; Two swimming pools; two club houses; mini golf-needs work; small lake w/small beach and fishing; Activities-not much schedule at this time. We ask for a schedule of activities when checking in (Mon.) and were told they were working on one. On Friday we ask for a schedule and were told there should be one in the afternoon. Didn't check back to see if they ever did get one. Most sites have picnic tables and fire rings. The bath roons I checked were clean, but dated. Laundry; One of two in the adult lounge. Clean with 3 washers and dryers. One washer out of order. Each $1.25. Big rig friendly Phone/Wi-Fi/TV; Our Verizon had 4 bars. There is a pay Wi-Fi in the park, $4.95 day w/weekly/monthly rates. TV over the air, about 20 channels. In the wooded area satellite could be a problem. Dog Friendly; Yes with many areas to walk them. A few miles or roads in the park to walk. Night Lighting, etc.; Very little night lights. Very quite no road or train noise. Book Exchange; Very very small for a park this size. Comments; Shopping for groceries about 10-12 miles to a Walmart and Winn Dixie. Some BBQ in the area as close as 1 mile. Other restaurants in town. Opinion; We would stay here again as we are members. Both pools were redone last year with new furniture. The grass needed mowing and trimming. They did mow while we were there, but did not trim, and it looks like the last time they mowed they didn't trim then either. Some of the roads and site could use more gravel. Some of the trees need trimming. The mini golf needs a lot of work. They need a activity director or some way to control equipment checkout so it isn't damaged like the shuffle board equipment was damaged. They did have a sign up for "help wanted". About 1/3 of the sites are 'seasonal or permanent'. But all are kept nice, and some are nicely landscaped. There are about 12 cabins for rent. There are many many golf carts in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$3
Camped here for two weeks using my Thousand Trails zone membership. Well maintained campground. Lots of 50 amp sites available ( $3 per day charge for 50 amp service). Has a family pool, kiddie pool and an adults only pool plus a jacuzzi. Family activity center and an adults only center. No cable TV but we picked up about 20 on air channels. Wi-Fi for pay with daily through extended month rates. 2 week rate was $21. Our site was fairly level with a picnic table and fire ring. Has an outdoor movie theater, storage areas for utility trailers and dollies. Great playground for the kids, a grill for buying sandwiches, etc. Fishing pond with a sandy beach area. On Saturday a local vendor was set up selling fresh vegetables. Staff very friendly. Overall a great experience and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Used to be Thousand Trails membership campground. New corporation ENCORE bought it. It is still just an average older campground, that needs a lot of work. Most sites are small, and the bigger sites are filled with seasonal campers. The staff were very nice and helpful. The pools were ice cold and the sites were grown up with weeds. Wi-Fi is not free. Hot water in the bath house runs out fast. Overall, a decent campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$1
Stayed 11 days. Price is $0 with TTN membership. Extra charge for 50A and/or Wi-Fi. Propane is more expensive than other parks and is only available at limited times. There is a GREAT restaurant (Tar heel Q) across the street. Great food, low cost. Serves Breakfast/lunch/dinner. We will return here next time we are on the west coast mainly because of the restaurant. Very few pull throughs. Good Verizon phone & data. Good over the air TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
Rate for TTN. There are a few waterfront sites, but most are rental cabins. The preserve has 3 pull thru sites; the rest are back in with full hookups 50/30 AM, and there are tent sites. The sites are packed gravel, some shaded, some sunny, with lots of room to put out patio furniture and toys. Part of the interior roads are gravel, and some are asphalt. Laundry and restrooms were clean. Both pools were up and operational...spotless. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a swim beach and float. This is a well managed preserve and the folks working there take pride in the services they provide. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$3
This is a very nice park. Unlike many other Thousand Trails parks, this one has plenty of 50 amp sites. We tow our 40 foot trailer with a semi truck - overall length of 67 feet. We did not find it difficult to get into our site, although it was a back in. We had to put one level of leveler blocks under one side to level our rig. We did not find this unusual. They have several sites with a clear view to the sky for satellite access, and several sites in the woods if you prefer the shade. They have a nice lake for swimming/fishing, and trails through the woods that many people use for their golf carts. Although the pool was a nice size, it did not open until Memorial Day weekend. We would come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$59
