214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Taps RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (828) 299-8277
CGID2027

Taps RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   4   4   2   5   6   9   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
This was a very tight park to get at 40' RV in. It was not a park I would ever go back too again. Nothing nice to look at if desperate for an over nighter, it's fair. We had booked 3 days without seeing it and was not happy at this park, sorry no refunds, so we stayed 3 days. Will not go back to this one at all after seeing it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$34
On the east side of town, close to I-40 and convenient to Blue Ridge Pkwy, Biltmore etc. Park is old, roads narrow considering that vehicles have to be parked on the road. Back in sites narrow and not real easy to get into, trying to avoid other parked cars and rigs. The cable TV is a new thing where you are issued a small box, cable and remote control. You have to connect this box in line with the input cable to your TV. The TV remote turns your set on and off and controls sound and the extra remote changes channels. It took trying three boxes before we got one that worked. One neighbor never did get one to work (after three tries, then the office was closed). When it worked, the audio was so weak that with the TV turned up to 100% on the sound, you couldn't hear it if you had a fan, A/C or furnace running. I think I'd look for a park somewhere else and drive into town to visit the sites here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
We stayed here for a week at a cost of $219 for a pull-thru with full hook-up. All we wanted was a "base" to operate out of to see the sights of Asheville. For that, it served us well as very close to everything. However, there are many drawbacks to this place. First off, very small and narrow roads within the campground itself. Lucky for us we were on the end and it was easy for us to get into our pull-thru site. With a 40' it would be hairy trying to back into any site. Campground not well maintained and there are several seasonal junky sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Park Is marginal at best, but is very convenient to the Biltmore estate and restaurants. Owner is trying to sell the park and it seems he does not really care about his customers or the park. Restrooms had mud all over the floors, and did not appear very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2013
$31
The only thing that keeps me from giving this park a 1 rating is that the owner was pleasant. The park is extremely small, sites are tight and not suited for Big Rigs -- though a skilled driver can pull it off. The restrooms were filthy -- no other way to put it. Mold, mildew, and just plain dirty. Less than 75 yards from train tracks with freight trains running all night. Our concrete site pad was heaved and broken which made getting level a challenge. Picnic table had a 18" hole burned in the top of it so it was unusable. WiFi signal was too weak to even upload a simple email. Good Sam rating of 6/9.5*/9 is way way way off track. Avoid this place at all costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
I think big-rig access was an error in previous reviews. The campground website says "large, level pull-throughs" and "can accomodate the largest made RV's." Neither of these is true. We were in a large coach with slides on both sides towing a car. I told the owner this when I made the reservation. When we got in at 4pm, the office was closed. A note on the door left instructions for me to unhook my toad right there in the entryway and proceed to my site. Without the car, the coach can pull through the very small site. This is NOT my definition of a pull-through! As for large sites that can accomodate the largest made RV, our site is barely long enough for the 40 foot coach. We were instructed to park the dinghy crossways in the front; about half of it is out in the road. This is common at many sites making the road difficult to navigate. Finally, this "large" site is so narrow that I can't open the basements on one side. Our slide is less than 3 inches from the power post and the water faucet. The park is very small and tight maneuvering. We had to get our "neighbor" to move their truck to get out of the site; glad they were up! There are 2 (separate) rooms with a shower and toilet. They were fairly clean. There is one washer/dryer in one of the bathrooms. No other facilities here. Like other reviewers, we chose Taps for the location. I think Good Sam's rating of 6/9.5/9 is pretty far off track. I could not get the Wi-Fi to work, but Verizon worked fine. Biltmore was a blast! We may come back to Asheville, but we would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Two positive things to say - very nice owner and close to Parkway and downtown. However, loud - street noise and train - day and night - yes, there is a whistle. Park is very tight for large rig and lots of long-termers. We would not stay here again. Incidentally, the park is for sale. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Small, very nice CG, very nice owner. Tight spaces but acceptable. Close to Downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
