223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Indian Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (937) 843-3553
CGID2184

Indian Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
461
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   6   5   8   8   8   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
First time to this campground. Camped in Area C. Shade is not as abundant in this area and is further from the lake so these sites seem to fill up last but still a good area. Area B is heavily wooded and can be difficult to get a site: reserve early for those sites.  Nice campground and one of the nicest camp stores I've seen at a State park.  Camp store also offered scooped hard ice cream.  Various boats and bikes available for rent.  The kids really liked the BMX bike course. A good place for biking. There is a game room at camp store. The beach looked clean and nice but some of the lake water looked green so we did not swim here. The shower house was close to the campsite and had an abundance of clean showers. They appeared to have recently had some minor renovations. There was also a toilet room close by that was older but clean and quite adequate. The campground was a little rowdier than we are used to but was patrolled often. We will add this campground to our regular rotation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Nice CG on the shores of Indian Lake. We paid a couple of $ extra for water front site. Typical of other Ohio State CG's. Most sites do not have full hook ups, just electric. Has a nice large campstore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Nice park, pretty, lots of space, easy access to sites, but facilities old, run down and buggy. Most sites were sloping requiring lots of adjustments. Friendly staff. I would go back with a boat. Signage to get there almost non existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Very nice setting, with wide sites, but the settling grounds made leveling a real challenge. I had to drop the tongue of the trailer onto the ground to get almost level, and this was a site that was better than others! During the time we were there it was quiet and pleasant. The location is convenient for access to this part of the state, once you get there- the directional signage is sparse. Overall, I would go back for a day or two, especially if I had my canoe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Older campground on a lake. Paved sites are not all long enough for larger motorhomes, and the paved area is narrow, but sites are mostly huge. There are several small nasty, wet bathrooms, and 2 shower houses, which were a bit cleaner, but I would not want to use them. They need updating. This is a beautiful park, lots of trees and activities for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We stayed in a full hookup site on a small canal off the lake. This is a mid-60's type campground and many of the sites limit the size of the unit. There are plenty of large rig sites here, just be sure to explain your needs when making a reservation. Nicely treed campground located on a pretty lake. Close to the Jackson Center, OH home of Airstream trailers. Great place to stay if you are in the area to pick up a RV from RV Wholesalers which is located a few miles away. They will come to the campground if you have any problems with your unit to do a service call. We would stay again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
We stayed on a full hook up site in section D and there are 12 available. Everything else is electric only. The park was clean and well kept. The front office gate and camp store were both closed while we were here because of shortened fall hours, although several camper hosts were seen throughout the park. Check the schedule if you think you may need supplies and are not towing a car. We were able to get some local television stations with clear reception. There is an ice cream shop across the street from the park. There are plenty of places to ride your bike within the park, but the lake bike path is about 2 miles from the park and can only be accessed via busy country roads. We would return to this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We stayed one weekday night at site C63 and we will come again. There is a very nice commissary with fair prices. Don't expect a campsite with a view of the lake, but the bike path gives a good sense of the lake. We stopped for a delicious scoop of ice cream at Jac-n-Doe's. There is a patio overlooking a lovely harbor and the management is very friendly. The biggest drawback to the park is grungy bathrooms due to continuously leaking faucets. There is water everywhere. When we come back we plan to rent a canoe and spend more time at the Dog Beach. The dog swim area is small, but cozy and great for teaching our dog how to swim. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$37
My wife and I just purchased a fifth wheel and tried it out at Indian Lake State Park for 2 days. When we arrived at 6 in the afternoon: no one was available to check us in. Even though we had reservations, we could not tell where to go so we went from camper to camper knocking on doors until some one helped us out and told us to just park anywhere and check in, in the morning. That was very confusing! Other than that, the campsite was great. Very few people here and the view was great. We stayed at D50 which was a full hookup site (rare). This site had a great view of the lake so we had to pay up a little for it but it was worth it. Now that I know what to expect at this camp site I would gladly go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Great campground! Large sites, nice beach, lots of activities, well stocked store. