206616 User submitted reviews online!!
Deep River Campground & RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (336) 629-4069
CGID2022

Deep River Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   1   8   3   9   1   3   1   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
It's hard to complain when you pay $12 a night (Passport America rate). Was promised full hookup on the phone but while we were hooking up an employee ran up and told us we had to move because they had a 40 foot rig coming in and needed that spot, (we have a 20' class "B"). The next 15 minutes consisted of trying to find a semi-level spot. Most of the spots are not level, things are just haphazard with non-consistent utilities, tables, etc. There's trash piled up in the middle of the park waiting to be set on fire, a large trash fire on the edge of the park. In general I just kept remembering that Tobacco Road is in North Carolina, and think I just found it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
We had found this campground on the internet and made reservations for Labor Day weekend. When we pulled up to the campground my wife said "oh no" and I was in disbelief. I went in to the office and found my site number and paid. We were put in basically a driveway with no room for an awning or anything. BE FOREWARNED: the website is deceitful and looks nothing like the place. I went back to the office and got a refund except for one night, he still charged me for. I told the owner his web site was a misrepresentation of the reality and he informed they were all actual pictures. True, just taken from prime spots. If we had not found another campground we would have driven two hours back home. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
At the Passport rate, it was a steal! It is a lovely place with two pools and a lake too. I was in the shade. Will return again even though my internet signal was not so great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We camped here on Memorial day weekend for 3 days. The pools were overly crowded as it is open to the public (they are subsidized by the city). The site was level, but no shade and the picnic table had a warped board and was useless. The grumpy old guy host was not a treat either, but his wife was very helpful with kennel info. The bathrooms were dirty and needed a new paint job. We made it fun for the kids but will not return. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$10
I brought my youth group here to camp in November 2010. We had a BLAST! All the staff were SO accommodating and hospitable. Because of some of the reviews, I went ahead to visit before we went, and one of the staff showed me around in her golf cart. She was very helpful and showed me the group camping sites and told us all about the park. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner, who was readily available if we had questions and was very friendly and helpful. The park offers great amenities for youth groups: a playground, a lake for fishing, trails to Deep River, a game room, a pavilion with electricity and a refrigerator, multiple fire rings. The bathrooms were very clean and several of the youth made comments about how amazing the warm showers were. The only thing we had problems with was the cold weather (which is not the campground's fault, of course *ha ha*). Even still, they were very helpful with helping us keep warm the 2nd night. We stayed two nights and would definitely go back. Things to keep in mind: follow the speed limit; the first part of the road into the park is a little rough; if you are rude and hateful or break rules, then you probably won't have a good experience. The owner mentioned that the people who left the bad reviews were most likely ones he turned away because they did not follow the rules. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
My husband and I will never take a vacation again if we have to stay at deep river camp ground. When we arrived our site had been "accidentally" given away and we were "too early" we were told, so they placed us on another site. The park was dirty with many perm people there living in run down, ugly, dirty campers. The road in was something you would expect to lead you to a remote place, the pot holes were horrible! There was trash right in the middle of the grassy area, and even though there was a sign saying no alcohol, there was many beer boxes in that trash. The sites were very unlevel and small, it took us about 1.5 hours just to level up! At check in the office was closed (weren't we too early?)and when we called the number hanging on the door, the person on the other end was very rude and even more rude when he came to the office, come to find out, he was the owner! We were going to stay a week and left after the first night, thank goodness we only paid for one night in cash! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
This campground was not clean and filled with permanently parked RVs. Even though there was a big sign that said no alcohol: there was a pile of empty beer can boxes in the middle of the grassy area where the dump station was located. Our site was okay. We were in a pull through site and our view consisted of the lake and the tent sites. It was okay for a weekend without the children or for an overnight. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
We arrived after 6pm. The check-in building was closed. The owner was VERY Rude, said all the Passport sites were full, but gave us the discount because he wanted cash, wouldn't take a credit card after hours. We were told we had to be off the site by 10 am. The road into the park was horrible, thought we were going to end up on our side a couple of times. There is a sign in the game room states that the pool and the pond costs $1.50 extra each. We were originally going to stay for a week but left after 1 night. This place is a DUMP! It wasn't even worth the Passport America price. There were a lot of permanent trailers with owners that don't care how bad they are falling apart, or how trashy their sites are. We will never go back, and have let everyone know what the place is like. Word of mouth is the best form of advertising, but it's also the best way to warn other people how bad this place is! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
