206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Davidson River Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (828) 862-5960
CGID2035

Davidson River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   10   8   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is one of my favorite campgrounds due to the location and things to do in the area. Many trails leave right from the campground, both hiking and biking trails. Hiking, biking, waterfalls, fishing, swimming, Brevard and the Blue Ridge Parkway are just a short drive away. Sliding Rock is near, and for just $1 you can slide as much as you wish. In the summer the campground is a busy and crowded place with kids, and lots of them. Kids running, kids yelling, kids riding their bikes, BUT, quiet hour is enforced. If you prefer to be away from the children, get a site towards the back of the campground and away from the river-front sites. The staff here this trip went strictly by the book as far as rules are concerned. The bathrooms, including showers were cleaned every day, but the showers were hit and miss as to which ones had consistent hot water and good water pressure. There are very few sites with electric and water, but don't count on snagging one of these on a weekend unless you get here mid-week and stay through the weekend. In most loops you can run a generator 4 hours per day from 8am to 8pm. The roads are paved and are most sites can accommodate big rigs. Some sites have privacy, but others do not. You just have to drive around and find a site that suits your needs or desires. I have camped here in the winter and summer: there is no bad time to make this campground a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
We have camped at this campground for many years, and indeed, were campground hosts during the ‘90’s. However we have not rated it previously, but feel necessary to do so since now as there have been changes to the park recently: namely, Sycamore Loop now has 50/30/20 amp electric service which has not been addressed in previous reviews. Normal rate for our electric site is $25; we paid $15 with Golden Age Passport. This is a prime National Forest “family” campground. Loud noises and late parties are not tolerated. Between early May and November 1 the entrance station is manned 24 hours/day providing security. Generator use is allowed but restricted to 4 hrs per day between 7am and 8pm. There are 161 sites in 9 loops well spaced adjacent to the Davidson River, well known for its trout fishing. Some campsites are close to the river. Most sites in the park can accommodate RV’s up to 40-45 ft long, are 30-40 feet wide and have bushes or trees affording some privacy. Each loop has a campground host to assist campers and clean sites among other duties. There is satellite reception on some sites, and very weak cell phone service (sometimes) in the park. Within 5 miles is shopping at well-known stores and the quaint town of Brevard, known for their white squirrels, college, music school and downtown shopping. Along U.S. 276 which borders Davidson River and provides a route through the forest to Waynesville: are waterfalls, foot trails, horse rentals, fishing, tube and bike rentals, the North Carolina Fish Hatchery and Wildlife Center. Approximately 10 miles from the campground is the Cradle of Forestry Historic Site. Here are historic buildings built in the late 1800’s where Dr. Carl Schenck, the forester hired by George Vanderbilt to manage his forest, started the first school of modern forestry in the U.S. The modern visitor center provides an interactive display of forest management, and the entrance to the interpretive trails. Because of the amenities of the campground and the surrounding activities this is a “destination” campground for many visitors. There is a 14 day stay limit. Some sites are open year round. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
This is clean, well maintained campground with plenty of room between sites. The hosts were helpful and friendly. Interior roads and sites are paved. The campground is located under a dense forest canopy probably making satellite reception difficult. Since the campground is located in a narrow canyon, there is no off-the-air TV or AT&T cell service (probably no others either), so bring a good book. Its like you are in the middle of nowhere, but you are only a few miles from town. All the sites are level and most will accommodate a large RV. Only a few sites have electric. The whole campground is level, making casual bike riding enjoyable. A trout stream runs next to the campground and many sites face the stream. We used our Senior Pass for a 50% discount off the regular $20 fee plus $5 for electric. We enjoyed our stay and would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
There are sites with electric/water, however they are not usually available during peak season as the campground hosts occupy them. In the off season, a couple of the loops are closed off. Most of the sites are big and roomy and allow some privacy. The sites in the White Oak and Laurel loops are the most private. The Poplar Loop is tent (walk-in) only. The campground hosts were very helpful and friendly as well as the resident ranger. The bathrooms were very clean, but unheated. The showers were clean, but the one I went to did not have a curtain up for privacy. Lots to do in the area. Biking, hiking, waterfalls, sightseeing and the Ranger station across the road has a gift shop with an exhibit area of the forest and wildlife which is very informative. Shopping in Brevard is only 3 miles away. Excellent campground!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
Only sites with electric are 9 and 23 and the campground hosts. I wouldn't count on getting electric. Poplar loop is generator free. Don't let the Reserve America info fool you. RA only has about a third of the sites for reservations. The rest are first come, first served. Most of the sites are level, spacious and private, except the Riverside loop. You are a bit closer together and that loop has a new bath house. There is no hookups in the campground, but you do have a dump station and flush toilets with really HOT showers. Lots of double sites to go camping with friends, and sites on the river. Lots to do in this area--Sliding Rock, Cradle of Forestry, Fish Hatchery, Tubing, Fishing, Hiking, Blue Ridge Mountains and of course, the waterfalls. This area is known for its many, many waterfalls. Gorgeous! There are 2 campground hosts per loop and management will not tolerate partying or loud behavior. Great place to bring your bikes and ride around in the campground! This is probably the BEST family campground we have camped at. We will be back soon! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
We enjoyed the campground, although the section we were in had the sites a little close together and very little screening between them. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Always a great experience - friendly staff, great river, great rates. $18 for most sites, $20 for sites on river. Only reason not a 10 is some staff use leaf blowers to clean up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This is a review of the campground and Items will be rated on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the Best. Staff = 8 We've read a few posts on the Internet that campers thought the staff at Davidson River was rather rude. I can not agree with that statement at all. The staff was really great. You have staff members in every loop of the campground and they are pretty friendly. Camp Sites = 10 These campsites are wonderful. Because of the amount of people we had in our party we got a double site but I spent a lot of time looking at other single campsites. Yes, they are close together but they are separated very nicely by trees, bushes, brush so it does not feel like you are on top of each other. All of the campsites looked nice and level with easy access for RVs of all sizes as well as tents and other makeshift shelters. Each loop has 2 bathrooms, one on each end. Each campsite also has a fire ring and heavy-duty picnic table in addition to crush and run for drainage and elevated tent/camper pads with crush and run. Bathrooms = 8 There are two bathrooms to every loop. Each loop has about 25 sites in it (approximately??). The bathrooms were cleaned daily and were pretty nice. I never had a cold shower though some in our party stated showers were lukewarm. Activities = 10 Davidson River Campground is smack in the middle of everything. This is an ideal campground for a family or for singles that like to get out and be active. For families they have the River. This is a great river that allows for swimming, fishing and tubing. Overall = 9 This really is an excellent campground at a primo location. You're within minutes of everything and have access to a grocery mart and a Walmart. Situated right in the Mountains you get awesome. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
We had a great time here. Lots to do; hiking, fishing, sight seeing, relaxing. Campground is in excellent condition and very well maintained. When we arrived at our site, it looked as if no one have ever camped there. The gravel was raked, no liter, and the fire pit was clean. I later noticed the host in our loop would always "clean up" the campsite after someone checked out. The lack of hookups is not a factor for us, in fact it makes the camping experience a bit more "authentic". I would estimate that half the campers were in tents and the rest evenly divided between popups, TTs, and motorhomes. Campground is heavily wooded with lots of shade. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$17
This is a very nice NFS park, even without hookups. The sites are mostly widely spaced and large. The people, guests and staff, are very pleasant, and the scenery in the area is great. There are a few hookup sites available at times when host sites are not being used by staff members. Part of the campground remains open year round. There are lots of things to do in the area, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$15
Very nice forest service park We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com