220137 User submitted reviews online!!
Mama Gertie's Hideaway Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 99 user reviews. Phone: (828) 686-4258
CGID2114

Mama Gertie's Hideaway Campground

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   10   10   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$55
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Stayed on the upper level with a wonderful view. Sites were packed gravel, level, easily accessed with a motorhome. Upper level is open with a view of mountains. Lower levels have shade trees. CG is landscaped very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Full hookup - everything worked well. Water pressure is 45 PSI ,but adequate. Access to campground and to upper level has some steep climbs, but presented no problems to driving a motorhome. Guidance provided to site. We stayed in site #32. There are some newer sites under construction on upper level that will have an even more fantastic view with their own decks. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
Beautiful, well-maintained. Super-friendly staff. Shaded and open sites. We stayed in the highest elevation sites with fantastic view, with sites that are pull-through and very level. Paved roads. Very nice fire pits. Wi-Fi was adequate and reliable, if a bit slow. Enjoyed our stay so much we extended it. Many attractions nearby. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
This was our first stay at Mama Gertie's but thanks to other reviews on this site we choose it over others in the area. We have a 40' Big Horn 5th wheel and pulling the rig to the very top area, where our site was, is not for the faint of heart, but it was really easy. We were rewarded with a beautiful site with an astounding view! This area is new with packed gravel, very level, all full hookups, and clean. Only new trees at this time. Great staff! Slow internet, good facilities - grade them A! Look forward to going back- We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
We really enjoyed this quiet park. The park is on 3 levels; the top level is the newest and still expanding section with views of the Blue Ridge Parkway. They have done a nice job of providing landscape to help separate sites and more importantly cover the the hook-ups from each site. So when you are sitting outside of your site, you don't have to look at your neighbor's sewer hoses. The park's workers were extremely helpful as they escort everyone to their site and guide you in. Very convenient to Asheville, Black Mountain, Blue Ridge Pkwy; it's only 1/2 mile off I-40. Our Verizon mifi did not work nor did our cell phones; that might reflect our site location, not sure. We had good wifi provided by the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Price reflects 10% Good Sam Discount for full hookups (30 amps). Mama Gertie’s has everything to choose from at varying prices from tent sites with no hookups to 50 amps with a panoramic view. They even have cabins for rent. They offer free Wi-Fi, which worked well, and cable TV, which we did not use. Strong 4G Verizon signal. It’s on a steep hillside into which many of the sites are terraced which means you look out over your neighbor's roof top and not at their sewer pipe. There are also sites at the top of the hill that have grand views of the surrounding mountains. There are lots of trees giving it a park like feel. It is extremely well maintained. The bathrooms, laundry, and grounds are immaculate. The people that work there are very friendly and helpful. They will guide you to your site. Be sure you have good chocks if pulling a trailer because you don’t want it rolling away from you here. We generally avoid commercial campgrounds in preference for state and national parks but we really enjoyed our 3 day stay here. We wished we had stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
By far the most immaculately maintained park we have ever encountered. Seriously - down to the last blade of grass. Staff is wonderful, laundry & showers perfect, and upper sites have great views. Could not recommend more highly. Rate reflects monthly rate. One warning - reserve as far in advance as possible as the big-rig sites stay pretty full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
Very nice, scenic campground. Camp host led us to our site and assisted in backing into the space. This is a good thing because the roads throughout the camp are very steep. Care must be taken in navigating in and out. Despite this I would stay here again. Quiet and tranquil. Facilities were spotless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
My first stay here. Used this campground as a base camp for a weekend of geocaching and brewery hopping in Asheville. There were only 2 other campers in the park so it was very quiet. As reported in previous reviews, the bathrooms and showers were spotless. I drove up to the top sites to check them out.....still a work in progress. My site was adequate and we were able to squeeze 2 vehicles in at the front and back. Beautiful campsites but they all are a tad tight. Did not try the Wi-Fi or cable. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
We loved this park. We stayed at the new section at the top of the mountain. There are no bath facilities built yet, which is fine with us as we are self contained. The views were incredible at our site. So peaceful and quiet. It was convenient to Asheville (more than I expected). We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Very nice quiet campground. Everyone was extremely nice. It is also easy to get to from I-40 and very close to Asheville. One issue is the road leading to the campground. It is a bit hilly, but the road is extremely narrow. With traffic coming at you, it can be a bit unnerving. Also, the campground is exceptionally hilly. They do have pull thru sites along with back-in but maneuvering around again is extremely tight. I also noticed that in our site, pulling out (I had a pull-thru) the angle is a bit extreme and the jacks in the rear of the camper began to rub the ground. Overall, this is a very nice place to stay but wish they had a bit more room for the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
This campground would most certainly have been a perfect 10 except for the fact there was no cable or wifi up in the new section. This new section is superb! You have to stay here to experience it. It is way up high on a mountainside with an unbelievable view. If ever up this way again, this is where we will be! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Overall a nice campground but getting to the sites is Steep so be prepared. Sites are close together but nice. Verizon Wi-Fi and phone service are terrible. The owners are nice and helpful but it is just too much trouble getting in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
