220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Winton Woods Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (513) 851-2267
CGID2168

Winton Woods Campground

Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   9   8   7   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
This park is a real gem. Second time at the park this year. First time, we were able to reserve a full-hookup site. This time, an electric-only site. Very well maintained. Some of the best biking/walking paths we have seen. Wi-Fi worked great. Excellent over-the-air TV reception. Best way to get there-exit 39 from I-275. Head south for approximately 3 miles and you are there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
This is a great county park. The office staff is great and the park is secure. Nice level site. No sewer, but dump station. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Very nice campground. Good access roads and our site was fairly level. Popular local park for families so there were lots of kids and bikes. We had a water and electric only site, but they have a newer section with several full hookup sites. The only negative was that our site was next to a playground and kids were out playing until well past midnight and back the next morning around 7. Not a big deal, but something to consider for the lite sleeper. The campground is adjacent to a public park with nice walking/jogging paths around a lake. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
This is a great campground. We were in a 50 amp full hookup pull-through. Good electric and water, good access for satellite TV, good Verizon cell and broadband. Site is large with good spacing. Easy access. Park has beautiful landscaping and everything is well maintained. The best of both worlds--a good campground and a pretty city park. As others have noted, take I-275 to Winton Road and go south. Any other route, the GPS takes you through residential streets. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
We came here to visit our son. We are fulltime RVers and stayed here for 10 days. There are very few options for campgrounds close to Cincinnati. Far as I'm concerned this is the best. Rate reflects weekly stay with senior discount. Rate is higher on weekends than during the week. The park is very busy on the weekends and must be reserved far in advance to get a 50Amp site with full hook-up. In the older portion of the campground the sites only have electric hook-up (30A) We camped in the newer section where all the sites are full hook-up. There are only a few sites in the new section which have any shade. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
Very nice county park set along side a lake. Lots of walking and biking trails. Paved access roads; some sites paved; mix of back-ins & pull thrus. Good spacing between sites. Back-in sites 14F thru 25F have patio in shade in pm. All other sites on F (back-in) row & R (pull thru) row have patio in sun in pm. Power OK, water pressure intermittent, WiFi OK (Tengo), non threaded sewer connections. Park fee charged in addition to campground fees for access to campground ($3 daily, $10 annual). We will stay here again when in area. Warning: turn into park at Winton & Lakeview. Following GPS may route you through residential neighborhoods with sub 12' tree clearances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
This country park has something for everyone. From concrete, big rig friendly, FHU sites to gravel tent pads and everything in-between. There is fishing, canoe/kayaking, paddle boats, bike and hike trails, and kid's playgrounds. There are several golf courses nearby. The county sponsors an events calender that would rival any destination park. It is located inside the interstate loop around Cincinnati on a city road which is in poor shape. Getting there is not a fun drive which makes it a questionable option as an over nighter. I would recommend coming in from the north in order to minimize that issue. 4G cell service was good, utilities were good, OTA TV has lots of channels, and satellite reception is doable on most sites. Laundry was $1.50/load. Showers were push button but with decent time for taking one. Wi-Fi is TengoInternet at an extra charge. My rating dropped a point for that and another because there is an entrance fee in addition to your campsite fee. This hidden fee is not mentioned on their website. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
Spectacular county park with loads of recreational opportunities. We camped in the newer section of the RV park. Pea gravel site was level with nice swaths of grass between. Utility connections were good, water pressure was fair, easy satellite TV setup with lots of open skies, WiFi was good. Disappointed to find scattered refuse from previous campers. Rate reflects weekly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$37
We love Winton Woods Campground and have stayed here many times over the last seven years. Our usual stay is 14 days at a time and we prefer the back-in 50 amp sites but have stayed in the 30 amp just electric sites also. Unlike the previous review, we think there are many lake view sites. They just aren't in the 50 amp area. Site 24 is our favorite 30 amp site with a wonderful view of the water. As full-timers we find the sites to be spaced a nice distance apart. If you are looking for privacy, I think that is hard to find in any campground unless it is a state park. One thing that I would have to complain about is the garbage left behind at the sites and in the fire pits. In our last two stays, we picked large pieces of glass out of the fire pit and had to rake up garbage from the previous camper. We also found some of the staff to be very rude and unfriendly. The exception to that is park manager.. Very helpful and nice manager. We will continue to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$37
