206534 User submitted reviews online!!
Lakewood RV Resort (55+ park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (828) 697-9523
CGID2055

Lakewood RV Resort (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   10   2   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
We stayed here for an overnight while traveling. Easy to find and close to interstate 26 but no noise from the interstate in the campground. We arrived after office hours, but they had left clear instructions and a map to our campsite. Site was level and easy to get in and out of. Great for an overnight or a more extended visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
We stayed here for a month, so the nightly rate is based on that. This is a very good park to see the Hendersonville and Asheville area. It is an over 55 park, so it is quiet, nice clubhouse with few activities. There are 2 sections of the park. There is a nice level pull-through site area that can handle any big rig. This side cost a little more than the side we were in. Our side was VERY hilly with mostly park models. Some of the sites are hard to get into. While we were there, we had the water from the neighboring creek backed up and caused a knee high flood. It drained within a couple of hours but did raise a little concern. But don't get me wrong, this is a great park, just be choosey of the site you get. Plenty of room to walk the dogs, nice people, our Verizon and Sprint phones/hot-spot worked well. Good restaurants and shopping close by. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Great price, close to freeway. Nice home base for Hendersonville, Asheville and Brevard. Friendly staff and locals. The transient area is big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$40
Owners are very nice and helpful. Nice park with level sites. WiFi is good most of the time. Only wish they would replace old, worn picnic tables and add fire rings. We stayed here for two months and enjoyed our stay; we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed at three campgrounds in the Asheville area and that was our favorite by far. Quite a few people are here for a month or more and it's easy to see why. It's quiet, very well maintained, level sites, wi-fi works well. Ours was a pull-thru, which is always easier than backing in. There seems to be quite a sense of community here among the longer term people. There is a very decently equipped exercise room. The nearby town of Hendersonville is worth exploring, and the Carl Sandburg home is not to be missed. With good reason, this place is very popular and reservations go quiickly. Although it was hotter than hades in most of the country, we never had to run our a/c here at all! Great climate! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Planned on camping here for the weekend as it sounded like a nice weekend getaway. We left after just one night. Sites were smaller then usual, gravel, small patio and table. The pet walk is not as it appears on the map. From the end of the road, it is about 18 inches of poison ivy with a 30-40 foot drop into a smelly, marsh like stream. Dog owners do not pick up after their pets from what we have seen. This is a 55+ campground, or a better word would be housing complex. Many RV lots amount the numerous houses. Everyone seemed to be from Florida and here for at least the summer. This place is not camping for sure. The pool is not heated but clean, no one is around the pool area so you are all alone to enjoy a swim. But wait: Sign says no single adults in the pool! The bathrooms are stalls made if 1X3 lumber with old time formica. Doors cracked, but it is clean to our surprise. I would not call this a resort. It is a spot and that's it. No one seems friendly because there is no one walking around, except for walking their dog and leaving a mess. Not worth the price. Office is always closed and the streets are too narrow for big rigs. Woodalls got this one wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Sometimes it’s tempting not to give good ratings to a park just to make sure there is room the next time one wants to us it. But that would not be fair to the staff and owner here at Lakewood. We’ve ventured up to NC Asheville general area for the last several years and have stayed at the park the last three years for relatively short visits averaging a week. We’re a couple well exceeding the 55 year point and find the facilities, fairly spacious sites, and friendly fellow campers a joy to return to each year. In reviewing RV Park Review I noticed that the last entry was a couple years ago. It’s as good now as in the past. We made our reservation for two weeks this time and had to change it slightly. They were most accommodating in the minor change and not greedy when it comes to deposits. It’s a great “home base” to explore the surrounding 50 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Love this park,its 55+,so its quiet,and really maintained. Full hook-up,outstanding cable and wi-fi. Flat Rock,and hendersonville has a lot to offer,and just a great place to visit.Will be back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
This is an exceptionally nice park. The sites are level gravel, roads are paved, there are mature trees for shade but they don't get in the way. Sites have brick or concrete patios and a nice table. The pool, bathrooms and showers are very clean. The people in the office are nice and the other campers are friendly. There are numerous newer permanent park model homes in one section of the park. All are clean, well-kept and there is NO junk stored outside. The small pond is pretty and the grounds are nice. The laundry has 6 washers and dryers, an iron and ironing board, magazines and a small TV. We extended our stay by two days because we enjoyed our visit. We had a torrential downpour one night, and the drainage was good. An all-around nice, quiet and safe park for adults. Nothing for kids to do here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$28
This is my second visit here, and the park is just wonderful. The staff, owners are outstanding and go out of their way to be helpful to your needs. The resort is close to downtown Hendersonville, NC., which is a great place to visit. Will be back in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