Being a non-member we stayed overnight just to try out a Thousand Trails facility. The staff was great. But the roads and campground are all gravel. The sites we saw were not level and would take some experience to get into. They are also advertising for annual site occupants. Felt we paid much too much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$3
This is a great park very well kept. Friendly staff very efficient. Will definitely come back. The handicap sites are close to the laundry, rec room, and garbage. Has nice large sites. We love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
Overall a nice park. As stated, there are a lot of golf carts. Friendly rangers. Rate is for Thousand Trail members. WiFi is $4.95 a day with weekly and monthly rates. About half the sites are big rig friendly. A super adult pool, there is also a family pool. All new furniture around the pool. This was a big upgrade. Many amenities and activities. A small lake for fishing. Overall a quiet park. Roads and sites could us more gravel, some are just dirt and grass. Verizon was fair to good. In season this park could be very busy. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$1
Pleasant park, clean rest rooms, enough activities for a four-day stay. Karaoke, Bingo, Band, Golf Cart Parade (did not partake). I agree it's very dusty. For the most part people near our site were friendly. Can't say that for the overall population. Golf carts were all over the place: a bit of a nuisance (IMHO). We stayed in section C-80. Staff person in the camp store, appeared that she wanted to be someplace else: no smile. I did get her to smile by telling her how nice she kept everything. I would go back sure: everyone deserves a second chance. The men's room near Section C had only 1 shower with a handle, but was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$1
Dust and poor gravel roads are the key words to describe this CG. Also, while I am a TT member I don't like paying an extra $3 for 50amp service...not a lot of money but I already paid $4k for membership and another $500+ a year for member dues. The entrance & clubhouse is very impressive, as in most TT parks, but once inside not that same "curb appeal" applied to your actual camping site. I am getting the impression that most TT CG's are getting tired and the money to get them to respectable resorts is not there under the current management. Seems like to much of that money has been spent on other resort purchases. I hope someone from TT management gets to read this review. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
A nice laid back (re: No activities) caretaker park. We stayed two weeks hoping to play some pickleball but no one wanted to do anything. Flooding seemed to be a problem as much rain arrived while we were there. Fairly close to many local sites, (within about 20 miles). New section for 50 amp power still being worked on but available for use. Many of these sites need more gravel and leveling. Sat TV is possible thru the trees. More fun was being had by staff than by members. This could be a great park with some activity. Many peranent or long term sites taken and these people seem to be living there instead of RV'ing. We would return, if only for a short period. We did enjoy the solitude of a fairly private site. Perhaps a little later in the season woud offer different results. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
This was our last chance to camp at a 1000 Trails Preserve on our trial membership from Lazy Days. The campground is mostly dirt and gravel roads that are very dusty. The lake is actually pretty small, more of a pond. You can pick shaded or out in the open sites. For a limited number of preserves (59) that are private and gated I expected a WOW factor for 1000 Trails which I did not get. The preserve was clean well maintained but again no WOW factor. A WOW factor for a campground to me would be an Army Corp of Engineers campground. They do not have sewer connections but are gorgeous and site are fairly large. I have decided that 1000 Trails is not my camping style. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
We did a lot of running around looking for a great campground that we could use seasonally and didn't look like a "trailer park". We really wanted to just camp, not build a deck and shed etc. We never really considered Thousand Trails membership due to expense, but then discovered they do One Park memberships. We signed up and the park manager helped us pick a perfect site close to the stuff we care about in the park. We have met a ton of new people and love the friendly atomosphere. People here are members so they care about the park. I would suggest anyone who wants a secure friendly wonderful camping experience to try this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This is a Thousand Trails Park. Easy to get to and get around in. Big rig friendly in most cases. They have a good set-up for loading/unloading golf carts. It would be nice if these parks would provide a similar set-up for loading/unloading motorcycles. I was surprised that they did not have many recycling efforts in place, however they did have a aluminum can disposal container in front of the adult lodge. All-in-all, a nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Great park to stay in. Lots of activities and really enjoy the church service on Sunday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$2
