220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Hatteras RV Resort & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 140 user reviews. Phone: (252) 987-2777
CGID2124

Camp Hatteras RV Resort & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   9   9   10   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
Overall this is a very nice campground. Cape Hatteras features no shade, lots of wind and sand, and high humidity, for which you can't fault the campground. All sites have concrete pads. Roads are paved. With no vegetation but grass, there is nothing to screen sites to create any kind of privacy. Restrooms were clean and the showers worked well. Laundry was clean and functional. It was quiet at night. Security was good on the ocean side but non-existent on the sound side. None of the sites truly have an ocean view because of the intervening dunes, but you can hear the crashing waves better if you are closer to the ocean. Price is for Coast to Coast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
If you are a water and sand individual. this park might be for you. We camped as part of a camping club event. I thought the sites were a little to close. We kept our rear blinds closed all the time so as not to be looking in another campers rear window. The wind blew continuously and at times the only solution to all the rocking was to run the slides in on the camper. I have to admit that the facility was clean. Showers were clean as was the restrooms. The majority of the sites do not have a water view because of the direction they are aligned. The most disturbing issue was the non-camping fisherman. This park is located on both sides of the road. One side has a gate requiring access codes. The other is open to anyone who wants to drive through and locals use the access to fish. They do not exactly care if you are camped on the side or not. Utilities for the camper were strangely split. Water was completely at the front of the site while electric and sewer very near the back. This made positioning the camper a little challenging. Luckily I carry several extra feet of water hose. Sites were paved as were the interior roads. Not as level as they look though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$61
Oceanfront sites are large, level, and great water pressure. WiFi strong. Price reflects OBX discount. Due to early season not all bath houses were open. Park clean and maintained, our site was 80' from ocean. Very pleasant staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$68
This is a nice campground with wide streets. The sites are concrete but very narrow. The sites have concrete patios and picnic tables. The WIFI was reliable and fairly fast. We did not use the amenities, but noticed several activities for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$64
Rate is for an oceanfront site with 15% Outer Banks (OBX) Getaway Card discount. This was our fourth stay at this campground in the past two years, our latest in the year, and this is my second review of this campground. The OBX is truly preparing to hibernate for the winter. There were not many establishments open, and it seemed many of those that were were preparing to close for the winter. Having fewer than 20 campers at Camp Hatteras' 400-site campground felt weird. Nevertheless, the weather for our particular extended weekend was fabulous! Sunny days in the high 60s and low 70s. It's a shame you can't count on that weather every year during November. I've upgraded my rating for the campground to a "9" based on the fact they have converted to city water. Gone is the salty taste of their previous water system. I'll give them a "10" when they no longer charge to use the cable system. Otherwise, unless you want to talk about updating and upgrading the office/clubhouse/pool house to compete with the KOA's new post-Irene behemoth next door, there really isn't much to improve on, and certainly nothing to complain about. We will continue to choose this campground as our OBX destination for the foreseeable future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$56
This is an excellent campground. We were parked right on the sound and viewed wonderful sunsets nightly. The restrooms and showers were very clean. The campground workers were all very friendly and professional. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
This was one of the best trips we have taken. Loved the campground. The staff was very friendly and helped with anything we needed. We would definitely recommend staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$98
Nice campground. A bit expensive. Hubby and I were included in price. Had to pay extra for our daughter, the dog, and for cable TV. Wasn't about to pay for cable, so I refused it. Imagine my surprise the next day when there was a note in my camper door reminding me to go to the office and pay for the cable. Apparently when my hubby was hooking up the sewer and water, he just went ahead and hooked up the cable. Imagine! I missed episode 7 of Breaking Bad, because I didn't think we had cable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$88
We love this place. We go here every summer for a week. It has great amenities, nice sites and is close to the beach. We get the premier sites and it is about a minute walk to the beach. They have 2 pools, a game room and always lots of kids for ours to hang out with. The camp store is lacking but other stores are close. You will need to drive a little to get to things to do but you are away from the hustle and bustle of the upper island which is what we want. If going here I would not come in or go out on Saturdays as that is when house rental weeks begin and will add a lot of time, 2 hours easily, to getting on the first island if coming in from the north. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$86
We stayed 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. Our grassy site was along the outer edge of the park about halfway in the middle where we had green space and no other RVs behind us. We were in the part of the park on the beach side. The other half of the park has sites on the Sound. The sites are large and paved with cement slabs/driveways and nice picnic tables. The water and electricity worked well, but the WI-FI was slow during peak usage time. There are plenty of clean bathrooms and trash dumpsters stationed throughout the park. Our site was halfway between the office/pool/lounge/hot tub and the beach. There is a nice pavilion at the beach for shade. The sites closer to the beach are sandy and more expensive. There are lots of things for kids to do. There are lots of green spaces to walk your dog. We enjoyed our stay here very much because of our location in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$92
The rate is for a premium site on the ocean front. Our site was a back-in, and we faced the dunes and had a reasonable glimpse of the ocean. The beach obviously was close. Lots of sand. Pads are paved with a small patio with picnic table. They charge for cable TV but we had good satellite reception. Wi-Fi was very weak at our site. Its a long way from the beach sites to the office, recreation room, and pool if you want to use them. Campground has a good number of restrooms and showers. My only complaint is that it seems too pricy for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$104
Price is $104 per night AFTER Good Sam discount. It is ridiculously expensive, but our site was literally just steps from the beach / ocean. Quiet at night and super easy access to and in the park for our extra large RV. Many well maintained amenities. We would stay here again, but couldn't afford to stay very long in the ocean front sites. Did I mention it was expensive? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$98
This park is a little pricey but has great access to a very nice beach. We stayed in an ocean front site but because it was a "back in" space we didn't get the ocean view we wanted from inside, but the views from our campsite were fantastic. The camp sites are level concrete pads with sandy/grass yards and lots of space between sites. The hookups were good with good water pressure. The park has a very nice pavilion and deck with steps down to the beach. There are clean bath houses located throughout the park with one located near the beach. The roads within the park are solid surface and very easy to navigate. The staff was not overly friendly but not rude either. The pool and hot tub were clean but crowded and the 'no children in the hot tub' rule was not enforced. They also charged $6 per day per pet. I loved the beach and the easy access but found the park overall to be adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$98
We had fun here. We couldn't see the water, but that's expected as the beaches here are important and protected. The bathrooms were average for a private camp, but nothing special. The spots were wide, but not shaded. Overall, I liked the place and we'll be back. This is a great place for families as there's plenty to do with kids including an indoor and outdoor pool, a game room, a playground, and of course the beach. Everything is expensive so bring as many groceries with you as possible, and top off on gas before you get near OBX. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$75
This is a large and well maintained campground, with full hookups and friendly and helpful staff. One side of the campground fronts the beach and ocean and gets very busy with lots of unsupervised kids, bikes, scooters, and golf carts. The smaller campground fronts the sound which is slightly quieter. However, it's very windy which ever side of the campground you choose. Road is paved, and there is a security gate on the ocean side. Level cement back in pad not overly wide, but big rig access is good. There is space around the RV but not a lot of privacy. No shade trees so it could get pretty hot. Plenty of grass and picnic table. Bathrooms and laundry are basic but clean on the oceanside; much newer and nicer on the sound side. Plenty of places to walk your dog. WiFi and cell are good. Stock up with groceries before you arrive. There are some wonderful restaurants in the area and some great sightseeing too. We would stay here again, but not on holiday weekends. As other people have mentioned there is an extra daily charge for cable, pets, etc. so this does add to the nightly cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
Rate was $60 per nite less 15% with the Outer Banks Card (good only off season) plus fee for dog plus fee for cable. Campground fronts the ocean and the sound. It is almost all grass with few trees and shrubs. Sites are cement and roads are asphalt. It's not a scenic wonder, but it is well maintained and clean. There are lots of amenities with tennis, mini golf, a playground and three pools (one indoor with a hot tub). Buildings are pleasant and well maintained. We were amazed that there was an indoor pool. WiFi was wonderful, but the campground was only about 20% full, so its hard to know how it would be with more campers. The beach wasn't great - water levels were too high to even walk there. That may be different in the summer. Park staff was really helpful; far better than most. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$10
