223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Vanderpool Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (828) 297-3486
CGID2120

Vanderpool Campground

Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   10   8   4   5   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$18
Price reflects one month and one week stay. Electric was extra at 12 cents a KWH for the month. Was not added to amount. Front office/store needs a good cleaning, inside and out. Gravel/grass sites and gravel interior roads. Some nice shade trees, but some need to be cut back. Some sites have a paved patio, others, like ours, a wood deck. Which was too high for our RV's steps. Had to park and step out onto the grass. Sewer connection only two and three fourths inch wide. Had to buy a connection to fit so I could hook up our sewer hose. Wi-Fi worked great. When we made the reservations they said they had Cable TV, but when we got there the owner had canceled it because the cable company was hard to work with. Was able to get four channels on the antenna. FOX and three channels of PBS. Some road noise during the day, mostly quiet at night, even on Labor Day weekend. Able to sleep with windows open except when people had campfires. Pretty much easy in and out with a HDT and trailer (60 ft. combo) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is an old outdated and rundown campground. The restrooms are passable. It is not worth the price and the nearby town of Boone is not tourist friendly. We would not return to this campground or Boone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
This was a very quiet campground and can handle 40' rigs OK. The sites are flat, not necessarily level. I could level, but had to lift the tire off the ground on one side as did a couple of others there. The owner is very nice and friendly. There is more work than she can handle and she is a little behind on cleaning up flowers and things. There are mountains around and beautiful to look at except for the large electrical substation right in front of the entrance. It is very visible from many of the sites. We did enjoy our stay and the Boone area is very accessible from the campground. There is a lot to do and see in the area and restaurants are great. We stayed 3 weeks and will likely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Rate reflects weekly rate. This is a wonderful campground that is very close to everything. Some of the previous reviews had me wondering if it was too much of a "trailer park" with too many permanent rigs, but we gave it a try and now feel compelled to report that the situation is very different from what it may have been in the past. There were only 6 rigs in the entire campground when we pulled in, and it appears as if 4 of them are visitors who leave their rigs here but only visit occasionally. We've been here 12 days now and aside from the owner, have only seen one person, who is very quiet and appears to be the groundskeeper. Everything is very tidy and clean. The owner is setting up beautiful displays of spring flower beds and the entire setting reminds me of the family-run campgrounds we visited in the south of France. Another pleasant surprise is that it's actually closer to Boone than some of the campgrounds that have a Boone address! Six miles to the famous Mast General Store in the historic section. The setting is also gorgeous, with a little stream on the property and a lovely field across the road with stunning Black Angus cows grazing. Whenever we are in this area, this is the ONLY place we will stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$32
This was my first time at Vanderpool Campground. The manager/operator was very helpful. There were 14 travel trailers, fifth wheels, and one motor home all of which appeared to be long term. Some of these had the usual accumulation of extra stuff outside. All sites were full hookup, 20, 30, 50, water, sewer, cable and pretty level. Gravel sites some with concrete pads and some wooden decks. I was on site 8 and was able to use my Direct TV dish. There was a laundry and bath house also. I will return and use this campground in the future as it is open year round. Overall a great little campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
We have stayed here several times over the past few years. I have noticed that the campground had gone down a little over the past couple of years. There seems to be more permanent and older campers on site than in the past. However, we would use it again. The lady that runs it has always been very nice. Wi-fi is great and there are some spaces that I have been able to get a signal on my dish. Most of the sights are fairly level. It is the only campground in the area that is open year round. It is not the best we have stayed in, but it is not bad for a few days. Shower rooms could use improvement. I was told on our last stay that the rates had gone up from last year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Older park with many long term residents. Narrow pull through with raised deck made parking and leaving very difficult. Office lady was very nice. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
