206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Clearwater was rated 6 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (910) 862-3365
CGID2128

Camp Clearwater

Camp Information
Sites
1200
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   9   1   5   6   1   8   5   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$59
Highly disappointed in this campground. First, we almost drove right by because there is no large sign and there are small letters on a brick entrance wall. The lake is the only saving grace in which we were still disappointed. All we kept hearing is how the water is crystal clear. It most definitely was not once you got out past your waist. Maybe from all the rain that the area has been getting over the summer? It was still nice to swim or float in and was very warm. The beach area is very nice, but lots of smokers who left their butts in the sand or water. The overnight section is in the middle of the campground right on the main road. The sites are all pull thru and some are shaded. Never having been there before, they gave us a map with brief instructions of how to get to our site. The sites were pretty empty when we arrived early in the day and it was very hard to judge which number belonged to which site. The worst was on the site around us (luckily not ours) there was a tree right in the middle of where you need to pull through. Our neighbors on both sides struggled to get in and unhook their vehicle. The sites are so close together the neighbors awning about touched our camper and we had to go under their awning into their campsite to dump. The golf carts are out of control. Loud music and cruising until midnight. Young kids not paying attention, using their cell phones while driving, no parental control. It was hard to ride our bikes without getting run over. The camper across the way had a disco ball with bright flashing lights and load music going every night. It is definitely not someplace you want to go to relax and sit around a campfire. The only way you could do a fire was if you bring your own fire pit, but who knows where you would put it because of the campers being so close. Some of the seasonal/permanent sites were so dumpy. The bathrooms were clean and each was separate with their own toilet and shower. The only downside was you pushed a button to get timed water and you could not adjust the temperature. The one night the water was so scalding hot you could barely go under it. There is a lot for kids to do and they have different activities for them. Nice big arcade and camp store. Barely saw any staff members around the campground the whole weekend we were there. This campground is definitely a once and done, we will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
We camped here overnight. The overnight sites are located in the middle of this large lakefront resort offering many amenities. The easily accessed, pull through, full hook up site w/50 amp electric site was large (long), and some shade was available. Local TV was available as well as a clear satellite signal. The bathhouses were new or recently remodeled and featured private bathroom facilities which were immaculate. The adjoining laundry facility was clean as well as were the overall common grounds and lakefront beach and piers. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Would return and recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
We camped here for 2 nights in August after receiving them for free from an RV show. We enjoy camping and have been to about 6 different campgrounds in the past year and this was definitely the worst. However, the lake was wonderful, and our children were able to swim at night both nights. This was definitely the highlight of our trip. The campground itself was full when we went, with the sites being right on top of each other. We didn't even have enough space to spread out our camping rug that usually fits in front of our camper door. The absolute worst part about this trip was the LOUD, OBNOXIOUS, golf carts that cruise until 12 a.m. and later. The bathrooms were updated, but there was a motion sensor that only allowed the water to spray for about 10-20 seconds at a time and the water temperature could not be adjusted. We will not return to this campground, but may go to white lake again at a different access point. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
We saw this place advertised at an RV show and decided to give it a try. We made reservations over the phone. The person making our reservations was very accommodating. Our visit began on a Tuesday, and we left on Friday morning. This campground is primarily a seasonal campground with about 100 overnight full-hookup sites situated in the center of a travel trailer park. We had no problems with our site, although we did change our site to get one with shade. The sites were fairly level and clean. We didn't know that they were working on the bath house near our site so we had to walk to the other end to use the showers. The new bath houses have 12' ceilings, and the shower, toilet, and sink are in one room; 4 to a bath house. There are 4 outside showers as well. We were VERY disappointed with the showers. Although new, the shower heads are 9-10' from the floor and on a motion sensor. So, if you move to the side to get a dribble of water from the shower flow (which is about 3' wide at the place you are standing) then the shower shuts off. The outside showers are almost as bad - the water spray is so spread out that it's impossible to rinse. The inside showers are HOT and STEAMY. No way to adjust the water temp or spray; there is NO VENTILATION. No a/c