214554 User submitted reviews online!!
Butler / Mohican KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (419) 883-3314
CGID2163

Butler / Mohican KOA

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   8   6   8   7   1   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
We were here with 2 other families for Memorial Day weekend. I was a little concerned about camping on the holiday weekend as we have had bad experiences other places. The owners have their home in the campground and must have kept a watch over things. Quiet hours were observed in the loop we were in, and we observed no problem campers the whole weekend. There were many activities for the children, which they greatly enjoyed. The sites we were in were large enough for us to congregate in and the children to play. The owners were very accommodating for the few special requests we had. The upper loops have a rest room facility with 2 family rooms- toilet, sink and shower. They were clean when we used them. Everyone liked it so well that we plan to make this an annual event. The were only a few negatives. The road to the campground is a little narrow and there is an intersection just north of the campground where visibility both direction is a problem. They are far enough out in the country that the internet is slow. Not their fault, but it just is. We have no problem recommending this campground and plan to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Great KOA! One of the best I've been to! Great activities for kids as well as adults. Staff was great! Restrooms were very clean. They even have family restrooms, those are great. The only downside was that the Wi-Fi was spotty and if you have AT&T then you won't have cell service. Other than that, it was a great campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We stayed here over July 4th weekend, three nights, on our Travel Trailer's maiden voyage. We had two adults, two children (15 and 11) a dog and a cat. We stayed at site 116, which is a full-hookup, pull-through site. It might be the largest site on the property. That is good, except it seemed inviting to the neighboring children to play catch at our site. No harm, but mildly annoying. Most sites seem to have shade. The hosts were VERY nice. The bathrooms near our site were clean, large and modern. That is where we showered. We were very happy with them. It was a very pleasant campground with activities for children and a nice pool. The camp store is very limited. People seemed to respect the quiet hours. I was a little put off that there was a charge to use the new water slide. The staff helped us reserve tubes at a local livery shop. That was really nice, as our phones didn't work out there. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
Overall our stay was really nice. We had a back-in water/electric site (90) that was very private and wooded, but not level at all. If you are looking for a private site that is very nice with full hookups choose site 80. The lake/pond is nice for fishing, no swimming. The activities for the kids are well planned out: crafts, scavenger hunts, buried treasure hunt, movie night, fire truck rides to name a few. The pool was clean and a decent size. They have three showers for the women and they were clean, but we didn't use them so it didn't matter. Everything was great we had a good time but, this is why I gave a 8 and not a 10. The rate is only for two people, we had two children with us and had to pay $5.00 per day for each child. Okay, that's fine but you have to pay for the crafts and the game room. I haven't stayed at many KOA's so maybe this is the norm, but I just thought I would mention the extra fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Arrived late and left early (in snow), so not much of a chance to evaluate the park. Off season use was self serve, which saved us a Wal-Mart dry camping night. We were able to arrange our stay by phone, when not much looked available. Site was a little soft, but I've seen (and sunk) in worse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
This campground feels like its near the middle of nowhere, if you like that sort of thing. It actually isn't too far out of Butler, in the heart of Amish country. You can see the horse and buggies occasionally go down the road. My only small complaint with this campground is the pull-through sites are a little small and the camp store did not have a lot: otherwise this is an enjoyable campground. Recently under new ownership, they are really trying to add more amenities to this place, although they already have the necessities. My kids had a great time with the heated pool, crafts, firetruck and wagon rides, and movie night. I'd recommend this place if you're looking to stay around the Mohican/Loudonville area where there is lots of biking, hiking and canoeing to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$44
Way off the highway, but a pleasant campground. Nice, fairly level gravel sites with plenty of room. NO cable and you pay for Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. Lots of activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
This park is way overpriced. I paid $65 a night for tent camping with no electricity or water! If you are going to camp with more than 2 people, be prepared to spend a small fortune. Stay at Mohican State Park for at least half of what it costs here. This last time I camped here, the staff was very rude and confrontational. One of the staff accused my group of sneaking into the campground and not paying to camp. Avoid this place: you too may be accused of being a thief! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
