223516 User submitted reviews online!!
Gotta Getaway (Formerly Lazy J RV Resort) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (419) 483-3177
CGID2156

Gotta Getaway (Formerly Lazy J RV Resort)

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   9   6   8   9   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Nice park with shaded, wooded sites. Lots for the kids to do and the staff are very friendly. Close to Cedar Point. New owners are very helpful, too! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Very nice campground. We were only here one night but the park was very well maintained. Check-in was efficient and friendly. They have a nice swimming pool and plenty of room to exercise our dogs. Looks like many families stay here on vacation and there are activities for all. Roads are a little tight but doable in a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
We stayed here on a PPA rate for one night. The park is mostly grass and was nicely kept. We parked on the grass and was able to pull though. The entrance and exit off the highway is steep, so much so that the road is all scraped up. We dragged and damaged our safety cable for the toad. Other than that it was a good over night stay at a PPA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
Price cited reflects is the rate. New ownership since fall of 2012. Improvements to issues mentioned in previous review. Sites are grass, mostly shaded to full shade. No sewer hook-ups but dump service available. 50 amp sites were double lots. For instance, we had site #6, which included the site #7 as well. Other single sites were wide and nice too, but 30 amp. Water pressure was good. Two bath house buildings are available. Very clean and upgraded. Showers had great pressure and hot water. Buildings are not heated. Pool is very big and clean! Fishing pond is well stocked with bass, crappie, and bluegill. Playground is a modern and large. Lots of open grass area for other activities. There is a new activity building filled with arcade games, ping pong, foosball, etc. They have a nice collection of children's books, puzzles, and games to borrow. The store was well stocked with camping supplies, games, and snacks. Even though all the sites were grass, I didn't see any issues with ruts or mud. I watched several large class A motor homes come and go with no issues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Rate reflects weekly discount. Managers/owners were very friendly. Bathrooms were not very clean and need some TLC. Play area for kids seemed good with an air filled 'pillow' that could keep them busy for hours and lots of room to run. No sewer but free pump out is available Mon, Wed, and Fri. Just be sure to sign up the previous day every time you need it or you'll be charged $25. Very sporadic Verizon and occasional AT&T. Wi-Fi is available but not free. Very steep drive at entrance with deep grooves in the surface to show some units had problems. Trees in the campground could be a problem when driving as some branches scraped the side of my RV. Price is a little steep considering the lack of sewer. We would return though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is a very appealing park in many ways; the sites are plenty large and level, lots of grassy areas for our dog to roll around in, your choice of shaded, woodsy areas or open fields if you want to assure satellite reception. There are many attractions for kids, including a very nice pool, playground equipment, and what looked like a huge, pneumatic trampoline that got a lot of play from the youngun's. The bathroom facilities are clean, but pretty ugly in terms of decor and finish. The lady running the place when we checked in was friendly and helpful to a fault, and was very kind to our dog. We would definitely stay here again next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
Lazy J is a wonderful place in the middle of nowhere. We arrived unannounced on July 2 - one of their busiest weekends at 8:30 p.m. The owners were in the office trying to help the line of people at the counter as quickly as possible - doing so with efficiency and charm. We were most weary at the end of the day and really didn't know what we'd do if they couldn't find a spot for us. But, they did find a site and quickly got us settled in. The owners take great pride in their park and it shows - everything is in tip-top shape. Someone patrols the park regularly to make sure that the rules are followed, which means quiet time is actually quiet. One downside is the fee. We basically parked and went to bed so for an overnight and since we didn't use any of the amenities we felt it was extravagant. But, if you are on vacation this is the place to go! Also, there is not a sewer hook-up, but three times a week they have a service come by and pump out the black water - and it's free for guests of the park. We were only passing through, but will return again in the future. Maybe we'll be on vacation this time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$47
This was our first outing. We had a great time. We camped in a pull through site that overlooked the playground, which was perfect for use because we have children. The playground is small and outdated, but there is a jumping pillow, which the kids thoroughly enjoyed. We stayed during Memorial Day weekend. There were plenty of activities for the kids to do and we enjoyed the ice cream social each night. The pool looked nice but was not open yet during our stay. If you are looking for a smaller family-friendly park, this one will work for you. The sites are not overly big, but accommodated our trailer with its slide out. The owners are very nice and were very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We had driven a long ways on the Indiana and Ohio turnpikes and it was wonderful to spend the night in this peaceful, well-run campground. The swimming pool looked inviting but we got there too late to use it. Our site as grass but it was not a problem. I would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$33
We stoped here overnight. Well one bath house/bathroom was closed and the one that was open was about 20 yrs. old. This was an old Jellystone park at one time. The new owners are doing upgrades so in all fairness this may be ok in the future. I will say there are no trains.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$29
Very helpful staff. Took us to our sites. Bathrooms were clean. Accommodating to our dogs. Only complaint was lack of lighting at night, no lights (at least not working) at the bathroom making it hard to find in the night from across the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$43
This campground was a bit rundown but clean. The playground in an old style and the campground would benefit from updating it. The pool is huge and there's a lifeguard on duty. The bathhouses are small but there weren't congestion problems. The game room is sufficient but again, old. The sites were moderate - more crowded on the weekend as the place filled up. As it is 20 miles or so from Cedar Point, many folks use it for sleeping and visit the theme park for most of the day. The campstore was open long hours but they didn't even have bread. It is an OK campground and the kids had fun. But, it costs too much for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Nice small family owned and operated park. Stayed Labor Day weekend, and was impressed by the way it was kept and operated. Only the lack of sewer hookups (multiple dump stations though) stops me from giving it a 10, we totally enjoyed our time there. Easy access on and off Ohio turnpike, would highly reccomend for a travel stop or short stay! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com