223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Deep Creek Tube Center & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (828) 488-6055
CGID2036

Deep Creek Tube Center & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   8   10   8   8   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This is our fourth stay at Deep Creek and I love it here. We camped on the mountain view site #28. This campground is privately owned by a wonderful couple who have worked so hard to improve the campground each year. This year we enjoyed a new bathhouse with 7 private bath/shower rooms. Everything is spotless. The campstore has lots of what you need as well as an Blue Bell ice cream cones and a wide porch with rocking chairs to enjoy them. Next to the store are the owner's very entertaining goats. There is a variety of playgrounds for children all all ages (including a volleyball net for the teens). You can rent tubes and tube the creek the length of the campground. The creek is perfect with lots of rocks for "white water". The mountain view sites are very spacious and have a nice view. The creekside sites tend to be a little tighter, but you are on the creek! The town of Bryson City is very quaint with shops and lots of restaurant choices. There is a railroad in town for a day trip. We will most definitely return for a fifth visit. This is a don't miss campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
It has been some years since we used this campground and I can say they have made many improvements and it appears they are still in the process of making more. Grounds were very well kept and clean. Lots of play stuff for kids. Great location. There is a lot to do in Bryson City. Will be back as this place is a great campground with wonderful folks who work there and make it a great experience for a vacation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
What a great campground. It was central to lots of activities, including tubing on Deep Creek, and tons of water adventures hosted by many different outfits on Highway 19. We also spent time in Cherokee and Maggie Valley, which are no more than 30 minutes away. We camped at the back with the mountain view, due to needing 50 amp for camper. But the creek-side spots were really the best (they only have two 50 amp spots in this section). The campground is very neat and the owners and staff were always very friendly and ready to help you find places and things to do. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We stayed during the off season, so the campground was not full. By the end of the week, most of the waterfront sites were full however, which did show that these sites are tight and with no privacy. The sounds of the creek was a definite plus and helped with possible noise issues. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were older, but clean. We would definitely stay here again. During peak season, we'd be tempted to go for the mountain view sites, in order to get more space. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This is a very clean park, the mountain view sites are nice and large with cable, the riverfront sites appear to be a little smaller and have no cable. We had no problem getting our 5th wheel level. Owners and staff are wonderful people, very huggable, we enjoyed getting to know them all. There is a large play area for kids and a tube center right at the park. The campground is very near the Smokey Mountain National Park and lots of north western NC attractions. We hope to be back someday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Park is clean, everything worked, staff is friendly and helpful. Laundry facility was clean and a $1.50 for wash and $1.50 for the dryer. Shower facilities was dated but clean. The Wi-Fi worked well, cable was analog (no digital channels) so I had to use our amplifier with our digital TV. We stayed in the upper section not down by the river. Very nice playgrounds for the kids. The only complaint I would have is that our site was not level resulting is a very tall first step up and down. The class A next to us has some problem also. We were in site #29. The city roads are very narrow and you must navigate some tight turns in Bryson City. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
This was a very busy campground, lots of people having fun. It was by the river, quiet & relaxing in the evening. Even the few motorcycles that came in, came in quietly. Much to do in the area, very nice little town, good food, good beer at the Nantahala Brewery, about a mile from the state park. The train ride over Fontanta Lake was spectacular. Lots of good comments about the campground. Will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
After exhaustive research, we chose this campground for a birthday trip for my husband. After reading all the reviews, we were prepared for the narrow road. A bit more narrow after encountering an 18 wheeler going the other direction! We were directed to our site and someone helped my husband get the camper positioned just right. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't participate in the tubing, but it would definitely appeal to the kids! Very family friendly, and we have recommended it to our friends, with and without campers! We would love to go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We camped in the mountain view section which is quieter and more roomy than the creekside sites, although hotter during the day as they do not get the cool air off of the creek and have much less shade. The campground is nice and there were lots of kids playing as there are many things for them to do. We did not use the bathrooms, so I cannot comment on them. The internal roads are dusty and gravel as it did not rain during the time we were. The road leading up to the campground is very narrow, so you need to drive slow. It is a good campground to use as a base to sightsee in the area. Wi-Fi worked well. We would come back to try the creekside sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
