224277 User submitted reviews online!!
Ocean Waves Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (252) 987-2556
CGID2125

Ocean Waves Campground

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   7   10   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$42
We loved this park. The dunes to the beach were about 75 feet from our RV. It is a well kept park and despite what other reviews say, we found the staff friendly and helpful. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$48
We loved being at this campground. The access to the beach is just a short walk over the dunes, and we took advantage several times during the days and nights. The cable and wifi were very good. The showers and restrooms were very clean. The site was narrow and short for our 24 ft rig. We were not impressed with the personnel during our stay. The woman in the office was adequate but not friendly or helpful at all. While in this area we found 3 good restaurants: Wattermans, Good Winds, Stingray. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$48
This is a nice, no frills campground. Short walk from your site to the beach. No open fires are allowed at the campground, but permits to have a campfire on the beach are available at the office. Sites are on the small side, but that is typical for the area. Not much of anything to do in Waves itself except the beach. Closest grocery store is 15 miles south. Nags Head and Kitty Hawk are a 45 minute drive. Some shade at the pool would be nice, maybe add a couple of tables with umbrellas. Great fishing out of Oregon Inlet Fishing Center. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
Very nice, even after all the rain. Check in was easy and staff was friendly. We payed extra for the cable. WIFI at our site (10) was strong. Site had large concrete pad, room for trailer, pic nick table and car. That way we did not have to deal with the mud. Visited another RV park down the street and many of the sites were gravel and no pad. Really happy we stayed here. Easy access to the beach, right at the end of the park. Sure would stay here again. Only negative is the sites are a little close to each other but not bad, had plenty of room for awing and slide. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$53
Prior to our arrival they had 5 days of steady rain. So there was a lot of mud everywhere. This is a low area so it will take some time to dry out. The site numbers are painted on the edge of the concrete pad and very hard to see due to fading and mud. No escort to the site. The water, elect, Wi-Fi and cable all worked very well. The C/G is right on the ocean and just a short walk up and over the dunes and your there. For us we did not care for the overall conditions around fellow campers' units. Laundry hanging everywhere from awnings, laying across vehicles, on ladders etc. We understand this is a beach C/G, but do you really want to see everyones laundry hanging out. Also, with the additions of bikes, assorted toys laying around it just gives the entire C/G a rundown seedy look. Just our opinion. We probably would not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$53
Great location, hookups, level paved pads. Great staff. Convenient laundry facility that is very reasonably priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$48
Nice campground on the small side. Friendly helpful staff. Clean restrooms and showers. Easy walk over dune to beautiful beach. Friendly seasonals. Most local restaurants are seasonal at best and it's 17 miles to nearest grocery so plan accordingly. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
Great little campground if you want to be near the beach, which is right over the dune at the end of the campground. Clean restrooms and showers. Each site is pretty large for a beach campground, with grass and a concrete pad (except for the designated tent sites). Wifi worked, and cable TV reception worked well. We had site #25 that was partially shaded and had ample room for a 10x10 tent in addition to our pop up camper sited on the concrete slab. Management was friendly and helpful, and it was convenient to have a camp store where ice was reasonably priced. I would return to this campground when a beach trip is planned. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
We stayed at this campground for Memorial Day weekend ( 4 nights ) in site number 34. We had to send in our reservations the first week of January by postal mail to get our site since they book up quick. This was our first time staying at this campground and it was well worth the stay. They don't have a lot of amenities compared to the KOA or Camp Hatteras just down the road but well WORTH the price. The campground is clean and well maintained. The multiple bathhouses were clean but no soap or paper towels ( must be a cost savings thing ). This sites are a bit close together but much better compared to the KOA crammed sites. The beach is directly over the sand dune at the end of the campground. The campground is a great location for exploring the Outer Banks with Cape Hatteras lighthouse 20 mins to the south in Buxton and the wild horses 25 mins to the north in Corolla. BTW: There's an awesome restaurant when you turn left out of the campground next to the Dairy Queen called Atlantic Coast Cafe. The seafood is fresh and not high priced either! My family is already wanting to book another week at this campground so we'll be returning again... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