This park is not a resort but it is a very nice campground. Our back in site was long and plenty of space for slides. The interior road are narrow but not a problem. The sites themselves are gravel dirt combination. The Wi-Fi was very good most of the time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Were here to judge a BBQ contest nearby. Excellent choice for us. Little to no highway noise very quite and peaceful. Very helpful staff and wonderful neighbors. We would stay here again for any reason We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
One of the nicest parks we have stayed at - we spent a week in this area looking at homes for a possible relocation. Hendersonville is a very busy city with an interstate going through it. While the park is very nice there is a little road noise from the interstate - not enough to interfere with sleeping. Access to the park is difficult as they are working on the exit ramp area and the entrance to the park is steep - difficult to see leaving the park also. People are very friendly and we enjoyed some of the activities by the full timers who stay in the park. We were welcomed and treated as family and the showers are especially clean and private with natural soft water. This is one of the best RV parks in the country and model for all parks to be like. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We stayed in this park for 4 nights while visiting friends in Hendersonville. The park is located in a desirable area near the interstate but without any noise from it. The park is also home to numerous residences. The transient sites were in the lower area and were gravel pull throughs for the most part. There are many guests who come up here for the season. The sites are level and wide enough. The staff was very friendly and available 24 hours by phone if need be. The park has a workout room, meeting room and very clean rest rooms and showers. The Wi-Fi by our site was marginal but we were able to get our email. Sending it was slow. I would come back to this park if in the area again. The park is well maintained and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
Very nice "over 55" park. Out of the way, with narrow roads leading to the park. Entrance very narrow, because of a divider on the road, and very steep! Once in the park the sites are long and narrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a very friendly 55+ park for people and pets. We didn't see any young children, but understand they are permitted as visitors and expected to be kept under close supervision. It has about half park models and half RV sites. We received excellent phone service with our Verizon cell and ATT air card. The park is very clean and well kept. Some pull-throughs and lots of back-in sites; some on a hill so might want to ask about incline of site when making reservations. The only lacking part is nature. Trees on sites are young therefore provide little shade. Sites are designed to face each other so not a scenic view. It's very convenient to Hendersonville which has many excellent restaurants, a couple of local play theatres, nice local shops, and Carl Sandburg Home. We would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Lakewood never ceases to please! We have camped here before and will camp here again. Restroom/shower facilities are spotlessly clean. Many pull-thrus have some shade but maintain a clear view of DirecTV Satellite 101. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Lakewood has permanent residents (Park Model Homes) but maintains very high standards of property appearance and resident conduct. As a camper, you are welcome to participate in the Resort Activities. This RV resort will not disappoint. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$38
This park is also listed under Hendersonville, NC but the correct city is Flat Rock. It is a 55+ park. This was our second stay. Limited big rig sites; reservations a must during the summer and "leaf peeper" season in the fall; lots of activities in the club house: potlucks, breakfasts and this year zip lining and white water rafting. Entrance is narrow and very limited site when exiting. Owners and their two children and families live on property. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
About half the park looks like permanent RVs, other half for travelers. There are also a lot of Park models. It is very clean and well kept. The pool was closed. We would rate this higher, but we were put in a pull-through that didn't allow us to put out our slides. We did tell them when we called that we had a big rig with slides. We used this park for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Very nice park. Traffic was horrible at interstate exit due to construction. Check-in was seamless except for some full timers who were taking all the front desk time. Quite a few park models and full timers. Would give the park a 10, except it was hard to get on Wi-Fi and AT&T air card was weak. Restrooms very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Recent comments about the park are generally correct. There are only approx 80 RV sites total. The park is clean and well maintained however it is not a worth a Good Sam '9-10' rating. It is an 8. Our site was too narrow to comfortably accommodate our 35 ft FW's 4 slides. The rate was with the GS discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is one of the best campgrounds that we have found anywhere. Very well kept, quiet, good wifi, and friendly staff. Picnic table and concrete patio at each site. Asphalt roadways and level, gravel parking pads. Shading could be problematic for satellite reception at some sites, but good cable TV is available. If you are looking for lots of things to do for kids, this is not your campground. Did I mention it is quiet? Easy access to nearby Hendersonville, Asheville and mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We stayed to attend a festival in Hendersonville and were pleased to find this park clean and folks nice. We saw a pet parade (in the park) with prizes and free lunch for all. It was fun. Be careful with kids. They can't do much without adults. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