I really don't know where to start. We were suppose to stay for 3 nights but after the 1st night we left. We were around a lot of Permanent Seedy Trailers, not to mention the people. Our site was so un-level and going down hill that if you were not careful you would fall down the hill. It took us over an hour to level our Travel Trailer. Lots were very narrow. Had to find quite a bit of rocks to even level the picnic table legs. The gravel road into the campground was horrible. A lot of potholes. My over all impression of the Campground was it is where you bring trailers to die. By the way, I won't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
I pulled in to check the CG out and couldn't find a parking space,there were cars parked all over the place. Come to find out the two pools are open to the public and half the town was there. The CG has MANY full time trailers, almost like a trailer park. The lady inside was busy with another person, but allowed me to drive through. I couldn't find any level sites of the few that were left. The park was trashy looking with all the full timers. I decided not to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We were driving through for the night on the way to the beach. We had no problem getting a reservation the night before. The park was easy to find. We did notice there were a lot of permanent residents there. Nice fishing pond. Two clean pools. Playground could have been updated. The actual pull-through site was uneven and we had to play with the stabalizer jacks a while. Overall it was a nice for a night. Great Wi-Fi connection and cable connection. Nice workers as well. Very helpful. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$13
Passport America Rate. Park is off the main road and for this time of year was mostly full of long term storage RVs. Got last site at 2 PM. Excellent Cable and WIFI which was included and the PA was a good deal for services rendered. No activities this time of year and sites are level but the overall park is hilly. Recommend you book or phone to confirm site available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$12
The road in and out is terrible, really rocked the rig. It's Passport America which is appreciated. Many camp sites are on a hill, it took 4 Lynx Levelers under each of the two tires on the low side to make the trailer level. The sites are very tight. The lake is nice saw some people fishing. I debated staying two nights, but left after one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$12
This is a small owner occupied campground. The access road is gravel and needs work. The sites are gravel and a fair amount of leveling is required especially for longer rigs. There is only one bath facility for the entire campground. A laundry room is available. There were several older, permanent, travel trailers on site. Voltage and water pressure were good as well as sat and cell coverage. There isn’t any cable. No one mentioned Wi-Fi at check-in so I can't comment on it. There is nothing special about this place, but it would work well as a place to stay for a couple days. Rate reflects a Passport discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
A lot of permanent sites. Residents not overly friendly. Employees at check in were friendly. The two pools were nice. The bathrooms were relatively clean as were the showers. The sites are close together and not level. Would not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Access from paved road in need of repair. Park is mostly longterm. Sites are not level. Utilities were very accessable. Next time we will try another RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
This is an OK campground. It is certainly good enough for a couple of nights. I would not plan a vacation around it. There are still lots of long-term campers, but there are also plenty of transient sites. The sites are terraced and have pull through access. All sites are full hook-up and the utility connections are easily accessed. The campground is heavily wooded, so there is lots of shade. Free WiFi is now available. A Good Sam poster is prominently displayed in the office, and I offered my Good Sam card, but no discount was given. However, I was very satisfied with full hook-ups and WiFi for $22. I did not see any of the questionable activities mentioned in reviews from previous years. Staff members were friendly and thanked me for staying with them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$12
This was our first experience camping in our new travel trailer. The campsite appeared to be a former KOA considering the trademark shape of the check - in building. The folks at the front desk were friendly. We had a pull - through site and it was nicely shaded. The playground had enough stuff to keep our three kids happy. The small lake is just a few steps away from all the sites and fishing is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
Access from paved road in need of repair. Park is mostly longterm. Sites are not level. Utilities were very accessable. Next time we will try another RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2006
$30
This park overall was dirty. Sites were hard to manuver. Help were not very friendly. Poor experience and we won't be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2005
$20