We belong to Coast to Coast which accounts for the low rate. We have a 42 ft motorhome and camp here each April with a Good Sams group. We stay on the sound side and have incredible water views and see many kite surfers. Amazing accommodations especially for groups if you have access to their clubhouse, which is awesome (and well equipped). Sites are spacious and level - concrete sites. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a little difficulty with cable, and they responded immediately to fix it. Everything is very clean and well maintained. Wi-fi strength varies. Come prepared with whatever you need because it is pretty far from stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$80
Great campground. Whether you stay on the soundside or the oceanside you'll enjoy the views. RV pads are large and the sites are spacious. We couldn't make use of the outdoor pool this time of year but the kids enjoyed the indoor site. The camp store doesn't offer much and there's nothing within walking distance so plan ahead. Groundfires are prohibited, but you can have one on the beach so long as you have a permit, which is free and provided at check-in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$60
For a 'late in the season' stay, Camp Hatteras was an excellent choice; however, we can't imagine what it must be like here in summer, even if you have shade covers for your RV. There are few trees but definitely an ocean breeze although you have to climb a dune to see the water. Our site held all the amenities promised and the restrooms, showers, and RV sites were definitely handicapped accessible, even for wheelchairs. We were disappointed there was no handicap accessibility to the campground's share of the beach; however. Those in wheelchairs will have to go to the Rodanthe Pier to fish unless you have an ATV. Still, Camp Hatteras is a great location to be able to visit other historical sites on OBX. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$51
I won't repeat what other recent reviews have said. We found the campground to be nice enough except for one thing. Quiet hours are not observed. This is a large campground that attracts large groups that camp together. In the 4 days we've been here, there have been 2 large groups. One was fairly quiet, but this last group was very loud with shouting, music, whistling at one another, etc. We finally had to shut up the camper and turn on the air conditioning fan just to be able to sleep long after the 10:00 pm quiet hour. In spite of that, I still give it an 8 for all other aspects. I just wanted to warn you if you're sensitive to loud noises at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$80
WM Note: This park has informed RV Park Reviews that they are now on city water, so the comments in this review about drinking water should no longer apply. Our first visit to the Outer Banks so our stay at Camp Hatteras. This is a very clean and well maintained park. There are concrete pads with an area for the picnic table. Our site 68 the concrete area for the picnic table did not line up with our door, so we were able to use our mat. As mentioned before, there is are nice pools and a small play area for the children. I believe the mini golf is 9 holes and there is a charge. Ice is available for $3.00 per bag. The water is salty, so bring plenty of drinking water. The Wi-Fi was slow during the day, but much better early mornings, and later at night. The Wi-Fi is free, so no real complaint. The sites are close, so you get to know your neighbors by the end of your stay. There are two ways to the beach: one is with steps over the dunes, and the other through the dunes. The bathhouses were nice, not air conditioned, and had new wooden board walkways, always around. I do have a comments about walkways around the bathhouses. They are high enough in some areas to warrant a second step. Another comment is, if your loop is full: getting to the bathhouse without walking through someone else's site could mean a long walk. I believe charging $3.00 per day for cable TV maybe a little high. Also you should know the closest regular grocery stores at 20 miles in one direction (Nags Head) or 17 miles in the other (Avon). There are several mom & pop stores near by. I believe other ratings of an 8 is correct. Will we stay here again, absolutely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$93
Stayed for 4 nights and loved it. We had the ocean front premier sites which are level and paved! Nice campground with a family atmosphere. The pool and clubhouse were clean and well utilized. We were a short walk to the beach, which made our stay even better. You can hear the ocean all night from your RV. There are plenty of activities planned by the camp to keep people busy. They have a nice game room, tennis, basketball and mini-golf. The indoor and outdoor pools were nice and clean. They recently renovated the clubhouse after Katrina, very well done. The staff was friendly, nice, and was able to answer all our questions. Couple down sides, WiFi was terrible except in the clubhouse and the water was salty and cloudy even with a filter. We tend to use bottled water anyways so was not a huge deal. Pets and cable are extra, but gotta deal with it to have a great OBX experience. There are a couple gas stations in Rodanthe along with a couple places to get food/groceries. Head down to Avon for a Food Lion and eat at Catch 55 (awesome!). Don't miss Camp Hatteras when heading to OBX! We will come back for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$85
I was there over the Memorial Day weekend. We have camped here before. It is actually a very nice place. I had a 33' motorhome and used lot #118 - a little tight. We don't drink the water - we always have bottled water for coffee, etc. Wi-Fi was sketchy. Staff very friendly as always. There are bunches and bunches of children with bicycles so be very careful and drive very slowly. All sites have level cement pads and grassy surroundings.and I loved that. I gave it an overall 8 because of the water and off and on Wi-Fi and some back in spots a little tight. I would definitely visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$56
Great park! I think we picked one of the best times of the year to visit just ahead of the peak season. The park was maybe 10% full, the weather was fantastic, no kids, and no insects. All that has been written about the water system is true. It has a distinct saltwater taste, but I have not allowed that to impact my rating of the park. I read the reviews ahead of time, knew what to expect, and was prepared. We were in site 73 along the dunes and I found it to be exceptionally easy to back into with a 40 ft RV. We enjoyed our neighbors and I found the clientele overall to be of our liking. This is no redneck riviera. I have only one negative comment to leave and it pertains to the extra charge to use their cable system. I thought that was kind of cheesy. Otherwise, we had a very positive experience and will likely be back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
Easy in and out even for big rigs. All sites are back in. Electric and sewer were fine although placement of hookups is bizarre at some sites. Roads are paved, sites level with pads to park on with grass between (no dirt, yippee). Wifi was good was most of the time. Rate is Coast to Coast. The office staff was friendly and helpful to us every time we stopped in the office. My take on the water. Before hooking up run water full volume out of spigot for a while to clear salt/sand that might be settled in the line. Use a filter on line. Plan on buying water for consumption because it is salty. Come prepared with some on-board or they sell it right in the camp store. To us it was worth it for a week of a great setting, walk to beach and access up and down the outer banks. P.S. I flushed my hot water tank at the next park after leaving and was glad I did as the salt was evident. P.S.S. another option, come in with your fresh tank full and don't use their water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$65
This resort claims "World Class" status, well they need to invest in desalination of their fresh water before they can earn their overstated distinction. Our low review reflects the staff's unapologetic answer to our and other RV'rs questions about the foul tasting salt water. "Your on the beach, that's the way it is!" Well that's not the way in has to be, we have camped on barrier islands on Perdido Keys, and then out on Key West and their water supplies were perfectly drinkable. There is simply no excuse for their water quality or their flippant attitude. Otherwise the RV resort delivered everything you'd expect in a beach setting, it's overpriced with level cement pads, clean hydro, so/so free Wi-Fi and cable TV at $3/day extra. By all means stay here but bring your own drinking water and just don't open your mouth to taste the water while in the shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$55
Nice place, nice people. Good vacation spot. We were here before prime season, so the restaurants were a little scarce. A pretty long drive to Nags Head provides lots of options. Access to the beach was a little tough. It needs a few more stairs or a ramp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$73
I simply cannot give this campground a higher rating. This was our first time here and while the staff was friendly and the Sound Side site we had was great, that is about all of the good things I can say about it. The water was terrible as mentioned before in other reviews. But what was not said was that if your RV has a water filter, then you better check it. Ours was full of sand when we returned home. We had to buy ice and use bottled water for drinking, cooking and coffee. We found out on our last night there that the building on the sound side has a faucet outside that has city water connections. The campsites need a lot of updating. The rates are too high also. Our first site, Site 323, had a large manhole right in the center of the patio which made it unusable. The office was very accommodating in letting us move to a different site. We had a great vacation and loved the sunsets but we will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$98
Well maintained campground, clean bathrooms. Sites seem easy to get into. Water pressure, electric, sewer connection were all okay. Nice lounge and pool area. Staff was professional and friendly. Would have rated campground a 10 but price per night brings it back to a 8 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$74
We loved it! We picked this park because we could camp in our pop-up while the grandparents could stay in a park model. We camped sound-side, and they were within a brief walk to the beach- all without leaving the campground. The ocean was gorgeous, as were the sound-side sunsets. The pool was great. The staff attentive and friendly. Plenty of activity areas (tennis, shuffleboard, etc.) all included at no additional charge, except, inexplicably, a rather modest mini-golf setup. Why include all the other things, and then charge for that one, less-than-impressive, item? A few trees for shade/ to break the constant breeze would be a nice addition. Overall, nice week!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$80
Excellent place to spend a few days. We were there right before the 4th of July. The park was full. All of the spots are back ins, and it can get a little crowded if you are there at peak times. The pools were well maintained as well as the rest of the facilities. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is a place we look forward to going back to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$91
