215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Asheville East KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (828) 686-3121
CGID2113

Asheville East KOA

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   7   9   8   9   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
The campground was beautiful! There are two fishing lakes (although not many fish!), the Swannnanoa River, and a swimming pool. The only complaint I have, is that the sites are very close together. We took our dog, as it is very dog-friendly! We enjoyed staying here and will go back, but hopefully can get a site that is at the very end so we aren't facing another camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Beautiful, clean park with lakes, creek, and ponds. Only negative was the train right across the street. Every time the train goes by, it blows its loud air horn 10-15 times. At 12:30 and 2:30 in the morning, it is a rude awakening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
If you stay at an Asheville area KOA choose this one over the west side one, FAR better here. Large and park-like around 2 lakes and the creek, better in the back area than front. Good, free Wi-Fi with no codes, many TV channels. This is a popular spot, I've met a number of frequent visitors who reserve far ahead of time in the fall to get the nice water sites. Yes, there is highway and train noise, but they all seem to have that, otherwise this is the nicest KOA I've stayed at by far. I'm in #12 at the lake and my class B cargo doors open to the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
A very busy and crowded campground. The staff is helpful and the lake sites are nice. We have stayed here many times and will come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$75
We enjoyed our stay at this KOA. Friendly staff, clean grounds, and a great area to explore. The front of the park is not too special as the pull thrus are on the tight side except #1 which is on the corner. The back ins offer more room, the best back in being the sites along the river. The special part of the park requires you to cross over the Swannanoa River. It's almost paradise with 30 amp full hook up sites 9 thru 15 along the lake as they offer beautiful views not only of water, but the mountains as well. Sites 24, 25, & 26 offer good depth for big rigs and still have a decent view. We would definitely stay here again. An excellent KOA and very easy access off Interstate 40. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Campground was nice but grassy sites got pretty soggy when it rained. Laundry facilities are good but for some reason the dryers are outside so you need to slog your laundry outside to dry it. Train tracks are very close and trains whistle several times during the night - detracts from the experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$128
Nice older campground with good amenities. River and water views were very relaxing. Friendly staff and well maintained (but older) restrooms. Would rate a 10 if not for train at front, and trailer park at back (absolutely no trouble from trailer park, just didn't fit with the surrounding scenery!) By third night train didn't wake us up anymore. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
This is a nice, but typical, KOA park - sites are very tight and unpaved. But if you have a dog (especially a large one) it has a GREAT dog-walk along a beautiful river. There appears to be plenty for kids to do there, and they have a very nice store. We'd stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$43
Nights Stayed -2 Park Overall - The Park is a typical KOA Camp Ground. Everything was nice, plenty to do for Kids, clean and well maintained. The sites are very small, most without shade. It’s close to Asheville’s nice restaurant. RV Type Used - 5th Wheel 28Ft My Site (#2) - is very small, with zero trees, and a view of nothing much. It was 10 out 10 for level, gravel and well maintained. What We Did – eat at some great Asheville Restaurants – Jerusalem Garden and Mala Indian restaurant in downtown Asheville. Restroom - Modern and clean, soap and towels provided Bath - Modern and clean Cell Service - Verizon worked, 4 bars and 3G at least Internet Access – Wi-Fi at the site, very fast access Basic Shopping - Groceries etc. 1 mile Dining - Many restaurants in Asheville. Would I Return - Yes, it is close to Asheville where we like to visit. There are several great sites on the Swannanoa River, best site are 1 to 10 Sec “A”. There are also lake sites with great sites with views. Most are full sun all day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
The park is very nicely landscaped and maintained with a pool, mini golf, bike/cart/boat rentals and other game areas. Free Wi-Fi was excellent our entire 2 weeks. Free Cable TV (but we didn’t use it because we use satellite). Fantastic staff: every single staff member was friendly, helpful and professional. The park does abide by the rule that campgrounds has to be a near a railroad. Yes there are tracks across the road from the entrance. Some days there were none/very few and others they were frequent. If you hate trains, this park and the other campgrounds in this area are not for you. After the 1st day, we did not notice them. There are, effectively, 2 parts of this KOA: the front sections near the office and entrance; the E section on the lake. The front section is typical with not much space between rigs and no view. The E Section is a whole different story. Our 35’ MH fit fine and there were some fivers also. Small rigs and tents can find some very nice views. Sites are on a beautiful