224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Stone Mountain State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (336) 957-8185
CGID2097

Stone Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   9   8   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Camped on site 66 which is in the open part of the campground. Site was gravel an pretty level. Showers were small but clean an modern. Campground was pretty full on the weekend but pretty empty by Tuesday. No cell service or over the air TV but Dish Tailgater worked well with a good view to the south. Local wineries are very good. Had a very nice meal and bottle of wine at Elk Creek vineyard. Pretty convenient to Elkin. Hike to the top of Stone mountain is pretty steep but the views are well worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Great campground. Lots are very large, easy to get in. Great hiking within walking distance. Only downside, showers were small and you have to keep pushing the fixture to keep water flowing. Will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
For this price you get 50 amps and water. No sewer hookups are available but there is a dump station on exit. Sites are very spacious and most are level. Streets and RV parking spots are paved. Pad area is fine gravel with a fire ring and picnic table. We reserved well in advance and were able to secure site 54, which faces the babbling brook that runs through the center of the campground. Spotty Verizon service, no AT&T. Bathhouses offer hot showers but no laundry facilities. It was full Memorial Day weekend when we arrived but mostly empty by Monday afternoon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Nice place to stay in the foothills of the Appalachians. The terrain make cell phone / Internet spotty / slow. My Verizon hot spot worked but others with different providers had no service. Antenna TV reception is nonexistent. Very nice hiking trails to Stone Mountain Falls and summit. Also an historic home-site from the 1800s. Pads are paved and level. Park was quiet during the 5 weekdays I was there but understand it can get crowded on the weekends and during the summer months. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Beautiful state park located about 11 miles from Elkin and 13 miles from Sparta. Nestled in a valley, surrounded by trees, you don't want to leave. A nighttime walk with a flashlight reveals the iridescent reflection of the eyes of the deer who come out to feed. Our site was out in the open. There was lots of rain which drained off. A creek wound through the park which provides a wonderful "white noise." The bathrooms are well maintained. We could not get AT&T phone connection and only three PBS stations with our antenna. But with this place, who cares? You can drive through the park, fish (with a license), swim at Widow's Creek, hike up Stone Mountain or to the Lower Falls. The closest store is a few miles away so if you need ice that is where you get it. This was an excellent week stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
First time camping here. Very nice area with great trails for hiking. Large campsites. Not a big deal for us but cell phone coverage at the campground is sporadic and not very useable. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Decent state park campground. We reserved back-in site and it was pretty level. The site had the tiny gravel, which kept it from being muddy when it rained, but I was constantly sweeping the little gravel out of our camper. We camped near a stream, which was nice. The campground was pretty booked up, but the sites were spaced out enough that it didn't feel crowded at all. The restrooms and showers were clean. The park has a variety of hiking trails, which we really enjoyed. Overall, it was a great value for the size and roominess of the site. As you head down the road toward the state park, you'll pass a country store on the right on a hill. That's definitely worth a stop for good burgers and ice cream. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We are newer RV owners (first timers) and this was the third place we've stayed so far. It was fantastic, in our opinion. The RV loop is in a very wooded area with a stream running through it. We stayed on site 58 in B loop, which was fantastic. Very level, huge site, fire ring, picnic table. All the sites on the outer part of the ring were cool and even the inner part, as those are right on the river. All the sites are quite large and seemed very level. We have two big Labs and this was a great site for them too, as we had grass around our site and could walk past the site next door (56) to go on a somewhat short trail into the woods along the stream. If you can reserve site 56 or 55 (which is booked every weekend through Ffall, I saw), we thought those would be ideal. 56 is great with its access directly onto the walking trail. 55 is huge and very private, and the area under your awning faces a wooded hillside so you wouldn't face anyone directly. Our site 58 was great too, though - I don't think you can really go wrong with any of them. Sites 40-43 were on their own mini-loop, which seemed neat too. It was very cold the weekend we were there and everyone had a fire - the smoke hangs in the valley you're in, so be prepared to have smoky-smelling clothes when it's cold. You can walk to the hiking trail to a waterfall (which was cool but about 200 steps, so be prepared) or a summit, which we didn't do this time. You can also walk up toward the end of B loop and get into some woods there - we let our dogs run back there as they weren't using it for campers at the time. We did not bring a car and were perfectly happy without one for the weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
We love this campground and go several times a year. It has great views, and a nice trout stream running right through the middle. The campground is well maintained and clean. Has plenty of hiking and climbing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
We love it here in the Spring and Fall. Summer months can be very hot since there are very few trees close to the sites and very little shade. All B loop sites are paved with fire rings that are cleaned between campers and lots and lots of space between sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Great park. Nice and quiet. Lots of hiking. Great place for family to enjoy. Be aware that there are a few spots that will be extremely difficult to back into with a long trailer. Use Google Maps/Earth to take a look before booking your site. Will definitely be camping here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