We selected this park based on how close it was to The Cove (Billy Graham training Center). We also visited the Biltmore Estate. Very basic, no frills gravel sites and interior roads. Short road into park has many deep potholes so drive very slow. Grass at each site and most are separated by short wooden fence. Combination of pull through and back in sites with FHU. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
Tight parking for motor home. Close to Biltmore Estates and not up in the mountains. Washer and dryers are $5.00. It fit our needs for the trip. Would not stay for an extended time. We stayed 3 days We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Tight park for driving but nice space between units. Big rigs would have a harder time getting in and out; our 36-foot was about all I'd want. Laundry facilities limited. Concrete patio and concrete runners for tires. Grass around the coach but NO parking on the grass. Near freeway and the railroad. Don't hear traffic from freeway other than as white noise. Train noise is present a couple times a night but is short duration and we never heard a whistle. So-so water pressure but good sanitary system for dumping. Convenient to parkway and Biltmore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
Location, location, location. This RV park is not fancy but can fit your need for touring around Asheville. The location is great. It is right by the Blue Ridge Parkway, close to downtown Asheville, and close to the Biltmore. The sites are a bit tight since it is an older park, but there are a number of large motorhomes which fit in. There are a few full-timers, but most people seem to be travelers like us, so it did not bother us. There is a train nearby, but it did not bother us. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Location is great, just off the I-40 on a road with a grocery and a couple of restaurants and a great local bar, The Roots Bar, a few yards up the road. Also had a bus stop just outside which took you into downtown Asheville and ran every hour, hugely convenient and what is so often lacking in other city sights which are often too far out. Pretty little wooded site with a nice garden and immaculate bathrooms. Wi-Fi excellent and the owner was most helpful. Asheville is also well worth a visit particularly on a Saturday night through to the end of August when they have a free festival called Shindig on the Green which offers great bluegrass and Appalachian mountain music. We would have stayed for 3 nights, but could only stay for two as they were booked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
This is a very nice, quiet, small park on the east side of Asheville. It's very close easy access to I-40. The manager is SO nice and friendly, helpful also. They keep the lawns mowed, clean park, level sites. We had planned to stay 2 weeks, but extended our stay to almost a month. There is a river running right behind the park, and you can fish in it. We have a large 40 foot 5th wheel with 5 slides, and it was not a problem to fit in our site. We would recommend this park to anyone. Not sure of the nightly rate, we paid a monthly rate, which is less. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Spaces are extremely tight. Semi level, takes work with the automatic jacks. This is an old RV park better suited for RV trailers some of which appear to have permanent residence here. It is close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and just ok for a night. We stayed a couple and had to move the 2nd night to another spot which was even tighter for our rig because he had someone else booked into our site. I think it is an area destination park for RV trailers. Would not stay here again unless we had no choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
As another has said "Location, location, location". Spaces are tight to get into because of the cars being parked in the aisles. Place is neat except for the owners check-in office and space. Our 40ft just fit into the space and of course the car had to be parked in the aisle. Wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Location, Location as I say. The Blue Ridge Parkway is maybe if that one mile down from Taps. Downtown Asheville is a straight shoot down one road, you can not get lost. Biltmore is five miles off I40. There are a grocery store and a WalMart just down the road as well. We stayed at Taps RV park one week in a 50 amp pull through site which is in the middle of the park. For the money you can not beat it. You have the river behind the back-end sites which are 30amp. Our site leveled concrete with extra gravel to the right, so your feet do not step in mud when it rains, which it did one day. Cable was excellent, and internet was very good. A family owned RV park. The staff was helpful with any needs or help. Taps does not list washer and dryer, but has one on site. We plan to come back for a winter stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