lake with lots of space. There are a lot of sites where you nose in with a lake view. There are 6 sites where you parallel park with the door side right on the lake and the other side overlooks a beautiful grassy area that is along the river/creek. You can hear the sound of the water. Kids and dogs play in the river/creek. People tube down the river/creek. Lot of people fish in the lake from their own patio (no license required). Trails lead around both lakes for a nice quiet, scenic stroll. The park is about 15 minutes from Asheville. There is a lot of shopping and restaurants available near the park. Ingles Grocery has a gas station that is wide open and very accessible to any RV (I didn’t notice if it had diesel). The gas here is also a few cents cheaper than the other stations. We’ll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Pretty typical KOA with activities for kids which include a pool, pedal cars, activities room, and goofy golf. It also has a fishing lake with small camper and tent sites around it. The Swannanoa River runs through the park and is shallow enough for kids to wade and play in. Sites are a bit tight for larger motor homes . Your picnic table is very cozy with your neighbor's sewer hook up. Sites are grass and generally level. Roads around the park are both gravel and paved. Most RV sites are back in, and when the park is full, this can become a bit of a challenge. What other reviews have left out or minimized is the noise level at night of the nearby highway and trains. We were parked in the B section of the park and can clearly see both Highway 70 and the railroad tracks. The highway noise is noticeable all the time, but does diminish somewhat at night. But, be aware that trucks do roll by day and night and use Jake brakes. The trains roll through 3-5 times every night between about 10 and 5:30 a.m. Since there is a crossing right across from the park entrance, the trains are required to blow their horn. Some give a quick toot while others feel obligated to blow their horns for several long seconds. Trust me, there is no way to ignore this. The only saving grace was that our dogs didn't feel compelled to join in. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Ditto what most have said. Kid friendly, parent friendly. Clean, nice amenities. Would like to see a little more vent in the men rest rooms. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This is my first 10 rating because this RV Park is the perfect example of what all top shelf parks should aspire to. Natural beauty combined with relentless landscaping all supported by cheerful helpful staff committed to making your stay more enjoyable. The office store has lots of handy items that you may need from canned goods to mailing your letters. Activities range from fishing to afternoon naps. If you've never stayed in a really nice camp ground before, then spoil yourself and make reservations to visit this KOA. We'll be back next year for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Wonderful park with lakes and streams. Highway and train noise needs to be considered, but didn't spoil my trip or the natural beauty of the area. Nice location too, as it is close to Black Mountain (fun little town) and downtown Asheville. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
We have been camping here for many years, even before the current owners purchased the CG. While there are many things to do here and in the surrounding area, there are some drawbacks. The sites in section A and B are VERY close to one another. If you camp here you will hear the train horn which some say it is part of the ambiance while others think it is a distraction. A few of the staff are friendly while others are quite unpleasant. Several of the men that take you to your site are some of the grumpiest around. They NEVER smile and act like it is a burden for them to help you. My thought is that if they don't enjoy their work then they should go somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
This was our first RV outing with our new TT and our first RV park experience. We enjoyed KOA East very much. The sites were adequate and section E along the lake was beautiful and had full hookups. Cable TV was clear and stream through property was gorgeous. Pool was clean and well maintained. Playgrounds were also in good repair. Staff was courteous and helpful with direction to our site and help backing in. The back part of the park is more wooded and was mainly empty. The train noise was a non issue unless you are a very light sleeper however it may be louder in the front of the park. Ingles supermarket was 2 miles toward Asheville on same road. After touring the facilities, I would definitely recommend lake sites as best in park. Paddle boats were great fun for the kids as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This is a KOA so keep that in mind. The staff and campers were extremely friendly and helpful. My rig was to big for the site they put me on so they let me occupy two sites to accommodate me. The sites were all level with lots of shade. Lots of stuff for the whole family to do including free fishing in a private lake, putt-putt golf, bike rentals and so much more. Now this place is crowded. Enough room for the slides and awnings with room to spare but full to the brim on a weekday. We had to back the rig out through the site behind us just to leave. Tow vehicles parked how ever they wanted blocking the roads everywhere. Trying to get to the site we had only inches to spare getting through. Kids were running around every where and no supervision. There are train tracks 100 yards from the front gate and in 12 hours we heard three go by blowing their horns even at three in the morning. I will stop again if I have to but will avoid it if I can. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