We stay at Ocean Waves each time we visit the Outer Banks. Our most recent visit was for a week. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Sites are paved and easily accommodate our 34' RV and car. Sites have W/E/S/Cable, all of which are good. WiFi is good except during times of very heavy use. This is a quiet park with a nice pool and the ocean is directly over the dunes. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$44
This campground is the best option on the Outer Banks. At less than half the price of the neighboring campgrounds, it is a great deal. They really recovered nicely from last year's hurricane damage and have spruced up the park somewhat. They even added deck chairs at the pool. The Wi-Fi seemed improved from last year, though still a bit hit or miss. Still no soap or paper towels in the restrooms, which is puzzling. There had been a near record amount of rain in the weeks before our visit, so (no fault of Ocean Waves) the place was a swamp. Several sites were unusable and almost all sites had puddles of water and mud. Not much they can do about the lack of drainage on a barrier island, but be advised to take old shoes or boots if the forecast calls for heavy rain! Also, due to the rain, the mosquitoes were horrendous. They literally swarmed you when you step outside. However, the campground has a curious rule banning torches. We have a tiki torch that burns citronella liquid that is a must for mosquitoes. I'd say if management won't allow such items, they better contract someone to spray the campground for bugs. All in all, a nice campground right on the beach and a great deal for the money. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
This is a very well cared for park. We only stayed the weekend but it was obvious that folks return year after year and we will too. Can't beat the location and walk to a gorgeous beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$42
This is a great place to stay on the Outer Banks. The beach is short walk away over the dune. The spaces are small but clean and well maintained. The owners live near the entrance. I found everything as advertised and look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
We really enjoyed this campground and had been planning to visit it for three years or more, but it was always full. Everything was nice, sites level, short walk to the beach, nice little pool and the camp store was very nice and well stocked. The price compared to others in the area was extremely cheap. Just a couple of minor things I will mention. One rule the owners have in place is no mats are to be put out. The site we had was not very grassy and more sand which is to be expected..we like to set outside but didn't do much of that due to setting in the sand. Our site was not "double width concrete site pads" as advertised on the web site but was manageable. A little tight but still roomy compared to other campgrounds. For the price, relatively speaking, you can't go wrong here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$41
We head to the Outer Banks about every other year, but have always stayed at the KOA next door. The prices there have climbed to ridiculous levels, so we finally got our request in early enough this year to secure 4 nights at Ocean Waves. We had walked through the campground before and it seemed pretty nice. I will admit, I was skeptical about the string of 9 and 10 ratings it garners. I will say it is a nice campground, but not quite worthy of a perfect 10 in my book. For my wife and I, who just want to park our camper and go to the beach, it is nearly perfect, especially given the price, but I am rating it for the benefit of others who may have kids or not be in a self-contained unit. That said, I would give it a low "8". The sites are a standard beach campground: very close. However, they are level, paved and deep. I was able to back in my 40' fiver and park my long bed truck in front of it without a problem. There is nice grass between each site: no sand spurs or hot sand! Water pressure was good and we showed 122 volts consistently on our EMS. The few minor negatives that keep this place from really being a 9 or 10: 1) The bathhouses are as stated by previous reviewers. Normally we use our own facilities, but do use the bathhouse when we are at the beach and don't want to go back to the rig. As stated before, no soap, no paper towels or dryer, and at 5'9", my knees pressed against the stall doors. How much can paper towels and some soap cost? Basic sanitation shouldn't be optional. 2) Next, the Wi-Fi was terrible. In site 64 we never got more than a "Low" signal and a 1.0 Mbps rate: think 1990s dial up speeds. Normally I don't care about having Internet, but my daughter was working some online classes and had to walk down to the office just to get a signal. It wasn't our equipment either. We had a Mac, a PC notebook, and a phone: same result, in or outside the camper. 3) The pool is not above ground as a previous rater stated, but a fiberglass shell that juts a foot or two above the ground and is surrounded by decking: no big deal. Adequate size for a campground this small. But there are no deck chairs at all. Seriously: a pool with no deck chairs? People were laying on their rafts or on towels on the hard deck. 4) The beach access is no problem for most people. However, anyone with difficulty navigating in deep sand or up steep hills, be warned. They need a boardwalk like the other 2 nearby campgrounds. 5) Not an issue for us, but there are no real activities for kids (other than miles of gorgeous beach of course!) A single swingset next to the dumpster was it. Compared to other beach places we've stayed, that seems to be lacking. Again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will go back. The beach is awesome: uncrowded and beautiful. The water can be rough at times and is usually chilly until mid-July. We saw plenty of kids in the water, so there is no need to drive to soundside beaches, as previously stated. In 30 minutes or so you can be in Nags Head and Kitty Hawk, or south to Buxton and Hatteras. If, like us, you just want to park your rig at a nice quiet place and fish or hit the beach, this place is for you. The price is unbeatable. If you are looking for a campground with nicer facilities, nice bathhouses, entertainment for your kids, Internet access, and a nice large pool, you might want to look elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$37