We will come back to Stone Mountain State Park! Sites are level and paved with fine gravel, with plenty of room between sites. Campground is quiet, with a great view of night sky. The stream ran behind our site (B50) and we were treated to the sound of water cascading over the rocks. Great trails; we saw deer everywhere at all hours of the day. The hike to the top of Stone Mountain, then down to the falls and back up, was well worth the effort. Grounds and facilities were extremely well-kept and clean, to the point that it even looked like the ashes and debris were removed from fire rings in between guests. I wish we had more than 3 days to spend at Stone Mountain; I think we all would have been happy to camp here for much longer. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We love to camp here and do so as much as possible. Large lots most of which are fairly level and plenty of room. My only complaint, there is a stream but the grass is so over grown around it that you can't get too it or see it. The other problem is that the park gate is locked (no gate house) so you can't get in or out after park hours. If you have an emergency that would require you to find a park ranger. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
We love this campground. It has wide roads through the campground, large well kept sites and you'll find TONS of wildlife. Getting in and out was a breeze (we are over 50 feet), relatively close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, several trout streams and TONS of hiking. During our stay we did experience a power surge that fried our TV, central vac, inverter and converter. However that was the 2nd time I've experienced a power surge. The first time was less costly. I now have a surge protector! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We love camping at the state parks in NC. You cannot beat the price for a site that "huge" compared to other campgrounds. They stayed here two nights and three days. We had a site and my brother had the site next to us. We really enjoy it! The sites are somewhat level and paved. The fire ring is built on top of a brick platform which is a very nice feature. I would and will be going back in the near future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Awesome place! The spaces were large. Plenty of room between you and the next camper. We were in space 71: about 20 yards to the campers in front of us as we looked at the back of two of them, and about 10 yards or so to the campsite behind us. The bathrooms and showers were fairly clean. If you go at night, take a flashlight. We could see the bathhouse from our camper, but it gets really dark out here and you can't see where the pavement and grass meets. The crickets serenaded us at night and the pretty big butterflies danced for us during the day. There are lot of trails to hike and trout fishing to be done if you like to do that. We would of given this place a 10 if they had sewer hookups. The best thing, is this little oasis is only around an hour from our home. We will be returning very soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
Spaces were big and well kept but the staff has decided not to mow up to creek which was a downer. Weeds were about 3 ft high so not able to see or get to that area. Did walk a trail to St Mnt Falls. It was nice. Very little shade so you'll need a canopy or awning. We didn't have ants or any problems. Did see a lot of deer. We stayed because it was close to a wonderful golf course, Olde Beau. A must play if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
I agree with everything June 2010 said below...and will add this as a con though: Ants, ants and more ants on site 49, along with yellow jacket nest in the wood timbers surrounding our site. We sprayed for the ants, but they continued to climb all over us while we were sitting out around the fire, about drove the poor dog nuts.. Hubby says the men showers (push on) were extremely hot, lol, and I noticed ours was quite cold unless you let it run for a while, so some adjustment there would be great. The firewood was a rip off, 5 bucks for a few sticks of basically no more than kindling wood. This isn't the only SP that pulls this nonsense. We do not mind to pay, but they need to make it reasonable. The wood was basically burn up within 30 minutes or so, not much fun for a mountain campground. They will discourage people from not bringing their own if they continue on that path. We hunted all over for firewood, the country store also sold it for 5 bucks, which amounted to a dollar a stick with them. Theirs was a bit more substantial, however, staying a week became quite expensive and we would not leave home without our own again. We checked bulletin boards, newspapers, only ones advertised were truckloads. We spent way to much time looking for firewood, trying to be Good Sam on that. All, in all, we loved the campground, it was pretty much full while we were there, saw deer, turkey, snakes, salamanders, ivory billed woodpecker..etc.. the waterfalls were beautiful. Everyone was very friendly. We would definitely love to go back in the fall sometime. Loved the area also. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We loved this campground. It is nestled in the mountains of NC. There is plenty of hiking and a lot of deer! They even came in to our campsite during the day looking for food. We stayed on site #76. Most of the sites are sunny as was ours, but ours was bordered by a creek. Overall even with a full campground, it was quiet and people respected the rules (including quiet hours). During the week (before the 4th of July), the campground was almost deserted and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. They have the "push button" showers which can be a pain but the water was always pleasantly warm even with others showering and were always clean. There is no laundry facility which is one of the downfalls. Look for the trail next to site #56 which follows a creek back to a quiet little waterfall (maybe 1/2 mile back, an easy hike). Also stop at the Stone Mountain General Store which is on the way in to the state park. They have ice cream, burgers, crafts, etc. Their firewood is reasonably priced (we didn't see many places with firewood for sale). For our first week long vacation camping, this turned out to be an excellent choice. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
I have been coming to this campground for the past eight years and have never been let down. This is without a doubt, the cleanest and most taken care of state park in North Carolina. The sites are large and level, you can have a shady spot or you can get one with full sun if you prefer. My wife and I enjoy this campground at least twice a year. I was informed on Saturday that the price has just been raised, but don't let this keep you away from this place. It's well worth every penny you spend. The staff are more than friendly and willing to help you out if you need. Like I said before, wherever you go in this park, you can bet that the facilities are going to be spotless. Great place for hikers, climbers, and fly fisherman. The water fall is great for kids to slide down. Lots of wildlife to see, and best of all, can be seen right at you site! We will keep going to this place until they close or we can't drive anymore. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