The staff really try to make it a nice camping experience, but it is really difficult considering the very active train tracks right across Highway 70 from the campground. We heard train whistles at all hours of the day and night. This was entertaining for my daughter during the day but made sleeping at night difficult. We were parked near the pool. The pool is a very basic 3-4 foot deep pool with no frills but it does get the job done. They have a little kids playground that has a rock/gravel type base and a bigger kids playground that is on grass. They had a wagon ride around the pond and an ice cream social during the 4th of July weekend. The prices were very reasonable for breakfast and the ice cream social. The campsites were a little close together but the staff does help navigate you to your site and direct you as you back in. This campground is good for an overnight stay but I would not make this a destination campground. I gave this campground a 5 as it is a middle of the road type campground to stay at, that is it is not bad and it is not great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$43
Great worker-campers. Site was nice and quiet in "B" section. Pool was OK and the grounds/bath rooms were clean. Office staff was not nice. Putt-putt was out dated and in need of many repairs. They have three lakes, none of which have big rig sites. One lake is a mud hole for the tents. Main lake is for the very busy, tight, loud weekend locals. Third lake is not in use for campers. Very busy campground, "B" section seemed to be the place to stay. When you arrive in A or B section you will hear a train less than one hundred yards away. You will say to your wife, husband and kids, listen to the train/horns "that is so neat" but this same train will wake you up (laugh) every day at approximately 0300 and 0500 hours. The train runs approximately six times a day. This is not a reason to pass this campground. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Very busy campground with lots of activities for kids. Many locals come here to camp for the weekend, etc. Many sites are close and not level but the staff was very friendly and accommodating in moving us to a more suitable site. Restrooms generally clean but could be updated. Showers were clean and are both inside restroom and some with private doors to the outside. Being seniors we would prefer a quieter campground, although the nearby train didn't bother me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We thought it was nice overall, but crowded. We did come in late and thought it was tight maneuvering our 37 foot class A, the darkness didn't help. Access off I-40 was easy with well-marked signs even in darkness. Even though we only stayed overnight, we hung around the next morning, walked around and fished a little. In the light of day I could see better and although the sites are close, you can easily get in / out if you're careful. The spot we had was a back-in but the one behind was empty so they let us drive through, very helpful. Cable worked great, didn't try Wi-Fi. Trees should be trimmed overhead at entrance/exit but it's passable with no damage. The main office is the bathhouse we used; it was older but VERY clean. I saw another, newer one back by the lake. The grounds were very well kept. With the shallow stream and the pool, this is a good place for kids to play in hot weather. The stream is lined with a large grassy spots and there was more than one pretty mama sunbathing & watching the kids play. Looked very relaxing. We'll come back here - and stay longer next time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Great resort-like setup! We camped backed up to a stream. Has friendly people. Pool rules need to be strictly enforced: infants with regular diapers, teenagers with cut-offs and shorts in the water. Not very hygienic on a hot day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We stayed for an overnight here and to go to Biltmore Estate the next morning. The staff was very accommodating for us to stay a little extra the next day if needed if we ran long at Biltmore and didn't' get back in time for checkout. I booked online for a pull-through but got a back-in site. Not a big deal since we were going to unhook and go out for dinner on arrival, but it made it a little inconvenient when leaving and had to hook back up in the driveway. The sites are close together, and some other campers were letting their kids run amok amongst other camp sites. THE TRAIN came through at least 5 times overnight, blaring the horn. Wow, it was close. Very loud. I love trains, but not when they wake me up so much at night, and I have to drive the next day. Kids liked the arcade and shop. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the fishing or anything, but it looked fun. But the train: for that reason I will probably try another campground in the area next time through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
