220716 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Hollow Family Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (336) 883-3492
CGID2067

Oak Hollow Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   5   9   6   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Beautiful city owned and maintained CG. Sits along the banks of Oak Hollow Lake in a rather quiet cove. We saw a few boats but none were loud due to the no wake zone that was near by. Would have rated this CG a 10 if the spaces were a little wider and some work was done to level them up. Has to do some work to get my TT leveled but nothing that was unreasonable. The website states they do not accept reservations but if you call the day of arrival they will save you a site. Excellent staff we were assigned site C14 and was told it had 30 amp service well after spending some time leveling I went to plug in and found a 50 amp plug. Oh we'll I said and headed to the office/camp store to purchase an adapter. The man in the store gave me a brand new adapter and said just bring it back when you check out. Now trusting people is hard to find anymore. We will return and hopefully be able to stay longer than 2 nights. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We're getting back in to camping after a couple years hiatus and this was our first stay here in our new to us Motorhome. This is a fantastic campground. Clean, nicely spaced sites, cable, wifi, on the lake with great fishing and in High Point with close proximity to great shopping and restaurants. Only draw back I can say about this place is that they do not take any reservations. Which means if you are not local, it's a shot in the dark and hope you get a spot. Luckily, we are local :) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We chose to be in the middle section to be able to get satellite. Sites were long, but a bit narrow. We had to change to get leveled. It's a beautiful park on the lake. City owned. Easy access in and out was easy and the staff was very friendly. All the utilities worked well. We would stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The staff here was very friendly and helpful. Our site was right on the shore of the lake and we had a beautiful view. The bathrooms were clean and not too far from our site. I believe that they would be less than a five minute walk from any of the sites. Although they state that their tent sites do not have electric hookups several of them did and ours was less than ten feet from an outlet which was a definite plus. I would definitely stay here again and will be recommending to friends. With the lack of campgrounds in the High Point/ Greensboro area this was a convenient location for activities in the area. There are only two downsides to this campground but neither are “deal breakers.” There is traffic noise from the nearby highways; however it is almost entirely drowned out by the nature sounds in the area. They do not take reservations so it is a first come first serve facility. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Campground has changed to the dark side. Rates have gone up to 35 versus 30, without any significant changes for the better. Restrooms were full of dead bugs and one out of two toilets was stopped up and disgusting. I think the lady who had done an outstanding job has been let go. The guys doing it now don't spend but 5 minutes on cleaning, go figure. Sites are still the same with lots of blocks needed to level unless you get here early and find one of the twenty where you can level your unit. Will be looking for another campground in the future. It's not the staff at the campground; its the city management people that have no clue in running a campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We camp here twice a year during Furniture Market. This is a terrific place, with a beautiful view, space to walk the dogs (waste bags provided) and easy access to activities. Rate shown is approximate as we pay in advance for the entire market, even if we are only there part of the time. Not a criticism of the system, just a fact. They made a huge upgrade in the Wi-Fi, and it worked well. All other amenities worked well with exception of cable. Hope there are future plans to work on getting sites more level. We look forward to returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This is a well-kept municipal park operated by the City of High Point. We liked it - nice quiet place on a real pretty lake, golf course next door, many tennis courts, marina and boat launch ramps, picnic areas near lake, good for walking and running too. Bathrooms were older but clean and usable. Washer and dryer at bathhouse too. Problems were lots of sloped sites, bring boards and blocks. Sewer connect at some spots was 6" high; a few long hanging trees limbs in my spot too. Good solid electric power and city water, cable TV was nice, about 75-80 channels. Tent spots looked outstanding - on wooden decks raised off of the ground. Near shopping (about 2 miles from Walmart and other shops) and lots of restaurants nearby too. We would return, although it would be nice if they had better rates (weekly, discounts, etc). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
The best sites at this park are in C-section on the outside edge adjacent to the lake. They are also the only ones almost level with space to place your chairs and other camping goodies. The bathhouses are OK, typical state/city stuff. The pool is small, but clean and probably sized for the campground. Most all of the other sites are really sloped up or down and I couldn't get my trailer level with my tongue jack all the way down. Locals seem to drop their campers on Thursday evening in C-sect to keep them for the weekend, so good luck. Very helpful employees, wonderfully wooded atmosphere and close to restaurants and stores. They have a nice little store with a decent amount of camping goodies. We would stay again if I could get into those C spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