We loved this unique campground. The sites are terraced into the side of a mountain yet the sites are perfectly level. Between sites are rhododendron shrubs and ornamental grasses for privacy. We walked to the rental cabins and some of them are along a beautiful babbling creek. There is a wonderful trail next to the tent area that is surrounded by rhododendron shrubs so that it looks like a tunnel. Words cannot describe how unique and beautiful this campground is. The people who work there are adults and really care about the property and guests. It is a good base for activities in Black Mountain and Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
WOW! This campground should be the example to all campgrounds. The owners take great pride in their facility, and it shows. Spotless laundry and bathrooms. Separate showers that are very private. Each site gives the feeling that you are by yourself on the mountain side. A small, clean dog area is provided for Fido. Tent sites and cabins are tucked neatly into the woods. This is such a great place, and we consider ourselves very lucky to have found it. Wonderful place to view the fall colors! We will be back and stay much longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We really enjoyed this campground. It has sites located on the side of the mountain in tiers. They are remarkably level for the motorhome itself even though the toad was on a slope. Trees and landscaping keep privacy between sites. Good cable TV – 65+ stations. Good Wi-Fi...not password protected. The 24/7 laundry was very clean and a good price...air conditioned too. Soap and softener for sale in the laundry room, as well as a change machine. It had a large table to fold laundry. Restrooms were very clean. We didn’t use the showers, but a peek into them found them very clean too. They even provide several different dog walking areas with “bags” and barrels in case you are walking your pet and are ‘surprised’. How many campgrounds do that? Available - 30 amp & 50 amp. They are building more sites up on the mountain, which will have spectacular views. Staff are very helpful and friendly…will give you a ride up to your site if you are down doing laundry, shopping in the store, or just chilling out on the porch. We definitely would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
We stayed in one of the upper sites. The full hookup sites were large, gravel base, and almost level. Landscaping around sites was well maintained. Wi-Fi service was good for a campground. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Bathroom/showers were extremely clean. Our site was shaded and had a good view, with picnic tables and fire pits on each site. Campground is quiet except for an occasional train in the distance. Location is convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Black Mountain, and only minutes from Asheville. We enjoyed our stay and will return when staying in the Asheville area. We recommend as a place to relax or a base for touring the Asheville, NC area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$41
Beautiful, well-appointed, well-managed park. Such wonderful mountain views and its so quiet here in the middle of the forest! Laundry and bathroom facilities are clean and very nice. Great Wi-Fi, water pressure, cable, hookup locations, big sites. Love this place and will definitely return! Only downside is the scary roads coming in and out but we managed with our 36 foot fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Wonderful friendly owners and staff. Cleanest bathhouse we've seen, great laundry room, and private showers. Set in a cove with terraced sites, and very level. The outside sites are next to a meandering stream. They have cabins and tent sites also. Limited phone service with Verizon, and WiFi is available. The Hideaway is a Hidden Gem situated between Asheville and Black Mountain. Tip: if you want a delicious Breakfast, try Louise's Kitchen in Black Mountain. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This is by far our favorite campground. The staff is always friendly and the restrooms, showers and the laundry room are very clean. The area is beautiful and this campground in the mountains is the best. We hope they will have the sites up hill with a view ready when we'll camp there again. The whole campground is just very well maintained and set up. Free WiFi! Only con we can think of is that a fenced pet area would be great to let the dogs off leash. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This was an excellent campground. We stayed here for one night. It was so quiet, we felt like we were the only ones there! The hosts were very nice and helpful. It was our first time using our new trailer, and they made the experience stress free. The bathrooms and showers were absolutely spotless! We felt very comfortable here. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
It would have been perfect and we would have wanted to stay longer had it not been for a loud, inconsiderate family with two toddlers 10 ft away. The manager was apologetic, but unable to change the situation. They are also expanding, so there was quite a bit of machinery/construction noise. This however, is not the fault of location. It's just that we look for peace, quiet, and relaxation (what a concept?) when we camp. It is difficult to enjoy sitting by the fire with screaming kids in the background. Other than this: the shower was spectacular, the grounds superbly maintained, and Asheville is an incredible place to visit with outdoor activities, plenty of culture, good food, and art. I would come back again, but under some different conditions. I am new at this and my expectations were/are just a bit different than reality. You just can't please all the people all the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Real hilly. Many sites carved out of the side of the hills like you see with rice paddies in Asia. Those sites appeared to be smaller. Upper level sites (larger) are a nice climb. If you want a campground where you can walk around and meet your neighbor, forget it, this place is not for you. Almost no cell coverage in the upper area (Verizon) but campground Wi-Fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$58
Wow! Talk about a super clean facility! Nestled on a small mountainside, the sites are great, the cabin we stayed in #4, was alongside a nice little mountain creek that you could hear at night. Bring a good heater as the cabins aren't insulated and are drafty! I thought I had already seen the cleanest bathroom facilities at Fancy Gap KOA, but these were even nicer! 7 washing machines and two dryers, small store, small video game area (outdoors). It's on a steep hill, but the sites appeared to be pretty good. If they had a pool, it would be a perfect escape from the hot summer. Love it here! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