There are not many campground choices in the Asheboro area, which is unfortunate because there is a lot to do in the area. We have stayed at Zooland, Holly Bluff, and now Deep River and found all of them to be comparable. They are all older campgrounds that need some work. None of them are outstanding but are acceptable. Zooland is now a private campground so that eliminates another choice. Holly Bluff is a cramped campground and not able to accommodate big rigs. We needed 4 campsites near each other. 2 rigs in our group were 40' and needed 50 amp service. The owners were very accommodating during the reservation process and were extremely friendly upon check in, even waiting late for our last arrival. The entrance road was extremely rough. Our sites had plenty of room but were not too level. There were many seasonal sites but most were well maintained and the residents seemed friendly. We camped here in the beginning of December, so we were not able to take advantage of the amenities. Based on the friendliness of the owners and the pretty property it sits on, we will camp here again in the warmer months to take advantage of all the campground offers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
I have never been so disappointed! Nine of us went to enjoy Labor day weekend together, and we were able to look over several things such as rules not being enforced, ATV's being riden throughout the park, dogs barking etc. We rented a canoe and the wonderful men in our family went out in the middle of the lake to fish, needless to say the boat went too far one way and tipped over. When we saw that the guys were alright, we chuckled a little (as anyone would do), but the owner came out and accused them of fooling around and even accused them of swimming in that murky water on purpose, not once asking if they were ok and saying very rude things to them and making the children cry! This is a heartless owner and a horrible, trashy place! Do not go, I would not recommend this to a dog! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$22
Great place. The owner does not put up with rule breakers. Had lots of fun and caught a big bass. I would go back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
One pool was open and it was in great shape. We swam a lot Saturday and enjoyed the water. It was very clean, although still cold, but fun! We rented a canoe and paddled all over the small fishing lake which was fun for the whole family. We saw a lot of turtles. They had a nice "T" shaped fishing pier on the lake and we caught a couple of small Brim. We played basketball (the backboard was broken) and the kids enjoyed the playground. There was also a nice trail by the river with some rocks to play on. There is also a trail around the lake. Campfires are allowed and the CG is very quiet at night. Would I return? No. Would I recommend this CG? No. This is more of a transient park with many people living on site. Too many run down trailers for my taste, and I'm pretty open minded! The store was not stocked with much of anything and the whole place had a run-down feel to it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2005
$22
This campground to okay to stay in for a few nights. This campground looks like it used to be a KOA. This campground is only a few miles from all stores and restaurants in Ashboro and not to far from the zoo. The modem hookup is used though the payphone. The game room is small and it seems to attract non camping kids in the evenings. The store is not open all the time, you have check with the owners house to get service. The owners seem friendly enough though. There is a nice big pond to go fihing with no license required. They had 3 pools, but now one is filled in with cement. The best thing about this campground is, they take Passport America. We stayed there for $11 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This isn't the type of place I like to stay either. I stayed there years ago when it was a KOA and it was horrible. Drugs, alcohol and prostitution. We heard it was under new ownership and had completely turned around. After staying there a couple weeks ago we decided it isn't really much better. We saw all those things still going on there. We will not go back. Pass this one up and head on over to Zooland or Holly Bluff. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Not the type of place I like to stay. If you break down and call them they still will charge you $10.00 for not being able to arrive on time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We stayed at this campground while visiting the zoo. It's a woodsy, scenic campground with alot of shady spaces and a large fishing pond. We loved the feel of it, but we were disappointed by some fulltimers near us that had cars coming and going all hours of the night, one after another, playing loud music. We also saw many people walking around the campground drinking. We had our grandchildren and wanted a more family oriented park. We did meet George, the owner, who is a relatively new owner. He seemed very nice and we saw him working diligently on the grounds. The woman we spoke to in the office was not friendly in the least and the bathrooms were not clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Best in Asheboro NC. George the owner is great. But you had better stop for that stop sign by the office. He has a firm hand on his park. If you do not follow the rules, you are out of there. That is what makes the parks great. He listens and he takes care of things. You are people to him. (I have seen other park managers treat you as if you were a bother to them by staying at their parks.) The bathrooms are very clean and the pools are too. The fish in the lake are small - gran-daddies. I really wish all parks where like this one. Maybe George can give lessons. Thanks George for the great stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com