All sites are level gravel, with a pad for picnic table. Located close to shopping and day trips to the mountains. Park has a fitness room and swimming pool. We found this park to be quiet and clean. Some turns are tight, so we feel it best to unhook tow vehicle when checking in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is exceptionally well-maintained and well-run campground. The sites are level and easily accessible by large motorhomes (ours is 42 feet). Cable TV and WiFi access was very good. The staff was competent and friendly. Hendersonville and Ashville were both funky and interesting communities. We spent ten days in this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Great RV park if you are traveling and need to overnight or are visiting the area. Staff is very nice and helpful. Park is quiet, neat and well maintained. This was our third overnight stay here, no complaints, and have plans to stay here again this Fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
We really liked this park. It was very clean and had nice wide sites. Lots of long-term RV's here and what looks to be permanent mobile homes. Nicely kept with friendly staff. Long pull through's with enough room for a tow vehicle. Nice little ponds with fountains and paved streets with grassy areas. Good internet signals, cable TV and reasonably priced. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We were arriving after the office closed so the manager advised us to look at the board outside the office to see what sites were available. We selected a site when we arrived and later the manager called to verify the site number. Arrangements were made to pay when we checked out the next morning. Worked great! The site was level and long enough for our motorhome and we were able to keep our toad connected. Wi-Fi and Cable worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Nice campground, clean facilities a little overpriced. The main thing I found was if they wanted it to be a adult only campground they should just make it one. I camped here with my grandson it cost $5 per day per child. No one under 16 can use pool tables, shuffle board and ect. The only thing they can do is swim. If they don't want kids they should just say so. Did not feel welcome with children. Will not stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This is a tidy, carefully managed campground/park model resort in the NC mountains, family owned. Most of the RV sites are graveled and quite level, with concrete patios and fairly large grassy strips between sites. Some back ins sites also available. Most RV sites have little to no shade; those with shade seemed to be occupied by seasonals. Bathrooms in main building also serve the pool, but this is mostly an adult community so not likely to get too dirty; that said, bathrooms were very clean, with large showers. Park models are located on terraced hillsides and closer to the road on which the campground is located; owner said most are owned or leased by Floridians who come to the mountains in summer to escape the heat. This park is very convenient to the interstate, and close to many of the attractions east of the Smokies, including Biltmore, the Carl Sandburg House, etc. Not recommended for those wanting a real "mountain woods" feel, but otherwise a nice place to stay. Very little road noise despite proximity to the interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
Clean, well-managed, well-maintained campground. Very clean bathrooms with spacious showers, but the only lighting is in the lavatory/toilet area, so the showers are not brightly lighted after dark, but it is adequate. WIFI and cable TV are good. Nice, large pool. No playground. Most pull-thrus and back-ins are easy in and easy out for big rigs. Campsite picnic tables sit on nice brick patios. Space between campsites is adequate. Very little and generally unnoticeable road noise and no train or airplane noise. A 30-minute drive to Biltmore Estates and other Asheville locations in general. In 2008, we stayed at a campground in Asheville and we much prefer Lakewood because of its pleasant rural atmosphere. Upon arrival at the campground‘s entrance, the driveway is a steep 7% downhill grade for about 150 feet--you must press hard on the brake pedal. When departing, you must stop on the uphill grade to watch for oncoming traffic. There is a convex mirror across the road to assist with visibility of oncoming traffic from around a slight curve. Fortunately, the road is not heavily traveled, so your slow acceleration onto it is not very risky. We recommend this park and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
We are adults who do not travel with children, so this was a fine park for us. We had a large back-in site right next to the pond. There was plenty of space between us and the neighbors. It was a little tense coming into and leaving the park with our 40' motor home because it's a steep down hill driveway, but otherwise, we had no problem navigating to and from our site. The pool was closed for the season, and we didn't use the game room. I did use the laundromat which was clean as a whistle. The office staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed here a week while exploring the Blue Ridge Parkway, Smoky Mountains and Biltmore Estate. The park models mentioned in an earlier review didn't detract from our experience here, we were in a section of the park where "short-term" visitors were parked. The wifi worked ok, cable was fine, no problems with other utilities. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
This campground is in the middle of apple country. It is very close to many apple orchards. That is about all it has going for it. The lots are on the small side. There are no campfires allowed in this park. Whoever heard of camping in the mountains without a warm fire? This campground was clean but it is lacking of things to do. I would not recommend this campground if you have kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