Level paved sites with large grass area around each one. Good WiFi. Cable TV a little extra $$. Very clean restrooms. Nice little store. Owners on site. Short walk over dune to beach. Could hear surf last night due to storm. Great value for this area. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
Compared to the prices of the RV parks nearby, this one is a steal. The campground, bathrooms and showers are clean. The sites are paved and level with grass between sites. The person who checked me in was friendly. The showers do not have a dressing area, so you must get dressed in the shower itself. It was very windy while we were there and the waves were huge. We had no beach access from the dune behind the campground because the water had created a ten foot drop from the top of the dune to the beach. We realized that we left our $80 water regulator there. We called the next day and the owner was able to locate it. We were willing to pay the postage to have it mailed to our home. She did mail it, but did not charge us the $11 postage, which I thought was very nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Great place. Clean and well maintained. Small, but the space between sites is very reasonable. Some sites wider than others. Would stay away from sites 36, 37 and 38 as there is a pump that runs all night on the property next to the park. Not horrible, but don't do it if you don't have to. Staff was excellent and very helpful. Park has two washers and dryers. Would come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
Friendly and helpful Staff. Very nice, orderly, quiet environment. Just a walk over the sand dune to the ocean. Extremely reasonable rate for this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in early August 2010 in a popup. We were very excited about going to the Outer Banks, and from the reviews we thought this would be a super place to stay. This was the absolute WORST vacation and campground we ever stayed at. We had specifically reserved a site "in the shaded section" and the owner guaranteed us a site with shade. Our popup gets HOT unless it's shaded, so I specifically asked for a shaded site. When we arrived at 4pm, the last site in the "shaded section" was given to us. We had NO shade on our site. Instead, we had a rotting tree behind our site with poison ivy growing all over it! We figured we'd try to make the best of it, since there was nowhere else to stay at peak season. When the kids tried to put up a small shade/beach shelter about 4' wide on the grass to sit under, the owner told my husband to remove it, since no tents or shelters are allowed on the grass. Yet, the people all around us had screenhouses set up on the grass. ??? The pool is a small above-ground pool about 18 by 30 with a deck around it, attached to the side of the "store." No showers nearby. The decking needed to be replaced due to age, cracks, and splinters. The "store" is more of a hangout for the family who owns the place. At check-in, the owner actually had her small dog on the counter, and I didn't even have room to sign the paperwork. Dirty, smelly and uknept, products looked like they'd been there for a decade or more. We shopped at a small grocery down the road about a mile. I had asked about the beach when I made reservations, and I told the owner I had small children. The beach was eroded, with a steep drop-off, so the kids couldn't even wade in the water. My husband diddn't even attempt to go in the water because the surf was so rough. This wasn't in hurricane season, it was mid-summer, and there were no storms while we were there. Some other campers told us that it's normally very rough surf on that side, and though it's great for watersports, it's really not for family swimming. He knew that, so why didn't the owners tell us?? We drove 45 minutes to a beach on the inland side, the kids played in the stagnant water and we were bitten by greenhead flies. The campground sprays for these biting flies every day at dusk, so be prepared for the spray truck while you're making your evening meal! The bath houses were OLD, dark and very dirty. The knobs on both showers that I tried fell off, dirt and dead bugs were on the floor and packed into the corners of the showers. Screens on the windows were flapping in the breeze. Yuck. The play equipment was in the sun next to a storage building at the front of the park. It was not in good condition, and it was far too hot to be of any use to our family. There were 3 story beach houses behind our site on the adjacent lots to the campground. The people in the beach houses had deck parties most of the nights of our stay. People were talking loudly and playing music until midnight or later on the decks. Not the fault of the campground, of course, but anyone staying here should be aware of the issue. We spoke with the owners about the problems with our site, and the woman who had checked us in told us that our site had "plenty of shade" and refused to do anything. She was openly belligerent toward me and told me that we could leave if we weren't satisfied with the accommodations, but we'd still need to pay