214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Twin Lakes Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (252) 946-5700
CGID2048

Twin Lakes Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
430
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   1   7   8   9   10   4   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
This is a very nice park but their roads are horrible. They have a security gate and a very nice entrance but then after we checked in, we had to go down dirt, pothole roads to get to our site. We will not return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
This campsite is terrible. If I could have given it a zero I would have done so. I booked this site some months before for one night in May and paid in full. Arrived at 6:05 pm and found campground closed. Tried using button on barrier to call someone, but no response. It turns out they close up shop at 5pm. Whilst doing this, a truck drove up, opened the barrier with a card and drove in. Another camper spotted our plight and let us in with his card. He pointed out the truck which had gone in was actually a camp employee. Our Good Samaritan pointed out he frequently had to let campers in who arrived after the management went home at 5pm. Notice though, the website claims they are open until 8pm. We parked up on one of the few pitches which was not flooded, and drove out next morning, the place still closed. Clearly the security is also very lax, as nobody checked up on us at any time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$10
OK park. Very pretty setting. Lots of trees. Not much chance of satellite TV but antenna worked good for local channels. No one at entry gate so we had to call somewhere and they opened the gate remotely. Then drive down a long driveway with several brutal speed bumps. The gal in the office was friendly and young and seemed to be more interested in the conversation between 2 guys at the next counter than in checking us in. Told us our site number and waved her arm around in the direction we were supposed to go. No park map, no paperwork at all. We were assigned a spot in the "D" row. We found it OK but had to stop and scratch our heads for a moment trying to decide the best way to pull in. It was a pull through, but there are so many trees in that row. We had to pull across the back end of the site next to us. If someone had been parked there, not sure how we would get parked. That row is right next to a stagnant pond that is covered with furry algae and some kind of bug had hatched and totally enveloped the coach and our Jeep. We literally had to swat our way in and out of the vehicles. The next day we asked to move. Another person at the counter gave us several empty spots to pick from. Moved to the "B" row and no bugs. Not much to do in the area unless you are into boating and/or fishing. Would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$19
Rate is special per week for Thousand Trails members. Very friendly staff. Season does not start until mid April, so pools were not open and campground was somewhat uncared for. Free tour of Boat factory across the street. Sewer is via underground tanks due to high water table and tanks sometimes overflow. New roads in vicinity, so if coming from the south via GPS be sure to get off Hwy 17 onto Bus 17 at Chocowinity or you will miss the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$19
We stayed here for 16 days, it was off season and the rate we paid was a special for 1000 trail members. The park is excellent, the staff was more than accommodating. We actually needed to stay 2 extra nights and were amazed when they told us " no problem your covered" no extra charge for the 2 nights. Only had 2 down sides to the park. You need to be aware they change the gate code every Tuesday, so make sure you get your new code prior to leaving on Tuesday. If the office is closed when you get back, hope for someone to come along and let you in. Now during season there might be someone in the office after hours to give you access. Also, we did on occasion notice a slight sewer smell on a couple days. Overall the park is great, mature trees, level sites (on sand, but it's the inner banks so that's expected), large park with fishing ponds. Bath and shower houses were extremely clean. We have every intention to return for a week or two so we can do more sightseeing in the local area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
My son summed it up: "It's fun and friendly." We'd not been here before, and we'll certainly be back. We stayed over Labor Day Weekend. The park was full, but still did not feel "crowded." There was a wide variety of activities, from planned to spontaneous, enough to keep me busy on the kayak (and planning to do some fishing and crabbing next time) and for the kids to have all kinds of fun. The staff was friendly and the campground well maintained. Many seasonal campers, though we felt right at home with plenty of space and a welcome atmosphere for us weekend campers as well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Geared more towards the permanent camper. Made reservations but was sent to three sites that were already occupied. Office staff were very friendly but a little confused. Needed full hook-up because they do not have a dump station. Had to settle for a non sewage site but they did provide a clean out wagon at our departure because vacated sewer sites were inaccessible to our MH. Had to prune small limbs from top of site to exit. During stay methane odor was overwhelming at times from neighboring sites. Golf cart traffic was exceptionally heavy late into the night. The pool was very nice, the sites are all pretty shaded, and the store fairly well stocked. The campground is gated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Spent a long weekend here. It is a nice park for families with lots of activities for the kids. There were LOTS of seasonal campers, many with boats or trailers on their site, many of them trashy looking. Sites were close together. No cable TV. Wireless was available if you pay for it. Was able to pick up two TV stations, one being the local weather channel. People in the office were friendly. The CG had a pot luck dinner and an evening movie. Lots of kids running around, many on golf carts. There were a couple of ponds for fishing. Club house has a nice game room with video games, pool tables and air hockey. I rated it lower because of over all condition. Though it was clean, faucets leaked on sites, some sites were difficult to get into with longer trailers, my antenna also got caught on tree limbs. It rained and there was a lot of flooding. We will return out of season when it will be a bit less active, I hope. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$3
