214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Hatteras Sands Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (252) 986-2422
CGID2062

Hatteras Sands Resort

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   5   7   6   8   2   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
We will stay again if in the area. The work camper running the place and the staff were great. There is awesome raw seafood 1/4 mile walk from back of campground. Wi-Fi was spotty. They were working on "details" in the bathhouse the 3 days we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
The price was a special - stay 4 nights and pay for only 3. The park was badly hurt in 2011 in a hurricane, but it is repairing and improving. The large bath house has been redone in lovely tile. Workmen were repairing the laundry facility when we were there. The main pool is very large and clean, but the baby wading pool was not operational. The cabins have all been renovated and painted a lovely rainbow of colors. We found it very convenient - less than a mile from the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum or the beach. The park is built around canals which make it cooler, and a great place for fishing or kayaking. We also liked the fact that the sites were grassy with very little sand. A great advantage at the beach. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to the OBX. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This Park is under reconstruction. The bath house and Cabins are being repaired. That said the pool and sauna were nice. The cable had many channels but, the WiFi was weak at times. Wind was very strong w/ no fault to the campground. Very secluded area-near Ferry to Oracoke Island. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
Park has seen its better days but it is under new ownership and renovations have begun. The bathhouse is just about done. Presently there is no laundry facility and the pool needs to be drained and cleaned. Sites are paved as are the interior roads. Sites are level and spacing between each is OK. The problem is that the majority of the sites are small in depth, making it difficult to park you rig and vehicle in the space. As a result I can see a real traffic problem if the park is anywhere near full. Cars would have to park on the roadway which would then make it difficult to back into spaces or maneuver around the roads. We were fortunate as it is off season and nobody was here. WiFi is free and works so that is a plus. Best value of the other parks on the island but you are far away from the major tourist sites. I would stay again only because of the price. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
New owners so hope they will spruce up the campground. Huge pool not heated, hot tub not heated. On the south end of the Outer Banks. Best rates in the Outer Banks. We would stay here again. Cable & Wi-Fi worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$61
Overall a very enjoyable week. Wi-Fi had to be reset many times. Spots had a lot of grass,and were paved under the rig. It was run by the on site owners who were very involved in the day to day running of the resort. The pool is huge and a lot fun. The owners were very personable and accommodating. Ice cream socials and pancake breakfast were enjoyable. Extremely pet friendly park!!!! Charged $2.00/ per day for pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$62
Very disappointed. No beach or sound access. The sewer system was full in our area of four campers but was not emptied before our arrival. Our children were walking in the tank overflow (human waste) so they came to pump it out at dinner time and then again at breakfast in a near by site. No appetite then! Bath houses clean but closed at odd times, when you really needed to use them. Same with the store. Staff was somewhat rude. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$55
The park is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The park is not on the ocean or sound so I felt it was overpriced. We would camp there again and it is a Good Sam site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$64
Must say, this one surprised me. The campground was wonderful. People seemed friendly and I would recommend it. As in most campgrounds, the dryers took forever to dry the clothes, but overall, really nice. Make sure you have a way to get around, everything outside the campground is a walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$55
Staff friendly, clean bathrooms, camp sites kept well, peaceful. Was able to let the grandkids ride their bikes without fear that they would get run over by cars, golf carts, and other bikers. The pool was really clean. The canals surrounding the campground was neat. The beaches were nearby. The only down fall is their web site over rates the campground, but that advertisement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$33
Have ice cream socials in the evening. Good progress on clean up from hurricane Isabel. Nice place to stay and do OBX day trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$55
Gave rating because I thought the campground was way overpriced. We were there for Memorial Day weekend and due to the weather, it was not crowded, but only campground we could get reservations when we called. (a lot of last minute cancellations due to weather). There were a lot of large puddles of water after the rain, which made it very hard to get around in the campgrounds when we first got there, but by the next day, most of it had dried up. I would only recommend this campground if you could not get reservations anywhere else, not worth the money. It has a canal that runs around the campground where you can fish and crab, but it is not on the beach which is a negative. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com