Good location for a short stay in the Asheville/Blue Ridge Parkway vicinity. Owner was nice. Sites are concrete and gravel, level and clean. Bathrooms were older but acceptably clean. No amenities in the park other than a picnic table at each site. The sites are narrow, and divided from the neighboring site by a short section of stockade fence to give the illusion of privacy. The park is sandwiched between a river and a gas station. Access to the gas station is easy. River access is blocked by kudzu and boards. Our site, C4, was close to the office, but the advertised Wi-Fi would not reliably connect and when it did the signal was very weak, so we gave up. Next time we are in the area we will seek other options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Location is terrific but certainly nothing beautiful about the campground. It had some limited 'cute' aspects. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Tight spaces, cars park on roads make it hard to maneuver. Only one combo washer/dryer operated through the office only, which is closed most of the time. Rude, unfriendly management. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
AT first glance, this place looks iffy-right off a main road, behind a gas station, gravel sites, several old, dirty RV's. However, we were lucky enough to get a site right on the stream, which also faces a small farm with horses-it was really pretty and relaxing. The site was fairly level as well. Had we been in a site that wasn't on the stream, I would have rated it lower. Internet was spotty. Only 2 bathrooms, locked with keys hanging outside. 1 washer/dryer in 1 of the bathrooms-inconvenient . It is a good location close to highway but definitely not fancy. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
Location, location! This is an old park that has full hookups, level paved sites, with an owner-manager. It only has one washer/dryer, no frills, but the best location and the right quality for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This park was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Pads are concrete and level, hookups were in good shape. Roads are gravel but the turns will be tight for a big rig. The park is located central to all the attractions in Asheville, but it was surprisingly quiet. We stayed one night and did not check out the restrooms. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
A fine place to stop to visit Asheville. Very friendly hosts. Park near the office for the best wi-fi reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We have stayed here several times and have always found this park to be clean, friendly and very accessible to Asheville. We are in a 40' motor home and have had no trouble maneuvering into various sites. The owner is very friendly and helpful and the grounds are lovely. We highly recommend this park and will continue to return to it whenever we are in Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
My only problem with the park: the restrooms (2) and washer/dryer (1) were located next to the commode. Two restrooms/showers (unisex) are not adequate for the park, and the location of W/D is not where you want your clothes. Manager and wife were helpful and friendly. The water was clean. Travel in a 34+ footer with tow dolly, did not have to unhook. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We have stayed at this park many times over the past 4 years and have always enjoyed our stay. The owner is extremely helpful and congenial. We have a 40' motorhome and have had no problem whatsoever in maneuvering our rig in the park and getting into the various spaces we have occupied. The vegetation at the sites is nice, and there's a down home atmosphere that is lovely - we would not stay anywhere else when we visit Asheville We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Sites are close together, lots of bees around rotted fences. Water had dirt in it; had to flush the system at the next stop. Park was quiet, nice host, and good location for local access. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$29
This park is a good place to stop for a day or two. Approximately fifty percent of the sites are pull-throughs. The pads are concrete. The sites are adequate, but the narrow roads are a real problem. There is no place to park the tow vehicle or car. The turns are real tight which makes it difficult for big rigs to navigate. There are also a couple trees that have low branches that are potential problems. All roads are gravel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
This is an excellent campground if you want convenience to attractions, restaurants, and grocery stores. As reflected in other reviews, there is some noise from trains (not really loud dependent on wind direction) and occasional traffic. Overall, it is a quiet place to stay. We stayed 12 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Restroom and bath facilities were clean. Owner is friendly and helpful. When we return, we plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
Roads are all gravel and in good shape. All sites are very short but you have room in each side. You have two cement strips on most sites to park on. You have 11 sites that have 50 amp power and all others are 30 amps. This is not a big rig campground due to small roads and tight turns. Short RV units will take up the hold site and tows will park in front on in road. Water, sewer, power, cable TV, and table on all sites. Owner was very nice at check in and helpful as well. This park has been in service a long time or back in days of small RV units. Lots of green grass in hold park, nice. Noise: We could hear the train at times (no horn blowing) only wheels rolling on the tracks. Most of the noise here is off Hwy 70 in front of park. Wi-Fi was free, fast, strong, and will work on your site. You do have some trees to park under here. Rates are on Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$33