This being the closest park to us, we have tried to enjoy this place. But always leave disappointed. Only 1 site with a lake view F-13. No privacy between sites. All fire rings are located in a line in the back of sites. The internet was terrible. Sites are tight. Expect more for the high rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
Pros: gated campground, quite State Park setting, large pull through 50 amp FHU sites, back in 50 amp FHU sites, satellite friendly sites, 30 amp gravel sites in shade, laundry facilities, standard or deluxe cabins, large lake with rental boats, walking/biking paths. Cons: you must pay a daily Park vehicle fee of $3.00 or $10.00 annually, this is not included in your camping fees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
We stay at Winton Woods twice a year for a week or better when we visit our son. We have been doing this for the past 5 years. This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at. We are full-timers so we appreciate the area. This is a beautiful park with a wonderful walking/biking trail. One thing that has changed since we first started staying here was they added a security gate. We appreciate that addition. We will continue to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Winton Woods has come along way since its renovations. It is very clean. Each site has fire ring and picnic table. The restrooms are clean and they have nice showers. Will return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Upon entering the park there is a gate fee. Since we stayed multiple nights, we spent the $10 for the pass that will get us in all of next year as well. We are planning on going back; this was a beautiful campground. Very helpful and friendly employees and neighbors. Very clean park. Fun playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
This is a great RV park. They have sites from primitive to full hook ups with concrete pads and patios. The handicapped sites where double wide concrete with a patio. "It don't get no better than this." We did not use the bathhouse, did look and they where clean. The only problem we had was an unusual amount of rain, 4 inches, brought the lake up to a level 2 ft below campground evacuation levels. So we had to keep a cell phone with us in case the rangers wanted us to evacuate. That didn't happen. Wi-Fi was great and free. Rangers where great. The whole experience was great. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Outstanding experience, well planned RV Park. Traveling in 43 ft RV, sites easily accessed. Great Internet reservation site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
What a fantastic campground! The roads are paved and the pull-through sites all have level concrete pads. The back-in sites are gravel. All of the sites were plenty long and wide and one does not feel crowded at all. The campground was clean and well maintained. The office had a small gift shop and they served ice cream and coffee as well. The staff was very friendly. The entrance is gated and requires a key card for entry making for a very quiet and secure setting. The campground is within a huge county park that has a lake, bike/walking paths, boat rentals and fishing. And all of this within minutes of shopping and Kings Island. Will definitely go back to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Easy access from I-275 exit 39 south on Winton Road. Paved interior roads and some of the sites. Our rate reflects full hookup 50 amp back-in site. Good Wi-Fi connection and speed. No problem with sat TV because our site was an open, non-shaded site. Some sites have tall pines, which might be a problem for sat TV. Verizon wireless had 4 bars. Most sites have a view of the lake (C.O.E. built). Great paved walking and bike path. Various watercraft are available on the lake for rental. Many shopping centers are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Big Rig friendly, lots of concrete pull thru sites and lots of concrete back in sites. This park is near a retail mecca of shopping centers, yet in the woods with lots of trees and plenty of activities within and around the park. Hamilton County takes RV camping seriously as this park is well maintained and well managed. Winton Woods is a gem of an RV park and a great value for RV'ers, cabin users, and tent campers alike. We used it as base for our trip to Kings Island Amusement Park about 15 minutes away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Half of the park was flooded when we arrived for Mothers Day weekend. There were plenty of available sites. Beautiful park all around. A lake for fishing, wild life, a paved walking path around the park. Very close to additional amenities which is why we chose this park. Kings Island Amusement Park is less than 30 minutes away. The zoo was 15 minutes away. The price for the park was excellent. $25.00 for a back in 30 amp site. Showers had been cleaned but the person or persons before me had left a towel and lots of hair behind. The shower itself was clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$38