for the full stay because we hadn't given her notice to cancel. There was no concern for us as paying guests - she didn't apologize or offer to make amends, nothing. She was just rude and belligerent with no provocation. I told her that I would be writing poor reviews for their campground, and her husband stepped in and apologized for her behaviour. Bizarre!! This would probably be a good place to stay if you are all adults and want to park your RV for a bit and say you went to the Outer Banks - but it's too far away from the major attractions of the Outer Banks to easily access them. The KOA is just a few hundred feet away, and for a few more dollars, you can have a nice, clean place to stay that is family-friendly. Bottom line - there are better places to stay where you'll be treated well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We were first time campers in a Cruise America rental motorhome. The site was easy to find and the staff were efficient if not especially friendly. The entire site was full and the pitches seemed fine, but after further experience, were obviously close together. The comfort stations were clean and functional although the toilet cubicles were tiny. We are a small family of four and all of us struggled to fit comfortably. The high score is due to the close proximity of a fabulous beach which was a 30 second walk over the dunes. It kept our children happy for an entire day. We did not want to do much cooking and found two reasonable restaurants within a five minute walk from the camp gate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We loved this campground! Owners are very friendly, everything is immaculate, W-iFi worked well, has a well stocked store, and the rules are enforced. Eveyone we met seemed happy to be here, and was friendly. Our site was both sunny and shady. Sites can be a little tight if you have a big rig. We enjoyed the food at "Uncle Pauly's" restaurant. My only issue was getting to the beach: the dune is high, and it can be difficult climbing in the sand if you have mobility problems (I do). We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
This is an excellent, family friendly campground at half the cost of the other campgrounds in town. Has a friendly and helpful staff. Stayed here for 8 nights on this, our second visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
Nice campground. Very clean, nice management, easy access to beach. Nice concrete pad to park on, mats not allowed on grass. Wi-fi worked very well, 60+ channels of cable, power kept constant voltage, good water pressure. Easy access from road, sites can be tight getting in or out of with big rig depending on where neighbor parked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
What a great little campground this is! It has a quiet, family friendly atmosphere. We chatted with the owner, she was super friendly. All sites have concrete pads, picnic table and a grassy area. The sites are bigger than at most other campgrounds. It is very clean and well maintained. The campground has a store with basic supplies. We had cable TV and Wi-Fi and they both worked flawlessly. The pool was clean as well as the bathrooms and showers. Pets are welcome at no additional charge. I rated this campground as a 10 because I have no complaints whatsoever. The only suggestion I have is to build a ramp/sidewalk over the sand dune to make it easier to get out to the beach. It is very hard to walk up the hill, in the sand with chairs, coolers, etc. That being said, it would not stop me from staying at this lovely campground. I look forward to many future visits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a wonderful campground. We've stayed here twice: once in a tent, and once in our pop-up. The ocean is just a quick hop across the dunes. Has clean bath houses, friendly staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Wonderful gem of a campground. The small size makes it seem like a little town with everyone waving and saying hello whenever you pass by. Easy access to the ocean at a price that is way lower than the two neighboring campgrounds. Excellent home base for exploring and enjoying the Outer Banks. Bathrooms were always clean and although some complain about the stalls and showers, we had no problems. I would definitely stay here again. We camped for 10 days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
Very nice and clean park with all the amenities at a reasonable cost for the area. Owners were very accommodating and helpful. We were here for 10 days and we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
Ocean Waves is a real bargain for the area. The only thing that keeps this site from being an ocean view, are the dunes. Many fishermen use this site as a base camp. The staff is very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We spent the Easter weekend out here and found the campground great. Because of its size, you are never far from the beach and the acess is very easy. Also because of its size, there is not an excessive amount of traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$36
Great place, especially for the price. Our site was about 20 yards from the dunes. The staff opened a bathhouse for us, but it wasn't heated, so we didn't use the showers--it was in the 30s and 40s. The sinks were nice, but the toilet stalls are kind of small--my legs were pressed up against the door. Wi-fi and cable were included and worked well. Pool looked nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