We really enjoyed out stay and the atmosphere was wonderful. It was late for leaf color, but the park was still beautiful to Texas folk. Only drawback was lack of place to put clothing in showers, so plan ahead with at least a hangar or something. Laundry was nice and clean. Wi-Fi worked in our trailer half way back in slot #15. RV supply/service across interstate as well as large grocery store and eating joints. Don't pass this up! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
We've just finished a week's stay at Mama Gertie's. It is a very nice CG and we highly recommend it. The bathrooms are some of the cleanest around. This is our second time here and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Very clean well-kept campground. Built on a small mountain, but sites are attractively terraced and level. They have built rock walls to terrace the sites, and it is most attractive. Folks were friendly and we had a most enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
Been coming here for years before anyone found out about it. One of my favorite campgrounds. Bathrooms are spotless, laundry area very clean. Nice RV store and office staff are very nice. Doesn't get any better than this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Stayed here five nights over the 4th of July weekend and enjoyed every day. This was my first trip to the mountains in my RV and I was somewhat apprehensive after reading reviews regarding the steep hills. I worried needlessly. Yes, the road to the campground is somewhat steep and the park roads are hilly, but I maneuvered with no problems. Care must be taken turning into the park, since the entrance is located in a very sharp curve and it is difficult to see any on-coming vehicles. Having a spotter get out to check traffic helps. I stayed on a pull-through lot that was tiered. I could only see the adjacent RV's roof. It was a level gravel lot with several small trees that afforded privacy. I could not believe how quiet this campground was in the evenings. As much as I enjoyed my daily excursions to the surrounding area, I looked forward to returning to the park in the evening just to sit outside and enjoy the quiet. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is the first park I have been to where they actually wipe down the electrical boxes and water pipes when cleaning up a lot after someone leaves. They also turn the picnic tables upside down and clean under them. As mentioned in another review, just make sure you arrive before 6 p.m. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
This park is beautiful. The owners keep it perfect and they were very friendly and helpful. They make sure to escort everyone to their sites. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it is on such a steep hill. The sites are level but the roads are so steep that it's very hard to walk around the park. We were at a site at the top of the hill and the walk down to the office was fine but on the way back up you had to stop and catch your breath at halfway up. But as a testament to the thoughtfulness of the owners, they have a nice bench swing right where you need it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
A beautifully kept campground on a hillside that makes for a really neat setting. Very friendly, attentive staff, and excellent, clean facilities. I read about the hill climb. Piece of cake. You are guided into your level site. Plenty of room between your neighbors. The trees surround you in silence. We are spoiled to have stayed here early in our RVing adventure. The bar is raised high. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
Beautiful campground location on mountain side. Nerve wracking hills and curves getting the rig into a campsite. Don't show up after 6pm as the office closes and because of curves, hills and narrow roads no late self check in allowed. You will have to stay in parking lot overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
One of the cleanest and well-maintained RV parks that I've stayed in. I would highly recommend this park. The only caution is that the RV sites are on the side of a hill and may be a bit challenging for some operators to negotiate. The sites themselves are level and surfaced with gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This was a beautiful park. We needed a campground close to Warren Wilson College where our nephew attends. It was 3 miles away. It's about 3/4 miles off I-40, but was very quiet. There are a lot of hills in the park, but once my husband finished freaking out about climbing the hill to our site, we settled down and enjoyed the view. The young man who registered us escorted us to our back-in site and was excellent at directing us into the site. My husband was very impressed. We would definitely return here. We received a 10% Good Sam discount. They also accept AAA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we've ever stayed in. Definitely the cleanest, newest restrooms we've ever come across: absolutely spotless. Everything about the place is very well maintained and new. There are no real kids activities, thus no (or very few) children, so it's really quiet and peaceful. The roads around the campground area are indeed steep, as others have noted, but workable. And note: the "stream" that some sites back up to is no more than a tiny trickle. Nonetheless, those sites have a little more privacy than some. The campground is well located right off the highway (though far enough that you don't hear highway noise at all), and near the wonderful town of Asheville. Overall, I loved this campground and hope to return again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Very nice park located 7 miles east of Asheville. Clean, level gravel sites. Access road and paved roads in campground are steep but manageable. One half mile from the interstate but zero road noise. Has a gated entrance. Has very good water pressure and quality. At site WiFi was both quick and reliable. Escort to site assists with positioning your rig. We will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Went to Mama Gertie's based on good reviews. Was not disappointed! As someone else said, steep climb west on I-40 to get here, but the campground is right off the interstate. Quiet and peaceful, centrally located to attractions in the area. Campground is spotless, workers in the office also stay in camp and are friendly and helpful. Office has many brochures, tourist information. They also sell discount tickets to Biltmore ($52 for a 2 day pass vs. gate price of $60 for 1 day). A grocery store, and gas station are within a 3 minute drive. Our cell phones worked well, cable TV had lots of channels and WiFi always worked great. If you want a larger site with grass, ask for one on the upper level (sites 22-26). Great place, give it a try! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is a very nice campgrounds and owners are very friendly. Wi-Fi worked great all over campgrounds and cable TV had many channels to pick from. Hope to go back one of these days and check out their new level they are constructing. The view of the valley and mountain range in the background was beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This is the steepest CG we have stayed at in 5 years of full timing. It's a climb up from the Interstate, and more inside the CG. The only level space is in your site, not conducive to walking or riding. The roads are paved and gravel sites with shade and a table. Cable TV and Verizon air card worked OK. Friendly staff, escorted to your site. I marked it down only for the steepness of the roads, which comes with it's location in a canyon. They honor Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We read the reviews on this park and decided to visit it for a week. We were NOT DISAPPOINTED! What a gem hidden on the mountainside only a short distance from I-40. There are some steep hills in the park, but they are short and easily negotiated. After checking in a host, led us up to our site at the uppermost level of the park. We had no problem backing into our site, which was quite spacious. What a view looking down on the lower levels and mountains in the background. Our site had full hookups, 50 amp service, and many channels on the cable. We had good satellite reception but limited cell phone reception. Our neighbors, in a 40 foot Winny, had been here for a month and loved it. This park is not conducive to bike riding due to steep hills, but provided good walking exercise. There is a separate area for tenters, and another area for cabin rentals. The owner has started clearing an area for more RV sites at an even higher elevation in the park and what breathtaking views! We will return to this park and stay perhaps longer especially if and when the new sites are complete. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is a great campground while visiting Asheville. In 20 years of camping we have never seen cleaner bathrooms. The campground is clean, clean, clean. Not much for children, but a great campground for adults. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Even had a bear cub run through the campground. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
Our favorite place to "get away" to! The grounds are well maintained, the staff very helpful and friendly! Beautiful views from the sites on "top" and beautiful "music" if you are camping on the stream. Camp store is well stocked with lots of supplies! Lots to do in the area - Asheville, Black Mtn and Montreat College are just wonderful to visit. Supermarkets are close by and so restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
Excellent place to spend a few days while touring Asheville. Site are large and level. Great cable channel lineup, excellent Wi-Fi signal, and very helpful staff. All hookups are conveniently located. Very nice setting on the side of a mountain. Many comments about the steep hills. Don't worry about it. You are in the mountains and the staff will provide an escort to your site. Our 40 ft. class A navigated through the park with ease. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$48
Well this campground is easy to get to off I-40 the roads to the sites were steep but had no problem pulling a 32 footer to the very top sites they have great cable and Wi-Fi full hook ups located in good spots Staff was great they help you to your site help you back in chit chat for while and leave you to do what you want. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
Yes, there is a steep hill to go up to get here, but don't let that scare you away. It was a very pleasant campground. Our site was a nice and wide pull through that required no leveling. There was some shade at almost every site. All sites had a fire ring. Check-in was quick and easy, and we found the staff to be very friendly. The view and peace and quiet are worth it. Cleanest bathrooms you'll find. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
Yes, this campground is steep. However, it is an excellent location for exploring Asheville and the surrounding area. Sites are terraced and mostly level - some pull-thrus were lower on the ends. I was in a perfectly level back-in site. Personnel were very friendly and helpful. All sites have trees so my XM radio wouldn't work. Some sites are tricky to get into if you have a large RV. Tent sites and camping cabins are in a separate section where you feel like you backpacking in the woods. They are building a new section up the hill that will have great views. Don't plan on it for a year or two. Limited activities for children. Most campers seemed to be older. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
I rented a cabin for three nights here and it was an awesome experience! This is a very secure campground with a gated entrance. The staff was incredible. The facilities were so spotless I felt guilty tracking in mud, as it rained a lot during my stay. I was so amazed at the spotlessness of the cabin and bathrooms I actually looked for dirt and found none! Not even on the ceiling fan in the cabin. As for the former reviewers who complained about the steepness of the roads: it's located on the side of a mountain. What did you expect? We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We have stayed here twice and this is the place to stay in the Asheville area. Complete with an exercise room and pool table, the cleanest bathrooms you'll find, and beautiful wooded sites. The staff is very helpful and guide you to your site and assist as you park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
Enjoyed a great four nights here as a base for our vacation in the Asheville area. Very short drive to Asheville attractions, and a reasonable trip to Chimney Rock, Mount Mitchell and Pisgah Forest. Tent sites were nicely spaced and and varying elevations, providing plenty of privacy. Showers and bathrooms were immaculate. We were most impressed. After a drenching downpour, the laundry facilities were most appreciated. Very helpful hosts, and great location just off of 1-40. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Beautiful campground! Very peaceful. Though the comments about the steep roads are true, I made it all the way up to the top sites pulling a 38 foot, 14,000 lb fifth wheel with no problem. The view and peace and quiet are worth it. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nicely equipped for a small campground - game room, fitness room, laundry, book and movie checkout, horsheshoe pits, and only minutes from most of the sights near Asheville. A pool would be nice, but not sure where they could carve it into the mountain! Families with small kids that need pools and playgrounds may not rate this park quite as high. One note - not a lot of sites are suitable for big rigs. Some of the pull-thru sites could handle a 40' Class A, but 36' and above 5ers might have some issues parking their truck on site -and it's a steep hill down to the parking near the office. Choose your site carefully! No issues with trees or overhangs for big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