The only reason Camp Hatteras didn't get a "10" is because of the $91 per night rate... and ANOTHER $3 for cable TV. Otherwise, they have a friendly staff and an unbeatable location with little competition. They are actually located in Rodanthe with Waves, NC being their post office. 50-amp power was plenty to run two air conditioners and the premium site next to the ocean was very nice. The campground straddles NC 12 so that you can face either Pamlico Sound or the Atlantic. The sunsets over the Sound are spectacular. Nice swimming pool, terrific beach access, good digital TV via cable but don't expect fast cell service on the Outer Banks. Do expect a lot of kids zooming around on 4-wheelers, bikes and scooters. The campground is clean and well maintained. We had a terrific dinner at Rusty's in Buxton, NC... about ten miles or so south. Call ahead to see how busy they are... and it is hard to spot Rusty's driving south. It's on the left as you go around a curve to the right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$75
Beautiful park. We were here over Memorial Day weekend, hence the high nightly rate. Sites are paved and good size. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We tried drinking the water, Brita pitcher, Crystal Lite, still couldn't handle it, so ended up going out and buying drinking water. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$60
This was my first camping trip with my new travel trailer. I took this trip with my young son. From the moment we arrived I was impressed. We were greeted with a friendly face at the gate. We were checked in with a friendly smile at the counter. Everyone was pleasant and courteous. Being a new camper I needed assistance getting into our site. The gentleman at the gate had us follow him to the site. He patiently assisted us and made sure that we were good to go. We had easy access to all hook-ups. I chose a site closer to the pool for my son on the oceanside. The beach was a short walk from our site. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The laundry rooms were the same. I reviewed earlier posts prior to booking about the water. I did not find the water to be that big of a problem as I used a filter. We used the water only for showers and toilet. Our neighbors were great. Being a new camper I had difficulty unhooking the hitch from the truck. Immediately had plenty of people that saw this and helped. Everyone was helpful and exceeded my expectations. We accidentally set up on the wrong site and did not know until the next day when the nice gentleman was making his rounds. We offered to move. He said that we were fine and just wanted to make sure that we were booked in because the site we were on was not booked. Staff is right on the ball with everything and that was a plus. With a child I found it to be a safe place. We stayed for 4 nights. I have every intention of returning again this summer. A quiet, non commercial place to relax. The atmosphere was superb. Thanks to all the staff at Camp Hatteras. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This is a BIG campground. Nicely located between Kill Devil Hills to the north and Hatteras to the south it's a wonderful place to stay! The entry to the park (ocean side) is gated and staffed during business hours. It's also big rig friendly although a little tight once you pass through the gate however once you make the first turn past the guard shack, the roads are wide and paved. The sites ocean side (we didn't visit the sound/bay side) have nice, level concrete pads. No trees here however the campground is very well maintained. Beachfront there is ample room to wet a line and has 1000 feet of pet friendly beach - but don't stray too far off the groomed path as there are cactus and sand spurs that you will be picking out of your and your pets feet! The only knock we can come up with is that the fresh water is a bit salty but having done laundry and cooked with it during our four day stay, it's not a problem. We will definitely stay here again. Great place to relax! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
Stayed here five nights. Really nice place. Since it was early spring, the campground was only about a third full. We stayed on the ocean side but the sound side looked just as good. Bath house was showing its age, but clean. I would have given it a "10" but the water was strange smelling. I would advise bringing bottled water to cook and drink. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$65
It is early April and much of Outer Banks has not opened. We ducked in to this campground after 6 p.m. in high winds and an oncoming gale. No one was on duty so we took an envelope which directed us to a site on the full hook up Ocean premier lane. There were only about eight to ten other RV units in the camp. It was a terrible storm with high winds and blowing rain squalls. The next morning we ran to the bathhouse on this lane and found the doors locked! When I checked out the attendants did not seem concerned and said if we wanted showers we could now take them in one of the other bath houses. For $65, I consider this poor management and the camp a poor selection. We do not plan to come back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$57
This is a very nice campground and well kept. We enjoyed walking along the beach and being able to hear the waves from our campsite. The pool was great and the hot tub relaxing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They have lots to do at this campground and very good security. We would stay here again if we were in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
We stayed here for 7 nights at the Coast to Coast member's rate. All sites are concrete drives and table pads with most of the sand covered with centipede grass except for the premium sites along the dunes. We stayed in site #219. As HDTers we had no problem backing in as there are no pull-through sites. The longest sites are along the north side of the park. WiFi was strong but would drop intermittently during weekdays. Great sunsets each night on the Pamlico Sound side of the park. The park covers from ocean to sound across the highway. Outdoor pool was closed but indoor pool was open as was the hot tub. Nice place for families with good playground equipment, tennis courts, mini golf and shuffleboard courts. Definitely coming back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$50
Stayed on Lot 73, you can hear the ocean over any traffic. Caught a couple bass and brim, catch and release in the ponds. Level concrete pads on all sites. Got swarmed by mosquitoes at dusk, not sure if it was the season or an all time issue. Looking forward to going back in early spring and/or late fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
This Resort has one thing going for it: Location, Location, Location! Very nice Resort and everyone was extremely friendly. Will definitely stay here again. We were very happy. The sites are very level and large enough for a 41'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$75
Great campground for the OBX experience. We would recommend the premium oceanfront sites, as they are just a short walk over the dunes to the Atlantic Ocean. Has friendly, helpful staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$80
Stayed on the sound side and the views were just fabulous. Best part of our stay. Not crazy about all the other campers who walked past the back of my camper on my site to get to the dock. There is access from the road but many of them just felt it was OK to walk through our site. Park is very clean, and the sites, although small, were level and had cement pads. I think the price is over kill considering that the base price is higher than the norm, and then we were charged for cable and a pet. Wi-Fi is practically non existent on the sound side. I called the office to ask about it and was told to come up to the lounge if I wanted Wi-fi to work. Hmmmmm, so much for free Wi-Fi at my site. Found it hard to find a place to walk the dog as there is not a designated pet walk area. Probably won't stay here again. Too pricey for our pocketbook. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$68
Yes, it's expensive. But it turned out to be a real nice place, even if it's not as "Resort" as it claims to be. As per reviews here, we stayed on the 'sound side' where it was less crowded, very large sites with concrete pads and concrete patios. Very quiet here, beautiful views at sunset. VERY clean modern bathhouse: it's even air conditioned! Had concerns about the water, but it wasn't bad when we were here. Brought a full tank of our own and used that for drinking and cooking, but showered in bathhouse, water seemed ok in there. No smell or bad taste. On the office side there were dozens and dozens of kids on the playground, in the game room, and at the pools. The pools were clean: large outdoor pool, and nice indoor pool with hot tub. A REAL kiddie pool, great for babies, maybe 6-8" deep. And something we didn't know they had: Tennis Courts!! Great family place. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$75
This campground had sites both on the ocean side and sound side. We camped on the ocean side but closer to the road than the ocean. The ocean was just a short walk. The sites further from the ocean were grassier. Sites closer to the ocean were very sandy. All sites full hookups on concrete pads. The addition of two pools and the hot tubs were nice alternatives to the ocean. The water at the site was salty as noted in other reviews. Knowing this we bought bottled water with us for drinking. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$65
Great RV park to stay with family. Clean, friendly sites and staff. Nice location to play in the beach and see the town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
Friendly, but we were surprised to find additional charges for cable TV, and mini-golf. The showers/commodes were cleaned only infrequently. It was nice to have a concrete pad, and the services provided were good. That said, I believe the site is overrated. We were led to believe when first inquiring, that horseback riding on the beach was close at hand and readily available. Not so: it was a good distance away (miles) and you need to make reservations a good week in advance. The mini-golf on site was a joke, not worth the effort (and additional cost). All-in-all, I do not believe we'll be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$76
A very nice clean park. Sites are are leveled cement pads and easy to back into. Hook ups could be closer together but not a problem as I carry an 50ft of water hose and 20ft of sewer line. Did not use cable as it was an extra charge. Wi-Fi was a very strong signal and had multiple connection sites. Not very fast but it worked very well and came included in price. Not a lot of activities for the kids but all the kids I saw where very happy riding bikes, playing games and going to the beach. The beach is beautiful but it can get very windy and sand can fly every where. But that just the nature of the Outer Banks. There are no lifeguards but plenty of friendly people on hand. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