We really like this campground. The campground is on the ocean side with only the dunes separating us from the ocean -- an easy walk. We can hear the waves breaking at night. The internet has been off and on while we were there, but we were able to do what we wanted (send and receive e-mail). It is in a good location for day trips to Ocracoke, Manteo, Hatteras, and Corolla. We will definitely come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
This campground was awesome! Our family rented a house in the outer banks, but we wanted to have a little getaway, and chose to camp for the week instead. The owners of this place are very friendly and have strict rules (about the lawn and trees) but nothing extreme. The sites are just over the dunes, with easy access to the ocean, and there was plenty of space on the beach for all of the campground visitors. They also offer a pool which was clean and not crowded. The sites were good size and adequately spaced apart, plus we had a few trees to add privacy (and shade!). We were 25-30 minutes from Jockey's Ridge, etc. allowing us to do the touristy stuff if we wanted but escape to the quiet of our campground when needed to. Would definitely recommend Ocean Waves, and plan to return each year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
This was our first time in this campground. Some sites are full sun, ours was shaded which we had requested prior to arrival. All sites concrete pad. Pool was small but clean. It is a bit of a hike over the sand dune to get to the ocean. I believe there were 4 tent sites at the base. Bath houses were good, my only complaint is that the showers do not have an area for dressing. Once you shower you have to redress in the wet shower which can force you to be a bit of a contortionist. For this reason I gave this park a rating of 9. Very quiet park and clean. Family oriented. We got pizza from Lisa's Pizzeria and it was pretty good and close to the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
Very nice and family oriented. Sites have concrete pad but the size of the sits and pads vary by location. Some pads are just big enough for the camper others you can fit a table and chairs on. Owners are very strict on the rules, but very nice and easy to get along with. Most people are return campers and come back year after year. I am looking forward to returning next year for my beach trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
We had site #65 and it was full sun. Site was concrete, FHU with cable and very level with manicured grass all around, no sand. When I checked the bathhouse the floor was wet and had sand in it. The showers had been redone but were very mildewy. There was no air in them and the doors were always open which probably helped the problem. I only checked them once since we have our own bath in our unit, and prefer to use it to a public bathhouse. Most people we talked to come here every year with their families having summer reunions. It had a fun outdoor games atmosphere. To get a reservation you must mail in your application after Jan 1st of the year, until Mar when they accept phone calls. There is a store, game room, pool that was strange shaped(you could slide down the sides)and a playset. We did not like the beach as we come from FL and are spoiled by the Gulf Coast. We felt the sand was very dirty/black and sticked to you. We even took pictures of our dd's feet to show how black they got after walking along beach. You can have fires on the beach there. The NPS is cracking down on driving 4WD on beach right now because of nesting birds. Many people were unhappy about this. Park owners are very strict and rules are followed or you are out. This was not a problem for us or our neighbors. We did not have problems with noise from the houses nearby, probably because they are so expensive to rent and the gas prices have made people re-evaluate their spending, that most were not completely full when we were there. The campground was full the entire week we were there though. Good location to go north or south for visiting nearby attractions. We did not have any problems with traffic during our stay. The day we left they were doing roadwork which could slow people down though as it is only a 2 lane road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
Very friendly staff and campers. Many camp there because it is a short walk over a dune to the ocean where they fish. Beach excellent for long walks. Site a bit tight for a big rig. When we arrived, the clerk told us to go ahead to the site and come back because they were celebrating an early Thanksgiving. It took a bit of time to maneuver into the site. Just as we were extending the slideouts, the owner and other person drove up in a golf cart with huge plates of food and dessert. “We didn’t want you to miss out,” the owner said. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
We love this park in the off season. Very quiet and since it was cold, not much action in the houses that are next door. Everyone is extremely friendly. Would give the park a 10 except their advertised WiFi did not work at our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Really nice park with paved roads and concrete pads. The prices are great compared to the two neighboring parks but I do have just two small complaints. The free WI-FI is sporadic at best and they charge extra for cable TV. I would rather be charged a higher nightly fee than be nickel and dimed with additional charges. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
