218896 User submitted reviews online!!
River Creek Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (828) 287-3915
CGID2071

River Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   8   3   5   8   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
We have camped here twice. Both times have been great. The campground is nice and neat and the owners are very friendly. We will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We stayed here for 6 nights in August and found this to be a nice, well-run campground. Our primary concern with this campground is location. It is barely in the mountains and as a result, it was HOT! I know any area can have highs and lows throughout the season, but this campground is at too low an elevation (I would guess less than 500') to be considered "in the mountains." There are great views of the mountains, but just be aware it is more flatland the the mountains. Also, this is absolutely a family campground: there were kids everywhere! Lots of playing in the river, tubing, etc., so don't expect much quality fishing here. We might stay here again for a night as a stayover spot, but will spend most of our Western NC visit in more mountainous, community campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This was the best visit yet! We have been here several times. The staff was always nice. There was Wi-Fi available at the game room. They have really updated some sites. The grounds were green and the playground was good for the kids. Everyone I ran into also seemed very happy with this campground. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We have camped here over the past four years since the new owners have taken over and they are continuing to make great strides in improving the campground. Several sites for rv's have been re-graded and leveled and new pads poured. Fire rings are conveniently located on the sites. The staff here are friendly and helpful. The only downside would be the laundry is in the play/game room which sometimes leaves the floor gritty from the outside roads. It is easy in and out from either I-40 or I-26. We will camp here in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
The only reason I gave this campground a 3 and not a 0 is because the owner/managers were so friendly and nice. We were supposed to stay 3 nights but only lasted one. Our view was of a chain-link fenced, back yard of a home where the grass had grown up above the waistline. We were right on the creek but our view was of this house and yard. In addition: the spots for motorhomes were small and fairly short. We were in a 37 footer and felt crammed-in next to our neighbors and the fence. Would never go back nor recommend to any of our friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
We camped in July. Plus: Utilities were good. Easy back in. Concrete pads. Painted picnic tables. Clean fire rings. Best set up of fire rings I have seen won't melt your RV. Gravel where needed. Friendly staff. OK store. You can walk to the upper end of the camp ground, enter the river and tube to the lower end (15 minute ride). Nice. Clean river. Quiet, no road noise. Minus: Overall kind of junky. Most sites are next to a small, shallow tributary of river. However the river is not actually visible except from the extreme East and West sites: big disappointment. Need to trim bushes on tributary so it is visible from campsites. Dam only open on weekdays but water is deep enough to tube anyway. Only 5 channels on cable TV. One thing that was odd was the "NO Trespassing Private Property" signs regarding the river on the lower end of the campground and in the tributary; limits ability to explore river below campground and makes you think there are angry property owners adjacent to campground. Would camp here again if I could not find anywhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This is a nice campground . Not very big , but neat . We camped next to the river and opened our windows and could hear the running river water all night . We spent most of the time visiting Lake Lure and Chimney Rock . The staff were very friendly and assisted in every way . They had apple trees across from our campsite that we helped ourself to (after asking) . We really enjoyed our stay and would camp there again . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
This was a disapointment for us. When I made reservations I was told we would have internet service in our trailer and cable TV. We had four channels only and no internet service. If I went outside and sat in my truck I could barely pick up a weak signal if I sat just right. Maybe not a big thing, but when you are self employed you need to stay in touch and you pay a premium for this type of camping service. When I asked about the internet all I got was, "Oh well the signal goes where it goes" and no offer to move me closer to the hub or anything. They did say I can sit in the open club house when it was 40 degrees and use my laptop there. Otherwise they were friendly enough but the campground is in great need of repairs as most CG's in the area. The hurricane that ripped through these parts a few years back really devastated many of the cg's and most have never recovered. The grass is all but dead, tall weeds and just an overrun down appearence. It is a shame because it is a nice location and given some time and money it could be a nice place, but I am afraid it will follow the path of many others in the area. Sorry I can't say we will be back. The pictures on their website are definitely pre-hurricane. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This campground is a diamond in the rough. It is not anything fancy, but the owners are very hospitable and helpful. Additionally, it is very family friendly. We camped here with our children, and they thoroughly enjoyed the playground and the gameroom. The accessibility of the sites was ok (most are back-in). They were very level but somewhat narrow. We were not very impressed with the view from our site which overlooked the creek. However, we can blame only ourselves for this since this was a last minute decision. Next time we will book earlier and request a riverfront site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
We have camped at several campgrounds in this area and found River Creek to be friendly - clean and a great place for our children, they loved the river. The playground has a small train for the smal children to play on - it is so cute! I was surprised the campground looked as good as it did, after all the damage Hurrican Frances did to them. The campground is near to everything you might want to visit. Ladies - the bathrooms and shower house are CLEAN! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$39
We tried to camp here, however, the campground is not as expected by looking at their website. The campground owners are very friendly and accommodating. They even gave us a refund when we decided not to stay. We left this campground because the campground was burning trash and smoke from the burning trash was covering our campsite. Also, we were backed up to the river which also overlooked a mobile home with junk in the back yard. Very nice folks: just not what we expected. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is worth the stop. Nice campground. The owners were great. We got to pick our site from the available sites and found one under a big tree. Our camper started to leak during a rain storm and the owners let us use their ladder and were so helpful in trying to get our little problem resolved. Having a small child we were unable to partake in the river rafting but it sure looked fun. Close to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure and other attractions. Thumbs up. Thanks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Very clean bathrooms, friendly management, not too much to do in the campground. Sites along river are small for RV's but perfect for tents. Other sites for RV's on the upper level adequate but overly spacious. Best part is the owners make you feel like you are at home. They have river tubing trips that are a blast. From what I hear it's probably the best run campground in the area. Close to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Great Place to Stay With Camping right on the River We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com