It is all about the location! Overall, this is a nice campground in a beautiful natural setting. I think that the term "resort" is a bit of a stretch, though. We chose to pay for a premium sound front site. This was a mistake. The sound side is definitely quieter and less congested, but the closeness of the spaces and vegetation at the waters edge do not afford much of a view to justify the additional expense. There is also a nasty odor coming from the vegetation in the sound that is much stronger based on your proximity to the sound. Be prepared to be nickel and dined for extra people, cable TV. The pads are paved and level as are the roads. The staff was very nice and the pool was nice. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
I have no idea why this campground is rated so highly by others. It is a shadeless parking lot situated between a road and dunes to the beach or the Pamlico sound. Looks like a trailer court. Nice pool, rude and surly office staff who act as if they are doing you a favor answering questions. W-Fi never worked anywhere in park except in the lounge. Only a handful of washers and dryers for 400 spots, and some of these were broken. No activities for kids. Definitely not worth the drive all the way down the outer banks for this campground! Don't be fooled by the slick website, it is not as depicted online. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
This park was awesome. The views were great, the staff friendly, and the location perfect. We rent a house in Nags Head every summer and thought this year we would go to Hatteras for the July 4th Weekend. What a trip! Everything went great and we look forward to going again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$89
We spent a long weekend at this campground. The campground is located Ocean Front and Sound Front. Very well taken care of, the grounds were well manicured and the pool and hot tub are clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Each site has a concrete pad, this help keep sand out of your RV. Excellent location on the OBX. Lots to do, but yet had plenty of relax time. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$66
We camped here for three days at the end of April. The campground was basically deserted, so it just seemed like a big empty field. The bathrooms were clean but nothing special. As a previous poster said, the water is terrible, we couldn't drink it. Staff was friendly and helpful. With extra charges for cable TV and our pet, cost was $66 a night. I guess that is reasonable for the area, but park didn't live up to my image of a "World Class RV Resort." All in all, we would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$58
We spent our 2nd Christmas and New Years here and had a great time. The outside temps were not as warm as last year but stayed above freezing until the day we left. As far as we are concerned, this is the ONLY place to camp the OBX during winter, especially with kids. Once again, the indoor pool, hot tub, lounge and game room were great, especially during the couple of rainy days we had. I would like to mention the Liberty convenience store just north of the CG. They have just about anything you would need. The local pizza place and Hot Tuna's were open for the occasional break from cooking. Being steps from the beach, the sound of the waves and fantastic sunsets without the crowds makes this place a must do winter camping destination. Some folks may not realize that there are additional winter bath house (heated) and laundry facilities by the pool. Management is A+ at this place. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$48
It is a nice place for the Summer crowd. There is not much to do except a breezy cold walk on the beach in November. The hostess at check in was very friendly and helpful. We picked the Oceanside location, but will stay on the sound side the next time. The sound side has really nice view and access to the water, great sunsets, and much nicer facilities. The bathroom was modern, and heated on this side. On the Oceanside, the only restroom available was very dated. Though clean, it was more like a public beach restroom, and not heated which was missed due to mornings in the 40's. Laundry facilities were not easy to get to, as it was a long walk and no parking area to use for baskets that had to be dragged in, plus expensive at 1.75 a load including the dryers. Water quality was the worst.It is apparently hard water, and very salty. We had to go out to buy gallon jugs for coffee, drinking water, and would not even give that water to our 2 cats. We will return again, but will visit in September or early Spring instead, as the rates are very high during their crowded Summer season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$58
Nice campground which had sites from up to the dunes to the sound. Nice concrete pads and a decent amount of space between sites. We noticed there were no fire rings or grills on any of the sites but didn't see any policy against campfires. The beach area from this campground would be very cramped if camping here during the summer peak season, but since it was late September, the beach was not crowded at all. Beach was not very wide here compared to some other beaches along the Outer Banks. There is a nice walkway (boardwalk) to the beach and there is a place to shower when leaving the beach. Pools were all open including the outdoor pool which was a surprise for a late September stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
In spite of our trepidations at staying at such a large campground, this turned out to be a great place to spend a week off-season. We camped on the ocean side at the manager's suggestion -- in-spite of having booked a site on the bay -- and it was the right decision: We were one sand dune away from the vast expanse of ocean beach where you never felt crowded. This is a great park for dogs, as almost everyone walks their pets in both the campground and the beach. Camp Hatteras was very well-maintained, and the only real draw-back, as well as advantage is its location at Milepost 40.5: The disadvantage is that you have to drive almost everywhere. The advantage to that is once back at the campground it is peaceful, quiet and, of course windy! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
A great ocean front campground. Full hookup and concrete pads. We were there after the main season so some of the bath houses were closed but that was not a problem. Across the street is the sound side campground. I'll be back when in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$60
Camp Hatteras describes itself as a world class campground and they live up to it! We were being harassed by a man at another campground in Frisco and came here because of their great security. They gave us a refuge and even put out a security alert for us to make us feel safe. The staff treated us with the greatest kindness and care when we needed help and we will never forget it. The amenities and cleanliness of the park and the friendliness of the other campers was the best we have ever experienced. Definitely World Class. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
What a great campground. We were here with a large group. The sites were very nice; large and easy to get into. The campground staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Bath house and laundry were always clean and the wi-fi connection was very strong. We were on the Pamlico Sound side of the campground and the sunsets were just magnificent. These alone made the stay worthwhile. Although a little costly in-season, I would highly recommend this campground. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$58
This campground is one of the best we have stayed at. The sites are large, excellent electric and sewer. The water is usable, but has a salty taste. We stayed on the ocean side next to the dunes. This was very convenient, but a bit windy at times, which also made it cool on hot days. Park is on an island surrounded by National Parks which makes some things a ways away. In some ways it is a primitive area. Beautiful beaches and sunrises and sunsets and quiet. Definitely a keeper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$49
If there had been shade - it would have been a 10. This is a very nice campground for going to the beach and vising the outer banks area. Concrete pad site are flat and no problems backing in. It is easy to connect to all utilities. Great cable and Wi-Fi. There are grassy areas for dog-walking. Several dumpsters for easy trash disposal (no site trash pick-up). We stayed in "Sound Side" area and had a view of the water. The beach is across the street with the "Ocean Side" sites," maybe a 10 minute walk for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
All nice here and we had a good time. This time we stayed on the sound side and was happy here, not as windy. I had a hot water element go bad and they gave me the number of a RV repair shop nearby and he came over to my site and fixed it quickly and for a reasonable price. Office staff very nice. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
This is where we always stay on OBX. We come here to visit family and enjoy the beach, as we did as kids growing up. We've been coming here for 8 years now. We began staying on the ocean side to please the kids, but it can get very busy and noisy on weekends over there. Hey, its the beach and it is a campground. We've begun staying sound-side the past couple times, and like it much better, since the bath house and laundry is nicer, newer, cleaner and air conditioned, and it is much quieter sound-side, too. The folks here work hard, both the paid staff and the work-campers. Even so, the summer weekends get a little out of hand until security makes enough visits to campsites and cleaning staff can catch up. It is the beach after all and they have a lot of sites. The clubhouse/pool/hot tub is a fun place, and they have a little store inside with some essentials, but you will probably have to hit one of the little markets like JoBobs, Liberty, or North Beach for more. You can buy ultra fresh seafood for your own cooking very close by. Remember, you are in the middle of three small ocean villages, there are no chain stores like Food Lion - nearest is Nags Head or Buxton. There is a water sports rental on-site, too. Beach access is better than typical, with a foot shower and covered beach pavilion for events. The site water is brackish and unfit to drink in our opinion, make sure to have bottled water ready. for drinking and cooking, and remember to flush your RV water system as soon as possible after staying in this area. The price is getting a bit out of hand, as a lot of the OBX is becoming. $65 for sound-side FHU, and $75 or $85 for ocean side is getting too spend y. The quality of Camp Hatteras has not decreased over the years we have been coming, but the price keeps going up it seems just to maintain status quo. Still, for a comprehensive OBX stay without the beach-strip hassles but still able to easily reach the mainland for family, we can't think of a better place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$93
Lots of sun at this campground, no trees but that's the geography of the area. Showers and bathrooms were kept clean. The staff was professional and friendly. We had no problems with water pressure or electricity. The cement pads and sites were decent. Wi-Fi signal was very slow at our sight. Office/store hours: open late. Well kept indoor and outdoor pools, plus a nice lounge area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$85
