214813 User submitted reviews online!!
Hillview Acres Campground was rated 4 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (740) 439-3348
CGID2164

Hillview Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   2   1   1   3   5   1   10   1   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
This CG is an easy on/off from I-70. Check-in was easy and the staff was very friendly. The front of the park is close to the Interstate and the road noise is loud. All the roads and sites are gravel but level. There are many long term residents in the back of the park. The park is big and a walk to the rear of the property will help get your steps in for the day. The office has hand dipped ice cream which made my wife very happy. We were assigned site A4. Opposite us was a wooden fence surrounding a noisey water/sewer treatment plant that runs constantly. The motor sounds like a train passing from a short distance away. AND, at certain times, we got wind of a very unpleasant odor. We would stay here again but request a sight far from the wooden fence. They do not recycle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
Looks like they put in the campground in an old drive in theater. There's nothing pretty or scenic here. All night long all I heard was the sounds of traffic because I was right next to the highway. It's a dump. We camped here overnight when the bathrooms were closed, out-of-order. I won't go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
There is only 1 shower house for this large 80 acre camp layout. The shower house was very dirty and not well kept at all: it smelled like sewage the whole weekend. There is a very angry campground owner. Just check out the rules list, count the number of ! and !! and you will see the attitude you will receive. When we pulled into Hillview Acres Campground late on a Friday night, we were greeted with a smile and quick service to get us to our site. We purchased a gator load of firewood and that was going to be delivered right to our site. What a great start. We were warned to be sure to follow the posted 10 MPH speed limit. We cautiously worked our way to our campsite only to find there was no empty site where we thought ours was to be (few sites were actually marked). We wandered around in the dark trying to figure out where we were to be, a campground host drove up asking if we needed assistance and we shared our confusion. We learned then that a pop-up was situated on our site. We were told to just take the site next to it. As we proceed to do so, a camper at a neighboring site walked over and said oh, that’s our site for tomorrow night so you’ll have to take the next one. Moving down to the next site on a considerably less flat level site makes finding decent location for our tent a challenge, especially in the dark. At this point, the campground owner approaches. He has no idea why these folks are on our site but gives no insight as to how to solve the situation. We told him where we were going to place our tent and the camp owner says, “Oh no, that’s too close. You’re actually in the other site.” So here we are on our lowering elevation in a site that is 7 yards by 15 yards hoping to house a tent, a full size pickup truck, a fire ring and a table. We suggest we just set up for the night and re-evaluate come morning when we can all see what’s going on. Mr. Camp Owner snaps, “You can either take this site or take your money now and leave. If you stay, it’s a three night minimum.” We state: “We can see better in the morning.” He says, “Nope. And I loaded this wood and brought it to you. You need to take it. I have work to do!” (Remember it’s 11:00 at night). Finally, we find a place to pitch our tent (mostly on our own site). We wake up and find that our placement isn’t so bad, sleeping on relative flat, with a great view of the playground and the port-a-john. As long as the wind didn’t kick up, we shouldn’t burn our tent down. The neighbor did comment on what a nice song we sang as we tucked into bed at night. (See the proximity of our next door neighbors?) The closest flushing toilet and hot water availability is a 15 minute walk (by an adult) and the shower house is deplorable. The port-a-john was less than desirable after a long holiday weekend and no attention. At the playground, my children were faced with a ladder to the slide with a broken top rung with very rough edges and a slide that slid into the gravel covered ground. Throughout the weekend we felt like we were observed as real trouble makers. For instance, as we pulled out Saturday morning to go to the state park, we were behind another vehicle and Mr. Camp Owner was smiling and waved at them, obviously pleased to have them at his facility. As we passed, he created his power stance, feet apart, arms crossed, and watched us pull away. He then stepped into the driveway behind us and watched us leave. We watched him walkie-talkie someone and we figure he thought we were leaving. Wasn’t he probably disappointed when his camp host radioed back that we were nested for the weekend. On a positive note, we learned the work he had to do. He sat on his gator at various spots around the park with his radar gun making sure everyone was going under 10 mph so our little ones were safe. He was proud of his mission, letting us know he had purchased 4 of them. We would have suggested he use that money on updating his restroom facilities: but at least our dirty little ones were safe from speeders. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Never again will we camp here. The "rest rooms" are port-a-pots, the showers old and dirty. Very primitive conditions. The roads are steep and the sites are not level or well-marked. The staff was rude and belligerent. The pool was not open as promised when we made the reservation. Nor was it anywhere near being ready to open. A guest was thrown out shortly after arrival for "driving too fast and throwing stones" at less than 10 mph. He was also threatened with legal action. We left within the hour. There is a much nicer state park (Salt Fork State Park) down the road about 2 miles. Stay there instead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