We just spent three nights at Mama Gerties's campground and we really enjoyed our stay.The bathroom and shower stalls were spotless, and the camp hosts were really nice. The location was perfect since it was near Black Mountain, Asheville, and the Blue Ridge Parkway entrance. As others have reviewed, the paved roads are steep but it was not a problem with our popup camper. We stayed in the shady back-in sites next to the little creek where they usually put popup campers. The sites were pretty close, but the elevation differences between the sites does give you a nice feeling of more privacy. They could use more bathrooms in their upper bath house, which is the only reason I did not give this campground a 10 rating. There are only two, which could be an issue if there were lots of tent campers. My wife and I highly recommend Mama Gertie's for a nice quiet long weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
This campground was clean and well run. The people in the office are very friendly. The sites are close together in the lower part of the park but because of the way they are angled, it doesn't seem so bad. We stayed in the very back up on the hill. It was a little steep getting up there but we made it fine. Those are the best sites in my opinion because they are more spacious, and the view is nice. Definitely not a park for bike riding--too steep. Only saw a couple of children there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
Nice park with a large asterisk. The location is quiet and away from traffic, etc. It was so because it was on the side of a hill. It's the steepest RV park I've ever seen. Nice management directed us to our site with their golf cart -- and I can see why. The driveways were horribly steep and flat out scary. I could feel the weight of the RV bear down on the front wheels and suspension as I nearly scraped the nose coming down the driveway. Once in the site, everything was fine. Good hookups, 50 amp, friendly staff, nice trees. Just don't be afraid to take your rig on some steep hills. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$46
We loved this campground. This is our second year here for our anniversary. We love it, as it is quiet and great for relaxing. That said, there are not many activities, but it is quite close to Asheville for things you may want to do. And although all the roads are pretty steep, it is one of the easiest mountain campgrounds to get to. We already made reservation for next year. Reservations are recommended, especially during the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
Mama Gerties campground is a very nice place. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful. The roads in the campground are rather steep, definitely not made for riding bikes. We were escorted to our site which for the most part was pretty level, just needed to raise the right side of the trailer a little bit. I agree with the other reviews in regards to the bathhouse; clean, spacious showers and bathrooms. It appears they are planning on adding more sites even higher up on the mountain. We were able to walk up there and it is quite a hike on foot but the view is unbelievable. We will definitely come back and hope at that time the future sites will be open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
I agree with all of the prior reviews. This is our first time at this CG but it definitely won't be our last. We stayed a week and it was perfect for visiting family in the Asheville area. It is a CG with steep roads but it's worth it. In addition, they are adding more camp sites even higher. I can't wait to see them when they're finished. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$39
The only thing I can take off for is the steepness of the approach road and the road to our campground. Both are very to extremely steep. Now we made it up the hills no problem, it is just a little spooky until you do it. Also, we were in a 37' RV towing a Jeep and had no issue making any of the turns. Besides that, the sites were great and the view awesome! Fantastic help from the people working there too. They helped me back into our site and were very friendly and helpful. We'll stay there again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This is an excellent park. The people went out of their way to help. It is on a steep hillside but the sites are more level than most parks built on flat ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
I find it difficult to give a campground a 10, because there's always something that can be improved. However, if this campground had a pool, I'd give it a 10+. We camped here for six nights and it was delightful. The people were very nice and helpful; the site was level and shady. The bathrooms and showers were immaculate and seemed to be cleaned more than once a day! It's a small campground, which is very pleasant. The campground is just east of Asheville and convenient to downtown and points East. I would definitely stay here again if in the Asheville area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$29
This was our second visit to this campground. The workers are very pleasant and helpful. Everything is super clean. We love this campground and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Beautiful mountain side campground. Only minutes away from the Biltmore and Asheville. Very accommodating staff. Very clean bath houses. Steep grade uphill so be sure you are properly rigged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
We have stayed here twice in the last 18 months. While on a mountain, the sites are pretty level and beautifully landscaped. The owners are very helpful and friendly and the campground is beautiful and very clean. For us, traveling without children, it is pretty close to perfect. No noise, pets are welcome, people are friendly, close to Asheville and super clean without being antiseptic. Lots of vegetation. There is not a bad site in this small campground. Try it while in Asheville!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
Not a bad campground. However, it felt very creepy here. The park is on a side of a hill which was very scary during our entire stay. It was scary pulling in and pulling out. It was scary trying to level. It was scary every time we went outside. Plus, the owners and workers, while very nice, they just seemed creepy. Place was very clean and well taken care of – just creepy. Bad – site are very close to each other and not very long – hard to park both fifth wheel and pull vehicle. Probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$33
If you plan to be in the Asheville area then you need to consider this campground. It's convenient to I-40 and Asheville. The Baltimore Estate is about 20 minutes away. Easy access to the Blue Ridge Parkway and downtown Asheville. The grounds are nicely landscaped and extremely clean. Sites are close together but pull throughs are angled so that you feel you have privacy and space. Sites are level. Nice cabin and tent area away from the RVs. All facilities are very well kept. Great owners - great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