A nice campground on the beach. Indoor and outdoor pool with inside hot tub.Grassy sites and concrete pads. Showers and restrooms clean, although a bit "dated." Wi-Fi a bit slow with narrow bandwidth; and yes, they do nickle and dime on the charges. Pool, decently stocked store and office open late. AS TO THE WATER QUALITY, which other reviewers have noted...the office explained it as they use well water and since they are between the ocean and the sound, the salt water does infiltrate the aquifer. We did NOT hook up to the city water, preferring to draw from our on board tank. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$90
The level, concrete pads made set up easy. We stayed on the ocean side. Sites farther away from ocean are grassier and less sandy. Personal golf carts are permitted for no fee. Our children enjoyed the planned activities during our stay (they made tie-dye t-shirts with ocean water [$5] and made plaster footprints in the sand down at the beach[$1]). Bring your own drinking water. The Wi-Fi was slow and unreliable. It is a quiet campground. We will return. The price reflects additional charges for cable TV, 2 children, and 2 pets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
High density and a lot of human and vehicle traffic, but this place has everything you should want for a beach vacation: easy beach access, great pool, cordial stff, WiFi and cable TV. This place has some age on it, but is still delivering the goods. Only real drawback is standing water in some sites after heavy rains. Make your reservations early because this is a popular place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$90
Great time at this campground. The beach is simply beautiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only negative comment would be concerning laundry. When you stay for a week or longer at the beach, you are doing some laundry. They only had 2 washers and 2 dryers working. Out of order signs were there during our entire stay. Internet worked sometimes, but they were working on that. Really should not need the internet when camping. Overall, a great campground but expensive. Camping in general is getting expensive. We would certainly go back to this beach front campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$13
We stayed here through Coast to Coast and were very impressed with this campground! Lots of families with children, but the campground was very quiet nonetheless. Outdoor pool was quite large and very clean, miniature golf is free for resort members and C2C guests. Nice, clean playground, game room, clubhouse and bath houses. There were 5-6 activities planned each day (adult pool aerobics, bingo, ice cream social, crafts, bubbles, and other things for kids. Staff was friendly and helpful -- we'll definitely be back. There weren't a lot of restaurants in the immediate area, but we found Austin's Seafood and Produce up the road in Rodanthe They will steam whatever you purchase for a take-out meal. We had huge shrimp, scallops, sweet corn and red potatoes -- the best meal we've had in years! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$76
Very nice campground with sites on both the sound and the ocean. The campground is split by Highway 12. We had no real complaints or concerns other than the water (bad, real bad) and the wi-fi was pretty slow. We did see some sewage seeping up one of the drain fields after some heavy rain but the odor and problem was pretty small. The concrete driveways and pads on the sites are nice but some are very tight and not real easy to access with a tow rig and a longer trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$76
If you love the ocean, but not the crowds, this place is for you. It is 30 miles from a real supermarket, and make sure you bring your groceries with you. We loved the pools and the overall OBX atmosphere. We will definitely be here again someday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$80
I highly recommend Camp Hatteras. We go there every summer. It is a wonderful family campground that has sites on both the ocean and sound side. One has a choice of sunrise or sunset. There are 400 plus paved sites overall with full hookup. If you are looking for Wi-Fi use, it is exceptional. The amenities include an indoor pool and hot tub open all year along with an outdoor and baby pool. in the main building there is a game room, lounge area for relation, TV and eating area if you choose to cook in the kitchen. In the summer there are many planned activities for all ages. If you like sports, there is a tennis court, basketball court, shuffleboard, mini golf and a playground for young children. There are 5 easy accessible bathhouses that are always clean along with 4 easy accessible laundromats. Best of all if you are a beach person the resort offers 1000 feet of beach access that is easy to get to. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to help you as best as they can. Looking forward to another vacation this summer at Camp Hatteras. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$85
Lots of families and kids. Beach access was great. If you are looking for quiet, stay on the sound side. We had premium sound side site, which I recommend. Great view of sunset from site. View of beach blocked by dunes on premium beach side sites. No shade anywhere. Facilities excellent; newer on sound side (sound side showers had A/C and very clean). Campground workers very friendly and helpful. Ice on site, and they have a store with essentials. Came from North Dakota and was worth the trip, as Cape Hatteras was beautiful. This is a busy place, but everyone we met was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$81
Yes, the drinking water was terrible! We are still trying to get it all out of our RV. The price seemed very high but we wanted a swimmable beach. So... The RV park did have lots of nice amenities, but it looks like a big field with a bunch of campsites that are very small with only a few little trees. The biggest advantage of this park is that you can walk to a wonderful beach. You can't see the beach from the campground because of the sand dunes, but the walk across the dunes is short. The pool was filled with kids having a great time. Wi-Fi was not available from our site. We would probably not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
While this park is absolutely immaculate and has every conceivable amenity, they have the absolute WORST water that we have ever encountered. We had to buy some big containers of spring water to make our coffee and just have to drink. Yes, it’s very windy, just because of the location, and the Wi-Fi worked just fine. There are lots of historic sites to visit, but groceries are at least 14 miles away. I will say that the NAPA store in Buxton, south of the park, came through for us when we had an “explosive” problem with our coach batteries. We highly recommend that store!!! The cost for our stay is based on Coast to Coast rates, which is a whole lot less than the normal rate!!! We’re certainly glad that we had the opportunity to visit the Outer Banks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$60
Beautiful campground, well maintained and a great location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The sites all have cement pads and patio, this is probably the only time I camped and didn't need to vacuum the camper upon returning home! They also have a nice indoor pool and hot tub. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
We chose this campground because it has beach access, which is great. The showers are a little older but were clean. The laundry facilities were nice. The staff were all excellent and went out of their way to be helpful. We loved the park but the island is isolated. We do not fish or sail or surf. We enjoyed a visit to Kitty Hawk but otherwise, just stayed in camp and enjoyed the beach. We would come here again. Our refrigerator died but thanks to Bill's RV Repairs, we were up and running in no time. Thanks to the park for the referral and thanks to Bill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$53
We had a great time spending Christmas and New Years here. The indoor pool, hot tub and arcade were a big plus on those chilly days.This is the only campground with this option which is a big plus for the kids. Of course, the time of year makes this place quiet, but still very clean. The bath house was spotless and well heated. The staff was very helpfull and pleasant. The sunrise over the ocean and sunset over the sound were breathtaking, and you never have to leave the campground to enjoy both. We will camp here again, SOON We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
We stayed for 7 nights, and this place remains one of the better places to stay. We were on the sound side this time and a cold front came thru and wind gusts up to 50 MPH will shake you up. So much to see here, this time we discovered Roanoke Island and the aquarium. Do not miss these. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$58
A nice layout, indoor pool was great, concrete pads. Canadian geese also camp here and they do not clean up after themselves. Droppings everywhere! This campground charges excessive rates for amenities that most campgrounds include in base rate. Be prepared to pay $8 each per night for extra adults in your camper. The base rate includes 2 adults. If you have kids, they are extra charge also. If you have a pet, if you want cable TV, you are charged an additional $3 per night per item. Ridiculous! There are other campgrounds close by and we will not stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$50
Overall, this is a real nice place. We stayed here off season and were located waterfront on the sound side of the park. Fantastic views of Pamlico Sound which is a wide open body of water between the Cape and mainland with much kite boarding and windsurfing activity. This is one very windy place! We almost had the entire area to ourselves due to the time of year. It would be fairly close during busy season, but as previously mentioned, that is to be expected for the area. There are no water view sites on the ocean side. But the beach is just over the dunes. Real nice outdoor pool, and ok indoor pool and hot tub. Wi-Fi is very good, as is cable TV. It was irritating to be charged an extra $3 a day for a dog AND an extra $3 daily for cable!!! My only other negative comment is the lack of security on the sound side of the campground. The beach side, where the office is, is restricted by a coded gate, but the sound side is wide open. There is golf cart security, and it isn't exactly a high crime area, but for the money I expect some better security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
We enjoyed our stay. Short walk to the beach. We drove to a public vehicle access to drive on the beach (2 miles away ??) Stayed in site 21 which was difficult to back in because the road begins to turn to the left and it's a one way street. When we left I went right because of the sharp turn. Besides that, we had a good time, nice people, great weather and no bugs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$58