Very clean, well kept campground. The staff is professional and friendly and the sites are of adequate size. We stayed in the C section right on the larger lake and loved it. The site was literally a few feet from the water. Although you can't swim in the lake you can canoe or kayak and fish without a license. The restrooms and shower facilities were clean. The Wi-Fi reception was great from our site. This is a popular KOA and seemed to be very busy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This was a very nice campground. Everything is kept clean and well taken care off. The staff was excellent and very helpful. My kids loved tubing in the river and swimming in the pool. They caught fish in the lake every time the rod hit the water. We stayed in A28 and the site was really small. We could almost touch our neighbor from the picnic table. There is a train across the road, but I only heard it once a day. It was never late at night ever. Overall this was a great campground and we will be visiting again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
THE TRAIN!!! If you want to get a good nights sleep or any sleep at all do not stay here! Although the campground is nice and the staff is nice and the creek is nice THE TRAIN is not nice! If it wouldn't be for THE TRAIN we would give it a 9, but the sites are also very close and they pack you in there so tight getting in and out may be a challenge. If you can handle THE TRAIN and you only need 30 amp ask for a creekside site--they are just like in the pictures! 50 amp across the street from those are OK and better than the sites in the front of the office. Super nice and clean bath house and laundry. WI-FI was in and out. We stayed here to visit the Biltmore House but would not stay here again. We like to sleep and with THE TRAIN you'll get none of that! And the conductor sure likes his HORN!!!! I think he blows it knowing that he's waking everyone up at the campground and probably laughing all the way down the tracks!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Very well organized and clean park. We are led to our site and helped to get situated near utilities. They really take advantage of every inch of space. Sites are small and the neighbors are close . We needed help to get out of our spot because they jammed RVs all around us. My husband is an OTR truck driver and can get out of any situation gracefully, but this place was a challenge. Was very noisy also, with train tracks across the street and a redneck bar 100 feet from the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
The sites here are small. The motorhome next door had their picnic table right outside our slide, and their fire ring was next to our bedroom window. We had to keep our windows closed on that side to keep out the smoke and cooking smells. You will not need an alarm clock here as the train comes through at 7:20 AM every day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
A nice campground, close to attractions, the staff was great. The sites were a little too close though. The grounds were well maintained as were the utilities. Has a good pond for fishing. There is some train noise as well as road traffic. Over all, it's a nice CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
We camped here only for two nights, but could have stayed longer. We were lucky to get the river stream site. It was a beautiful site and we would stay here again in a minute. The campgrounds, laundry room and rest rooms were kept very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We met many, very nice people during our two day stay. There was a beautiful fishing lake in addition to the flowing river stream. A great place to walk our dogs and there were many beautiful trees and flowers on the property. We would camp here any time. We loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
We have camped here for years and have always enjoyed our stay. This time however someone has opened a bar right in front of A section. Woow Friday night was loud. We were on the river about 50 yards away and the music and noise until 2:00 am were pretty bad. The drunks stumbling out cursing,drinking and hollering was more than anyone would want their children to see. I could not imagine what people in the front end A section sites would here. Anyway it is not the KOA's fault but I hope they put up a privacy fence or something. And it would not be to bad with the air conditioner running. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$33
We stayed at this park for a couple of nights. It was convenient off of I-40. The park was well kept and it seemed to have plenty of things to do once the season gets going. An occasional train came through, although did not hear any during the night. Facilities were clean. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
When we arrived on Halloween, the park was busy, crowded and very tight. And, lots of fun! The trick-or-treating and decoration contest were great. (And we weren't traveling with any kids!) After the holiday the place cleared out and we practically had it to ourselves. With trees, a lake and river, it's really beautiful. Our site was level, wifi was strong and, surprisingly, the nearby highways and trains didn't really bother us at all. The location was convenient to Biltmore and Asheville. This is a very pretty area. We would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$46
Great people here to work with when making reservations as I needed a cabin also. They were very understanding. The sites are very close together and short, but the pad was fairly level. The pool area was nice. The cabin was very nice and clean, and the wireless worked good. A great location for access to sightseeing in Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This campground is very picturesque. It has its own lake where you can fish but it also has a pretty large stream running through it. To fish in the stream you need a license. If you don't have a big rig you can camp along either the lake or the stream. Very nice. Unfortunately we had a big rig but still enjoyed our site. The place is ideally located near Ashville where the Biltmore house is located. The one bad thing was that it's right near a train crossing so that train whistles woke us up several times each night starting very early in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