What a surprising little campground. As noted by others, there are long term residents but they are all nice as long as you don't mind looking at their older rigs. Beautiful grassy areas with pull-through spaces; ours had a wood patio that lined up perfectly with the stairs. Owners and managers were super polite and accommodating. WiFi is blazingly fast at 5mb steady. There is a family of ducks that live around the rigs and demand offerings of food when they waddle by; very funny. Park is 1 mile from the entrance to route 194 which is an incredible bike ride or drive through Appalachian farms and valleys. Only word of caution relates to the state of NC; they are hurting for cash and have increased law enforcement to build a ticket-able base. We were stopped one block from the park by Sheriffs running a "driver license" check-point; they were polite but it was obvious that had our eggs not been in a row we were going to be cited for something. We will definitely return to this park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Nice little campground convenient to Boone. It was about 20 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway entrance at Blowing Rock and there were a couple of nice golf courses in the area. The park was quiet. A list of rules was given at check-in including no alcohol, no cussing, pick up after pets, etc. The place was clean and well maintained. We saw no problems with the water quality, though we do double-filter. The site was was easy to pull into and roomy. We had to put a couple layers of leveler blocks on one side. As a result, the owner noticed our bottom step was high off the ground and brought over a couple of cinder blocks for use to use. The only negative I could see was, because of the long term residents, there were many vehicles parked along the road in front of our pull-through and we backed out because it would have been too tight to pull forward. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Nice park. Lots of snowbirds. Close to Boone and other attractions in the area. Very friendly owners. Will be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Loved this park. Only reason it was not rated a 10 was because of not having a pool. Otherwise, it is a great place to just get away. Lots of trees and even though it is just off Hwy 421, it is amazingly quiet. Being right off 421 makes it extremely convenient for traveling. Owners live in park and are friendly and accommodating. Lots of things to do in this area. This park is just outside of Boone, so anything you want to do is within 10-20 miles or so. Will definitely be coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$24
While definitely not an RV Resort this is an excellent campground as a home base for visiting the local attractions. Everything worked fine including the WiFi. The water should be run for a moment before hooking to your rig as it first had a bit of silt - a filter is advisable. The owners live on-site and work hard to maintain a clean and family oriented campground. We will be back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
The good include, good access for large rv's, fairly convenient location to Boone, shopping, pretty scenery surrounding the park, friendly owners and clean facility. Reasonable rate and free night with week stay, owners let us run our dog off leash in adjacent open area. The bad include, road noise woke us up on weekdays, the water was smelly and brown (could be temporary problem) and lawn mowing was constant. All in all, a good spot and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
We have stayed here several times. It is a small, clean campground. Quiet (except for road traffic). It is a place to stay if you are just looking for a place to setup. Once you are back from your day on the town, have your own entertainment. No pool, horseshoes or any little extras like that. Overgrown small creek to wade in. No ice or wood on site. For what it is, just a place to set up, camp it is very nice. If you are looking for more, keep going. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Strange little park. Owners had sold and were done at end of the month, but they were very friendly and tried to be helpful. Only one of the two showers in ladies bathroom was working. We stayed a week and were able to get a little break on the price, which was nice. Park is advertised as Passport America park, but it isn't. Perhaps the new owners will enroll again. Other residents there were friendly. We liked it, and if in that area again, would definitely stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
We stayed here for 1 month. The price was fair. We had a nice level site with a paved patio. The laundry facilities were clean and nicer than others we have seen. This is not a campground I would recommend for families with children though. There is no playground or any activities on site. We also were told by management we had to dispose of our trash ourselves somewhere offsite. There was some type of dispute between the owners and management and we were told not to go to the office for anything. We went to another campground in town after the month was up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Most spaces are wide enough. Grass with some gravel in the spaces. Most have newer hook-ups. Park was quiet but some highway noise all night. No facilities for kids, plenty of roaming area for the dogs. No store (ie. no wood or ice). Easy entry and exit. We will probably go to the KOA next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Very nice owners on site. The sites were grassy and the campground was neat. However, the road noise from the major highway disturbed an otherwise peaceful setting. No amenities. Will not stay here in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
No amenities, but a very nice park. Sites are mixed grassy and gravel. Some sites are small. Fire rings available at most sites. This is a very quite campground. There are 2 bath houses - one does not have showers, but has toliets and a sink. We enjoyed our stay - it was very relaxing, which is exactly what we were looking for. No alcohol allowed. Owners live on site. About 20 mins out side of Boone, NC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is a nice CG, just no perks. Situated in the country and just about 20 minutes from downtown Boone. Grassy sites with full hook ups, including cable. Small creek at the lower end of the CG. They also have 2 bath houses - the main one at the top of the CG has bathrooms, showers and washer/dryers - the 2nd one is at the lower end of the CG and has bathrooms and a vanity sike with cold water only. Great place to stay if you want to get away from it all. The clear night skies are a grat reason to stay here - you just can't see that many stars in the city. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com