We came in for a one night stay as affiliate members from Thousand Trails, hence the $3 rate. This campground is beautiful and well maintained. Lots of family activity. The staff is efficient and we would stop here again. The only reason I didn't rate this a 10 is due to the lack of trimming on the trees. Some branches hung rather low for my 12'6" fifth wheel. When raising my TV antenna it got caught up in the tree. I climbed up and trimmed it to clear it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
For a big rig and needing 50 amp service there was only one site. Our reservations were lost so they were not prepared for our visit. Most of the 50 amp sites were taken by long term rentals. Satellite TV reception is blocked by trees. The nights are quiet. Pools are well kept and heated. If you have a boat this is a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
We stayed here for about a month (thus the monthly rate.) We have an Internet Satellite on roof and needed to be away from trees. There aren't many sites that would allow that but we found one. Friendly staff, large RV Park with mostly vacation mobile home owners that leave their trailers there year round. We stayed in May, but it would soon get very hot and humid so be prepared for the weather if you stay in the summer. Overall we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
We stayed on Memorial Day and the park was packed! The park owners did an excellent job checking everyone it and leading us to our site. Their activities were great. Things in the camp store reasonably priced. Park was quiet at night, they really enforce quiet time. Bad part was only one bath house for all the campers. One stall was out of order the whole time (both men's and women's). No towels in dispensers. It is just inadequate for peak camping weekends. Otherwise, the campground was wonderful and we'd definitely go again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
The campground was nice, but roads muddy from rain. Very quiet, and we stayed 5 days as C2C members. The town of Washington is great for sightseeing, do not miss the Estuarium and the pontoon ride up the Pamilico River. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$43
Nice campground, lots of ticks! Holiday weekends they will only rent for the 3 nights, not 2. They will not accept cash, they want check or debit/credit card. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Nice park with a lot of family activities. During the winter the store is hardly open is the only reason this place did not get a 10 or 9. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
Loved it, kids loved it. Very family oriented. Although we went when the pool was closed we will go back again to use to pool. The kids rode the hayless hay ride which was great. Very nice quiet place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
Twin Lakes is a large area primarily for long term seasonals - many park models and permanently set up trailers. They do have a few sites maybe 30 or so, that looked to be for overnight guests. The staff was not too helpful. On check in, the desk clerk pointed in the general direction of our site and gave us some verbal directions. No map, rules, brochures or anything else. We arrived at the site to find it completely covered with trash and debris from tropical storm Ernesto 2 weeks before. We went back to the office and notified the desk and were asked if we saw another site we liked and if so to take it... which we did. The site was nice though, and the place was quiet. Once past the rough introduction though we enjoyed our stay. Most sites in the seasonal areas were well maintained. If you have a boat this is the place to be. There is a lot of parking area for boat trailers and plenty of marina space with direct access to the bay and the Pamlico River. The one bathhouse was reasonably clean, and the pool was very nice. The store was stocked with the usual CG store items, and includes a game room with pool tables and a few video games. There is no cable tv hookup though and would expect it for that price. We didn't take the laptop, so I don't know if WiFi works or not. We would stay there again. It is very convenient to Washington, Bath, Pamilco River, Edenton and other historic places of interest in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
Wonderful park for families, park has a activity director so during season park has activities for families. Park does have water access for boats, but waterfront campsites appear to be seasonal sites. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We loved it here and would consider seasonal if we lived in the area. Big, shady sites and beautifully maintained. Very pleasant staff. If you have a boat, this is the place to be. Canals lead out to Chocowinity Bay, and the water and boats give the campground a nice ambience. Great walking paths, lakes, fishing,kid's activities, pools.Although large, did not feel crowded or hectic. I hated to leave. My one complaint is no cable or free wifi--a campground this size should be able to provide these. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Very nice park-- level sites with lots of shade. There are a lot of park models and seasonal campers but they are in a separate area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathhouses are clean and air conditioned. Park has water access if you have a boat. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Campgrounds was closed since off season, but that only means the office/store is not open on weekends and closes at 5PM daily. Also no trash pickup, but can use dumpster on the way out. The park was clean and has several lakes where you can fish. Close to towns if you like to eat out. Went with a group and used clubhouse which was very nice. Only reason gave it a 9 is because when reservations were made we were given one price and when we checked in, the price was $5.00 higher. Otherwise, nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com