We were in space #1. Very nice campground that was almost empty.. advantage of traveling after season. Campground facilities we used were spotless. Will definitely stay here again for a longer period. Full hookups were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$10
This park was a pleasant surprise. It was clean and well laid out, it had nice pads for parking and some grass. Conveniently located for touring all of the Island, nice shopping areas and restaurants. Walking to the beach was a daily exercise. We had a great time there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$82
These reviews are how we travel to try to find the best place to take our family. The price was very high for the value. This only reason we stayed here over the KOA was a female staff member was very helpful! the grounds are terrible, grass not cut dead trees laying at entrance,scrubs clippings dead and just laying beside walkway at bathhouses, no trash pick up? Looks as if they just take in volunteers? We run a business and know how hard it can be but it looks as they have just given up. The pool was very dangerous for kids, uneven pavement,boards sticking up,looks as if the screens from the top off indoor pool have needed replacing for years. Not sure there why they are advertising world class, it is far from world class! I just thought for the money it could have been manicured a lot better. We stay with ocean lakes at myrtle beach and the price is about half and it is first class. Sites were nice and close to beach. if you stay in this area take a outdoor fireplace because there are no ground campfires allowed. My favorite thing was a campfire on the beach! I went a little further to check why this campground is going down and the grandfather or dad has left to the grandson? Not sure a regular told me this and he probably just got this handed to him instead of working for it. One more tip they were never fully book? There is a reason for that. I am not trying to slam this place just trying to help you make your vacation enjoyable. If someone would have took the time to write this i would have never have booked a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$85
Would have earned a 10 except our dogs couldn't take two steps without getting sand spurs in their paws. The Ocean front row was very nice (some folks should pass on karoke though). Spaces were close (side by side) but given the resort area, to be expected. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$83
Very nice campground. All paved roads with concrete drive ways and even a concrete patio. It cost a little extra to be right by the dune next to the ocean and they charged me for one of the kids over 12. They are almost adjacent to the Cape Hatteras KOA. We walked over close enough to get a look at the KOA. It looked very nice, gravel roads and such, just not nearly as polished as Camp Hatteras. If you show a KOA discount card, Camp Hatteras will honor it. The reviews I read on this site seemed to indicate the KOA might have a few more kid amenities like slides at their pool and moon jumper. Camp Hatteras has a very nice pool adjacent to the office. There were no trees at either campground. But again, both are right on the ocean. All in all Camp Hatteras is a great oceanfront campground and extremely neat since all the roads are paved and having concrete pads is great. It also is very green with grass everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
We camped here for 3 nights. Nice park, has free internet, pool, laundry facilities and the best is that you can walk to the ocean beaches! Beautiful, spacious concrete paded sites with some grass. 3 restroom/shower facilities which were very clean. I would definitely stay here again. If I had to find a negative, it would be that Hatteras is very expensive to find food! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$10
Gorgeous campground. Flat concrete sites, lovely people working the office. Dog friendly. Wi-fi. No trees blocking my satellite dish. Great midway location. Camping on the ocean or the sound where the sunsets are breathtaking. The only thing that I hated was all the "sticker paws" those nasty sand spurs that stick into dogs' feet. I've stayed here before and will stay here again I hope. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$72
This is an excellent family park with playground and activities for children. We had a premiere site which was very close to the dunes. Wi-Fi was slow, but worked well in the rec center. The park is gated and very safe; couldn't get by them without your tag. It has a great location. Also there is a local rental car 1/2 mile north which came to pick you up free. They do allow late arrivals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$68
Less commercial area. Easy access to the beach. Nice place to stay for beach time. Plan to do lots of driving to see the Outer Banks sites. Great fresh shrimp close by. Nice roads and ample size sites. Camp ground mini golf could use some care. Pool was older but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$85
Way overpriced. They charge $4 a per day for kids-- $3 a day for pets--$3 per day for cable. Then it has a policy to charge $5 per hour for early check in. I asked if I got a $5 per hour discount for early check out and only got a grumpy look. All the revenue tricks. The park was only 1/4 full and maybe the price was the reason. I will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
This is a wonderful campground. A constant breeze insures comfort inside or outside your rv. The campsites are spacious but a bit of a challenge to navigate due to the layout of some of the roads. All roads are paved and every site has a level pad. The bathhouses are older but updated and very well maintained. We were also impressed with the staff. All this and the Outer Banks as well. The entire family agreed that we will visit again even if we can't get in as Coast to Coast members. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$80
Been here many times. By far this is the nicest place in the Outer Banks. On the south side, below the National Seashore, so nice and quiet. Same thing for the people at the campground very laid back. Front desk personnel very nice and efficient. Gated. Sites very spacious by comparison around here. Dogs allowed here on beach. And finally, there's a lot of good activities during the season, as well as base amenities, like a indoor pool, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$10
We stayed here in the Coast to Coast program. This is a fantastic park once you traverse the bridges to get here. It was so windy on our arrival day that we kept the slides closed to prevent the toppers from being torn off. For the next three days of our stay the winds were minimal and the sun was out. The ocean views are outstanding. The staff was friendly and the sites are very ample. We would recommend this park and will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
Park was very nice, especially the sound side. The downside is the location - 17 miles from the nearest grocery. We would not go there again due to the bridges and the lack of facilities in the area. Be aware, the wind blows hard there most of the time and is not friendly to awnings or slide toppers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$76
This camp resort is located on both sides of hwy 12. The major part of the campground is located on the ocean side. A small section is located on the sound side which is where we stay. I would recommend this area for those who desire a quiet stay with gorgeous sunsets (as sun sets over the Pamlico Sound). The only amenities on this side include an immaculate bathhouse and laundry. All sites are concrete back-ins with 50 amp service, sewer, water and cable. The premium sites back up to the sound and the views are quite stunning. There's a common gathering area with benches for sunset watching or like us just sit back in your recliner and watch from your back full view window. There seems to be minimal children in this area as well. Of course to use the campgrounds many amenities you must cross hwy 12 to enter main part of campground. If the use of those amenities is not an issue for you, the sound side is ideal! Sites are roomy and roads are all paved asphalt. We had no need to try Wi-Fi but now own a laptop so we'll try it out with our next visit. Even though prices are steep, we feel the expense is justified by the quiet, less crowded, nicely maintained camp resort. Give it a try! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
As many have stated, a good place to stay. Many sites have sewer at very rear and fresh water near very front of site. We got group rate while parked here with a rally. Nice beach access. Windy, of course. Hot tub and inside pool nice and clean. Nothing too close to places such as grocery stores, restaurants, and fuel, so stock up on your way in. Wi-Fi iffy at best. Many antennas but spotty performance at best. Sounds like an ongoing issue. Water pressure OK but taste terrible. Lots of geese and seagulls with lots of droppings so watch where you walk. I would come back again. Pricey for what you get, but about the same as others in area. Staff friendly, but always seem hurried and busy. Several laundry's through out park with OK equipment, $1.50 washer and dryer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
We stayed as C2C members, the park is great, very clean, people are very helpful and friendly. Pricey if you don't have some type of membership, but others in area close to same price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
We camped using Coast to Coast. We have not been here for nine years. Staff is friendly and very helpful. All sites have pads. They are fairly close together but you have room to back into your site. Bathrooms and showers are clean. You can walk to the Ocean or Bay. Wi-fi works most of the time. Nice indoor heated pool. The only drawback is that it does get windy. It was off season and quiet. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$63
We stayed in a premium site next to the dunes at oceanfront. Sites are paved, but are somewhat close together. Campground offered free WiFi service which we were able to access most of the time at our campsite, without problems. Rest rooms were old, which is acceptable, but were not as clean as they should be, which is not acceptable for a campground with these prices. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$53
This is a great campground. Since we were here in the off season it was $53 for any site in the campground. We only stayed here one night and moved to a less expensive campground for the next two days. What a mistake! We will stay here again next year. We loved the beach access, the wifi and the staff. The sites are wide and level and concrete. The area around the site is mostly sand but hey, you are at the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$53