For a city owned and operated campground, it is quite nice. It is situated on Oak Hollow Lake, and a few sites actually adjoin the lake. About half the sites have paved, shaded landings. The other half have only graveled area with little shade. Sites in B & D sections are small, but deep. The wi-fi is very poor. Water pressure is adequate, but not stellar. Even though it is in the city, one would think it lies in the country. A quiet, peaceful setting. Would and have stayed here often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
nice quiet park, black top every where, plenty of trees for shade, nice facility-- sites not level- but all else is AOK We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
I would really like to give this City run CG a higher rating as it is in a gorgeous setting and is very well maintained. There are four sections A, B, C and an overflow Section D. Section C where we stayed is an open area on the lake with large gravel sites. This area is level though it does not have any shade. Whereas Sections A & B are in nicely wooded areas that can accommodate large RVs to tents. Problem is that many of these sites are unlevel with front to back out of level as much as 3 feet and left to right out of level that would be a problem with most rigs. All utilities worked fine and these hired staff was very nice. Grass is cut and clutter is quickly cleaned up. We saw two water moccasin snakes along the shores of the lake so beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Campground had done a 180 degree since last visit. No seasonals and very clean and staff is very friendly and caters to campers. Restrooms are spotless thanks to a lady that cleans for two hours every day. Will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
Stopped here for a quick stay before we left for DC. Was able to visit Greensboro and Winston-Salem very easily to call on customers. The entire park was pristine and I really enjoyed staying here. I would go back. Not as much for kids in the area we parked as it was only a swing set. Sites are level, water pressure is good. The pool is small, but the lake view makes up for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is a lovely park. It's full of trees, there is a big body of water that everyone can enjoy, you can fish, it's quiet, the office personnel is helpful and friendly, it's big rig friendly and has full hook-ups. What's not to love about that? We stayed here in 08 and made an effort to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
We found this to be a nice campground if you're visiting friends/family in/around High Point. Sites in sections A & C aren't level. In section A, we had shared water and electric. Each site has it's own sewer located in the back of the site. Plan accordingly and you'll be fine. Good utilities. They do accept reservations certain times of the year and for groups of 10 or more, so call ahead & check. Staff very helpful. Price reflects rate during the spring "Furniture Market" period. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
This is a nice park and a beautiful setting. The only problem we had was the slope of the sites which made sewer drainage difficult. We parked in the B section so we could get a signal on the dish and had no problem. The shower room was clean but had very little privacy. This area has very few places to park and this is the best we have found. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Very quiet, peaceful campground with very friendly, knowledgeable staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
When we are in this area we always like to stay at this campground. It has many varied sites ranging from gravel to asphalt paved sites. The sites are spacious and have lots of wonderful shade trees. The check in staff has always been extremely friendly and knowledgeable. There is also some nicely placed landscaped flower beds to really give it a resort touch. The pool was very clean and arm bands were issued so it was just campers that could use the pool. There are great areas to take your morning walk. Our only complaint is that most of the sites are not level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
A real pretty park and a good deal: especially for a city park. We camped next to the lake. Big level sites in our area. Some others don't look so level. Good cable TV. WiFi better a some times than others. We're staying for a few more days than we planned because it is so nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
I have stayed here many time and always such a nice experience. The sites are shaded and most can view the lake. Managers are very friendly and make the stay enjoyable. Not all the sites are level so I would recommend driving around the campground to get a better feel. I like the C section the best. They do raise the rates during furniture market and that is the only time you need a reservation. Restrooms and showers have always been very clean when I have been there. Great place to stop over if you are in that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We love this campground, mostly because of the gorgeous views. As in previous reviews, there needs to be some improvements. There are very few level sites and you can not make reservations (except during the furniture market). It is a lot of trouble to hook up your camper and go to the campground and find out there are no sites available. I realize the campground is old and therefore built before all these big campers with slideouts came along. But, that being said, it is time to make a few changes. There needs to be a separate water hookup for each site, not a shared water source, sites need to be leveled and a reservation system in place. There is a highway beside section C and it can get loud from the traffic noise. The campground was there before he highway came along though. There is lots to do for the entire family...boating, fishing, playground, pool, golf and tennis. I am rating this a "7" only because it does need a few improvements. Regardless of the few things that need to be updated, we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