We don't care for private campgrounds for the most part, but we enjoyed our stay at this park. The only negatives were the bathrooms and laundry, the stalls are so small my knees would be right up to the stall door, and I'm only 5'9". Not sure why they're so tight. The showers were similar as they had no privacy for changing, which didn't matter a lot since we were using them after swimming and would just wear our suits to and from and just change in the trailer. There were only two washers and two dryers. The restrooms were cleaned on a regular basis and the one we used appeared to have been remodeled, I guess retiled may be a better description. The real awesome part of this park is the beach. This was by far our best visit to the ocean. The Outer Banks in this area are not built up like the beaches in Florida or South Carolina. There's nice elbow room on the beach and the water was cooler making it more refreshing then our previous ocean visits to Myrtle Beach, Sanibel Island, and the Keys to name a few. We never even used the pool, but it looked nice enough. We would easily come back to this park as the price is fair compared to some others nearby that would've cost us over twice as much with charges for kids and dogs. I could see where the nearby houses could create noise problems, but the other campgrounds could have similar issues too. We just left the fan to the AC on at night and never heard noise from the rental houses. Traffic seemed real bad on Saturday on the main hwy, as most of the rentals rent Saturday to Saturday, so I'm glad I came and left during the week as traffic seemed minimal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
This is the third month we spend in Ocean Waves. April 2006, September 2006, and last month. Great place, clean, friendly, right on the beach, and great price. Does not get flooded in a storm and is well protected by the dunes. We are going back and back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
On arrival, you may be put off by the entrance (a bit ratty and dated looking), but driving in further, you'll find that all 68 sites are paved in concrete with blacktop roads (except for two tent sites at the beach end of the park). We did not use the restrooms, but did use the laundry, which was passable. We did not use the cable tv but noted that it was available. Staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was not ready for use (in early April) and management said it was normally opened in May. Why charge full price if all amenities are not fully functional? Rules are enforced unevenly. Our door mat was tossed off the lawn in a heap by our door, by management, while we were away on a day trip, yet trucks and cars were allowed to park on the lawn sites with impunity. Lawns between the sites are ratty, and mostly weeds. Our site (#66) was long enough for our 43' motorcoach and our tow car to park entirely on the concrete. Access for our rig was easy in, easy out. Trees are trimmed up high enough, and the streets are just wide enough to maneuver. The beach is via an access path at the end of the campground, easy walking distance. The staff do not pick up litter and lots of it (plastic bottles, beer cans, and other trash) can be found around the perimeter of the park as well as at the back of sites against the tree/shrub buffer. Water pressure was good, electricity of good quality, and the sewer hook up was clean and easy to use. Overall, a nice park, reasonably priced, and well-maintained (with the exception of litter pick-up). The location is about 40 minutes drive to Nags Head (the main city in the area for shopping, etc.). We don't fish, but lots at the park did and had easy access to fishing areas, or beach fishing all along the sound and the ocean beaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
Courteous and friendly owners. Willing to help in any way needed. Ocean just over the dunes at end of campground. Most guests that we met, have come back for years. Restrooms/showers a little old but were kept clean daily. Located about the center of the Outer Banks making it a great place to sight see the Outer Banks from. Really enjoyed our trip. Plan on returning next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Nice park with concrete pads. Bath Houses could use some improvement. No soap or paper towel dispensers in bathrooms. Showers not the cleanest, and small laundry facilities 2 washers and 2 driers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$34
We had a very nice site here. It was on the side that did not have the houses just on the other side of the fence so there was no party noise. The pad was cement with a nice grassy space between sites. A few sites had a tree or two, but most were open. It was a short walk to the beach which was really pretty with lots of shells. The general appearance of the park was attractive and well kept. There were many channels on their cable TV, but the WiFi only worked in the office. The staff was friendly. Based on these things alone we would have rated the park an 8 or 9. However, the restrooms and showers were horrible. They were old with cracking, flaking paint. They were not air conditioned so the outside doors stayed open allowing every bug in the area to reside or die inside. There was dirty standing water on the floor, and several shower heads were dripping and rusted. We know facilities are harder to maintain in a coastal environment, but this was ridiculous. We looked in three different bathrooms, and they were all the same. Therefore, we must give a lower rating and feel the site rental we paid was overpriced. We might stay here again because the rest of the park is nice, and we can use the bathroom in our coach, but I would certainly warn others about the showers before telling them to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