There are so many positives to list about this campground, most of which have been mentioned in previous reviews. It is beautiful, quiet, and spotlessly clean (grounds and facilities). I won't elaborate because previous reviewers have covered those areas quite thoroughly. Security is excellent. One reviewer said that the gate would not open after 8:00 PM, but that was not the case while we were there. For such a small campground (only 26 sites) it is very professionally run. Extremely friendly and helpful personnel. The pull-through sites are on the small side and close to one another, but because of the way they are terraced into the side of the mountain, there appears to be a good amount of privacy. We were on site 26, one of the five back-in sites up on a ridge above the rest of the campground. To me, it was the second most desireable site in the park. Site 22 would have been my first choice. They are in the process of expanding the campground even farther up the side of the mountain, and those sites will have some awesome views. If you are going to camp here in a tent, I recommend site T-4. It feels like you're in a big treehouse. The town of Black Mountain is only 10 minutes away, and you've just got to pay it a visit. We went there two days in a row. I do agree with previous reviewers that this isn't a good choice for campers with children. There is no pool or playground, plus the campground is so steep that children can't really ride their bikes. We were there 4 days and only saw one child, about 3 or 4 years old, with her grandparents. When we bring our grandchildren with us, we obviously want a child-friendly campground. But when we don't have children with us, we actually appreciate a campground like this that appears to cater more to an adult clientele. The only negative I have to voice about this campground is the scary entrance that others have mentioned. The left turn into the facility is on a blind curve. If they would clear out some tree limbs, a driver would be able to look through the trees to see if there was any oncoming traffic. Or perhaps they could convince the city to make the intersection into a three-way stop. That being said, we never saw any traffic coming from that direction, so maybe it is such a rarely traveled road that it is a moot point. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
This was a lovely mountainside park. It appears to be fairly new and is very well maintained. Restrooms, laundry, etc. are spotless. Showers are in individual rooms. Sites are shaded and nicely leveled. We were fortunate enough to be close to the main building, which housed the restrooms. It was a steep climb to the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
This is the first campground to which I have given a 10. The bathrooms are spotless, the campsites are clean, and the sites are level. It was full, so I would suggest reservations. It is built on a mountainside but the sites are terraced in very well. This is not a remote secluded campground but there is plenty of privacy in my opinion. Great for a base of operations for touring the area. I will return and tell my friends. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
This park is beautiful. It is truly a mountain RV resort. It has been constructed into the side of a mountain. The sites are large, well maintained and LEVEL. Make reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
We had a wonderful 3-night visit to this campground as we toured the local area. Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, Mt. Mitchell and some Geocaching. We had site 21 which is a back-in site but perfect for our travel trailer. The place is hilly but beautiful. This has to be one of the cleanest campgrounds we have stayed at. The bathrooms and showers rated 9.8. The water pressure out of the shower head was low because of water restrictors. This is a very pet friendly place. The Wifi worked poorly, even at the office. We would go back again, for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$24
Gorgeous, spotless, peaceful, private, convenient, friendly, shady. This is an excellent campground set into the side of a mountain. Access is steep, it's a mountain! The roads are paved, and the sites are handsomely terraced and landscaped. This is the first time I've walked into a bathhouse and felt guilty I didn't wipe my feet, since the floors, and everything else, were immaculate. Our site had no sewer hookups, though it did have cable and fast Wi-Fi, (5M down for free), for only $24 a night on the week of July 4th. Very dog-friendly too, with waste-bag dispensers throughout and even a few grassy pads with waste-scoopers provided! We will be back here everytime we venture into western NC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This campground is definitely not in the middle of nowhere, as previously indicated. Maybe the quietness of it makes it just seem like it. In fact, it's less than a mile off I-40 and not more than 10 minutes from downtown Asheville. It is even closer to the unique shops and restaurants in the town of Black Mountain. Yes, it is steep, which is why we call this area "the mountains." I can't imagine what else you could expect. This was our first visit here, though we camp around the Asheville area frequently. We were so impressed by this campground that we are certain it will be our base of operations for all future visits. The gated security system is excellent. The laundry facilities were top-notch, with four washers and five dryers, all in like-new shape. The landscaping and maintenance of the campsites was very impressive, and the tiered sites provide good privacy. The only criticism we can think of is the very dangerous left turn that has to be made to enter the campground. The worst we've ever seen. Perhaps a convex mirror there would help. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
A very nice campground that is VERY high in the air. Never thought I would see 8% grades east of the mississippi. Overall and excellent park with nice attention to detail. The drop in elevation from top to bottom is probably 200', so you aren't going to do a lot of walking. Out in the middle of nowhere, so you have to be content with the sound of nature. A very nicely done park, only needs a hot-tub and better wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
