214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear Den Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (828) 765-2888
CGID2107

Bear Den Campground

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   4   9   10   3   4   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
This was a great campground. Unfortunately we only spent 1 night here, but would have loved to stay longer. We would definitely return. Yes, the road in and out is a little harrowing and the roads inside were tight. We have a 30ft with a car hauler. We didn't want to have to drop the car due to it only being 1 night. The people were very accommodating and provide a big enough campsite and escort to site. Also, we walked to get firewood and they gave us a ride back to site in golf cart due to our age and the big hill and it getting late. Nicest people and quiet and scenic campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We arrived on a Friday afternoon. We were in the B section of the campground. The check in process was smooth and the employees were very friendly. The site was fairly level and large enough for our camper and a tent. The sites were fairly close together, however, we still felt that we had our privacy. The only complaint here is that nobody showed us to our campsite so we went in the wrong way due to not so great signage. Other than that we had a very pleasant stay here. We would stay again just because the staff was so nice and the grounds were so clean and well kept. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This is a nice park -- I marked it as big rig access but you should know that the road to the campground is gravel. Maybe big rig access but not big rig friendly. Interior roads are narrow and there are tight turns in the campground. It would be very helpful if there was an escort for big rigs. The staff is very friendly and helpful but the desk clerk apparently was not familiar with the interior of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
If your tired of being at a campground lined up with other RVs this is the place to go. Secluded campsites. Also, they have a short but somewhat challenging hiking trail that leads to waterfall. Great views from the Blue ridge pkwy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
There are quite a few pluses for this campground: the staff is extremely nice and helpful, family friendly and the kids love the amenities, and it's in a beautiful area of the blue ridge mountains. That said, there are some minuses: the power quality is low (my meter had swings from 120 - 96v), leveling at the sites can be hard, if not impossible, and the restrooms could/should have been cleaned more often. I don't know if we would stay here again. Perhaps if other options weren't available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Great great campground. Very friendly staff. Have camped here for around 20 years. Come every summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
We have stayed here three times and we love it! Lovely views, large campsites, and everyone is really nice. Right on the Blue Ridge Parkway too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
First the good. This campground location is great, has a very remote feeling with nice views. Access is off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Now for the bad. Access is marginal for big rigs, not all sites are level, bathroom facilities are very marginal and dirty, and they charge extra for Wi-Fi service. The price of $45 per night is way too high for what you get. There are better options in the area for less money. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
Well, this is a strange review. I've stayed at this campground for many many years, but due to the outdated bathrooms and high cost of a night I decided to visit another campground this year. I have to say that my steering somewhere else this year, really made me realize how poorly maintained this campground is. The bathrooms are very outdated. Water and sand always on the floor. Toilets always plugged up. Many sites are unlevel. You have to pay for internet by the day. These are good people running this campground and the location is to die for, but this campground is overpriced for what they are offering. The only thing they kept up with the times on, was the pricing. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
We had a wonderful stay here at Bear Den. Our campsite had a great view of a mountain and lots of woods behind it. The entire campground was very clean and well-kept. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We arrived on a Saturday night and it was very crowded, but most people left on Sunday and then it was very nice and quiet. There are a couple of really nice hiking trails adjacent to the campground. Lots of steep hills to climb and woods to explore. Our site was comparable to a federal camp site, very spacious and private with lots of wooded areas. We will stay here again and have already made future reservations. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Nice Campground, but didn't realize you have to drive approx. half a mile on a narrow winding road to get to the campground itself. On the back in sites the water hook-up is pretty far away. Nice location on the parkway, close to a lot of different attractions, have nice hiking trails also. For families with children a nice place to stay. The staff is friendly and accommodating to the customer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
