206626 User submitted reviews online!!
River Camp USA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (336) 359-2267
CGID2092

River Camp USA

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   8   5   7   10   8   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
This campground is way off the beaten path. Narrow twisty roads in from interstate. Campground has a number of ongoing infrastructure projects that no one seems to be working on. Holes dug all over the place for apparent work on sewer system. Vast quantities of junk stuff surrounds the office building and is a great detraction. Roads are gravel with many potholes. Campground offers tubing, kayak and canoe rentals. Staff is friendly and helpful. We will not come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
We absolutely loved this campground. We had a site right next to the water, large campsite: not crowded at all, plenty of room. Bathhouse is great: clean, neat, really nice showers with lots and lots of hot water. This place is very well managed: they are on top of everything, plus they are friendly, never too busy to lend a hand. We will be going back in the future. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
We stayed at River Camp USA for the summer and we really enjoyed our stay! We found it to be quiet and relaxing. It's right on the New River and they have canoeing, tubing, fishing, etc. It's surrounded by beautiful scenery in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The owners and staff were very courteous and they all went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay an enjoyable one! The store on the property has pretty much everything you need. We'll definitely be back and we highly recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
We have been here twice. It's nestled right on the river. There's fishing, canoeing and tubing. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The setting is just so darn peaceful. I recommend this highly if you want to get away from it all...TV, traffic, phones, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
I'm really not sure what to say about this campground except it was not my favorite. The whole area is rather uneven and needs to be leveled out from time to time. I thought the whole thing looked like a junkyard more than a camping area. They will not let anyone who has young children camp along the river "for safety reasons." The so-called playground is one swing and a slide and I believe it was set on the tailline field for the septic tanks, at least that's what my nose thought. I would not even go near the bathrooms--the outside didn't look appealing so I didn't try the inside. The owners were different--the husband was okay but the wife was feared. Overall it's in a beautiful place along the New River and if they would just clean up and fix up it would be great. Unfortunately that is not happening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
If you like canoeing, tubing, kayaking, and fishing, this is your spot. You are right on the oldest river in the USA. For a fee they will supply you with equipment and take you to drop off spots depending on how long you want to paddle. The surrounding area is in the mountains and absolutely beautiful. Staff is friendly but the campground seems to have been under construction or repair for a long time. Roads in the park are rugged but the sites are level and spacious. Call for directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
I guess it's all in what you're looking for, or what your expectations are, but this campground was perfect for me during my stay. No, it's certainly not a fancy "resorty" type place with cement pads and perfectly landscaped grounds, but I really liked how it was a natural setting - like being in a state/national park but with full hookups. The kayak trip down the river was great and I found the owners and work campers extremely friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
We found River Camp to be very pleasant and quiet. The owners keep it very nice and natural along the river bank, and plant flowers in public areas. Tubing, kayaking and canoeing are great fun, and fun to watch as people drift by. We enjoyed fishing on the grounds and across the street at the New River State park. The facilities were clean, and the owners are always working on improvemnts, expanding the hook ups and upgrading facilites. This is privately owned, so much of the work is done by the owner themselves and a few workers. They have a small store for those few items you might forget or want. It is fun to go in and say hi to the owners and nice workers. They are helpful if you have questions, a problem or are new to camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Really beautiful area, right on the river. Roads need lots of work, especially if you are in a big rig. Caters mostly to tents and small campers. Advertised as pullthrus but you are not going to want to pull thru if you have a big rig! Ground has lots of holes and uneven spots. Great river access and fairly close to Mt. Rogers area. Weekends very crowded, lots of privacy during the week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
Very sad experience. My father-in-law came down from NY so we went up to this campground to stay. The mainenace. man is rude and awful to be around. Basically, it is a husband-wife team that are now at each others throats. Nothing is getting done here. Place has been under construction for years!! Across the river from highway with big trucks with big tires. WWWWrrrrr all night long. Alot of folks came for 1 night and left. We checked out other campgrounds in Piney Creek area for future use like TR CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$24
After reading other review of this campground, we were hesitant to go, but we love the mountains of NC so we gave it a shot. This could be a great spot and there was a lot of work going on when we were there, but it has a long way to go. The great thing about it was that there were not a lot of people there and it is right on the New River. The sites are pretty level and the owners were working at making all of the sites gravel lined and level as to make it easy when rains come. The owner will help you park and level up. Dogs are allowed and there were several including ours and our friends labs. The weather was cool in August because of Bonny and Charley on the coast. Fishing was available as well as canoe and tube rental. Overall, a good place to go to get away from it all. We will most likely return again to see how the improvements are coming along. We stayed here in a 26 foot Travel trailer. There is a state maintained park and canoe launch across the street from the campground that served well for a place to do some fly fishing. Caught several smallmouth bass in the area around the bridge. We felt we got our $24 a night out of it just for the enjoyment of the river. Had the weather been nicer, we had plans to do some canoeing and they will take you up river and drop you or you can put out at the campground and go down river to a pick up area. Rental fees are reasonable for the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Have camped there 3 times since '97 each time believing the next time would be better... Ground has been torn up, piles of dirt w/ exposed pipes since 1997. No access to fresh water at dumpstation. Even those not "dumping" have to exit through dump station line so in many cases you have to wait to get out. This time weeds have grown so high that you can't see the river. We requested river front site, what good did it do when you can't even see the river. Owners not very friendly. This would be a beautiful campground with a little TLC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com