We stayed at this park because is was all we could find in the area that had been reviewed and had big rig sites. We needed Wifi and needed a laundry, which this one had. It was raining when we set up so the site was very wet but dried up quickly after the rain. The staff was friendly. My problem with this park was the "laundry". There are two bathrooms each having a shower and a toilet & sink. One of the bathrooms had a washer dryer combo in it like they make for small apartments. The staff, who works limited hours, must turn it on for you when the bathroom is not being other wise used. You pay the staff and they turn it on during their office hours. There were some small (tiny) campers which used the bathrooms as their home away from home so I was not able to get my laundry done. I had to find a laundromat. This park is OK for overnight if you don't need the laundry. It is pretty tight for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
We camp in a 32' Vintage Airstream. Our site backs to a creek view (sites A1-A9 only). "B" and "C" sites, though pull-through, are much less attractive. Tidy, grassy landscape with Hollywood drive for trailer and concrete slab for table. Short fence conceals neighbor's hook-ups. Site too short to accommodate truck--parked seven spaces away (all sites are only 40' long). There is a train across the creek that may annoy light sleepers. Park has a significant number of permanant WT residents. It is an easy walk to adjacent hiway commercial including restaurants and a new bank. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This is a clean, well-maintained, well-managed park and the owner is friendly and accommodating. Wifi was generally good, but sometimes slow and it disconnected unexpectedly a few times. Except for the deficiencies described below, we would rate this park 7. My pet peeve is difficulty entering and exiting pull-thrus. Shame on me for not paying better attention to prior reviews of this park. Some sites, particularly in Row C, are very difficult to enter and leave if your rig is longer than about 27-28 feet. Getting our 35-foot 5th wheel into a pull-thru in Row C with a long pickup (long bed, crew cab) was the most frustrating parking experience I’ve ever had, mostly because of parked toads and tow vehicles crowding the lanes in front of and behind our site. There was insufficient space to swing out, pull forward, or back up adequately to get positioned on the concrete pad without making several back and forth maneuvers. Throughout the park, the pads are so short that toads and tow vehicles must park perpendicular to the front of the RVs and the vehicles protrude into the driving lanes. There is adequate room to drive through the lanes, but not to maneuver easily into and out of some sites. Beause of a patio fence between sites, I had to close my slide out to have enough room to walk and to work as I connected and disconnected all the utilities (and I’m a small person). In some sites, the patio fence is placed where it is not a problem. We will not stay here again because of the vehicle maneuverability issues. If that doesn’t bother you, then this is a campground worth considering. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We stayed here seven nights. It is close to many attractions in the Asheville and western Carolina area. The campground is small and the sites are close together, but there is a wooden fence separating each site. We appreciated the concrete pad, level site and concrete patio area. We had a large shade tree. The campground backs up to a body of water which might be the river. We are in a dought and all the rivers in the area are at 50% capacity, so it is not visably flowing. If your site does not back up to it you won't know it was there. Gravel roads are well-maintained. The bath house also houses one stacking washer and dryer for campers use. This worked out as there are so few sites. Several people are stayed on a monthly basis probably working in the VA Hospital closeby. All the sites are neat. It is hard to tell who is paying monthly. The owners are on site and very helpful. Park rules are enforced. We spent quiet evening on our patio and had something new to explore in the area everyday. There is a train nearby but it did not interrupt our sleep. There were only a few open sites during our stay. It is within walking distance to three restaurants, convenience store and produce stand. The RV dealership and parts store is just down the road. Several campgrounds in the area are for sale, so be sure and call ahead for reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