I was impressed with the size of the sites at this campground. Not only do you have a nice, level, paved pad to park on, but a nice crushed shell "yard" with a picnic table and a fire pit. The sites are so large that you have to make an effort to go "meet the neighbors". They were not right on top of you. Plenty of room for the kids to ride bikes or play in the stream. If they had a swimming pool I would have rated this campground a 10. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
This was the first state park we've stayed in but has to be one of the cleanest there is. This place was spotless. We stayed on the "B" loop which has electricity and water. Each site has a paved pad wide enough for the camper with a huge pea gravel lot next to it with a picnic table and grill. The lots are spaced so you're not right on top of the people beside you. There was a small stream right behind our site which our kids splashed in. The bath houses are very clean and looked brand new. The whole campground looked new even though it was not. We drove through the park and saw deer standing right beside the road within 10 foot of us. We climbed to the top of the stone which has awesome views. Overall, I can't wait to get back. We will camp here many more times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We love this park. North Carolina really maintains their state parks well and this one is no exception. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful at check-in and the site was level and clean. There are kids everywhere, so if that's not your scene then this park isn't for you. Our kids rode their bikes constantly and met a lot of other children to play with. All the other campers were nice and seemed to be having a good time also. We will definitely return again and again (but definitely with reservations made way ahead of time). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Very nice campground, completely paved road and parking sites, with a very fine gravel area around a movable picnic table. There are 3 loops, one with electric and water, one for tents only, and one with water spaced around for carrying to your site. There is a dump station and garbage dumpsters available on your way out. Electric and water sites were $20.00 while non-electric sites were $15.00, with a discount given for seniors. Bath houses were clean, though not well heated. Pets must remain on a maximum 6 foot leash, and with all the pavement, watch for youngsters on bicycles. Bicycle helmets required if under 16. We were in site 54 with nice stream behind this site. Plenty of wildlife and hiking available. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Beautiful, well-maintained state park in foothills of Blue Ridge Mountains. First time to park and campground which are very pleasant. We stayed on site 48 in B loop for RVs. Loop B sites are paved, flat, with water and electric hookups, very nice RV sites. Loops A & C are tent only with some great tent camp sites but no hook ups. Favorite sites are B loop 55 & 56. Small stream runs through B loop. Access road is steep uphill entering park, but straight into campground. Roads are big rig friendly. Bath houses are clean and functional. No playgrounds at campground, but children will enjoy playing in stream. Amenities include bike riding and hiking. Nearest bigger town is Sparta. $14 per night senior rate. We would visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is a beautifully located campground with plenty of deer for the viewing. We enjoyed our hike to the falls in the park. The sites are mostly level and are well kept. We have stayed here several times. The only thing we don't like is that you cannot make reservations. If the showers were redesigned where your clothes didn't get wet, it would be better. A shower curtain would help. All in all, it is a nice campground, but don't expect to have cell phone service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This is a wonderful state park campground. The rest rooms and showers were clean, and the sites were very large. My only complaint, and it is a small one, is that the sites with electric hookups (Loop B) are not shaded at all. Very open. But we enjoyed this campground, as well as the park, very much. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Gorgeous state park close to Blue Ridge Parkway. Lots of hiking opportunities right in the park as well as stream fishing. The sites with hookups in area B were mostly open, but since reservations are not taken, sites are on first come first serve basis so if you are lucky you can select one of the few shaded, stream-side sites, but really no site is bad. If you boondock, choose a site in area A. Deer roam freely throughout the park. I don't know about other NC state parks, but this one was immaculately maintained inside bath house and grounds. I gave this park a 9 only because dump station driveway leaves you on a downward incline so big rigs will need to compensate before dumping. Firewood available at ranger station. Very informative visitor center. Be sure to have breakfast at Doughton Park along BRD just 20 miles from campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Good hiking trails. New, clean restrooms. First NC park with hook-ups. 43 new paved RV sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
The sites are very big in size has a dump station. Carry a tote with you for campground. Has no sewer. Great place for kids to play and be safe doing so, can watch them from any camp site. You may be in most of the time. Sites have a fire ring with grill top & table. Plenty of hiking. Water falls wildlife too see the campground is full of deer every mooring. We got up deer was in our site. I live with in 10 to 15 mins from campground we go several times a year and have never been disappointed. Its just a great place to go very layed back and quite. If you plan too come on weekends come in the am sites go fast . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
Campground recently added spots for RV & TT w/ electrical & water hookups. Great quiet campground. Good trout fishing nearby in park. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$15
For having no hook-ups and almost no amenities, this is an absolutely beautiful campground. The sites are gravel and not bery big. Some of the sites are not level enough for an RV. We stopped here on the way down the Blue Ridge Parkway. There were many deer in the park near dusk. We were the only people in the park except the host. The campground is very quiet as it is out in the middle of nowhere. But, the kids enjoyed such a "remote" experience and the scenery was spectacular! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com