We've traveled to this campground for over 15 years. Year after year we come back because of the large wooded sites and the location on the Parkway. We also love the ease of getting to it off i-40. We were happy to see a new sand box for the kids in the C/D area. It was huge and a big hit for kids of all ages. My chief complaint here is the lack of updating of the bathrooms. Still no progress there and it seems like every three hours the toilets are plugged. While the staff did a good job of unplugging them it seemed like a neverending job. Maybe they should put a plunger in the stall. If the campground would spend some effort on updating the bathhouses, my rating would go from a 6 to a nine or ten. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We visited this campground again. Not much has changed from the previous year. No updates to the bath-houses or anything else for that matter. The owners seem to be investing in their full cabins. However, the bathhouses were the cleanest I have ever seen. Very clean and spotless. Would be nice to see them install some permanent grills at the sites and do some updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
There were 3 RV's and we stayed there a week. The park has dusty mountainous gravel roads. They wet them on weekends but not during the week & it's really dusty. The sites are small and a bit difficult to manuver. We have a 30' RV and couldn't park our tow vehicle on our site without being in the road. Luckily we were the only ones on that particular loop so it wasn't an issue. Since we were staying a week we picked this park because it's on of the few along the parkway with full hookups. The problem with the sewer hookups is that the sites aren't level and the sewer connection is on the high side and protrudes about 4" above grade so when you add the 90ยบ fitting you're 6 to 8" above the ground. For those of us with low profile RV's the RV sewer outlet is lower than the site inlet. Just something to be aware of if you have a low sewer outlet. All the staff was very nice except one guy, and once we talked to management about him, there were no more issues. Their site says that have a place for swimming but I wouldn't consider it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Staff was very friendly at check in. Wi-FI access is new at this campground but only available at the front and $5 for first day or $10 for length of stay. Bathrooms and showers are dated but were clean this time around. Still think that the campground is overpriced. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
The good include, great location for exploring areas around the Blue Ridge Parkway, lots of room for hiking, biking and dog walks right out your door. Weekdays were very quiet, pleasant, and there is a fulltime security guard. The bad include, management will tell you they are big rig friendly but the access is horrible, includes rough gravel roads, steep inclines, narrow passage and hairpin turns. I did not see any larger class A's here, for good reason. The pull thru site I had put my canopy over the gravel road so made for an uncomfortable outdoor area with no privacy when cars going down the road. I also had to wet down my section of the gravel road because the dust was so bad. The beautiful looking lake in the advertising was actually a disgusting alge pit and my neighbor said his kids stank after swimming in it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$35
Road could use some work, but isn't the camp's fault. Just a tad difficult to access, but if you had already climbed the mountain to get there what's a bit more? WiFi is extra and only works at gate. Overall a nice large facility. Gravel sites, water is quite far in some and turns can be tight. Showers/Restrooms could use some work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$35
Overall a good campground. Secluded but close to town (just in case you forget something) We were a little concerned about the drive so we went to Blowing Rock and drove down the Blue Ridge Parkway this was worth the extra few miles, the views were great. As for the campground, the staff was very helpful. The sites could be better leveled but they are not bad enough to worry about just make sure you take your leveling blocks. The sites are arranged well and very pretty. Some sites the water more than 25 feet away so take an extra hose. We used the Motorhome showers and restrooms but the restrooms at the campground were OK. Plenty of hiking and chances to take mountain view photos. This will be a standard site for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
Access is not easy as the road is very hilly and full of curves. Sites are nice, lots of shade and campground is fairly quiet, even when it got fairly busy on the week-end. Restrooms are old and showers did not look inviting...in fact we used the camper's showers, even if very small. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
This is a nice little campground, but not a lot of things for kids to do. No pool, no activities on the weekends, etc. Entrance was difficult to navigate and I'm not sure how a large rig would make it! We had a relaxing weekend, but will probably not camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
I recently was here on the Labor Day 2006 weekend. The bathrooms were spotless at the beginning of the weekend but once a day cleaning is not enough. There were newspapers and toilet paper on the floor and they were not cleaned up until the morning cleaning. This place is very expensive and not worth the extra money. Lake was green from algae. Firewood was awful. Very wet. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$37
Campground is situated off the Blue Ridge parkway. Access is by a hilly, dirt road. Sites are placed along a mountain ridge with LOTS of shade trees. Facilities at the park are fairly OK. Bathouse in the D loop is old and needed painting but they were cleaned everyday. They have a small pond to swim, which I wouldn't recommend, but fishing was excellent. They have a good game room with video games, pool table and ping pong. The camp store is stocked with the basics. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