This was our second time here. This is a great campground, and the only reason I do not rate it a ten is many of the sites are not level and some camping rigs would be unable to use them. The tenting platforms are the best I have ever seen anywhere. The camp staff was excellent and helpful. Do be aware: They do not allow rowdiness or alcohol period. They will and do throw you out and terminate you privileges to use this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This place is difficult to reach from the interstate. Do not visit in October or November. They have a furniture marketing show during that time, and everything is packed, and traffic is terrible. We were in a full hookup site in the "D" section. Hookups were on the wrong side of the site, and there was only four feet spacing between campers! This was our first and last visit. An interstate rest stop is better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
We are local so we camp here as often as we can. There are 50 amp Sites in A,B,C there use to be 50 amp sites in B only. Bath rooms are very clean. There are a some site that are un-level, this is a thirty year campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This is a great park to go with kids. The lake was low so the kids actually had a beach this time. I do hope they can make improvements on leveling the sites, definitely take blocks to level your RV. We have been here twice and both times the kids were easily able to make new acquaintances with other children. Great place for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Many sites are very sloped as stated in the previous comments. Buggy / old bathrooms. We were on a business trip and this was convenient for us and would stay again for the same purpose. I probably would not stay here to vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
As some of the previous reviews suggest, bring your leveling blocks. There are very few sites where you will not need them. Also make sure you have an extra water hose and y-connector. In the A and C loops you will most likely have to share a water spigot with your neighbor. This is a local campground for us, so we use it many times a year for a quick getaway. We like to kayak and fish on the lake. The pool is open between Memorial Day and Labor Day, however we were disappointed that the hours have been shortened. There are tennis courts, golf course, and boat marina within walking distance. That said, we were shocked that the price has gone from $19 to $25 since January of this year. That is quite a jump for no real improvements. For the type of campground this is, I thought $19-$20 was a fair price. They did add WI-FI however nobody we talked to in the C loop could get connected. Several times a year, we bring the MH home out for a week and commute to work. Now that they are priced closer to a private campground, I hope some major improvements are on the horizon. Several others made their displeasure known about the rate increase as well. If they make some major improvements like water for each site, leveling some sites, etc, then it will be worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
For an in town campground, it was actually pretty nice. The pool was small but great for the kids, and the sites were woodsy enough in loops A and C to give you the feeling of the outdoors. The bathroom design and cleanliness were only so-so however, and you are right by a major road if you aren't careful about your site. You should probably bring extra blocks for leveling also, our jacks alone wouldn't have had enough range. No reservations are accepted normally either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Overall, this was a nice campground. The pool was clean and there were plenty of trees to keep the camp sites shady which is a big plus in the heat. On the downside, they don't allow camp fires and the noise from the road is pretty loud. (We camped down next to the lake.) There are several sites that are very unlevel. I saw several campers backed into their site that needed the front stabilizers on the camper up on blocks 24 inches high. I saw one motorhome with it's front wheels jacked a good 2 feet off the ground. Most of the sites had their picnic tables on unlevel ground because there was no place else to put them. A little planning before they paved the roads and sites would have solved these problems. There are very nice roomy sites on the lakes edge. We had spot #C17 and had to back up as far as we could and right next to a tree in order for our 50' water hose to just reach the water hook-up. They sell extra hoses in the camp store. :) They do NOT have trash can's spread throughout the campground. You have to go to a central location to dump your trash. Not really convenient. We probably won't stay here again because of the road noise and because they don't allow fires. But, if you are just passing through, then I wouldn't hesitate to stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
We enjoyed our stay at this park. It is often used for RV rallies also. Some of the sites are waterfront and many are water-view. Most sites are not level so bring your blocks. But it appears they have wood decks for tent campers to set up on - which is a nice feature. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
We are local to this campground. We camp there as often as we can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$19
We were on loop A and all sites were wooded and very clean. Section B is in an open area with 50 amp service. Loop C is also wooded. Section C is on the lake and has wooden tent pads. We had water, sewer, 30 amp elect, and cable service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