Mama Gertie's is a terrific campground as long as you remember a few things. First the positives: absolutely spotless bathrooms and showers; separate shower rooms with a full. lockable door; clean, pleasant, sites; free Wifi; spotless laundry room with excellent washers and dryers; convenient reading room with dial-up modem line plus a free phone for making 1-800 calls. The owners are on-site and obviously know what campers need. Now the things to be aware of. The following are inherent features of the facility: access road is narrow and all uphill; the final entry to the campground requires faith (it is on a blind curve); the entire campground is on the side of a hill, with the facilities at the bottom (the owners will give you a lift in their cart, if needed); watch out for the gravel as you walk up & down the hill (it is easy to slip); there is little for small children to do. On this visit (only), the young man at the desk put us in a back-in site when pull-throughs were available. I normally don't mind this, but the site required backing up a fairly steep gravel hill. I haven't made that much gravel fly since I was a teenager (500 years ago). Finally, this campground does not appear to have a late check-in option. The security bar cannot be opened once the office is shut (usually about 8:00pm). If you are running late, you better check. We camped in a B+ (small motorhome). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Less than a mile off I-40, this beautiful little campground is very secluded and quiet. Nestled at the base of a mountain on sloping terrain, each site is level and sits on its own terrace with an attractive retaining wall made from natural stone. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring and is nicely landscaped with trees, rhododendron bushes, and other shrubs and a fresh layer of gravel. Most sites are pull-thru and the back-in sites are angled for easy access. The interior roads are paved. The modern showers, bathrooms and laundry were spotless. Each shower is an individual room with a lockable door for maximum privacy. Free Wi-Fi throughout the campground and a modem room for dial-up connections. A large selection of cable TV channels are available at each site. My site was not long enough to park my tow vehicle but an overflow parking space was located on the other side of the street. Except for 2 video games and 2 pinball machines, there is not much to entertain children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Beautifully landscaped campground. Extremely friendly staff. Restrooms and showers were the cleanest we had ever seen. IT was so quiet here I was amazed. This campground is a superb base for seeing Asheville. There are no activities for kids, so keep that in mind if you have children. There is a blind curve as you enter campground, so be careful crossing over. The only reason I give it a 9 is for the lack of activities for kids, and the blind curve entering park. I would stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
This has been by far the nices C.G. we have been to. I would recommend this place to anyone. Its in a perfect location too. Right between Black Mountain and Asheville. Chimney Rock and Mount Mitchell are close by also. Other C.G. owners should go here to see how it is done. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Wonderful park. Very quiet! Less than 1 mile away from I-40. Staff very helpful and friendly. Showers, bathrooms and laundry are spotless! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$40
What a beautiful campground! This was our home base for our first visit to Biltmore, and we could not have been more pleased. It's very convenient to the highway, easy to find and the views are magnificent. The whole place is clean as a pin, and the bathrooms and showers don't look like anyone has ever used them, they are spotless! This park gets a perfect 10 from us and we look forward to returning! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$31
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Park is located a 1/2 mile off I-40 on a steep winding road. The setting is gorgeous as it is a mountain setting. Park is immaculate-both landscaping and cleanliness. Trees are well trimmed, but roads are paved, tight, narrow and steep. Longer rigs than ours could have difficulty. Sites are terraced into a hillside. Ours and others had steep hill to leave which was worrisome for dragging rear. We looked out over the roof of the coach next to us. Sites are gravel, but not long enough to keep towed car hooked up. Utilities are modern & well placed. For a get away and relaxing time, this is the spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$27
Very nice campground. Sites were small but situated so that you were not looking in the window of the next door camper. Staff was helpful and friendly. If you take kids make sure you take them something to play with. Overall good experience. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
This campground was so clean! The bathrooms were sparkling! The morning we were there we saw the man in charge cleaning a picnic table; even the underside of the table! Unbelievable! The staff was very pleasant. The campground was very hilly and our site was on a stream. The sites were small but the unique setting made the smallness tolerable. The campground is in the process of being enlarged. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
We went here for a quiet weekend of rest and relaxation. This campground is perfect for that. It's well run, nicely landscaped,very well maintained, and the staff was great. The restrooms and showers were immaculate. This is a great place for adults, but there's not much for kids to do on site. It is, however, very well located as a base while seeing all the sites around Asheville. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Great overnight campground, easy off and on I 40, nice friendly campground host. The sites were small but fine for over night, not really a destination campground. They are adding more campsites and if it hadn't been raining there would probably been road equipment noises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Beautiful little mountainous campground with very level sites. My wife, 2 yellow labs,and myself arrived on July 1,2006 for a one night stay. This was our first visit and we loved it. We met two very nice couples who were across from us. We got lucky and got the last site available, #19. We look forward to our return trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This campground is immaculate and landscaped beautifully. It's close to Asheville and Chimney Rock. The staff were pleasant and helpful. What did not appeal to me was the closeness of the sites--we didn't feel like hanging outside, you could hear conversations in your camper, and I had to keep the blinds closed for privacy--people were too close. As a sightseeing base,great, but to relax at the campsite, didn't work for us.Site #13. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$31
Very steep roads into and in the park. The owner's house is in the campground. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$24
