219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Boone KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (828) 264-7250
CGID2031

Boone KOA

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   6   7   10   6   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This was our second stay at this park (the first in Oct 2011), the only one thus far we've visited more than once. Being a long holiday weekend, the place stayed packed, but it never seemed overwhelming. While other reviews are correct on various points -- some sites do appear a bit tight, and some units had levelers out, and there aren't grand views per se -- I found the roads from town rather nondescript, and camp amenities are more than adequate. Our 5-year-old grandson had a grand time with the pool, the playground and the farm animals, and made new friends at every turn. My spouse again found plenty to do in the area (a requirement), and we even enjoyed the Independence Day parade in town. This is a nice, family-friendly park, with gracious staff. I suspect we'll make it back here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
This was our first time camping at the Boone KOA for Memorial Day weekend stay. We got there at 7 PM and was able to check in at the office. I asked if they could put us into a pull-through site that I could use my satellite dish. They put us in site # 6 at the far left-hand side of the campground with a clear view of the southern sky. I have a 30 ft travel trailer and it was was a tight squeeze down the crowed streets. My travel trailer just about bottomed out at the hitch trying to pull into the site. The spot was terraced with a grassy spot in front. This gave up a bit more room but most sites are tight with little room to park your tow vehicle. The sites are bit un-level so you’ll need some leveling blocks to make rig level. The small pool at the campground was a nice treat along with the mini golf. The Wi-Fi is strong near the office but gets very weak on the back-side of the park. The campground used to be a working farm back in the 70s so it’s not in town but back in the country. The campground does lack good signs pointing the way to the campground. It’s not hard to find but does take a trained eye to spot the road signs. We enjoyed the campground and we would come back but I think the site prices are bit high given the amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
For the good: staff was friendly and very helpful. Water pressure and power were great. The rest: older facility and looks like it. The main office and bathhouse need renovation IMO, not terrible, just not up to other KOA cg standards I've been to. The WiFi didn't work. My site wasn't even close to big enough for a 28ft TT. Couldn't park my truck on it, sites are very close where you pull in and pull out and next to one another. Couldn't level my trailer with all the blocks I could safely fit under the right side and deflating my left side tires to 10psi! Appeared to have great tent sites. It poured rain the entire weekend, so it was a muddy mess. Fire ring was some rocks in about a 12-14" circle, so bring your own pit. Lots of permanent sites. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
We enjoyed staying here. Site plenty large and used only one block to level the trailer. The staff were friendly and helpful, laundry room clean, and camp store very adequate. But no alcohol for sale. It is a 10 minute drive to town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Although the allure of it being in the mountains sounds intriguing, you really can't see much. You will know that you're 4000’ up though because the 4 mile drive up the mountain from the main road is tight, but certainly doable and obviously all up hill. The office staff was extremely nice, but the sites not so much. They tried to put us in a narrow, heavily treed site for which the turn was not really possible without maneuvering. They were able to move us to an open site which was much better but was just a gravel narrow path cut out of the grass. Picnic table, but no fire ring. To get in and out of town is a trip. The Boone Golf Club is nearby and a very good course. Wi-Fi was OK. AT&T phone service on the weak side. Nice playground, donkeys, goats and chickens that children would enjoy. I think we'd look for alternatives if returning to Boone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Where should we start? Let's start with the plus'. The staff were great. Very friendly and inviting. The location was beautiful. Rolling hills and views of some mountains. They had some activities for the kids and our daughter enjoyed the scavenger hunt, craft time, and the apple cider social. Now to the negatives. Sites are small. The road (H area) we were on was bad. There were ruts where it apparently rained hard and then getting into the sites there were rough. Our site was not level either way you looked at it. With our slides out, we were at the edge of the campsite behind us. If someone were camping there, they wouldn't of been able to have a campfire as it was literally only 2' away. If we had a slide on the front side of ours, we wouldn't be able to have a fire ourselves. Trying to get out was bad because due to the ruts and elevation changes of the road and sites, we almost dragged our stabilizers. That with a tree, it was almost tragic. But we worked it out. There did appear to be some better sites on the other rows. My recommendation is to leave your camper at the check in place and walk over to where they want you to park and check it out first. I wish we had done this ourselves. But all in all, it was a great visit. We will definitely return and hope to get a better site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This is a nice campground, with friendly workers, good hookups, clean shower room, a store, large rec room, and laundry facilities. It is away from the noise of highways, trains, and aircraft (It is quiet at night). Like all middle priced commercial campgrounds, sights are close together. For tenting, they even have a sheltered picnic tables for a number of sights. Two dog walking areas, besides the campground roads. We highly recommend this campground for anyone who wants to camp in the beautiful NC mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