Stayed here during the Furniture Market. City owned campground. Tennis, golf, and marina within walking distance. Less than a half mile to a major mall. A mile to center city. The manager is very attentive. $19 full hook up, with cable TV! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
I disagree with a previous poster that said the only thing that could make this campground better is an indoor pool. There are actually SEVERAL things that could make this campground better (aside from an indoor pool). Level sites would be one of them - very few sites are even CLOSE to being level and using our jacks to get level meant that 2 of our wheels were off the ground (yes, it was THAT bad). Another thing that could make this campground better is the installation of more water spigots - at least to the point where two sites don't have to share one spigot and that RV'ers don't need a 35' hose to get water (yes, they are REALLY that far away). Another improvement would be to make the hookups close to EACH OTHER - our electric pedestal was seven feet from the water spigot and the sewer was another five feet away. If you don't have extra water hoses and a shore power extension cord, you WILL NOT be able to camp in many of the sites here. The scenery and the rate are the only reasons I rated this campground a 7. We will not be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
We camped here over Thanksgiving. It's a small campground. Our site was not that level, but we made it work. They do not take reservations so it's a first come first serve campground. The restrooms were clean. For the most part, it was a quiet campground, but it's close to the highway and you can hear traffic. We will stay here again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$19
This is our second or third time visiting this campground and we were pleased as always. The golf was wonderful and the kids enjoyed fishing and playing on the playground. Pool was closed for the winter. The only thing that would make this campground better would be an indoor pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$19
The new rate is $19 and I agree it is a great deal for full hookups with cable TV and a ton of things to do. We stayed in a 36' triple slide MH. There are some shortcomings though. Very few sites are level. Most slope forwards or backwards and require blocks under the MH jacks to get the unit level. In the A and C loops, one water spigot is shared for every 2 campsites. Bring an extra water hose or two because you may have quite a distance to the hookup or it may be on the wrong side of your rig. Also bring a splitter because many times your neighbor will not have one which makes it difficult to share the connection. Loop B or the rally area is the most level however the sites are very tight. They were not designed for today's multislide rigs so when you have your slides out it is impossible to put your awning out if you have a neighbor next to you. This area also does not have any shade and in the summer may be closed to the public if a rally is going on. I'll be realistic with my rating because there are campgrounds that are much nicer. Because of the things to do, beauty of the area, and value I give it a 7. Don't get me wrong, we love this place and will return many more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
This is an awesome campground and it is hard to believe that it is only $18 per night. Nestled in the middle of a city-run park, there are tons of amenities and things to do. Professional lighted tennis courts, gorgeous golf course (only $25 for a round of golf including cart fee), nice marina and several playgrounds. The pool was not open, but it looked a little small. Children can borrow fishing equipment for free at the marina and they have boat rentals as well. We were told that the city sets off fireworks over the lake on 4th of July and campers have a front-row seat for the show. Easy access to Wal-Mart, Oak Hollow Mall and a number of good restaurants. We definitely plan to go back. A great value for a great campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
This place is a great deal for $18 per night. It is quiet and seems secluded, although it is a city park in the city limits of a 75,000-population municipality. In fact, it is in the larger triad community that includes Greensboro, Winston-Salem and High Point. Amenities include a fine Pete Dye public golf course, indoor and outdoor tennis courts located away from campground itself. There is a scenic 800-acre lake which surrounds the campground. There's a marina across the lake from the campground where boats can be rented, and there are docks at the campground itself. Most of the sites are paved. All have full hookups, including cable TV. Staff are friendly and they seemed to be constantly in the area doing minor maintenance and cleanup. The only problem we had was that our particular site involved an uphill run to the sewer connecttion. Checkout time on Sundays is 6 pm, which is really great since this campground is less than an hour's drive from our home. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Good park, quiet and peaceful. Reservations accepted only during October and April due to International Furniture Market. Paved & gravel sites. Loops A & C have good shade, full hook ups and tent platforms. Loop B has full hookups, no shade and sites are very close together. Lake is nice for skiing, fishing, canoeing and kyaking, no lake swimming allowed. Staff patrols regularly. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Sites are a little close together but overall a nice CG. The lakefront sites have a wonderful view. There is no swimming allowed in the lake but you can fish, boat or even rent a sail boat. The only bad thing about the place is no reservations are taken, its first come first serve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com