We absolutely love this campground and have stayed many times in the past 7 years. Our site is 28 feet wide and we have a shade tree in our yard. It is a quiet, super friendly campground surrounded by mountains and trees. It sits beside the Swannanoa river and is close to the VA Hospital, shopping and downtown. It definitely exceeds our camping needs. NO,it isn't fancy but, Bill and his family are on site 24/7 and are ALWAYS willing to help anyone that needs help. Many of the campers have dogs here, including us. Bill is a stickler for following the pet rules which is very important to us. With regard to the last posting, we were here during their stay and they did not want to follow the pet rules. Leaving a dog outside, unattended and off lease has to be addresses for the safety of other campers and their pets. If Bill did not enforce his rules, we would not want to camp here! It is bad enough that he has to keep cleaning up after pets owners that think they don't have to be responsible for their pet's actions. I can't tell you the times that we have walked our dog and found piles left by inconsiderate campers who think that rules don't apply to them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This is an older CG and the drive roads are a bit narrow. But most sites have a concrete pad with concrete pad for picnic table and a wood fence between sites for privacy. My overall rating is perhaps a point higher because of very friendly and helpful owner, who seems to be everywhere at once 24 hours a day. Plus the grounds are very well maintained and clean. This was a repeat visit for us. No pool or other amenities, but we stayed here 8 days. Very convenient to Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Although pets are allowed, this is not a dog friendly RV park. If you want to let your pet get some fresh air, be prepared to sit with it while it's outside. Don't even go inside your rig for a few minutes or one of the questionable looking permanent residents will tell the owner on you. It is not particularly kid friendly either. It is extremely crowded with only the front of your space to park your tow vehicle or toad (there is visitor parking on the far East side of the campground). We had to move our truck twice in the week we stayed to allow our neighbors to leave or pull into their spaces. The interior roads are gravel while the spots are two strips of level concrete. The park is for sale; however, the owner, Bill, is still keeping appearances up. There is one over/under washer dryer ($1.50 ea) in the bathroom. You have to pay Bill first to use it as it is not a commercial model. When he closes the office, he turns off the breaker to the w/d so get your laundry done early! The train tracks are an unobstructed 1,000 feet behind the park. Worst part is the tracks are on a curve and when steel wheels take curves on steel rails...they squeal and screech. We would not stay here again. It is too crowded (sites are 18 feet apart) and with the extra vehicles, it's really hard to maneuver around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2007
$30
The best thing about this campground is its proximity to downtown Asheville. We stayed for five nights, while my husband was on assignment in the area. The WiFi connection was strong, which was important as I need it to work throughout the day. Unfortunately, the pull-throughs are short, and quite close together, so if you have a toad you must unhitch upon arrival before pulling into your site. (This would be a challenge for me when I travel solo, but fortunately, my husband was along on this particular arrival!) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
The site was small and cramped,and there is not much space between each site. The wifi worked ok, it was hanging from an extension cord in a tree. While the sites are pull-thru, you have to unhook a tow vehicle before going to your site. We stayed here for one night so that we could visit Biltmore Estate. The host was nice and helpful. The host is on-site 24/7. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Sure don't know what Taps park the last reviewer stayed at but certainly not the same one where we have stayed 14 times(sometimes for several months at a time). We park on a cement pad with a large cement patio and a privacy fence. There is plenty of room to put out our awning and there is a picnic table at every site. We certainly have no feeling of being crowded or too close to our neighbors. The owner of the park is friendly and helpful. We have stayed at other parks in Asheville and this one is definitely best for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
OK place to stay. Owner was terrific, but roads are tight and hard to get into site. He has tow cars and trucks parked in front of the spaces, so turning to get into a space is almost impossible. Train can be noisy, but they seem to stop at night, so sleeping was not a problem. Close to the VA Hospital, if that is a concern. Cute little patio with a tree and privacy screen is a nice touch. Really, it is just a place to lay your head if you are sight seeing, otherwise, stay at the one on top of the mountain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
You have to be kidding me! This place is like packing a sardine can! I could almost reach out and touch my neighbor! Could you cram any more sites into a 1/2 acre of land! Not my idea of "accommodations". If I didn't need to dump, I would have just stayed at a Walmart, it wouldn't have been any noisier with the trains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Quiet, friendly park. Good location for seeing the sites in Asheville. Restaurants are within walking distance and there is a great produce stand nearby. Owner-run and well maintained. Train is close, but not as close as some parks I've stayed at. It didn't bother us. We had some repairs and had to extend our stay a few times and the owner was very accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