We loved this campground and will definitely be back! Immaculately maintained buildings and grounds. Most of the time you are dealing directly with the owners and they are the sweetest, nicest people you'd ever want to meet. Don't forget to get an ice cream cone at the general store on site. The tubing was a blast. There are large play areas in open fields, a log play fort, a sand volleyball court, tether-ball courts, and a goat feeding/petting area. Very kid-friendly, yet lots of space and quiet to be had for the adults, too. The only way they could possibly improve this campground would be to offer some sort of shuttle to the area of Great Smoky Mountain State Park about a mile up the road, where many of the campers drive to start tubing back to the campground (it's about an hour tube ride, per the campers that did it while we were there). I would pay $5 a head for a shuttle! We only had one vehicle there so we just tubed within the campground's property, which was still lots of fun. Note: We almost missed out on camping here due to the dog policy listed on the website which stated specific breeds weren't allowed. I sent a rather cranky email and was met with an apologetic reply and a promise to further research the dog policy when the owners spoke to their insurer. I could have stayed here for two weeks, happily. In talking to the other campers, we found that many of them come back every year for at least a week. We will definitely come back, and I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
We enjoyed this campground! My husband said it was his favorite one we have been to! Our site was in the Mountain View section. When I made our reservation I was disappointed that I couldn't get a site on the river, but we ended up liking our site. The Mountain View section was more spacious and was quieter. This campground has a great play area for kids and the tubing is FUN! You can tube by the campground or go up the road about 1/2 mi. and put your tube in at the National Park and tube back down to the campground! The National Park also offers great hiking and 3 wonderful waterfalls to see! There are MANY activities to do in the area! The campground rents tubes if you need them and the store is really nice. My complaints would be: The restrooms were clean but rustic. Our site was by the tube barn, and they kept the collected trash in the back of pick-up trucks by the barn. Every now and then we would get a "whiff" of the trash in and around our site. Some of the staff at the store are not so friendly. None of these complaints will keep us from going back though!! We had a great time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
The staff was friendly and helpful during check in. A staff member escorted us to our site with a golf cart which was nice due to tight spaces and it being our first visit. Our back in site was down by the creek and had 30 amp electric, water and sewer. We took advantage of tubing from Deep Creek all the way back to the campground which was great. We rented tubes from the office and they have a nice store with basic items including ice. Verizon air card worked well at campground. Kids loved the playground area and riding bikes. Modest but clean bathrooms and showers. The only negative for us was the sites down by the river are close. There is very little privacy and you will be looking at your neighbors sewer line/hose. The view of the creek made it worth while. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
This is a very nice park in a great location. As many others have already commented on the tubing and other fun activities nearby, I will just say that I agree that this is a great family destination with tons of stuff to do nearby. The park is very clean and well kept. However, the roads do get quite muddy when it rains. My biggest issue with this campground is that it is really only barely big rig friendly. West Deep Creek Road, which brings you to the campground from Bryson City is VERY narrow and winding. My dually took up the entire lane and I had to "borrow" some of the other lane on some curves. Also, the campground itself has very narrow lanes and fences and rocks right to the edge of the road. If you are towing anything over about 34 feet, be very careful when you make the turns to the big rig spaces. The spaces themselves are just fine for a big rig - plenty wide and deep and more than enough room to back in. Again, the hardest part is just getting to the spots. So while you certainly can camp here with a big rig (my trailer is 38 feet), just take it easy and be very attentive. Lastly, I wanted to comment on the management. I found them all to be very helpful and knowledgeable about things to do in the area. Whether it was tubing, sightseeing, or places to eat in town, they had an answer and were willing to help. I did not experience any of the issues a few others have commented on in the past. All in all, a very nice campground that I would go to again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$80
My husband and I brought our two teenage boys here a few weekends back for one last summer adventure before school started. The boys spent most of our trip fishing which left me time to relax by the creek with a good book. The tubing is great fun and extremely affordable! And the staff was awesome at suggesting things to do and places to eat. I only wish we didn't live so far away! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Stayed 4 nights thanks to prior reviews on this site. The Mountain view section: roomier mostly grassy sites. Riverfront section: seemed to be packed in tight. The camp ground is on a river located about 1 mile from the national park, you can tube from the national park right back to the campground. The grounds were immaculate, lots of room for the kids to play, facilities very clean/well maintained. White water rafting and zipline were 30 minutes away at the gorge. This was a great summer destination for our 13/17 year olds. Flys were the only bugs we experienced. Temperatures were low 60's in the morning, 90's during the day and mid-70's in the evening. We can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This is by far the nicest Campground I have stayed in. There are large rig sites with 50 or 30 amp service in the upper section. There is a separate section for only tent camping along Deep Creek with convenient bathrooms and showers. There is a third section with sites along the Creek for RV’s and additional sites just off the creek. This section also has its own bathrooms and showers. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned daily between 11:00am & 12:00 noon. The laundry was clean and the machines all worked well. The Office and General Store was nice and stocked well. The playgrounds had a volleyball court, swing sets and a large wooden fort several feet above ground. The grounds are extremely well kept with landscaping work being done daily. The trash is picked up twice a day from your campsite. The Campground also rents a lot of tubes to campers and to anyone for use on Deep Creek. The location is excellent within a mile to Bryson City and less than a mile to the Deep Creek entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone. Note: they also have cabin rentals for those not choosing to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