that we could tell. They look nice, but they are horrible to use. New laundry facility also-- coin operated, 4 washers, 4 dryers for the entire place. Sites are OK, but bring a rake for the pine needles and a mat for the dirt/sand on the site. The beach is the saving grace of this place. GREAT beach. Clean, white sand on a shaded beach (from pine trees) and several piers to swim from; some have shaded sitting areas. The beach is a very gradual 0 to 5' deep at the buoys. Great for kids; plenty of room during the week to spread out; seats and swings along the beach. We discovered on our last evening here that the piers are LIGHTED at night, so you can swim in the lovely warm water in the evening. We'd have loved to take our kids for an evening swim to avoid the sun; but nobody told us about this. We found out because we saw teens walking to the beach area and coming back sopping wet at 11pm. Which brings me to the downfall of this campground. We were told by another camper that it was good we were leaving on Friday, because the golf carts take over the place on the weekend. Sure enough, on Thursday night the seasonal campers started coming, and we saw teens and little kids (like ages 7 or 8) driving golf carts back and forth past the campsites, music playing, texting on phones, just looking for something to do. The overnight sites are located in the center of the campground, kind of the mid-point between the various sections of the campground and on the main road leading to the waterfront. So, there was a lot of traffic for a Thursday night - one or two golf carts every minute or so. To get to anywhere else in the campground from the beach, they have to travel past the overnight sites unless they drive to the other end of the campground. It went on until midnight. The overnight sites were about 10% full on Tues and Wed, by the time we left on Friday, they were about 50% full. It was fairly quiet on Tues and Wed evening, except for a thunderstorm that turned the pine cones into missiles at 1am. The sites become filled with water, like basins, since they are somewhat dished out. The water drains fairly quickly, but be prepared and don't leave anything out or it will float away. If you tent camp, this could be an issue. The water was about 4" deep at one point during the storm. Another issue we took note of was the open sewer drains. The wastewater hook up is an open 4" diameter pipe. We could smell our neighbor's waste, and we think this could have been the source of the numerous flies that besieged our campsite at mealtime. All things considered, not a bad place to spend a few nights with the kids during the week, but don't expect any peace and quiet on the weekend. We might visit again, but only to take advantage of some evening swim time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This Park was a very Family Friendly Park with a laid back atmosphere. It was great for the kids, water was very clean for lake water. Swimming areas were clearly marked and water was around 5 feet deep at the deepest area, there were also Piers extending into the lake for sunbathing and portions were covered with bench seating.It has an arcade with a small gift shop/snack bar. Vendors were also set up selling food, gift items and fresh fruit and vegetables. There was a nice little burger joint and pizza place right outside the entrance and a grocery store just down the street. For us this was a great little spot not to far from home. Would definitely go here for short stays rather than Myrtle Beach or the Wilmington area. The only bad things were that the campground and local stores were cash or check only and the Campground does not take online or phone reservations, although there were a large number of spots available upon arrival. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Big disappointment. Lakefront is a deep sandy beach next to the outdoor church. Leaving on a Sunday morning means loading and driving right thru the congregation. The CG looked more like a trailer park with more perm. residents than campers. Bath house and restrooms old and dirty. I'm sure it's a good family style resort for the kids in the warmer weather, just not for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Loved to camp here each year in the overnight waterfront sites. There were not that many of them so in order to camp in those spots you had to call on New Year's day to get the spot you want. Me and my husband camped her for the last 3 years and loved it. The fireworks display over the lake are wonderful. The overnight waterfront sites are no longer available as of 1/1/11, so to get to the lake you would need a golf cart or have to drive because the park is so large. Would camp here again if we purchase a golf cart, but would miss the lakefront. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