My family stayed here for 4th of July. We had a great site and a great time. We enjoyed walking around the lily pad pond in the mornings We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$68
It is a nice quiet campground. Set in the mountains but the site are nice and level. We stayed in a cabin. The front room had a queen and other room had 2 sets of bunk beds. There were built in shelves and a bench in each room. Front porch had a nice porch swing. CG is on shallow part of river but fishing license is required. There are 2 lakes. The larger is available for paddle boats and canoes. There is great fishing in the larger lake. The smaller lake is widely covered with lilly pads. There is a small playground, pool and store. The staff is friendly. We would love to return. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We happened to be traveling through Asheville over Mother's Day weekend when KOA was offering a buy one, get one night free. The office staff were cheerful and helpful. We made a reservation. This special attracted all the weekend campers. The place was packed--a human zoo! The campsites were so close you could smell the campfire smoke inside a closed coach from your neighbor's fire! The campground is located about 100 yards from an active railroad track and sits on US 70, a busy highway. Despite the good rate (half price) the stay was anything but pleasant! We suppose that the place might be good for a one night stopover when there are fewer people around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
Easy access. Checked in late. Site was easy to find on map after dark. Wi-Fi was very fast. Most parks have limited internet. Off season, so not much available (pool closed, etc.). They have an arcade and some bicycles. I stayed 3 nights. Reserved two on internet and decided to stay another last minute. Internet Special at the time was stay two days get third free. Oh well. We enjoyed our day trips to Asheville and Black Mountain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
Easy access and good internal roads make this campground easily maneuvered even in a big rig. Hosts lead you to site and help you get parked. Lots of amenities and fun things to do for the entire family. Wi-Fi worked well and cable TV was good. Sites are close together. Big negative is the night noise. Campground is alongside a major road, then across the road is a railroad, then across the railroad is I-40. Road noise and loud train whistles will irritate light sleepers like me. Otherwise, we enjoyed our five night stay. Probably will not stay here again because of all this night noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
Great family campground - had DJ and dancing one night, bingo another night, $1.00 ice cream sundaes two nights and they were serving very inexpensive breakfast, cheaper than we could have cooked ourselves. Creek tubing, swimming pool, miniature golf, fishing and lots of areas for the kids to ride bikes. There were at least 6 camp hosts (maybe 8) that were very helpful and friendly. The campsites, however, were small and very close together. Back in sites were not at an angle and difficult to maneuver. I'm assuming the camp hosts would help you get backed in if any trouble. Fortunately, we were in a pull through but had already booked to come back in August in a back in site on river. Concerned about getting into site as we are new to camping. We hope the camp hosts will help us get into our spot! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
The places some folks pick for a campground. Utterly amazing. It's bad enough that this CG is just a few yards from a major road, with all the traffic noise that this entails; it is also less than 100 yards from an active rail line, and trains go by once an hour or so (and always sound their horn, full blast) up until 2 am, and starting at 7 am in the morning. Other than this, the campground was reasonable, but we would never, ever come back to anyplace as noisy as this. Probably the noisiest night we've ever spent anywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2008
$34
I should say the RV park is located in a beautiful setting. They have lake, river, mountain, bridge, fishing area, and etc. However, it's been managed very poorly. It's a run down place. If they don't have KOA sign & Kabins, you would never guess it's KOA. You can totally tell the management team does not care. I've been to many older facilities but, if the management team have dignity and love of the place, you can totally tell the place is been taking care of very well. This place? Nope! Not at all. The rangers were not helpful at all. It might be different during summer time when all the trees are green and it will help them look better. However, it will be a good place for fishing, boating, and walking with your dog. They have a state park like camp ground. Endless natures. Just not managed well. If you will stay here, make sure to ask them to get you a spot across the little bridge. Sites near the office are so narrow and have no privacy. But, the sites across the bridge have more nature to enjoy with privacy. The shower was clean yet the way the drain set up in the shower was not working well. I ended up shower in a puddle.. If you are a light sleeper, you should not go there. There's a railroad so near by and I almost had an heart attack when I first heard the loudest train pass by middle of the night. It happens several times at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This was our 4th trip to this campground in the past few months. We can't get enough of it! Friendly, helpful staff! There are lots of family activities going on. Nice lake and beautiful river! This campground is always clean. The showers look newly renovated: nice ! This is a wonderful place for children. We can't wait to go back: again!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