I've stayed here several times and have always enjoyed this campground. The place is very well maintained. Also it's only a mile from downtown Bryson. Cable TV is only available for the sites that are on the hill, which has a view of the Smokys. The sites on the creek are tree covered and gravel. Very nice. They also have cabins for rent and a goat farm the kids (pun)enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$89
My husband and I were looking forward to a relaxing long weekend. We had a wonderful time and look forward to going back in the future. We stayed in one of the modern cabins this trip but want to stay in one of the old log homes on our next trip. The staff was great and the grounds spotless. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a great campground for kids and grandkids with creek side tubing at the foot of the Great Smokey Mountains. Only concern comes not from the campground, but getting here. There are very narrow roads and a tight turn with a deep ditch too close to the shoulder. If your driving a motorhome or 5th Wheel don't attempt to move over on the shoulder in the face of oncoming traffic. Let them move or you will find yourself upside down on the side of the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
This was our first trip to Bryson City, and this is by far the nicest park around area. It was convenient to town, the train ride (which we highly recommend) it was very enjoyable. The only bad thing was my phone would not work in area but that is not their fault. They have a goat petting zoo which was very cute, Creek area all along park and very relaxing time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
We stayed two nights and would have stayed longer had we the time. Very friendly folks who run a well maintained campground. Everything easily accessible and worked well. Sites level and long for pull throughs. Our eight year old granddaughter had a great time with the goat petting and was joined by the owner's children. If you are visiting western NC and need a great place to stay, this is it. The road leading to the campground is extremely narrow but well marked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This campground was very quiet and relaxing. The sites are nicely shaded and are a good size. There weren't many campers staying here at the time we were, because it had rained for days before we arrived. We were unable to go tubing due to the high waters and swiftness of the creek, but everything else about the trip was wonderful. We did finally see some sunshine! I do recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Last week, we had the pleasure of camping at the Deep Creek Tube Center & Campground with our 2 teenage sons. They had a blast tubing down Deep Creek all day long, and we didn't have a worry because it is very safe. There were people of all ages in the creek. We were able to have time to relax. At night, we participated in the campwide volleyball games. All were invited and my guys were amazed at their Mom's ability to spike the ball. The kids had a great time and can't wait to come back next year (we already made reservations). We enjoyed the hand dipped ice cream from the General Store as well as the necessities and souvenirs which seemed reasonably priced. We were amazed at the surrounding mountains and how quickly they changed with every minute. This was our first visit to North Carolina and hopefully won't be our last. The management was very accommodating to our needs and were very helpful. I was certainly ready for the 10:00pm noise curfew which was strictly enforced. In these hard times, we had our most economical vacation but with the greatest rewards. Thank you, Deep Creek Campground,for a wonderful vacation. We'll be back soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
The people that are running this campground are the most rude and ignorant people we have come across in all of our camping experience. Their bed-side manner leaves something to be desired to say the least. We stayed in the tent area. The sites are so small that you feel like you are camping with the people next to you whether you know them or not. You are only allowed to put tents on the 'tent pads' provided. If you have a large tent and it doesn't fit, they will not make exceptions to the rule. They will literally tell you to make it work or tell you to pack up, they'll give your money back and you can go down the road. Not kidding, they really said this. You'll have to have an air-mattress because the tent pads are full of pebbles, not dirt. The good part is its peaceful hearing the river at night and its shaded so the tents don't bake in the sun. They do keep the bathrooms fairly clean, the outside sink for washing dishes is convenient and if you are their long enough there is a washer and dryer for use. Do I recommend this place, no. I would say try the places down the road before giving your money to these people. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This was our first visit here and we loved it. The hosts were great. The campsites were very clean and neat. From being out of state, they made us feel like home. We are planning to make this a yearly trip. This trip it was just our family in a shelter tent site. Next year we will bring the parents and get two sites. Loved it. The bathrooms were very, very clean. There are things for everyone in the family to do. Would advise people to check this campground out. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
My family stays here every year. Half of us are in a travel trailer and half tent camp. The atmosphere is pleasant and family-oriented. The good: The tubing on the creek is the best! We pile tubes into truck and take them up into the National Park (about a mile and half up the road). Everyone hops onto their tube and floats back down the creek to the campground. This is not to be missed! The Not-So-Good: This year we had a family tent camping right behind us (the spaces back up to each other in the center). I had to repeatedly complain to the office because the kids in this family ran wild: well past the 10pm "Quiet Hours" and often past midnight. Never saw ANY staff down in the campground except for a man mowing the volleyball area. He slung grass on the children and paid no attention to the possibility of slinging rocks on them. Both of these issues were very disappointing. There are goats in a "petting zoo" that will entertain and amuse children. I was concerned that the water buckets for these goats remained empty during the first three days of our stay (I even heard other campers contemplate a call to the ASPCA). Despite these two unusual happenings, we highly recommend Deep Creek. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Sites are very close and the quiet hours aren't enforced. Seemed as though there were several campers of friends there and they all stayed up very late around the fire partying. Ok for an overnight stay but not much else. The road in is narrow and crooked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