We picked up our new to us 5th wheel trailer in Cincinnati and the dealer found us this park. It was our first experience staying in a park like this. We were very impressed. We had a lake side spot. Park was clean, quiet, and we really enjoyed staying there. Our dog loved the trails around the lake, and there were plenty of areas to walk him. This is a very nice park and we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We have been looking for a local Cincinnati campground for a few years as our daughter attends a local University. I have seen Winton Woods listed with medium reviews until recently, as the County has added large pull-through concrete pads with water and 50amp service. The campground is lovely with a large lake, walking trails and both wooded and open sites. The only reason I do not give this campground a '10' is under no circumstances should you drive on Winton Rd from I-75 as our GPS recommended. There is 6 miles of POOR roads: and I mean teeth rattling roads. I feel the Campground staff should have informed us when we called to reserve the site earlier that day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This was an unexpected find for a municipal (county) park! We stayed in the full hookup section, which offered fairly level sites, excellent WiFi, and a quiet setting. Lots of activity options available: boat and bike rentals, snack bar, lake, etc. The staff (especially maintenance) were very friendly. The treed FHU back in sites offer morning shade but you will encounter pine sap issues. The pull-through and lower numbered FHU back ins do not have this issue, and the lower numbers will have a little late afternoon shade. The park is gated access-only, and park ranger patrol is visible. The only downsides are rather high fees for pull-throughs (an extra $10/night) and low water pressure (we filled and ran off our tank while we were here). If staying only one night, the park pass cost of $3/day or $5/year could be off-putting, but for longer stays seems well worth it for the value of the Hamilton County parks and their recreation opportunities. We will absolutely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
First the positive, beautiful park with nice sized sites. Some are wooded and some are not they have pictures on their website. Good bike trail and the lake is good for fishing, paddles boats and canoes. The bad, this park is extremely busy if you like that sort of thing. Very noisy, cars are always coming and going, kids galore and they constantly walk or ride through campsites. No peace for the weary here. If you go, try to get a site on the outside of the loop so people don't walk through your site and don't pick site 50 like we did. Also, this park isn't in the greatest neighborhood. I couldn't give it a really low number just because it wasn't our taste. Everyone else here seemed to like it, just way to crazy for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We really enjoyed this campground. We spent 2 days visiting Kings Island and one day at the Creation Museum. It was convenient to both. It was a beautiful park. Sites were good size. No shade where we were, but we could tell that from the pictures on the web site. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very nice park with access to nearby Cincinnati attractions. We have stayed here twice and had a great time each visit. The bathrooms are dated, but generally clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
Pluses: Lovely park next to lake, nice sites, good hook-ups, level pads, adjacent to "day use park" and 2 mile bike/walking trail. Minuses: $5 entry charge on top of nightly rate ($3 day/$5 season), staffed by county employees who are fee takers only, know nothing about RV's and really don't seem to care, seasonal employees who do not even seem to know much about the park. Very nice in the off season, can't speak for in season, (and don't care to be there then). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This is a very clean, easily accessible park close to Cincinnati. Roads are wide and paved and sites are angled to the road for easy backing in. The park has very nice facilities including a boat rental, picnic areas, a paved biking/walking trail, boat rentals, and a splash park. My only complaint with the park is their night check-in. The park has an entry gate so it is necessary to call in via a phone at the gate. The phone operator will open the gate for you but instructs you to wait for the Park Ranger who never shows up. After waiting fifteen minutes I finally went to the site I had reserved and set-up. I noticed this same thing happen to several other late arrivals during my stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We have stayed here a few times and love the layout of the park and the amenities they have to offer. We stayed in the electric-only sites with gravel pads. Electric sites 3-8 have a partial lake view and back up to a heavily shaded area were kids can run in full view of the site. Paddle boats, hiking, biking, fishing, and a water play area are great for the kids. If you are looking for a kid-friendly area this is a great place. If you are looking for the peace and quiet of the outdoors, this isn' the place for you. Many of the campers have kids and they do run. That is why we liked it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
We camped here last weekend. The campground was clean and the sites were level. The playground was nice, but a little small. There is a very nice park near by -about a mile, with a splash park ($2) and boat rentals - ($10 to $40). All and all, the campground it nice. The management is horrible. We had a problem with our brakes and had a problem moving the camper. We were arranging for a tow and had communicated this with the staff when the manager pulled up in a golf cart and was quite confrontational. We were paying for another night to buy some time and she was still quite rude. The campground was nice enough, but given that there were parties going on all night long around us and the management was nasty, we won't be back. Also, it appears that many locals camp there and use it as a base for parties. There were people parked in the visitors parking lot walking in and out all day/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Winton Woods has recently completed their renovations, and have added 39 full hookup sites. Sites 14F - 25F get shade in the morning, while Sites 1F - 13F get