218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Smith Lake Army RV Park (Military Camping Only) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (910) 396-5979
CGID2054

Smith Lake Army RV Park (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   7   4   8   4   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Pleasant surprise. Decent size pull thru sites super clean bathrooms/showers. Very pet friendly. We stayed there 2 nights. A bit of the beaten path and harder to access plus no identified campground hosts present with minimal office hours. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Smith Lake Road now paved for the 2 miles into the recreation area. Office on the left, not right. Road to RV sites not paved but well packed down. Winding road but plenty of room to negotiate a 43 foot motorhome. Sites on the hill nice, large pull-throughs. Full hookups. Not on the post - just outside about 3 miles. Nothing fancy but okay for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$18
February...a cold, rainy night. The facility looked to be a great place come warmer weather - the lake, zip line, water ski jump, horse stables - all look to be great fun come summer. As mentioned, we were passing through. Our site (5a) was fine except for intermittent 50 amps throughout the night. Brought it up with park staff as we departed. All-in-all, a nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Nice campground close to Fort Bragg. Huge sites: level concrete, fire pits and picnic tables. Minus is that there is no Wi-Fi, and for lots of the sites you need an extra sewer hose because the hook-ups are on the wrong sides. Hiking and mountain biking trails. We've had a great time with the dogs. Bring mosquito spray!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This is a destination park if you are interested in the lake. Otherwise you are in the middle of nowhere. Not to mention the long drive to the sites on a gravel road. Most sites have heavy shade, a few are satellite friendly. Sites are level. Ants were a huge problem on our site. Management is someone amateurish so be sure to reserve your site and then check back later to confirm. We stayed here for three days before moving downtown to Fairlane Lodge Propertie to be closer to town and the base. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
Very nice people who work here. Originally were only staying for 1 night but we ended up having to come earlier than planned and stayed for 4. We had a full hook up on a concrete pad, decent site. Bathhouses were nice, could have been a little cleaner, but well none the less. Each bathroom had a private toilette, sink and shower which was a nice bonus. Also fee ice at the office was an added bonus as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
It wasn't very busy so we had no problem parking our 45' rig. We had an easy on and out site, but not sure there were many. Our biggest complaint was that the incoming road and sites were all dirt. After a long dry period it made a mess of our car. Yes, we know we're camping! WiFi ok. Good location near I-95. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
Campground was pretty quiet, though there wasn't much shade where we were. Spots along the lake had much more shade, but those spots are very limited, and rather small. We were supposed to have a pull-through space, but it wasn't. There is a lake with a beach, paddle boats, etc. Nearby is a riding stable, boat dock, etc. Smith Lake is open to the public. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
A very nice campground. Staff was very helpful. Only complaint that I could have of this campground, and it is a very minor complaint, is that you need a separate fishing license to fish in the lake, and it is not available at the camp office. If they had been able to issue this license, I would have rated this camp a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
Stayed here for the first time a total of 3 weeks. Drove directly from Arizona and have no complaints. The location is perfect for workcamping at Ft. Bragg. Quiet, remote but 5 minutes to Post, friendly staff, with washers and dryers available. Even numbered sites are reserveable, odd are first come first serve. There are limited service sites with water and 30amp electric if W/S/E (50 amp) sites are full. Limited sites have better views of the lake! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
I should have read the previous reviews before take the railroad track entrance. I have ripped out my stabilizer jacks. Do make sure you take the Honeycutt road entrance, through the horse stable entrance to the park. Lesson learned. Earlier my wife called to make sure they had room for us for our 36 ft fifth wheel, they said yes. After getting there and ripping off the stabilizer the individual who my wife talked to said they forgot to tell my wife to take the horse stable entrance, a lttle late for that. Other wise the campground was OK. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$15
Our experience with this campground was just OK. We love the price, and the restrooms/showers were clean and well designed. We followed the advice of another reviewer and entered the park off of Honeycutt DR (By the riding stables) and I am glad we did. The RR tracks at the main entrance are very bad and I can see where many stabilizer jacks have been drug off there. We got a pull-thru, and found it to be very dusty with almost no grass. The beach does not open until noon, and they don't allow parking close-by. You have to park up the hill...Army policy... Despite some disappointments, the price and location were right for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Nice place to stay but nothing to do except rest. They close the lake Monday through Thursday so no swimming or beaching. Would I stay again, only on a overnight basic as I travel on the Interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$13
This is a recreation area for military personnel. It is very clean and is located at the top of a small hill so you have a good breeze at all times. There's a decent sized lake with a large playground for children on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com