This park is a "crampground" and was designed for pop up trailers cause all the good sites will only accommodate very small rigs. Noise from kids and the train that goes by at 4am (except Sunday) is a big concern. All spaces are very tight with no privacy or isolation from road, train, people noise. Otherwise a nice property and clean. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
Spaces are close together. Nice CG for children. Has a pool, playground, little river to "tube" in. The river wasn't very deep though. Local church group performed puppet show and ice cream social. Area attractions anywhere for 20-90 minutes away. Visited Chimney Rock and Grandfather Mtn. Must See! Probably would have given a higher rating except for the tight spaces. Neighbor sewer line nearly under your awning. Very crowded on this visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
Spaces are very, very tight. Everything else is great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground, as the sites weren't huge but they were fine for what we needed. The pool was a little cold still, but the playground and sandbox was great for my kids( 3 1/2 and 22 months) also the road was paved so my kids could ride their bikes with no issues. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Helpers a little too helpful. Sort of acted like we didn't know how to get into site, and it was a pull through. Might go back, don't know yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$36
Really enjoyed this park, Staff were real nice and helpful, Park was set up nice, Late night trains will wake you if you go tenting though. We will definitely be going back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This campground is on a busy road and a train runs almost through the campground, just on the other side of the road. The sites further back in the campground were nicer but not available in the winter. Other than the train and traffic noise the campground was not bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
The train at 4 a.m. was annoying, but we were most put off by the clerk in the camp store requiring us to purchase a pack of gum before they would cash a traveler's check. This is a service that should be provided for guests. We didn't just walk in off the street and ask them to cash it. We were paying guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
Stayed here many times and always enjoy our stay. Good fishing, friendly and accommodating staff, and access to local attractions. Sites are level and more than adequate as far as size is concerned. Lots of activities on holiday weekends.Highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$31
We loved the experience. The campground seemed to be over-staffed. Our site was level gravel. We will return. The train wasn't that bad to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$39
We stay here 2 times a month during the spring to fall. Great campground people are very helpful and friendly. Weekend activities every weekend, Keep up the good work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
Didn't get to specific which site we wanted even though we made reservations 2 months in advance. Train woke us up. Sites too close, couldn't even let out canopy. Truck was hit, manager "horsed" laugh at me when I reported it. Putt-Putt course needed to be repaired, lake full of algae, paddle boats nasty. Best spots to let children play designated as dog run!! KOA Asheville West nicer and friendler. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2006
$26
We Love This Park! Great fishing, miniature golf, swimming pool, game room with video games and billiards, ping-pong, tubing in the Swannanoa River, gently hilly terrain for fitness walking. Weekend activities, including breakfast. Sparkling clean rest rooms and laundry. Friendly staff knowledgable of area, close to Western Carolina attractions, very near to one of America's most charming towns -- Black Mountain, also close to America's funkiest and artsiest town -- beautiful Asheville. Some noise from nearby train -- can be avoided by staying in a site "across the bridge". We've gone as much as two hours out of our way to stay in this park as often as possible! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$26
This was a very good park. The staff were friendly and made sure at reservation time that they would be able to accommodate my 39' rig plus tow vehicle - I'm finding that most parks are too optimistic. The park was well maintained and attractive with the river running through it. The location was great for trips to places of interest (e.g., Chimney Rock, Biltmore Estate, etc.). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2004
$28
Sites unbelievable close together -- a giant parking lot when full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Great spot outside Asheville. Clean well kept. Only negative was 30 amps had low voltage. Breakers would pop easily. Close to highway and railroad. Great family atmosphere. Lots of activities to keep the kids busy. Sites had ample space between them. We would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com