It's not a bad park to stay at, but there are better options (in our opinion) in the area. The sites are close to each other and privacy isn't abundant. Some of the pull-throughs have trees that could cause some issues when pulling out of the spot. The road to the campground is certainly manageable if you take your time. Firewood is available for sale, but if you can find it elsewhere, go with that option. We bought three bundles and found each bundle was made up with rotted wood that had since dried, but didn't burn well. Considering the smoke around the grounds, I think most firewood bundles had this problem. Quiet hours state they start at 10pm, but don't expect that to be adhered to. Plus, enforcement of quiet hours isn't a priority of the staff. That said, they do focus on family friendly activities, and the pool was very clean. We would stay here again, if other options were not available, and during off-peak times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Very friendly staff, clean bath but very out dated, putt putt was very old and breaking apart. For the roads you have to take to get to this place and the price, do some maintenance on the sites. If you drive a MH over 36 feet, you will have a blast trying to level it. After walking around the grounds, I think there was only 8-10 sites that looked level but you would also have the mud holes. There is no pavement in the park. I don't know where they took the "mountain" pictures. They are not at my site or others when I walked around. If you have small kids the playground is good. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Owners were friendly, accommodating. Site had a hump in it which make hooking up challenging. However, while sites were close together, their stair step design gave some privacy. No Wi-Fi, no cable TV. Pet walking area: no waste bags available, no garbage can for bags available. Pet areas not fenced in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Great staff. We stayed in 40' footer in site K 10, next to the playground and office. This is the area to stay if you have a large rig. The other areas of campground are tight for big rigs. Has a nice pool, store, and playground. Camped with my 4 year old daughter, she really liked the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
I gave the owners some extra points for being friendly, for having clean restrooms, and great recycling. And, it really is a nice location. As a campsite, we had some real problems. The roads are steep and narrow with deep ruts. Pads are gravel and small, and when wet soft. We were here on a rally with big rigs that should never have been put into these small spaces. We had multiple people who had to be towed both in and out by tractor. Our rather large motor home was put on a grassy spot in a valley, which turned into mud. I was lucky to get out. I won't be back here, even if the weather is dry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
Beautiful setting in the mountains and friendly front office staff, but beware if you have a larger unit. The roads between rows of sites are very narrow and rutted. If you have a motorhome, it's going to get a good twisting as it navigates these paths. We are 37' long and it was difficult and uncomfortable getting in and out. Wi-Fi is available only at the front office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
The sites are not huge but should not be a problem. Most all of them are pull-through. The road to the campground is a mountain road but is not a hazard at all. The people were very friendly and very helpful and went out of their way to be sure the stay was good. The only reason I did not give this very nice campground a 10 is because the Wi-Fi only works near the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
This park is lovely, but big rigs should beware! The avenues between sites are very narrow and it's impossible to swing wide enough to get a long RV into their pull-thrus easily. In addition, the sites are also narrow with large, low hanging tree limbs. Every other KOA we've visited has provided an escort to the site, Boone did not. Sadly, we really needed that escort as we ended up scraping big holes in our six month old 5th wheel's roof while trying to pull in, then broke the back window of our 2 month old Ford F250 Lariat while trying to back out so as not to rip the a/c units off of our RV. When we went to the office to report the problem and request a site we could actually fit in, they told us they "couldn't know the limbs were too low unless a camper told them!" They did move us to another site, but that doesn't change the $10,000 worth of damage done to our property! Some of the other campers expressed similar problems with parking and management...one lady was told "they didn't have time to escort guests to sites" and when she suggested they should warn big rigs about the maneuvering issues, they said, "why would we want to shoot ourselves in the foot?" If they can't be bothered to worry about our property, you'd think they'd at least be concerned about someone taking out their trees and water/electric hook-ups when trying to park! Someone did finally park in the site we had problems with, but it took six other campers helping direct him, moving the picnic table off of the site and about twenty minutes of backing and re-positioning to get in the site...his roof cleared the tree limb that we hit by half and inch. Management was nowhere to be seen during this event. We left before they did, so no telling what happened when he tried to pull out! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We arrived to this campground in our motorhome pulling a car/dolly. We planned our vacation months in advance and traveled two full days to reach this campground, so we were quite disappointed with several things immediately. When we arrived, we had no assistance with someone leading us to the site. We disconnected the car from the dolly and made our way down a very precarious, narrow, rutted gravel drive to the site. The road had such a deep rut to the site that I retruned to the office to request a different site. I was told that a neighboring flat site was already reserved. Reluctantly, we entered that site, listening to the motorhome groan as the frame twisted. Try as we might, we could not achieve level without lifting wheels off the ground. The septic hose required the use of an extension hose and actully lead uphill! We couldn't put out the awning because of untrimmed trees. Several neighboring Big Rig RVers expressed their dissatisfaction with their sites. We planned to stay for a week, but departed after three days. Oh, those flat reserved sites? They remained unoccupied. Caution to large motorhomes or large trailers--this may not be your best choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This Boone KOA is our favorite place for "kid" camping. The climate is wonderful: 70s in mid-summer at 4000 ft elevation. Pool and game room are much appreciated by the kids: the pool is nice and clean. They have what would be a very nice little putt-putt if some work was done on it. As for the sites: I've seen some reviews state they were trailer park-ish and I guess I'd have to agree. But the nice thing about this KOA is the other visitors (usually from the GA/TN/NC areas) are really friendly and it's a pleasure to be in close quarters at Boone. Staff is very friendly and sociable as well. The other infrastructure (hookups, access, etc) is just fine. If you're a no-kid couple looking for isolation or driving some giant big rig this might not be the place, but for family fun with a pack of kids Boone KOA can't be beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This is a campground in the mountains north of Boone. Sites are on hills with many trees. It is a beautiful area. The roads up to the campground were winding and very narrow with rocks sticking out in one area. Sites are not level, and it was very difficult getting into and out of our site. Roads and sites are badly in need of gravel. With rain it was very muddy. I would encourage those with motorhomes to not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
Boone KOA is a very nicely kept campground. This high-elevation KOA delivers cool summer temperatures with relatively low humidity. Camp Staff were very friendly and helpful. We travel with two very large dogs. Both dogs were welcomed at the camp ground. The campsites were relatively roomy offering easy pull thrus for bigger rigs. Hookups were accessible and in good condition. Because our location was not level, we had to shim the trailer with wood from a local Lowes. Be aware that the road into the KOA is about 2 miles of steep inclines with a couple of hard turns. Large rigs will find the route challenging, but not impossible. Camp roads are rutted gravel with steep grades -- both increase the pucker-factor if you bring motorcycles. The place seems to be a favorite spot for families and retirees. Note that every other camper had an evening wood fire. Woodsmoke permeated the evening air, so if you have some sensitivity to smoke come prepared to cope. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This is an average campground. It was an adequate place to stay while sightseeing around the area, and was OK for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities are a bit sub par. No cable, Wi-Fi only at the office, very rough and rutted interior roads, and a lot of fill dirt on the sites to repair some erosion. I imagine it must be a muddy mess when it rains. I will say it is a beautiful setting, and one of the quietest campgrounds I have ever stayed in. Also be advised that the road up the mountain from Boone is very steep and winding. We did fine towing a 38' fifth wheel, but the more faint of heart in a big rig should be aware of this. Also, I have an electricial monitoring system and the electrical issue noted by others is definitely fixed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Nice campground. We enjoyed our stay even though it rained most of the time. The temperature was very comfortable. The kids had a great time playing with the other kids in the campground. Very family oriented campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
We enjoyed staying here for 4 nights. The park was quiet and had a lot of shade. This is a great location to stay and explore Western North Carolina. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative is that it was raining and the sites could use more gravel to cut down on the mud. If you turn right out of the campground the drive through the mountains was some of the most beautiful scenery we have seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
It has good proximity to Boone. A lot of pull through sites. Clean and cared for. Sites are on terraces and wider and deeper than normal. There is plenty of room to park a tow vehicle. A beautiful location a lot of trees at campsites with mountains visible from some sites. The staff and store are good with a nice recreation room. The Wi-fi did not work at my site. TV antenna reception not good. it needs cable which is why I rated it at 7. I would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
Previous comments mentioned electrical issue--I inquired and it was fixed (by the electric company) the same week it was reported. The pool was lovely (it is heated). It's an older park, but extremely clean and well maintained. The owner is on site and workers are very friendly and helpful. The area is beautiful and there's lots to do. We particularly enjoyed the goats and chickens! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
This park has electrical issues. While running just the 12V system and my high-efficiency 15 kBtu A/C on low, the voltage was around 106V. With the fridge on, it was around 103V, even after I cleaned the park connection! I resent having to run the fridge on my costly propane when I am paying $33 per night. At the park before and after this one, we had voltages of around 118V and 120V with the A/C and fridge both on shore power, so I know the problem was with the park. All the other comments, including the non-heated pool and rough/narrow roads, are true. Still, when comparing to some of the other parks in the area, there doesn't seem to be a good alternative. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