Wonderful views from terraced sites. Sparkling clean. I can only imagine how pretty it is in the spring, summer and fall. All sites recently graded and leveled. Only negative: The severe slope of the property makes it hard to navigate, both by vehicle and on foot. Add snow and its a training hill for Bode Miller. We would surely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$29
This park is one of the prettiest we have been to. We stayed here for 2 weeks in a 40 foot coach and had no trouble getting in or out. The only downfall is the steepness of the roads for walking purposes, but the overall condition of the park, the immaculate bathrooms, the nice computer room with modems and the helpfulness of the staff make you forget it's steep and lets you instead focus on the beauty that steepness allows you to see. You can drive down to the office, bathrooms and laundry. If you walk down, the staff will even drive you back up if you don't want to walk. We will definitely come back here on our next trip to the Asheville area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
Least expensive park in the area. Great park for a long stay. Very clean sites and facilities. Easy to get to Black Mtn, Asheville and Lake Lure. Steep gradient for walking but it keeps the crowd on young side (for rv'ers anyway). Stayed here 4 different times in '05 and they are very consistant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$25
This is a great campground convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Ridgecrest Conference Center, and The Cove. As others have said, the approach to the campground is steep and the individual sites are terraced into the mountainside. Although the sites are fairly narrow and short, my 26ft TT and pickup truck fit well and there were many motorhomes in the campground. Most of the sites were very level and most folks did not need leveling blocks. The bathrooms were spotlessly clean and very new looking. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. This is the best of the campgrounds in the area, and we will be happy to stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
Hilly entrance and spaces which we like. Great location to access Asheville area. Sites are small but we like the area and the terrain. Very friendly help. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$21
It's true, the road inside the park is a bit steep and the road leading to it from I-40 is narrow but we had no problem with either. We loved this park, someone went to a lot of trouble to carve these sites out of the mountainside and then terrace and landscape them so that they are level, roomy enough (although they can't be called spacious) and still natural. We had back-in site #19 which was more than large enough for our 30 ft class A. The laundry, bathrooms and showers are spotlessly clean, absolutely meticulous and we really like the private showers. The staff we worked with at check in was friendly and capable, they lead you to your site and help you back-in if you need or want it. Our nightly rate reflects the weekly rate (buy 6 nights and get the 7th free). It's a bargain for a nice site, sparkling clean showers, cable TV, free Wi-Fi and close proximity to all of the attractions of Asheville. We would stay definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Camped here in a 32 class A motorhome in Site #12. This was a great site. You can hear the running water from the multiple streams from almost all the campsites. Tent sites T4 and T5 looked great. Restrooms and showers are very clean. The campground is on the side of a mountain, so hills are steep, but it is very beautiful here and very well kept. I will definitely go back. Not a great place for kids because of limited space, but a great place for adults to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
It's a wonderful place about 15 minutes from Asheville and the Biltmore Estate, as well as Black Mountain and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The campsite is beautiful, has great views, gorgeous woodlands, a real waterfall and rushing mountain streams, is immaculate, and the owners are friendly, hospitable and helpful. The campsites are quite level, especially for being located on a mountain, and all are equiped with the same water, dump, cable and electrical hookups. The showers, bath and laundry room are spotless. Staying there contributed to our realization that we did not plan enough time for that beautiful area of this great country of ours. We will go back, and I will not even consider another site in the area. I would rate it a 12 out of 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$24
I'm surprised at the earlier comments. This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed in. Most sites are large and separated from each other. Lots of shade with a nice stream down one side of the park. Staff led us to our campsite and helped us to back in. Crushed granite sites were extremely level - entire park was manicured. About 1/2 mile from interstate so was very quiet at night. Roads thru the campground were all paved and we had no trouble pulling our 30' trailer to the highest point in the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Located on a side of a mountain. Difficult approach to sites. All activities are located at the bottom of the hill. Did not appear to have alot to do for families. Very clean and well maintained, just not alot to offer except a place to sleep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is a great campground that is small and family run. It is very clean and the sites are shaded and they are upgrading the park with sites on the top of the mountain with great views. The owners are very helpful and the site are a nice size for about half of them the other half are a little narrow but still room for slides. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Stayed here 1 night and that was enough. Sites are well maintained but you need to be a mountain goat to get to them. Our motorhome is 34ft and it was tight. Staff was not very friendly either. I would not recommend this park at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$20
A small family run campground that was very neat and tidy. The spaces were on the small side put well maintained. The modem facilities were outstanding and the restrooms and shower facilities were a definite 10. It is a very hilly and terraced campground that is convenient to I-40 but without the road noise. Very quiet. Located on the east side of Ashville. A very good value for the money. Our rating of 6 is due primarily to the small site sizes. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$20
This park is O.K. for small RV's. The roads and sites are small. Trees are a problem on some sites. You will need a lot of HP to pull the hills that take you into park and hill in park. Road into park had room for one large motorhome and little else. The good part, park is very quiet at night. You have large hills around park on three sides. Staff was nice. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com