We like camping in the mountains, campground is secluded which we like. We have no problems with our RV 37 footer. Help is friendly and bath houses are freshly painted. Great place to camp. Access is hilly but we like it that way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$38
This campground has definitely not been maintained over the years. The bathhouses are the same ones built in the seventies. Lots of problems with the toilets overruning. I was here Labor Day weekend 2005, and they had well water issues. They just told everyone to not take showers. That's fine if you are charging $18 a night but not for $34. The staff never acted like they cared. I would look elsewhere. 2006 rates are $38 a night. Very overpriced for this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
This is a nice park and in a beautiful location; however, be aware of the difficulty in getting into and out of the park, as well as the sites themselves. Very tight roads, and very difficult terrain. The bathhouses were also not the cleanest, although they were by no means the dirtiest either. Just take into consideration that you are smack-dab in the middle of the woods, so you should be prepared to deal with lots of insects. Staff was friendly and helpful. The scenery was beautiful. If you are planning on staying here, please find a route other than 226 unless you are sure you have the vehicle to pull it. Probably won't stay here again, only because of the difficuly of getting in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2004
$39
This was one of the better camping experiences we have had. The campground staff was more than helpful, the kids loved the playgrounds and all of the wooded area. There were things to do both inside and outside of the campground. The lake was a little suspect to swim in but fishing was fun. Firewood there was somewhat expensive and fresh so did not burn well. All in all we will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Nice campground. Off the Blue Ridge Parkway with a very secluded feel. Would have rated a 10 if the restrooms were a little cleaner and if they had a pool. Kids enjoyed the trails. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$36
This is the second time we have been to this great campground. We were in a pop up last time and this time a travel trailer. What a great experience. Great playground. Clean bathrooms. Nice and shady. Beautiful views of the fall colors. Fire pits are clean when you get to your site to hook up. Good water pressure. Level gravel sites in our pull through. They had a great Saturday night Halloween party with lots of goodies for the kids and a hay ride with all kinds of surprises. It would have been a 10 but we had a little trouble with our reservation but that person does not work there anymore. The owners handled everything perfectly and we were extremely happy with our accommodations. We will be back again and again. One of the best things is that quiet hours are strictly enforced and you get a great nights sleep. Great park patrol. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$36
Beautiful campground off the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is set on the side of a mountain with steep roads and tight turns. The road is mostly dusty gravel and everything was filthy by the time we left. The bath houses are clean. They had a live band and plenty to do. Very family oriented. Water hookups were at the beginning of the site and we needed 100 feet of hose. Some of the pop up sites had electric hookup 100 feet away. The management should have told us of that when we made our reservations. It is a nice place, but I feel it is overrated for the price. We enjoyed our stay, but are going to try others in the area before we return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$33
My wife and I just returned from a long weekend at Bear Den. What a nice place. Just off the Parkway and so close to so many places in the NC High Country. Nicely spaced camp sites. Very clean facilities. Lots of options for the kids: swimming lake, fishing,games, playgrounds. Great Hiking. We're taking them there next month. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Park is very pretty. Staff was friendly and helpful. The campground is in a beautiful location, but beware -the roads in the campground (and to the campground) are very winding, narrow, curvy and steep (and not paved). We camped here in a 22' ultra lite-weight travel trailer and thoroughly enjoyed it, but now that we've traded for a bigger, heavier, longer 5th wheel, we're having 2nd thoughts about going here again. Other than that, it's a great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Camped here in October at peak foliage. Awesome! Great staff, large sites and right on the parkway makes this place a keeper! The haunted hayride was great for the kids. We are making this a yearly event! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$28
My wife and I camped here over Memorial Day weekend (02), and will definitely go back. This place is clean, heavily wooded and great place to camp. The only thing I did not appreciate was the fact that the electrical and water hookups are located off of the campground loop at the start of your "driveway", so you better have a long water hose and extension cord. Don't forget an adapter going from 20 watts to 30 watts. This was no big deal, but I was led to believe it would right next to the camper like most other campgrounds. All in all, I will definitely go back. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$28
Bear Den was a family friendly campground with hay rides in the evening, music, game room and even a marshmallow roast! Close to many attractions. Will be going back! Friendly staff too. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com