The campground was decent, but the pull through RV sites leave a little to be desired. The reason I am giving such a poor rating is because of the management. I reserved a campsite for two nights for my wife's birthday. When we were leaving our house we had trouble with our wiring harness on the truck, so I called Deep Creek to see about changing our reservation to the following weekend. They said no and that we would be charged for both nights of the reservation, even if they booked the campsite. So, we found someone to fix the truck and made the 4 hour drive to Deep Creek and arrived around 8pm. We started setting up the travel trailer and realized the A/C did not work (brand new travel trailer). I went to the office and explained my situation again, but still no sympathy from Deep Creek. I was not asking for a refund, just the ability to move my reservation. Again, I was rudely told no. So, I paid $60 for a campsite we did not use and I am sure they were able to rent the campsite to someone else. Until this campground is under new management, I would not suggest staying here. You will not be treated with any shred of decency. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Privately owned campground not to be confused with Deep Creek campground in the GSM Natal Park which is right down the road. The campground was nice altho' sites are small and right on top of each other. The big rig sites are in full sun -- no trees nearby. We camped on the creek, site #5 -- full hookup, 30 amp. The site itself was nice because of the creek, but the site to our left had 4 kids that did not respect our site boundaries -- they kept walking thru our site. The site to our right had 5 young adults who were up until 3:00 a.m. drinking and partying. The store doesn't offer much, mostly tubing shoes and souveniers, so if you need something for a meal or camping/RV supplies, get it before you get here. They do sell firewood. Fire rings don't burn a good fire tho' -- no air gets to the bottom of the fire. So all the fires we saw, including ours, were mostly smoke not flame. Staff (owners?) at check-in didn't know too much about the area, didn't know any good restaurants or things to do, offering only the train ride (didn't know anything about the train other than it's existence, i.e., didn't know cost, times, etc). I had also inquired about the tubing in the campground. The woman didn't know how long of a tube ride it was, either in time nor length. Bathrooms were on the clean side, however stifling hot -- no exhaust fans, fans or air circulation of any kind. Water pressure was good, water hot and there were changing rooms attached to the shower. Might consider staying here again but not during a high demand season. Kids would have fun tubing all day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This was a nice park, the owners were very friendly and worked hard to make sure everyone's needs were met. Thought I was having power issues had coach checked when I returned home all OK so leads me to think it was our site. Sites by the river were too short for 40' rig so we had to settle for the mountain view! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Kids loved tubing in the stream. Because it is so shady, there isn't much grass. As a result, it gets very muddy when it rains. Sites are not terribly big. Shade is nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
This location and campground is great for a short stay. The creek is very cold and a little rough for small children. Our site backed up to the creek and the facility has no cable available on these sites. Sites near and on the creek are level with small gravel for parking. The campground roads are dusty. Many places to visit in the area. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Stayed in a MH over the Memorial Day weekend. MH sites were large and fairly level however they was no shade. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were lots of campers but we did not feel crowded. Close to many outdoor activities. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
We had a tent only site next to Deep Creek. It was great listening to the river at night. It was a nicely shaded spot and we tubed up at the Great Smoky Mountain Park. Unfortunately for us, they had booked the rest of the tent only sites to a Church Youth Group. Sixty four very loud teen agers. They completely controlled the bath houses and we had to take showers and use the bath room at the RV site's bath house a good hundred yards away. They were all over the place and tramped through our site several times. The owners were apologetic, but did nothing else to calm down the situation. They do not patrol the camp after 8:00pm and there is no type of security gate. Basically anything can happen in the park at night and there is no security. I don't feel that this is a "family" campground. I gave them a 3 because the site was nice and the bath houses were pretty clean, otherwise they are a 1 at best. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
We spent a nice weekend at Deep Creek Tube Center & Campground. The Campground is right on Deep Creek and you can tube the creek without getting in your car. The sites were clean and level and we had a great time. The campground is close to Bryson City, the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad depot and the park is only a mile up the road for more creek access. Jay and Kathy are great hosts and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$23
The facilities were adequate, but the restrooms were not clean (hated the see-thru shower curtain for stall doors - what's the point?). Before I continue, let me state that the 'setting' was wonderful! We were right on the Nantahala River and it was truly beautiful! That said, the music from the kids working there was blaring, but they did turn it down when asked. There were cats everywhere, w/ many kittens. We saw a few other parks that we will probably stay at on our next visit... We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com