As others have stated, good park. Stayed for a few nights. Helpful owners. Smallish but level sites. Good WIFI signal, even at end of park. No fault of the owners, but regular train traffic a few hundred feet away across the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Was a first time full-time camper. Stayed just one week less than a full year. Bill and family took care of me like family. Friendly from the first contact to the last. Bill taught me so much. Several others were long term as well but many "in and outers". Close to town and all attractions. Made lots of friends w/ other visitors. Willing to return any time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
Park is right off interstate and close to East Asheville. Owner keeps this park clean. Spaces are tight, though, with little additional parking available. Many of the spaces had a small fence and a tree which made it feel very cozy. Very clean restrooms and showers. Good wireless internet connection maintained. Though a train does pass behind the park I didn't notice a large increase in noise. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$33
An overall decent facility run as a tight ship by on-site owners. Mostly long-term rentals, with few sites available for overnighters and no shade or stream sites, even though you'll find those in the description. This can sometimes be a negative at some places, but all sites were kept up, clean, and the place overall was very quiet. Not much for landscaping, but restroom facilities were clean for the most part. Two all-in-one bath/shower rooms were always damp, with mold and mildew. This is because the weak vent fans only worked when the light was on and you were supposed to turn the light out. Can't imagine how bad this gets in summer. Location between busy road and near railroad track and next door to go-cart track could be noisy at times, and was not really near anything of note in Asheville. Next door with easy access to quick mart gas station for supplies. Good SECURE wireless Internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Stayed several weeks here and really enjoyed it. Park is very clean and well kept. It is older and somewhat tight to get around. Sites are close but this is an urban area and elsewhere in Asheville is the same or worse. Very convenient location and easy to get to from I-40. On site owner keeps tight rein which is very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$28
It's a nice park to overnight in. It's an older park and sites are small, so it's tight getting large RV's around the roads. Sites have a concrete pad, and a picnic table. Quiet at night. We would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$26
Bill the owner lives on site big difference. WiFi works great and is secured which also is very nice. Bill was most helpful on all of my inquiries. I needed directions to a near by resort for business meeting no problem. Bill gave me a map and highlighted he path. Asked where I could jog near by again no problem. He gave me directions to a near by park where there would be few cars and as flat as can be expected running in the mountains. He even knew the exact distance of the run if I chose to go to very end. Asked where a good steak house was again made excellent recommendations and provided directions and advised of several other type restaurant in the vicinity We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2005
$30
Convenient location in Ahseville. Nice owners on-site. Lots of noise from traffic and trains. Not a scenic park at all. Just added wireless! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$26
You can't beat this campground for convienence! Our site was pretty quiet, but there are some sites that are very close to the road. Owner is friendly and fun. It's not the most scenic, but it's a lot less $ than other places that are further away from town. Internet is DSL and only $2/day for the site, not per laptop (we have 2), but it's a bit on the slow side. Cable TV is excellent with 79 channels. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2004
$26
This is an extremely tight campground with inadequate parking and very small sites. The "privacy fences" are a joke. It is definitely not visually appealing. Additionally, management was very rude. Trains comes near (about 100 yards away) the park several times a day, and it doesn't matter whether or not they blow the whistle, it sounds like it's coming through your living room. I definitely will not stay here again, and would recommend that anyone else considering this place spend just a few dollars more and get a decent campsite. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$23
The park is very clean and well maintained. The owner and his family are very friendly and helpful. It is in town but it has a country feel to it. There is a train but it doesn't blow near the park. I would recommend Taps RV Park to everyone that is heading to Asheville, North Carolina. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$23
Nice smaller campground, close in, with restaurants all around within walking distance. Very friendly owner, lowest rates in town. Only draw back is 2 or 3 times a night, trains go by and are quite loud. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com