Spent 2 days here to look around the OBX and just to chill from 2 days on the road. It was off-season so rates were only $53 for a premium site. This was the first week of the off-season, so there were plenty of sites available. Management was cordial, friendly, and professional. We had a reception problem with our cable. A Techie/Security Guard was dispatched within minutes. He brought with him a TV and cable. Great thinking…we found we had a bad cable and were able to procure a new one at the office. Other than being closer to the beach, we didn’t find any benefit in paying extra for a “premium” site. If we were to stay here again, we would choose a non-premium grassed site. As has been mentioned by others, there is no shortage of sandburs, especially at the more sandy sites. This is a real PITA with dogs. The approach to our shower house was less than ideal, very sandy meaning your going to end up with sandy, dirty feet after your shower. Shower and toilet facilities were basic, but clean. We didn’t use the pool so no comment there. This is a gated park. Expect to encounter strong, continuous winds. If you are only going to be in the area for a couple of days and can boondock, consider staying at one of the nearby NPS campsites for $20 per night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$88
This is a great park. We stayed here in '06 for five days and came back in '07 for a week. The kids activities were enjoyed by my children - tie dye shirts, scavenger hunt, ice cream social, miniature golf. The showers facilities are some of the best I've seen. They are constantly cleaning them. The concert and watermelon at the pavilion was a nice way to end the weekend. I even enjoyed church at both the local Fair Haven Methodist Church and the AG church. This place is not inexpensive though, but as you can see, I returned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$76
We stayed 8 nights in a premier site that was across from the dunes and the beach. You could here the surf inside our 5th Wheel even with the windows closed. It was a very nice, clean well run campground We very much enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. As for the price, it was beach front and this is what it took to get an RV site with that kind of access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$70
This is a great RV park but hardly worth the absurd $70.00 per night fee. To add insult to injury they charge $3.00 additional for cable TV. Please, isn't the already ridiculous high price enough? The WI-FI is free but only worked two or three times in the four days we were there. If you come to Waves, NC, visit Ocean Waves Campground instead of this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$75
We arrived to find courteous staff, concrete pads / patios, and a nice site within walking distance to the beach. The campground is pricey--could've found a better deal at Ocean Waves. The Wi-Fi was spotty at times. Spent 2 weeks here, enjoyed our stay, pretty crowded in July but settled down in early August. Would recommend for family type camping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$90
This is a great park. Nice level concrete pads. Some sites just a very short walk across the dune to the ocean. It is windy all the time but this helps keep it comfortable in the summer heat. The OBX is always windy! There is sand, it is the beach after all, and there are sand spurs. Some have commented about sand and water in the bathhouses. We seldom use them, but I feel they are quite clean given the locations so close to the ocean. Everyone who goes in there is covered in sand and wet. Anyone who has weathered a Hatteras storm can appreciate the amount of work it takes to keep structures such as these standing so close to the ocean! It is ocean front so facilities take a beating, but the crew there is always working to keep it clean and fixed. Outdoor pool nice, we have never thought it to be too cold. Indoor pool gets a bit "icky" at times as it never sees the sun. WiFi is free, but spotty availability always. I go every year and the WiFi has not worked well yet.The park is pricey but mostly worth it. It is the best on Hatteras Island. The value of the real estate it sits on just keeps going up and the property could produce more revenue as a condo resort, so I am willing to pay up to keep it operating as a campground. Clean, well maintained oceanfront sites, good staff. One of our favorite campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$90
We were disappointed with a few things regarding this campground especially at $90 a night. They advertise free WiFi but we were only able to log on at our site (366 soundside) once in the 8 days we stayed. The office staff even said we were the first to complain that there was a problem. Funny thing was we talked to many people who had the same problem and also complained about it. The sand spurs were a big issue, our site had hundreds of dried ones and it was impossible not to track them into the camper even though we swept the pad frequently. Going barefoot was out of the question. The outdoor pool was too cold to enjoy. On the positive side, the bathrooms were big and clean and we saw great sunsets over the sound. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$65
This is a grade A campground. We will return every year. Beach access and lots for the kids to do. Friendly staff. You must visit this camp ground for a fabulous vacation! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$82
We stayed here for a week on vacation. On pulling into the park we found a gated entrance with a guard, which was nice. The staff was friendly upon check-in and we stayed at a "premium" site which was the second row from the ocean. Ocean is across the sand dunes but was a short walk. Overall the campground was nice and much more spacious than the others in the area (although still a little small). Campground had concrete roads and pads, and were very level. It wasn't very crowded when we were there, which made it nice. They had a pool and game room, which the kids liked - although we spent most of our time on the beach. Be prepared, it is VERY windy on Hatteras. Average wind speed is 20mph and we had days gusting to 40mph. There are no shade trees and I had to keep my awning in most of the time (even with tie downs). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$10
Paid for a premiere ocean front site. These are truly the sites closest to the ocean. There is a very large sand dune across from these sites that do not permit a view of the ocean. They are not far away though. The premiere sites were un-kempt and looked very worn. These sites are a pretty tight fit. Other sites were less expensive and were in much nicer condition. This was a nice place to spend time with your family, but you will be surprised when you arrive and find the miscellaneous charges accrue rather fast. Our base rate was $72 per night. So, there is an extra charge for many things. Please be sure to call ahead for these charges if possible. The wireless internet access is sporadic at best; be prepared to travel around the campground looking for a good connection. Some employees were nice, others were not. Nice and quiet at night and I had some quality time with my family. Overall, I would consider returning, but I figured I would like to help any first timers traveling here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$8
We stayed with our C2C membership. Nice park. Stay away from sites in the front, lots of geese and their droppings in that area. Nice indoor and outdoor pool, along with a hot tub. Walk over the dunes to the beach. Their wifi is very spotty. We had to use the modem at the rec hall. Be prepared for windy weather. We were told that the wind never stops there. We got sand blasted every day at the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$54
Nice campground. Cement slabs help with leveling, but not much for the scenery. Indoor pool was heated, but still cold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$47
Nice place but was fall season and was cold, also too windy, thought my slide toppers would come off in the wind. All in all nice campground. I'd stay again if not so windy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$72
This is a beautiful campground. Every site is concrete a concrete patio. For being at the ocean, the sites were piled that closely together. There aren't any sites that you can see the ocean from, but there are sound view sites. The beach is clean and large and doesn't have lifeguards. I think the base rate for the campground is in the $60s, but additional charges raise the rates. Cable TV was available for $3 a night. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$80
We booked this campground based on reviews on here. We really enjoyed our stay as it was our first time to the Outer Banks. We booked a premere site and were right at the ocean, we only had to walk over the dunes to get to the beach and that was about 50 feet or so. Nice lots and very clean; sites had concrete pads and were level, making it nice for my husband. Only complaint I have is that when I booked over the phone with the campground, I was told that the $68.95 per night was the total charge for full hook up, including cable. When we arrived, we were charged an additional $8.00 PER DAY for EACH of our children - as well as an additional $3.00 per day for cable - with a Good Sam discount, our rate ended up being $80.00 per night including tax. When I questioned the staff about the "childs fee", I was more than shocked to find out the $68.75 was for 2 people only, yet they advertise it as a "family rate". We never did get an answer as to why they would charge an additional price per day for kids, so this would be the only downfall. A "Family" to me is more than 2 people and if you already have the site with 2 people, what difference does it make if you have kids? That would be like a hotel charging for children to sleep in the bed. Makes no sense to us, but this is their policy and we werent the only ones who voiced our concern. The people booking in front of us had 8 children between them! At $8.00 a day per kid plus $64.94 for a non premere site, that can get very pricey even with a Good Sam Discount. I would stay here again given the sites are wide and spaced well apart compared to other campgrounds in the area. The KOA down the street was crowded and the sites were so close together I dont know how they got in and out of their trailers. So compared to that, I'd take Camp Hatteras any day of the week. I guess the $80.00 per night is worth not having your neighbor see and hear everything you're doing in your RV. It is the most expensive campgrounds in the area, but again, I think its worth paying a little more for the sites (except for the $8.00 per kid charge). Activities were well planned out - they had dances, bingo, arts and crafts and pot luck dinners planned throughout the week. Nominal fees for the activities werent too bad. I'd come back here but would really like the campground to change the Family of 2 to a family of 4 and not charge for children. Just doesnt make sense... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$69
This was a great campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Security was thorough but not overbearing. All sites are paved with paved patios. We did not use the Wi-Fi so don't know how well it works. This campground is split by Hwy 12 with the largest part on the ocean side and about a third of the cg on the sound side. We stayed on the sound side in a premium site on the sound. Due to the reeds and foliage you cannot get to the water from there, but it did provide a beautiful sunset each night and more of a spacious feeling since nothing is behind you but the sound. The bath houses were absolutely spotless... maybe the cleanest and best maintained I have ever seen. The pool areas (indoor and outdoor) were very clean and very well maintained, and the clubhouse was spacious and nice. There is a pavilion on the beach with parking there so you can haul all your chairs, umbrellas, etc up there in the toad if you need to. There are also plenty of good restaurants nearby. Try the Top Dog down the street for a good laid-back, open-air kind of experience. The grilled mahi tacos were great! The only down side is the overall cost. Base price was 69$ plus 6 bucks each for our adult kids - both over 21 years old - that came with us this trip. Cable is another $3 per night but we use the dish. All in all it looked like the nicest RV park in the area and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$60