shade in the evening. The pull through sites 1R - 12R are primarily in the sun. The back in, full hook up sites have gravel pads, with a concrete patio for the picnic table. There are also 12 pull through sites to accommodate the larger RV's with concrete pad and patio. The remainder of the campground consists of 68 electric sites with gravel pads, and are for the most part well shaded. In addition they have 10 Camping Cabins, and 8 Deluxe Cabins. Bathrooms are clean, but given the size of the campground are a little undersized. The campground has a new camp store that has the basic essentials and in addition provides coffee, pizza and hand dipped ice cream. The campground has also added a new playground and pavilion. Overall this is a nice campground conveniently situated in the northern suburbs of Cincinnati. Very family oriented especially on the weekends. Over all this is a nice park that we will stay at again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
With the new area opened the weekend we camped, it was a treat. The site was gravel and had a concrete pad for the picnic table. The road in was blacktop and was fresh within a day or two of us getting there. It was hot on the 2nd day, my front tires sunk into the blacktop about 2-3 inches. They put sod down but it was already turning yellow. Hard to water every day with CG full. The electric went out for about 4-5 hrs. until Duke showed up and put a bigger breaker in the transformer, then all was better. Bottom line, I will stay agian cause it is close and we only go on certain weekends. The shade trees will be big in about 10 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
I live in the area and happened to drive through today. They are doing a massive upgrade to the facility that is supposed to be done in May of 2008. They added a new street and look to be upgrading the services on an estimated 50 sites to full hookups. thats the good news. The bad news is that they probably only have 20 electric only sites available until it's done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$21
Beautiful campground within an urban area. Majority of sites are well shaded with large pine trees. Staff extremely friendly. Road within campground is paved; most campsites are gravel. Most spaces between sites allow for slideouts or screen rooms/awnings. Although many sites are adequate for big rigs, because most are straight rather than angled, backing into them could be a challenge. There is one restroom-shower building. Men's shower does not provide a shelf for soap, shampoo, etc. Temperature of water is automatically controlled and can vary in temperature. Store has ice and firewood and a few other items such as insect repellant. A park pass is needed to enter but is only $5.00 for a year. Off site stores and restaurants are within 3-5 miles or less depending upon one's needs. There is a major construction project going on adjacent to the existing campground, but it was not noisy in the evenings or overnight. We were told it will be an addition to the campground providing sites and better access for big rigs. It is scheduled for completion in May, 2009. With a playground and other activities available, the campground is very much family oriented. We stayed on site 65 for 3 nights in a small non tent popup. We would definitely use this campground again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$21
Half the sites are without trees for getting your dish out, and the rest are tree covered. About eleven have full hook ups, the rest are water-electric, and all were level and good size. The camping area is located in the middle of a big county park, tons of things for the kids to do, swimming, boating, hiking, water park and more. A great location for doing things in Cincinnati, about three-miles off the freeway. Bathhouse and entire camping area was very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Word of warning, when you make reservations IN PERSON, verify that they enter the reserved date CORRECTLY into the computer. They charged me for two sites for two nights, for a weekend that I did not request. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
The cost of camping does not include a $5.00 car pass. There are very limited full hookup sites, most of the sites are level. We camped in a 36' motor home and did not have a problem, even on the electric only sites. The roads are paved, but the sites are gravel. The park has 100 sites, of those 100 sites, 10 have full hookup with 50A electric, 80 have 30A service only. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
Beautiful campground,huge sites and a fun water play area for kids. You can also rent boats for the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
I spent the night here to try out our new pop-up camper. The campground is pretty clean and is set up well for families. There were park rangers driving by regularly and the host camper was very friendly. The store is pretty thin and very expensive. There are some spacious sites, but most are smallish. The men's bath house was clean, but my wife complained about the women's. I would stay here again with the kids. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$24
This is part of the Hamilton Co. Park District. Reservations are accepted. Park has bike trails, water park for children, lake with paddle boats, a petting zoo and playgrounds. An annual $3 permit is required for entry to park. This is one of the finest parks and campgrounds in all the surrounding states. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$10
Very nice county park just outside the Cincinnati metro area. We stayed during the Christmas Holidays so there was no water and rest rooms were locked. But we will be back in the spring. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com