We truly enjoyed our stay. The campsites are rough ground/loose stone, but faily level. The roads are rough stone and on hills which made it rough for the kids to ride bicyles. The staff was great and very accommodating. The showers were all working and clean during our stay of 4 nights. Just make sure to bring jackets, as it was very cool every evening, but we expected such with being in the mountains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Always heard KOA's were nice. This campground leaves a lot to be desired. The interior roads were horrible and the sites were extremely narrow. We have a small fifth wheel and with our one slide out extended and the awning open, we were too wide for our site. The playground was small and rusty the pool was "heated" but the heater was broken. The office wasn't well stocked and there were no activities. If you are looking for a campground to spend time in with your family, this is not the one. If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a few nights while you take part in activities around town, this campground is sufficient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We camped here in a tent. The site was big and roomy. Had a nice shade tree and our own shelter. Nice quiet campground. Pool and putt putt at campground. Nice weekend getaway,but not a family spot for more than a day or so. Lots to do in the area but not in the campground. We will camp here again in the future. This cg is not what I think of when I think of family campgrounds. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Beautiful area! Park is average but pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
This park is in a beautiful location about 5 miles up the mountain from Boone. Boone is a congested nightmare, but this was as peaceful and quiet as they get. As for the sites, they could be better. The seasonals sites have the best spots. There are many seasonals here, very well kept up and scenic. We asked for a spot where we could get satellite service since they don't offer cable TV and they put us in the field behind the office/store area with the kids playground in our backyard. These seem to be "afterthought" sites made for satellite folks like us. Getting into them was no picnic. The rest of the sites available were very wooded and on very narrow hilly roads with little room between them. I think families like this place. We'll look for a different place if we are in this area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
This campground is located a few miles outside of Boone and gives easy access to the many local activities available. Yes, the roads within the campground are a little rough but nothing that can't be managed at slow speeds. The wireless internet was sporadic and worked better when I was sitting outside of the camper. For those that desire wireless access, try to get a site that is close to the cg office. The bathrooms were clean despite the cg being full this weekend. The individual sites were spaced out as most KOAs are and there is lots of shade. Overall I thought this cg was great and I would definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Nice campground, the workers we met were very nice. We camped here with our 2 kids. Goats were nice touch for the kids. Bathrooms were clean. Sites a little close and not real level. We enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Our family loves to visit this campground. I would recommend the sites around the lake. These sites are not shaded, but much bigger. It is close to Tweetsie Railroad, Blowing Rock, and Grandfather Mountain. We go at least twice a year to get away from the heat and enjoy the quiet. If you are in a big rig, be very careful going up Ray Brown Road as it is very tight with some blind curves (thank goodness this road does not have a lot of traffic). If the roads and sites were paved I would give this campground the coveted "10" rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
We had a pull thru on the end of row I, the good thing about this is we had no one in front of us. This site was just long enough for our 30 ft'er. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
We stayed one night, seemed like a nice family campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
We've stayed here 3 times this summer...once in July and twice in August. The campground's elevation of 3600 ft (according my my GPS) provides a refreshing relief from the heat of the Carolina coastal plain where we live. The first 2 experiences were absolutely perfect; the 3rd was less than desirable. During our first 2 visits we had a pop-up site across from the tent campers. These sites are very level and have good wifi reception. My only issue with this site was the proximity of other sites. The utility hookups for your fellow camper are beside your picnic table, which was weird, but the actual sites were okay. There were plenty of shady sites. On the 3rd visit we had a different site near the cabins. This site was the most unlevel site we've ever used! Part of the problem was that it was raining and had been raining all day. My tires spun out trying to get the camper as level as I could. This isn't KOA's fault, but better roads may make it easier for campers. The staff is superb. On the 2nd visit I was trying to take the water hose off and I broke the spicket, causing a white water wave to go all over the place! The KOA had to shut off water to 1/2 the campground to replace the spicket! I was expecting attitude and a big bill, but they fixed it for free, told me it wasn't a big deal, and ended up giving me a water splicer to replace the one I broke accidently! We love this campground...we just don't want the last site we had again! Very close to Boone. If you want to stay close to town, this is definitely a nice place to be! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
We stay at a lot of KOA's. We liked this park except for a few things. The roads need to be paved. They are just gravel and dirt. They are washed out in places. The campground needs to be updated. Site was adequate for our 40 foot MH. Access from Boone was ok. Not far from major attractions so as a homebase it worked. Wifi was pathetic. Could not access from campsite. There are a lot of permanent sites but they are neat and clean. We enjoyed and would come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$36