This is a fun park in a great area. The sites have plenty of room, the roads are paved and you park on concrete with a concrete patio. It is so nice to wake up and walk over the dune and watch a sunrise. And the sunsets on the Sound side are spectacular too. This place is every bit as laid back as the Florida Keys, it's great. My only complaint: they charge $3.00 per day for cable TV. Please: at their already high prices this is just nickel and diming the customer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$64
Spent our second 4th of July in a row here. Campground was full but still very quiet and peaceful. Facilities were all in good shape. Had a couple of power outages due to VERY high use. Each time the situation was quickly resolved. A number of very strong storms came thru that dumped a lot of rain in a very short period of time. The result of which was a good bit of flooding. Not the cg's fault though. They did what they could to help the campers out that had the worst problems. The Staff here was always very friendly and helpful. Security was more visible this year too. Our only complaint was the number of people not picking up after their dogs. If I were the owner of this cg I'd seriously consider banning pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$65
We just returned from a week at Camp Hatteras and we had a wonderful time. The campground is ultra clean and the sites are large and paved. The pools/spa are great and the camp store is well stocked. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restrooms are nice and clean as well. The location is centrally located on the Outer Banks which makes days trips to the North or South convenient. I highly recommend it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$55
This is truly a campground that lives up to its billing. All sites have concrete pads and are well spaced for a private campground. Everything you could want or need is either there or nearby. And North Carolina's Outer Banks are one of natures most beautiful places. This place is a little expensive but it might just be worth it. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$45
The sites are a good size and have a concrete pad. The location is really nice and the amemeties are great. There is a heated indoor pool, hot tub and an outdoor pool. Worth the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$30
Large sites that are, however, close together. But this is only to be expected. However, the sites are concrete and well maintained. The park is very quiet in November and open all year. We had a great stay! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$48
Huge campground right on the beach. Great for kids with an indoor pool, gameroom, miniature golf and more. Sites have concrete pads with full hook-ups and aren't too close together. Staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi worked very well. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$49
Excellent campground, but too expensive. Would not have stayed over one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$99
Very nice campground, well laid out sites with lots to do. 2 complaints to mention; not enough electricity to supply a full campground on a very hot weekend. Several A/C's would not run or stay running due to demand. The wireless internet reception was very poor. No reception at my site, had to go to the clubhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$46
Great place to camp. Stayed there a week and it was wonderful. Not too far from ocean. Took a day trip on the ferry to Oakracoke Island. Neat place. A little crowded but didn't have the feel of being too restrictive. Everything was very clean. People friendly. Will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$55
Lots to do at this park and the ocean is just over the dunes. Even had a snack bar with burgers, shrimp platters, etc right behind the beach. No shade here at all. The wireless internet is convenient. Long drive to any restaurant that isn't a pizza bar or ice cream shop. Staff was courteous too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$60
This is only my 3rd campground experience, but I offer the following comments: A) The check in was quick, the folks were polite and we found our site with no trouble. A plus, for sure. B) Site was a concrete pad and required only a slight adjustment for level. C) The record heat wave did create a bit of a stink at the garbage containers. A slight minus, we noticed only on the hottest day. D) Notices were posted on all sites that the camp water had tested positive for bad stuff in the water supply. At least we were notified. E) Lots of electric scooters in use, even though they were not allowed. F) Amazed how quiet the campground was after 10. Of course most folks were doing just what we were: a full day at the beach followed by a nice dinner and a few libations. That tends to settle ya' down, early. Overall, we had a great time. Will go back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$60
We were here for the Fourth of July week. Had a great time! Crowded of course, but the layout of the park gives you more room at your site than with most private parks. Outdoor and indoor pools, new this year is a snack bar that offers breakfast and lunch. We've stayed at the KOA next door for the last 3 years and we won't be going back. The concrete pads and paved roads make all the difference in the world for summer weather in the OBX. If the bath houses were air conditioned, I'd probably give this place a 10!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$66
Very nice facilities. The hookups worked well and were in good condition. The campground was having trouble with their water system. We were given a copy of a letter from the state of NC about the poor quality of their water and that it should not be drunk without boiling it first. The pressure was low too. We could see the staff working on the situation and performing tests but I don't think they had the problem solved by the time we left. The interior roads and pads are all like new. Cable has 99 channels and a good quality picture. We stayed on the Pamlico Sound side which was much calmer and quieter (which is how we like it). The new WiFi only works in the office lounge and apparently has limited connectivity. They ask you to limit your use to 15 minutes or less. This was a bit disappointing. The staff was friendly. The ocean side of the campground is gated. The sound side is not. Both sides are patrolled by campground security in golf carts. The beach was nice. Pools were a bit sandy but that can be attributed to the large number of people there for the holiday weekend. There isn't much in the campground's store but supplies can be obtained elsewhere within a very short drive. Even though this place is twice the cost of other campgrounds in the area, from what we saw of the others, it was worth it. Camp Hatteras will be our base of operations when we go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$60
The park is very clean but has very high rates. Fees are charged for cable and even pets. I never fully understood the pet charge because we, as owners, fed, picked up after and cared for our own pets. The cement pads and paved roads were great and makes it easier to level rigs. No shade and it's a little to windy to use awnings for very long. No weekly rates and by the time all the fees are added, you're paying over $60.00 a night. We thought the park was very nice but didn't see the justification for the rates. Most of the staff are very nice and try to be helpful, however there are a few work campers that need a little more training with people skills. Some were very unfriendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$62
This camp is set up as a resort, ocean front sites and nice concrete pads. All amenities for RV's. The camp is great, kept well and maintained. Our only gripe would be that they charge you for each child/night and they were supposed to have planned activities for the children (which is why we picked it). However, we were told they would have activities the following week, not the week we stayed. This after I had confirmed by phone that they would. They still charged us full price, on season rates, when I believe they should have charged off season prices for off season accommodations. We will return to Cape Hatteras, but not to this camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$55
This is an very clean campground with many amenities right on the ocean. It is however extremely condensed and crowded with tons of kids. $55/night makes this one of the most expenseive campgrounds in North Carolina. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$55
$42 was w/FMCA disc. Cable $3 extra, pet $2xtra makes it pricey, but 2 pools, good small laundry would be too small in season. We visited in early Oct. They have sites on both ocean and sound. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$40
Camp here in June 2002 with a 40 ft motorhome. Nice family campground. Good club house and nice outdoor and indoor pools. Staff very friendly and helpful. Extra charges for children and cable TV, which makes it a little expensive. Nice beach. I would recommend this campground to my friends and would return if I am back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$42
Camp Hatteras is a nice campground. The bath house and toilets are fairly clean. The campground is well maintained. It is ocean front as well. Indoor and Outdoor pool is available. It is really close to nothing. The nearest grocery store is a 50 minute drive. Quiet time starts at 11:00PM. Be aware that Hatteras is very windy. If you bring a tent, you have to bring a few heavy objects to hold the tent stakes in place. Everything was good. The only complaint was the bath houses and toilets near the swimming pools were a bit messy because tons of people go there through out the day. All the other bath houses were clean. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$40
We have visited Camp Hatteras for the past 6 years or so every summer in July. Nice family oriented campground. There is no shade but most are traveling with air conditioned campers so we can cool off there, under our awning or at the lovely uncrowded beach. This campground is ocean front. Plenty for the children and teenagers to do but far from the noise and traffic of other beach front campgrounds. Be sure to pack plenty of food, you have to go about 20 miles for the nearest large supermarket!! We make our trips count! Attractions: The Bodie Island Light House, the Cape Hatteras Light House and be sure you take the ferry over (make it a day trip) to Oacracoke Isand: wonderful place!! You will truly enjoy this campground for a weeks vacation!! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com