223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Cascade Lake Recreation Area & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (828) 877-4475
CGID2094

Cascade Lake Recreation Area & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   10   10   8   8   9   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This is a nice old (1950's) campground in a beautiful setting. Secluded campsites are limited, but not that big of a deal since it's truly a family campground. The lake is very nice and has a beach for the kids. Canoe rentals are available. The only downside was that the staff (campground hosts) weren't very good in my opinion. The office reminded me of a McDonalds kitchen in during the morning rush. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
The swimming lake was wonderful. Our sites (B12 and 14) were wonderful. The bathrooms were atrocious. The one that was closest to us (by D8) was way too cramped, the showers were old and had been repaired/patched way too often. One evening there was no hot water. We used a different one later on when we were walking around the campground and that one was no better. Also, the site behind us had a loud group with alcohol (which is supposedly not ok) and while there was plenty of staff on patrol during the day, there was no one at night and this group partied very, very late. The bathrooms are our reason to not return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Campground is set well into the countryside away from it all. Beautifully maintained campground and heavily forested offering lots of shade. Easy to navigate gravel dirt roads meander throughout the park with sites on various elevations. Campground has two lakes and rents canoes. Many friendly workcampers around to assist and provide gate security. The park has extremely poor cell phone reception if any, no internet service unless you sit at the campground store's front porch. This campground is a Passport America member campground. We camped here for 2 weeks on the boating/fishing lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Loved this campground. Everyone was very friendly. We had a lake view -- with the mountains in the background - it was breath taking. Can't wait to go back again in October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
My family and I were visiting the Asheville area and found this campground when planning our trip. This campground is about 30 minutes from Asheville and is in a remote area of Transylvania County. Pulling our 35' TT, we had no difficulties navigating the roads to the campground and we were greeted at the gate by the pleasant sight of campground security. With the help of the staff, we were personally guided to our site and they helped us navigate the tight campground roads with ease. The campground is wooded with gravel roads. There are two lakes: one for swimming only and one for boating and fishing. We were able to reserve a lakefront site that we enjoyed, we even had our own dock with our site. The camp store was well stocked and firewood was available for purchase. Canoe/kayak rental available or bring your own. The two bathhouses were dated and cleanliness was about average. Showers had good water pressure and hot water. The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was peaceful and quiet in the evenings. We will definitely be camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$21
We like to camp here. The lake front sites are nice but a little too close, not much shade either. Would recommend camping here if you like taking it easy. The nearest grocery store is 8 miles away. One improvement needed are more sites with sewer hookups. There are several nice sites in the wooded area on the lake without sewer. One last thing: the bathhouses are not heated and don't have paper towels or hand dryers. We will keep coming back as long as we can always get our favorite site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$14
We really enjoyed this campground, the staff was very friendly and even let us join one of their nightly card games. The only issue I can see with this campground is that the interior roads are narrow, and could be difficult for people with large RV's. But other than that, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Overall, this campground is pretty nice. I would have rated higher but the roads throughout the property are not the best I've seen. I felt they should have made the main roads one way, if you were to meet another vehicle there would be no way to maneuver around. The site was a little tight to get into and required some back and forth driving to get our trailer in place. For the most part, the sites are not very level. We had a spacious site with a view of the lake one road over. The hosts were friendly.We plan on returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is a beautiful park. If you want 50 amp, there are only a few 50 amp sites so you need to make sure and specify 50 amp when you make reservations. It has a swimming lake and an activities lake. There is a small store on site but I suggest that if you do not want to take the ride out to the nearest town, bring what you need ahead of time. They only thing that was a disappointment, there were no bars on my Verizon phone. We had to walk out to just one spot near the lake to get any kind of signal. So, if you are looking for total peace and quiet with no cell ringing, this is the place. We totally enjoyed it!! If you have kids, there is plenty to do for them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
We stayed here for four days with two teens. Our experience was excellent and we plan on returning next year. Our site, located on the lake, had its own dock. The view of the lake was serene, no matter what time of day, because there is forest on the opposite side of the lake. We rented a canoe from the office and enjoyed the peace and quiet on the lake. Because the campground is centrally located between Dupont State Forest and the Pisgah National Forest, hiking trails and popular waterfalls were within easy driving distance. Our only major complaint was that the lack of a cell phone signal or internet access made it difficult to contact people at home. We did notice staff driving around on golf carts; however, they were friendly and we did not feel that we were being monitored in any way. In fact, one night they were checking on some people who had rented a canoe because they hadn't yet returned it, and they were worried that something may have happened to them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
Cascade Lake campground has been around a long time from age of the buildings. The bath houses are small; only one shower, but they are kept mostly clean. Some of the sites and streets getting to them are tight. You do have a choice of sunny sites or lots of shade. A lot of the sites would handle big rigs but the lake front sites are the best. The swimming area is one of the nicest we have seen in a while. Nice sandy beach that looked like it was resurfaced with a tractor on a regular basis. It also had a small concession stand. One negative with the swimming area for folks who can't swim or have smaller children; the bottom drops off really fast. It had rained a good bit so it was not dusty but the streets in the campground are dirt and gravel so dust could be a problem if a dry period came. A small problem for some is that no cell phone service exists at the campground and for about three miles around it. the big negative for us was the overzealous camp host. They were at times very un-helpful, as well as rude even when they were off duty. We gave one of them the name "Barney" because he was on patrol and acted just like Barney Fife on The Andy Griffith Show. We really liked the campground and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
We agree with the other positive comments on the park. One thing you don't see on the web site and don't know until you arrive and see the signs, is that they allow no alcohol. While we respect anyone who doesn't want to be exposed to drinking, we enjoy having a quiet, discreet drink in our camper or even outside by our campfire, but we never display it and never disturb anyone. We just want to let you know that it's against the rules at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Great campground for kids. Nice beach and lake. VERY friendly staff. Would come back again in a minute! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$27
This campground is in a quiet, peaceful, wooded setting. Somewhat rustic but nicely laid out and well kept. The staff are quite friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$40
We enjoyed a lake front site with our own boat dock, full hookups, a picnic table and fire ring, looking across the lake at the DuPont State Forest land with a quiet atmosphere, friendly folks at the gated entrance, and good interior gravel roads. It is a picture-perfect park with good bream fishing, a swimming beach area and trails, all conveniently located near Brevard, NC, about 5 miles off Route #64. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Nice campground in the Mountains. Sites are not perfect and may require some skill to manuever. The lake is very clean for swimming. Not many activities but a nice place to get away from it all. You may need extra cords and hoses, the hook-ups are in strange places on some of the sites. Also levelers are a must. Sites can be uneven, but if you bring the right equipment you will have no problem. We would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com