We stayed here for a month while visiting family and found the campground to be very clean and well maintained. Park management is friendly and responsive to the needs of their guest. Access to and inside the park is good for large rigs. They do allow children but the park caters to the adult RV lifestyle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This park was well located for visiting Brevard, Asheville, and Lake Lure, with easy access just off I-26. The park was quiet, clean and well-maintained as well as dog-friendly. The upper half consists of park models for over-55 residents and was the nicest such place we've seen. The lower half is a big-rig friendly campground with plenty of room. A small creek borders the wooded back boundary of the campground and we saw a bobcat while walking along it. (The levee mentioned previously is complete.) We were also able to fill our propane tank here. There is a large, heated pool which was not yet open in early May. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
This park is advertised as an RV resort but, all that was available was a pool and shuffleboard court. There are a lot of park models in this park and more are being added for sale. The development of park models seems to be the priority at this campground. It is advertised as an adult oriented campground with no activities for kids. The sites are gravel as well as the roads inside the campground. There are a limited number of pull through sites that will accommodate a motorhome. Overall, this is a great campground if you just want to lay back and take it easy, it is very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
This was a pretty nice place. It was convenient to the freeway, but not overly noisy. Their web site doesn't list their current rate - but we paid $35, and that included our Good Sam discount. I thought that was a little high, considering the discount - but it did include WiFi and we had a straight shot to good satellite reception, so no complaint. (Space #330) We were just there for an overnighter and we didn't use any of their facilities such as restrooms, shower, laundry, etc. - we use our own shower. Clean up your own pet droppings or their brochure says they'll charge you 5 bucks. Hubby says that lady that checked us in was friendly and very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Stayed here for three nights while visiting Biltmore Estates. Spacious sites, full hookups, friendly staff. Our family stayed in one of the apartments which was very clean and accommodating. Great cable TV and wireless service. The grounds are attractive and there are many park models. There is evidence of construction which I am sure will lead to many improvements. There is also a new levee being built behind the campground. There is a Cracker Barrel very near by, as well as gas stations with diesel pumps. Would highly recommend this park to those of us with big rigs..ours is 43 feet with four slides.I would have given it a 10 if the construction was not so visible, but that is not a deterrent since it is meant for improvement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
Lakewood is very quiet and has a very "gated" feeling. It is safe and constantly being worked on. All of the residents and workkampers and some of the family who work there are very pleasant and friendly. It has the potential to be the nicest RV park in three counties. The problem is that at least one of the family owners seems to be very unhappy about being there and appears to want to run a rigid little ship. Even that would be okay if the rules didn't keep changing according to daily whims. My impression was that we were not welcome. Since we know of many very nice places where we are very welcome, I doubt we'll be back here where we do not feel that we are. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
Well run. Owners live on site and care about their park. May seem to have lots of rules but that is because they care about their place. Clean, perfectly maintained, paved roads, gravel sites, grass trimmed, clubhouse pleasant, owners very nice, no riff-raff allowed. Convenient to stores. Will stay there again. The only negative is that the exit is a little tight for a big rig but I simply went out the adjacent entrance which is much wider. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Very pleasant park. A number of long term RV's or park models as we recall but not shabby or "overly decorated". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Friendly office staff. Good concrete patios at all pullthrough sites. The transient parking area was separated nicely from the full-timers and the park model residents. All were friendly. I wouldn't make this a destination, but it was a great place to camp while seeing the Hendersonville/Asheville area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$30
The campground is far from the web page. There are no mountains visable and there certainly is not a water fall in the park. The lake is a 15' diameter pond. You could spit across it. There are no campfires permitted at your site and count on everything being closed when you arrive. This campground is not for families. I will never stay here again. Who ever heard of camping in the mountains with no campfire. There are much better campground 10 miles away. Skip this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$33
Nice quiet campground. Advertises itself as a "RV resort that caters to adults." They allow children, however, have strict rules for them. Also, no bike riding etc. We stayed in the new section. According to the owner, this section was just put in. Nice level, big sites with all the amenities. Checked out other campgrounds in the area and noticed the sites at this campground was bigger and further apart. The owners plan on paving all the streets soon (now gravel) and are planning on planting more trees. This will definitely add to the overall appearance of the campground. Overall, very nice and quiet. Good home base to explore the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$33
Well maintained, quite (dead quiet), paved streets (real dark at night), not much to do, but lots to do near by, non-smoking bath house, owners are adding more permanent units.. Good place to stay while visiting mountains. Cable TV being added at sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com