221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Sun Valley Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (740) 775-3490
CGID2167

Sun Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   6   9   7   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
We found this park after a frustrating encounter with two other parks that had restrictions which were not advertised. This park is nice, especially, it seems, for locals, and very easy to find. Plenty of kids playing and family gatherings all around. Our site was not exactly level, but it was OK for one night. The price reflected a Good Sam discount, but they only accept cash or a personal check. That could be a problem at times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Camped here with a group. Most of us parked in the field with water/electric (and no cable). A few used the FHU sites. Understand previous reviewers comments about trees, as several of our group encountered them with their campers when the CG personnel asked them to 'scoot over' a few feet. Main word of advice...see where you're going to park and do what you feel is best. The woman parking us didn't seem to understand where/what we needed in size and location and getting set up, then being told to move, is incredibly annoying. Clean park, convenient to Chiillicothe's tourist sites. Several of us also had electric issues which repeatedly tripped surge protectors. Would also recommend you have one. Big outdoor light on pole outside my camper went on and off all night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
We stayed here 2 nights with full hookups and a week later stayed in a water/electric site for 2 nights. This is a well maintained campground. It has mostly seasonal campers, but has 5 full hookup sites, and many water/electric sites. No problem dropping in and getting a water/electric site. But, if you want full hookups, you should call for a reservation. It has a playground for the kids, and a game room, and ample driveways for walking. They have a swimming area in a small pond, but it is sort of weedy, and I wouldn't call it much of a swimming area. The reason for rating it an 8 is the lack of privacy in the showers. The shower facilities are 1960's era. The men's and women's showers consist of two showers each with shoulder high separator wall between them, and a group dressing area. Not very private. Shower areas are at one end of the men and women's restrooms, with only half high doors separating them. We will stay here again when in the area. It is convenient to tourist areas near Chillicothe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$29
People are nice and attendant is very good. Park is small with too many trees to dodge with big units. Lots of low limbs to watch for. They need to get rid of trees, not plant more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Such a quaint, small campground. Oh, so very friendly Permies. We had many campers stop by or invite us to "sit a spell". Close to town and local attractions. Due to the lack on rain in Ohio, the swimming pond was non-accessable, but would have been nice other wise. This has been placed on our re-visit list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
As a base camp for adult campers, it served our purpose. Spots were level with easy access. Could use a few shade trees. It was adequate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Excellent. Well maintained park. Owners very friendly and helpful. Have put new electric service into sites to accommodate current electric needs of today's RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Nice playground. Great staff. Internet access is good. We liked this campground as an overnighter, but it might be remote if you are looking for easy access to local activities. Would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
All right for an over night stop based on price paid. It would be nice if they would add Wi-Fi. Our pull through was under a tree, so no satellite. Other sites where in the open. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Great for one night traveling. Swimming pond needed weeds cleaned out, but we were able to let the dog swim as long as she didn't bother any kids. Pretty view of the valley. Good Sam rate. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We stayed here one night passing through Ohio. Easy access from the highway. Staff was friendly. Well kept grounds. Both water pressure and power were good. Power measured 120 volts with AC running. After a long day driving, it was a very pleasant overnight. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$28
Campground advertises that it is open year around. We camped here at the end of December and beginning of January. Owner was impossible to find when we wanted to pay her for additional nights and did not answer phone calls. Although the campground was quiet and fairly clean, there was no laundry, no restrooms open, no water, no computer hookup as the office was always closed and locked. We have also stayed here in the summer when restrooms are open, but office is still closed most of the time and the "swimming" pond is slimy. Overall, we find the owner/manager a poor camp host. Expect to pay extra for everything from ac to heat, water, and day visitors. We would only stay here again if all other options were ruled out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
TL rates this CG as 5.5/8.5/8.5 and that is probably exactly right. There are very few amenities: no WIFI, no store, no large, noisy play area, no swimming pool (they do have a small pond for swimming)and no shopping in the immediate area. The crowds will be kept down due to the above - very nice for what we're looking for. There is an attached trailer park - beyond the owners home and of the 45 sites, probably 25 of them are seasonals. Normally, we would keep away from this place, but it was too pleasant, too quiet, too peaceful - looking over the huge lawn and across the Sun Valley Pond across the road. Lots of ducks and lots of quiet - exactly what we were looking for. We will definitely return to this place - a nice place for the week end - a quick get away, if you are looking for solitude. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
This is an extremely well kept park with friendly management. Most of the sites are rented to seasonals and there is even a row of manufactured homes, again all well maintained. Sites are reasonably level gravel parking pads with concrete patios. Generous spacing between sites for a private campground. There is also a small pond for fishing or swimming. While the park does have some full hookup sites, just about everything left for short stays is water and electric only. I agree with an earlier comment about low water pressure but it was manageable. Restrooms and showers were clean when I checked. On Friday night there was some considerable road noise from Route 35, but the rest of the weekend it was barley noticeable so it might depend on the wind direction or just the day of the week. They don’t take credit cards here. Cash or personal check only. I suggest making a reservation if coming here for the weekend due to the limited number of empty spaces. A good base camp if you are in town to see Tecumseh or other local attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
We spent a night while passing through Ohio. Nice, clean campground with very friendly hosts. Do not take credit cards. Did not use any facilities. Easy to get to from highway and easy to get back on. Very nice campground for the short stay we did. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Park owner was very nice and accommodating. They do not accept credit cards. Showers were very clean but could have better water pressure. Nice that it was a dry weekend as where they put our group was in a grassy area with trees but no pads. Would return to this campgrounds when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
The Park was very nice and also clean. There was a nice little playground for the children. There are also fish in the pond. The shelter house looked very nice. We had a group of 8 differnt types of campers and this campground was great for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
Our sites were in a shaded grassy area. Nice area for groups. Lots of seasonals and full time mobile homes. Nice pond for fishing although I don't think I'd swim in it. The owners have a generator running 24/7. Not real noisy, but we could still hear it when we went to bed. While we cleaned up after our pets, the "locals" didn't do the same. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice campground to use to go see the drama Tecumseh. A must see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
This is a nice,clean, well maintained campground. It's particularly nice in the summer because of the shady sites and quiet location. The pond looks nice, but it's small and is not really a nice swimming area. The modem hookup advertised is in the office and not convenient to use since the office is locked much of the time. Although they advertise that they are open all year, there is no water in the winter, and the restrooms and showers are closed. We also camped there in February and had to run a hose from the owners house to fill our water tank (for an extra charge). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Great little campground! Several seasonal's, but every last seasonal unit was well maintained and the people were some of the friendliest we've ever met. They even invited us to join them for dinner the first night we pulled in. There is a small pond with fishing and swimming, a nice shelter house area, concrete pads, and very level sites. The owner is a fantastic host and was very accommodating. Unfortunately, this park closes mid to late October (although I understand she keeps a space or two open for travelers) and we needed winter accommodations so we had to move on. But if we're ever in the area again, we'll be sure and visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com