Nice Shady campground. The roads to the sites are a little rutted but useable. Close enough to Boone to do things there but far enough away to be quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
We love the Boone area when things heat up in the flatlands of NC. Always 10-15* cooler here than the Triad area where we live. We have been coming here for a couple years now, and I felt it was time to write this review. We camped here over the Father's Day weekend in June and had a relaxing and peaceful stay as always. The owners are friendly and helpful and seem to genuinely care about the whole camping experience. The place is kept immaculate. We had a switch go bad on our slideout and had to stay an extra day to have a repair man out and we were not charged. The pool is on the small side, but clean and perfectly chilly and refreshing. Yes, the roads could use a bit of grading, but overall this is a nice place to get away and enjoy the cool mountain breezes. Close to some great outlet shopping(just ask my wife), Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mountain, Valle Crucis and some great trout fishing as well. We will return again soon to catch the autumn colors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$36
My husband and I and our 3 dogs stayed here with our neighbors who have 3 boys and 2 dogs. All small dogs: poodles. The campground itself is nice. The roads are a bit washed out but the sites are ok. Our only real problem was the "Handy Camper." He was not a dog fan and if he heard the least little bark he came to our friends site and told them about it. He wasn't a kid fan either and he stayed on their kids the whole 3 days they were here. Now kids will be kids, but he wouldn't let up on those 3 boys and we were all with them the whole time. The pool says heated but trust me: IT ISN'T! We didn't have a fire ring at our site but that was ok since we could go to our friends site. Had we been alone, it wouldn't have been too good! All in all we would probably go back again if we knew the "Handy Camper" had moved on to another campground. He did not need to be working in a "family" friendly campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
While the bathrooms were pleasant and clean, and the campstore well-stocked, the roads and sites were absolutely horrible. We were extraordinarily disappointed at having to pay $30 to stay in a site in such poor condition that we actually had to unhook to level the trailer. The interior gravel roads were so poorly graded that our traveling partner actually bottomed out on his sewer connection while leaving and ripped off his termination cap. When we bought a new one at the campground store and told the employees the old cap had been torn off in a gulley in the road, they just shook their heads and acted as if they had heard it before. Perhaps 50 or more tons of gravel in the sites and roads would help, but until then, don't bother visiting, especially if you want to pull in to a level site and stay hooked up with the intention of just passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
I've been here twice recently - May & June of 2005. I was very pleased and satisfied with my visits. One of their staff members is very colorful and friendly: "Mountain Man" was his handle. He was a kind of big brother that walks all over the campground giving advice and help where needed... and always with a smile. This place gets very quiet at night and I have no complaints. It is off the beaten path. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Nice and peaceful, beautiful area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$29
Great shady campground on the outskirts of Boone. Campground has terraced sites on a hillside. Some of the roads can be rough, but are not impassable. Had music on Sat night. Wonderful family atmosphere. This is a busy campground so make sure you get reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$28
We stayed here in a motorhome in mid-June 2003. While it had been raining in the area more than normal, the campground was a muddy mess with boggy sites, pot holes in the road, and large muddy areas in the roads it was impossible not to drive through to enter and exit. In looking at the overall site there is simply a very poor drainage infrastructure and lack of appropriate maintenance. Money was being spent on erecting several new rental cabins while many $$$$ were needed to adequately grade, drain and resurface the roads up to just average standards. Ponds, fencing and other improvements were also in decline. It is obvious that no attempt had or was being made to address these issues. We won't be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Interior roads were muddy and not well maintained. We camped here Memorial Day weekend 2003, it had rained a lot during the week and everything was a muddy mess. Not kept up very well. Camped in a 32 ft. travel trailer and the sites were very small and you didn't have much room. Also, hard to get in and out of some sites due to poor roads. Don't try to camp here if it has rained unless you have a 4X4. Also, pets are welcome, but they do not enforce the leash requirement. A lot of pets wandering from site to site. One dog ended up on our picnic table as we were trying to cook. Don't think we will visit here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$32
We were very disappointed. Our site was very unlevel being cut in a hillside. There were mudholes and large ruts to avoid. Our site was surrounded closely by other campers, probably with 8 foot between trailers. There was no privacy. The mini golf course was in disrepair which very much disappointed the children and the fishing as advertised means that you have to drive somewhere else to fish as fishing wasn't available near the campground. The campground is located outside of town and hard to find. We were very disappointed and would not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com