218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Gaston Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (252) 586-4121
CGID2076

Lake Gaston Campground

Camp Information
Sites
235
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   8   8   3   3   3   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
Rate reflects TT member. Nice campground, very limited sewer sites, but they do come a couple of times a week for pump out. Roads were a little rough could use a good grading. Lots of seasonals here but some nice sites still available. Bring things to level your rig as sites need work also, We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
Beautiful setting, nice woods and fantastic Lake Gaston. Great place if you're in a small towable and have plenty of materials for leveling the rig. Unfortunately it's full of seasonal campers, so all of the nice sites are taken. No sites are close to being level, and they are shoe-horned between trees. It's simply NOT big rig friendly. The office staff was blissfully unaware that the park was so full. I'm in a 43' coach, and there wasn't a single usable site there. So 40 miles wasted and off to an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
Member Rate. This preserve is a woodsy setting on the shore of Lake Gaston. There is a beautiful swim beach, great slips for boat mooring, a good launch ramp,, and casual seating on the shore for watching sunsets. Fishing requires a NC license. There are 18 50Amp sites with sewer and 2 30Amp sites with sewer. All the rest are Water/Electric. The campground does have a honeybucket pumper which comes around 2 days each week and it's free. You do need to make an appointment with the office for the service. Unfortunately, the campground doesn't enforce it's no parking zones and moving the RV into or out of the campground can get dicey. With mature trees hugging the sides of the roads there isn't much room to maneuver, plus there are concrete ditches with culverts at the opening to some of the sites in the 50Amp area. During our stay there was an 11PM power outage in the block we chose to camp in. During the outage the campground staff was out patrolling, keeping an eye on the sites/campers and making certain everyone was okay. Power was restored after 3 or 4 hours. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. Cell phone coverage, none. Wi-Fi connectivity, none (Tengonet). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We were able to stay here once as a "try out" because this is a member-only campground. We had a great time. The beach was perfect for our kids to enjoy the lake and play. The playground was nice. The docks were perfect for fishing. They had activities for the kids. I can't comment on the bath houses because we did not use them. Overall, very nice place, very family friendly, and we wish we could go again without a membership! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$1
Outdoor World campground. Horrible roads within campground, large ruts and deep ditches on both sides of the entry road. Beautiful lake, only a few lakefront campsites, all seemed to be occupied by "seasonals" so not available to general membership. Sewer sites are available, but again most taken by "seasonals", and those few remaining were quite unlevel sites. We stayed in a non sewer site that was fairly level. The dump station did not have a cover on the sewer outlet! Pool & store not open during posted "open" hours. Benches on lakefront had nailheads sticking up a quarter inch or so, just an indication of the lack of even simple maintenance at this campground. "Rangers" on patrol going well beyond the 10 mph speed limit, just seemed to ride around all day not doing anything but kicking up the dust from the non-paved roads. In the comfort station nearest us, the last date logged in for cleaning/inspection was two weeks ago. There were cobwebs at the entry door to the comfort station that a tall man would run into. We did not use the comfort station. Campground staff not very friendly. On the positive side, the lake was beautiful and the campground peaceful, as there was hardly anyone there. We will not camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Staff is wonderful, but Thousand Trails needs to update the boat docks. Cabins are being rented to seasonals which makes staying difficult without RV or travel trailer. The lake is beautiful. There is a boat ramp, but the docks are shallow and do not have tie downs or bumpers to protect boats properly. Would like Thousand Trails to maintain them properly. There is a kid friendly putt-putt, games and a deejay on the weekends. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$11
Old needs updating, would return as it does have a boat ramp. Needs more full hook up sites. Needs better level sites. As a member we pay a high price and do not receive the best in service or parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$1
Enjoyed site 220 (full hookup) this past trip, and this site was fairly level, but without the water view. Sewer, water and electric were located at the rear of the campsite, so plan accordingly for access. Campsites on the south side of the campground are W/E sites, but full hookup is available on the north side. I was there during the week, so all was pretty quiet. Store well stocked and clean. Propane refill, fishing licenses, pontoon boat rental available. Clean laundry and bathhouses. Nice family lounge well stocked with paperbacks. Wi-Fi available near the store. Food Service in season in store's cafe. Great personnel. Well maintained membership campground. Local eateries, some fast food available in Littleton. Best food at Middleburg Steak House in Middleburg, NC (Route 158 - about 20 miles west of Littleton). Wal-Mart and other shopping in Roanoke Rapids, NC about 15 miles east of CG on Route 158. Campground is about halfway between Interstates 85 and 95 off 158. Sunsets over the lake are wonderful! Great swimming beach and pool is nice when not crowded! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$50
Very Nice! Members only park here. We did the trial weekend. Real nice park. Very clean. The sites are very shaded and semi private. They open up the dance hall on the weekends. We had a blast.I think we will be back in 09 as members! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$1
Very nice preserve on Lake Gaston. Good entry roads, full hookup sites are on right side but honey wagon service is available on the Water/Electric side. For full hookup sites with a lake view, one needs to back into the site up a slight grade (which can be wheel spinning!). The site I chose was not very level, and I backed to the levellest spot I could find and had to increase my sewer hose to make it reach. Nice store, fishing license available here, propane refill, gasoline for boats, nice pool, but closed the night we arrived, nice member lounge with good paperback library. Other folks enjoyed watching the TV there. WiFi through Tengointernet at the store area, but I was able to connect at the campsite. Beautiful sunsets! Clean laundry, showers, bathrooms. Enjoyed my 10 day stay. Groceries available at Piggly Wiggly in Littleton, and there are several Food Lion Grocery stores within about 15 miles. I believe there is a Walmart in nearby Roanoke Rapids. Due to drought, no fires permitted while we were there. Lake swimming area was clean and very enjoyable. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
We were there early Oct. weeknight. Got spot right on lake. Very few full hookups, and they are off the water. This is an older but well maintained member CG but outsiders are welcome. 1.5 hrs North of Raleigh near VA border. They close 10/23 for winter. Restaurants in Littleton only open weekends "off season". We had the entire waterfront to ourselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com