Nice place overall. People were friendly. Lake and beach were Beautiful and perfect for the kids. Very nice docks to walk out on, hang out, and fish from. My only problem with this place was one, didn't know this was a dry county! We had to drive 8 miles for a beer. Second, they have a gospel concert on Saturday nights and service on Sunday mornings. I have no problem with the concert and services. What I have a problem with is that they didn't tell us the concert and service went on 10 feet from the site they put us at! So Saturday night we had a concert blaring at us that went on until past 10 pm (I have young children that need to go to bed before that!). The Sunday service was at the same place and we had to leave that morning. Lots of people attended the service and blocked us in from leaving and then proceeded to give us dirty looks while we are trying to pack up (we had a 4 hour drive home... can't wait all day). We had to wait for the service to end because no one moved out of our way so that we could leave. They just shot us dirty looks and acted like we were being rude. They also blocked everyone else in the row camping. Our neighbors sat in their car, packed up and ready to leave, for 2 hours. I just wish that they had disclosed that information to us before they put us in that spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We spent a week at Clearwater. We had a site near the water which was great. There was quite a bit of sand but that was OK. No WiFi or cable TV, but that was alright too, because we all interacted with each other like the good ole days. We had a very nice stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
We won a two night stay at an RV show. The CG was nice with a view of the lake. The spot we were originally assigned had loose sand and my TV didn't like it. Being as though it is early in the season and a week day, there was no problem relocating to another site. The down side is that there is no cable hookup or wifi. There is a tremendous presence of permanent residents. The older section reminded us of rowhouses, they were so close together. We had one station which was UNC public. It rained both the days we were there. I know more than I wanted to about about Curious George and the Muppets now. Overall I would recommend this CG for those looking for water views and family atmosphere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Sites seemed a little narrow due to white pine trees. They provided nice shade but the sites weren't positioned in accordance with the trees. There was more pine dirt than grass, so it was a task keeping it from being tracked into the camper. There are no scheduled activities except bingo and a DJ on Friday and Saturday nights. The DJ played allot of line dancing music and that was pretty much the only dancing going on on the dance floor. There are tons of seasonal sites. Every Saturday morning the seasonal site campers hold yard sales. The lake is wonderful as always. There is an algae that is in the lake that if you encounter it, the green gue will stick to you and your swimming suit. No current to sweep the kids away. The only waves are created by the boats and jet skis out in the middle of the lake. The swimming area is roped off to keep you from the boats. Even at the end of the pier, the water is only 4 feet deep. Nice white sand on the beach and at the bottom of the lake. White pines line the beach to provide shade. You can leave your stuff on the beach all day without anyone bothering it. This is a nice kids out of school/free for the summer place. They can freely ride their bicycles and swim, providing their parents some relaxation. My septic hook-up was more or less just a hole in the ground, but it did the job. They had camp side trash pick-up. The neighbors, fellow transit campers were always welcoming. There is a gate to the campground and a guard house so that it appears to be gated, but I never found anyone in the guard house. There is a water park about a mile away that is half price after 3pm. The water slide is an adult killer! There's a local grocery store right outside the campground. A laundry across the street and put-put golf. No golf carts to rent. But any golf carts bought into the campground have to show proof of insurance and display a issued sticker while being operated. Flies were crazy! Not a top of the line campground, but I'll go back... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
White Lake is very clear and unusual because it contains no fish. It was fun to play in. You definitely need to bring floats. The piers are really nice. This is a good campground for a weekend trip, if you don't need to drive too far to get there. We stayed five days which was really too long and travelled 3 hours to get there. Taking a boat would make it more fun. The campground needs some upkeep. We didn't see any workers around the campground except for the trash pickup and those working in the office & store. Young children drive golf carts and are pretty noisy until late into the night. The restrooms were dirty. The town has a nice waterpark & we enjoyed the go cart track across the street but there aren't any places to eat. We traveled to Elizabethtown to eat at the Front Porch which was excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
We camped here over Labor day. The lake is real nice. They do not take credit cards and don't have a phone hook-up to access the internet. The spaces are narrow, not for todays campers with slides. Our awning came to the edge of the electric and sewer hookup at the next site. If quiet is what you are after, then this is not the place for you. Golf carts run non stop playing loud music and most are driven by kids under 12 years old. Take a few advils and you might can survive it. There is no known restaurants close by, just mom & pop places. You have to go to Elizabethtown or Lumberton to eat. The lake is great and clean for a lake. Overall it was okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
This was a very nice campground, but the sites were a little small for large rigs. I visited there on the annual water fest weekend so it was really crowded. Staff very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$25
One of the top campgrounds around. The lake is clear as glass and the bottom is white sand that help keep the lake warm. Owners are super we had a great time and heading back soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com