We were very unhappy with our weekend at Hillview Acres. After review the website and speaking with the staff at the campground was not what was expected. Make sure you are comfortable with driving 5 MPH because if you go 10.1 you will get thrown out. It was like camping with the super troopers with flashlights. Playgrounds were very basic and they didn't want kids to leave campsites. Their security is ridiculous and a bunch of campers who really need a life. All the seasonal campers were very rude and we never got a wave, as though we were invading their property. We had a bunch of drunks and druggies next to our site the 2nd night and they were loud till 5am when they finally made them leave. The next night they were at our site the next night at 11 to basically tell us we were to go to bed or leave. Also, every site DOES NOT have water (even though we paid for it), the pool was not working, and only one pond is worth fishing in. Very unpleasent trip and we will never be returning. The showers weren't the greatest and they had pit toilets that were disgusting. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
If you review the Camp Information and accept the lack of sewer, Wi-Fi, 50-amp, cable, etc., then you should have a very nice time here. However, it is not big-rig friendly. Several turns are very sharp and the roads have many low-hanging branches that can damage a roof or front of a rig. Otherwise, have a good time here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Our experience with Hillview Acres was very unpleasant. The staff there was adamant about us following the 10 mph speed limit and we gladly obliged throughout the weekend. Upon returning to camp late on our second night, we were stopped by one of the employees who warned us to slow down. He let us pass and as we pulled away we heard someone say over his walkie talkie that a second car was "flying in". Our second group of campers was in that car. The campground employees stopped them twice on their way back to our site. Then, three campground vehicles arrived at our site and told us to pack up our stuff and get out. We were able to convince them to let us stay the night, but we left early the next morning. On the way out the employees told my husband that they had six Highway Patrol tested censors that had clocked us going more than twice the 10 mph speed limit. We were definitely not going that fast, and we definitely will not go back to Hillview Acres. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Have been camping here off and on for over 10 years. Very quiet family oriented campground. Speed limits are enforced so feel free to let the kids play ! Lots of winding gravel roads good for walking and biking. If you are in a hurry you will miss out on so much. Very wooded and hilly (thus the name). Two ponds for fishing. A nice pool for swimming. A fine selection of Ice cream for the hot days. Shaded spacious sites . Friendly staff is eager to please. Great Halloween activities in Oct. Can't say enough good things about this place & can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
They are not big-rig friendly. We drive a 42' motor home and pull a 25' enclosed trailer. We told them this when we made our reservations and they said we would have no problems navigating their campground. This is a lie. We had horrendous problems making the narrow turns to get both in and out. We had no cell service at all. I run my laptop through my cell service, so I had no internet connection either. I run our business through the computer and I couldn't talk on the phone or get my e-mail. They "forgot" we were parked here and turned off the water for 2 hours to clean the pool. After one day, we left. They refused to even give us a partial refund even though we paid full price (no discounts at all) for one week. We will never go back to this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
This is an older campground much better suited to smaller rigs (under 30ft). Windy road to get to entrance & windy, narrow, gravel roads in campground. Has a lot of permanent/seasonal sites. Lots of shady sites if you're good at maneuvering around trees. Sites were gravel or grassed & not very level. Restrooms were old and in need of updating & a good cleaning. Several port-a-pots were located throughout the campground. The bright spot was that the pool, althought small, was quite clean. There is a much nicer state park, Salt Fork, just down the road that would be a better place, especially for larger & big-rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
We had such a great time camping here! The owners are so friendly! Some of the nicest people you will meet. They have nice restrooms for a campground. It was so easy to register and they were very helpful. We are looking forward to camping there again in August! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2004
$20
Nice shady sites on a hill. Kind of hard driving in with a big rig, 39' motorhome. Narrow roads. Good overnight stop. We couldn't get satellite with the one on top. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$17
On October 9th, 2004 My family and I went to this campground to meet some friends. Upon entering the campground I failed to stop and register as I knew our friends were already there and thought they registered us already. Don't make that mistake if you come here. I was chased down by the overzealous owner and informed of my "trespassing". Upon trying to correct my mistake and apologize I was continually badgered by this man I had only met seconds ago. I turned around and went back to register only to be harrassed about the fact that if I didn't want to go 10 mph then I must not want to be there. Then, as I proceeded to the office he stated, "you know, your not welcome here". All of this for failing to register. I suggest to anyone coming here to go to Salt Fork, where someone runs that campground with manners and not attitude. An honest mistake shouldn't result in a customer being treated like a piece of dirt. And if you do go here, you better register, don't assume it's been done already, just do it, if not you'll be writing with a similiar experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Lovely hilltop, shaded and open sites. Just 2mi from Salt Fork State Park. Nearly empty the weekend we were there - we were the only occupied rig in our section. Mostly port-a-pots grouped in locations. Shower/restrooms were somewhat run-down & smelly. Many permanent residents & private roads in CG. Pool was small but clean. Small camp store had basic supplies. Trash pickup at your site. Friendly & helpful staff. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com