I was disappointed in this campground. Many of our problems were because of the site that we had. We were in site 29 which is right beside the restroom building. There is an exterior light on the bathhouse that is bright enough to read by at night- we had to use our reflective covers on the side of the pop-up to block some of the light - but it wasn't enough. Our site was so close to the bathhouse that it felt like people were walking in our site when they went in and out of the bathhouse. The doors were propped open always, so we had a clear view of the men's stalls. We also had neighbors renting the house on the other side of the fence from us who played loudly in their pool all day and partied on their deck overlooking us until very late each evening, and then got up early and had coffee on the deck, talking loudly. Fireworks until midnight added a challenge to getting the kids to sleep. I realize that the campground owners have no control over the houses next door - but you need to be aware that these rental houses are just a few feet away and pack your earplugs. I couldn't tell that quiet hours elsewhere in the campground were enforced at all. There were groups being very loud with yelling, running etc. until midnight every night. The restrooms were dirty - I went in one morning immediately after the cleaning crew left - and the fairly deep standing water from a leaking toilet that had been there the entire 3 days we were there was still there when they were done - they hadn't even bothered to sweep out the huge floating bugs. The large washing sink still had sand in it from the night before and the counters weren't wiped down at all. The faucet nozzle was rotting off from the salt air and was very unappealing as a place to wash dishes. The milk that we bought at the campstore was spoiled. We took it back and exchanged it for another bottle - and it was spoiled too. The garbage dumpster that was closest to the beach STUNK and you had to walk by it to go back and forth to the beach. I felt very sorry for the tent campers who were camping near it. In looking at the other major campgrounds at the beach, this one is the only one with trees - and if you're in a pop-up, get spots 24, 26, and you'll be do ok. They are close to the owners house, have no rental property overlooking them and have some shade. By the way, we'd had this booked for months - it wasn't a last minute booking. I imagine that the larger camping vehicles wouldn't have these problems with noise and light and having to use the restrooms - but if you're in a pop-up or a tent, watch out. On a positive note, the beach was nice and close. I've never seen so many shells - the kids got a ton of shells to bring home. Also, the price for the campground was excellent - even with cable, it was only $29 for a pop up site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
Very nice campground. Friendly and informative owners. Good site for those who want to surf fish. Beautiful beach with easy access for long walks. Easy access to Cape Hatteras, Bodi, and Curituck lighthouses (day trips). Day trip to Wright Brothers museum and Kitty Hawk was worthwhile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
This campground was quiet in our experience. We really appreciated the concrete pads after the downpour on our first day! We toured the KOA later in the day and found site after site filled with mud. The bathrooms need some updating and more frequent cleaning, but otherwise the campground is pretty well maintained. The kids loved the pool, and we had some success with surfcasting at night. The other campers around us were very friendly and helpful. This is a cozy place, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
Excellent campground on the ocean. The sites have large concrete pads and many are shaded. The pool is nice and the owners are friendly. Restrooms are clean but need updating. You must get dressed in the shower. There are no private dressing areas. However, I would return again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
Nice friendly campground. Concrete parking pads, grass and trees. Pool was nice & clean. Store was well stocked with basic enssentials. Quite area and the beach just over the dunes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
This was our first time at this campground. We were so very pleased with the facilities, and our site was just perfect. We had a shaded site, this was a nice size site for our 36 ft. motorhome with 2 slides. The beach was magnificent. Pool was not open yet. Everybody was very friendly. We had a terrific stay of 4 days with our 2 grandsons and daughter in law. I highly recommend this campground if you want a pleasant, quiet, friendly and family atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Very nice campground with paved pads, some near the oceanfront and some back in the trees. Very nice people managing this park. This is one of three parks in a row in the Outer Banks and they charge about half what the others charge. They are every bit as nice as the other two and, as a result of their low prices, they fill up rapidly. A good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This is a very nice campground along the Outer Banks of North Carolina. In the Rodanthe/Waves/Salvo area, there are 3 oceanfront campgrounds in a row. Ocean Waves is the 3rd one. They have very large concrete pads on most sites, hookups are good, several bath houses (clean), oceanfront (tent sites at the base of the dunes), cable TV, swimming pool, paved roads, picnic tables, camp store, and the owners are very nice. This campground is very popular - thus, they are always full. This is the 4th campground we've stayed at on the Outer Banks and the only one that's reasonably priced. We will definitely go back, providing we can get a reservation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com