Nice open site. There are many sites that are in the trees. Even though the pools don't open until Memorial Day, it is nice to have an adult pool and a family pool. The club houses are nice and separate for adults and families. There are lots of choices for children. Peace and quiet for adults. Very nice park even though our site was a little unlevel. People were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback we saw was a lot of 30 amp users using the 50 amp sites. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$1
My husband and I received a "Passport" in the mail to be able to camp at this CG for a weekend. We invited our neighbors, they called in and got a free weekend also. When we arrived on Friday afternoon we were directed to the "Welcome" center where they sent us with a little lady on a golf cart to take us to a site. There were quite a few campers there but she told us when we saw sites that we liked to just blow the horn. She said we could pick any place. We found 2 sites side by side. They have an adult lodge and a family lodge. That was really nice. Th camp store was not open. Easter weekend was going to be the weekend it would open. If you needed anything you had to drive about 2 miles to a store. We were a little disappointed since we scrapbook all of our camping trips. I had taken the camera with us! They do have the "Pioneer Graveyard"...it's a good walk but don't expect much. It is NOT well maintained and there are only about 10 stones and you can only read 2 of them. It would probably be a wonderful place in the summer since there are pools (adult and family) and mini-golf . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$2
Beautiful Preserve, well-maintained. Sections A&B were already closed for the season, so I selected site E-55, which is close to the bathhouse/laundry even though I've got facilities in the pop up. The arrival night shower was fabulous! I know I used more than 6 gallons of water! The sites in this area are bluestone drive/pad, most of which had fire rings and good picnic tables. Full-hookup sites. 50 amp service is available, and one can get a 50 amp site via the ranger station at a cost of $2.00 per night. Propane refill was $2.69 per gallon. It was nice to see that they also have a group camping area and horses are allowed! There are several trails, one of which has a 'pioneer graveyard' dating back to about 1850-52. Wal-mart Supercenter about 13 miles north in Mocksville, and a Food Lion Grocery Store about 6 miles in the other direction towards Lexington, NC. Childress Winery is also near Lexington. The Tarheel Q (eatery) is about 1-1/2 miles from the preserve entrance. All facilities in the preserve are well maintained and personnel were very nice. There was a craft sale while I visited, and the doggie crafts were great as were the oil paintings of beautiful mountains. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$1
We received a "free camping" offer for this campground and decided to drive through before committing to a whole weekend. We drove around for about 15 minutes today and were not very impressed with this facility. There were quite a few camp sites that were weedy (3-foot weeds that would have taken several weeks to grow). We didn't see anyone staying in the cabins -- completely empty. I think this could be a really nice campground if the owners decided to invest time, effort and money into it. We arrived around noon and only saw a few teens waling towards the pool -- very few adults were out and not one child that we could see. The campsites looked large and there were several pull-throughs. We might give it a few years and go back to see if things have improved -- but would not stay there in it's current condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Supposed to be a membership park, but it is listed in Woodalls to rent to public at around 25.00 per night best I can remember. This park has really went down from what it used to be, grass needs to be mowed, really high in places, no one is taking care of this place every where you look work needs to be done and no one is doing it. They have 2 pools (1 adult 1 childrens) and a really large Hot Tub that was not running when we were there in August, they also have 2 club houses 1 for family rec and 1 for adults. They do have a great place in the Adult club house for internet hook up. Sites are gravel and unlevel, this could be a great place if they would put a little time and money into it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Private park that is part of Thousand Trails organization. Considering cost of membership, the park is in very poor shape. Grass knee high on some sites. Very small number of 50 amp sites, none of which are marked. To find one, you must walk from site to site and look into each electrical box. Adult Club House roof and pool in serious need of repair. Campers encountered were universally friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com