We camped here over the Labor Day weekend. We had a full hookup site with 30A service, fairly large and nicely shaded. Our son and daughter-in-law joined us with their 2 daughters. There were plenty of activities for the children, including a fire truck ride and wet hay ride (a tractor pulled a wagon loaded with children through the campsite while campers sprayed water or threw water balloons at them) which were greatly enjoyed. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The restrooms and showers were very clean the first 2 days, but could have used additional cleaning over the weekend when the camp ground was completely full. My son caught several fish at the catch and release pond. I was very impressed with the quietness of the campground especially considering that it was full. Will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
We stayed at Butler/Mohican KOA for the second time. We stayed once before in a motorhome in 2005. This time we stayed in a travel trailer. The sites are very big and our site was nicely shaded with lots of large, mature trees. The pool was fun, but very cold. They had a little ice cream social one night and a fire truck ride for the kids. We stayed there Father's Day weekend, but it wasn't busy at all. Once the sun went down, it was completely silent. We have stayed many other places that are actually louder after dark due to partying, but this wasn't one of those places. We enjoyed fishing in the lake, but didn't catch anything. There are several trails leading down the hill to the pool and store from the upper level, but beware, these don't appear to be trails made by the campground themselves, but rather made by a frequent flow of campers. So they are not cleared of plants necessarily, which we learned when our 7-year-old got poison ivy on her ankles. Our own fault though. So if you're very sensitive to poison ivy, stick to the actual drives through the campground! We will continue to go back to this campground due to the peacefulness and the fact that it's not a busy place. Also, the owners and other employees were so nice to us (family of 5 with 3 kids ages 7, 5, 1). They make sure rules are followed, but they're not breathing down your neck. Great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We stayed here over Mother's Day weekend. Not much to do here and it rained the entire weekend, obviously not the campground's fault. The sites are uneven and the site we stayed on, the sewer hook-up was uphill from our site. As we all know it don't roll uphill. Would not stay here again ever!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$38
We had the best time at this campground! They had lots of Halloween fun planned - we carved pumpkins, played games, the kids had a costume contest then trick-or-treated...it was great! And we were in a huge site on the end of a row where the kids could run and play. The owners are really putting a lot into making this a great place for families. We will definitely continue to stay here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
A lot of appearance improvements. Gravel, new playground, and cleaned up sites. If only they could remember to clean the restroom at least once a day. Men's restroom was not cleaned at all Sat. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$36
There have been some improvements. There was new gravel that was just graded. We arrived the day after a big storm and we could see some washed out areas that had not been repaired yet. Our site was a very long 50 amp pull through. It was somewhat level, but we didn't have to take major steps to level it. The other 30/50 amp sites look wide enough, but may be a little short. We did see a big rig and a large fifth wheel in that area. The whole campground was freshly mowed. There is a new playground with a wooden play set and sand box complete with Tonka Trucks. They offer a pavilion, shuffleboard, sand volleyball, a heated pool and a fishing pond. The staff was helpful and there was an escort to the site. However, he did not have knowledge of the turning radius of a big rig. On the weekend the campground was full. They did have planned activities for the weekend, and in our section the other campers were quiet at night. The showers were newly renovated and there were hair blow dryers mounted on the wall. One negative was rusty water, but we have a filter. And the black flies were bad, but that isn't the campgrounds fault. Otherwise, I would say the new owners are doing a great job! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2004
$25
We have stayed here twice. 2003 and 2004. It was terrible in 2003. We went back in 2004 because we had heard the owners of Shelby KOA had bought the place. Should get better in 2005. Will take some time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Staff was rude. No activities planned. Full hook-up sites are small and uneven. Pool and fishing lake are nice. I will not recommend if visiting the area, there are better campgrounds nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Rural, wooded area near Mohican State Park. Very few sites were even near level, poor gravel roads. Grass uncut, firepits not cleaned out, had trash and cans in them. Limited supplies. While we were there a stolen car was found in a heavily weeded area of the property. Needs TLC. Disappointing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com