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We have been taking our four kids to this campground for years! There are so many cool activities - they have a wonderful naturalist program and it is very hands on for the kids - there is a rental area for bikes, paddle boats and canoes, our girls ride bikes throughout the park and our son loves the BMX bike area - there are playgrounds, a volleyball and basketball court, a fully stocked commissary complete with hand dipped ice cream cones available, the shower houses are clean and the lake access and beach are great. We take our boat to the docks available on site as well - I just can't say enough about this place! There are VIP campers in every section to be sure things are running ok, a ranger patrols the entire park continually, and you can choose to stay in a primitive area, an area without pets or an area with them - there's something for everyone! They have recently added three new dumping stations on site and you can reserve on-line or walk in sites are available, too. There are movies shown on a big screen on Friday and Saturday evenings and our kids love spending time here! This is one of the best places to spend quality relaxation time in Ohio for the price! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We stayed three nights starting the first night in the B loop. The sites were large and for the most part shady. We were within sight of the lake and could easily walk down to the campground beach though it was really too cold yet for us to really take part in swimming. Unfortunately, we had some rambunctious neighbors come in after the first night so we decided to move to the A loop which does not allow pets (a lot of dog barking in the pet areas). There was only a few other people in our section and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. There is not a very shady section of the campground (more open) but we were happy with our site as it did provide some shade and it backed up to the woods. The showerhouses were in good condition and were well maintained. We enjoyed our stay at this state park and will visit again however, we will stay in the A loop the first time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
alright campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
We spent three nights here midweek in order to visit the Airstream factory, which is located in nearby Jackson Center, and look forward to returning if we pass through this area again. Our campsite was on a canal in the D loop, and the view of the lake, while not direct was very nice. Each loop - and this is a very large campground - had its own campground host and they do keep things up quite nicely. Another plus was being able to get a strong WiFi signal on our Verizon EVDO card, something that unfortunately is not that common at state/national parks. The signage leading to the park is very sparse: a generic brown camping sign was the only cue from the access road we used to approach (our GPS sent us a few miles past the sign to a residential access point to the lake, but we backtracked, turned at the sign, stopped to ask for directions at a small store and found the park within 15 minutes). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
This is a nice clean state park. This was our first trip here. We were there on the weekend and the campground was full. We stayed on one of the dead end loops with not much traffic. It was a good place to ride the bikes, but you had to watch out for the traffic on the main camp roads. Sites were large enough for us. There is lots to do in the area. If you have a boat, they have campsites on the water too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Indian Lakes is a quieter-than-expected State-run campground containing a mixture of old and newer loops. The commissary is very nice with cheap ice cream and pretty much everything a camper might need from a grocery store. This is mostly a boater’s camp and many of our neighbors did the up-at-dawn, out to the lake, back for lunch, out to the lake, back in the evening tango. I thought there would be more boat noise (our site was about 40 yards from the lake, a very nice view) but it really wasn’t a problem at all. There are channels from the lake into the campground and some used these to get out to the lake. They have channel-side campsites on asphalt (B-C sites?) for those who want that kind of access to their boat. It had rained heavily the night before and some of the B&D sites were basically islands of asphalt surrounded by large mud puddles. I'd call ahead; we got lucky and the site we'd reserved was fine. As far as maintenance, the camping loops themselves were well-maintained and clean. The beach, however, wasn't quite as immaculate and the same trash that surrounded the basketball court on the first day was still there when we left. I suspect that the camp hosts watch over their own areas (and do a great job) and the common areas aren't as closely monitored. We intend to return; it was a decent place if boating and fishing is what you are after. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
Not the best camping experience. It seems like this was a great place a few years ago, and they have been letting it go. Although, very early in the camping season, I still wouldn't have expected the grass to be a foot tall. They did cut our grass on our site and the site around us a few hours after we showed up. The worker asked me to help move the picnic table as they were short staffed. Campground was only about 1/4 full. Bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner and not so smelly. Good size sites, however could use a few more trees and effort from the staff. A little unorganized. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$8
Very nice SP. We were on the PA rate & very early in the season. The only reason it does not rate a 10 for a SP was the poor signage leading us there, Thankyou GPS We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
We chose a premium waterfront site, for just a few dollars more...and worth it. One premium loop has water, the other does not. We were in the "not" section, but filled our tank on the way in. We were on the loop of the circle, backed right up to a beautiful lake. Nice, big site with trees, and actually, water on 3 sides.You can see what I mean on the Ohio State Parks website). We especially liked the swimming area. They had a special beach for dogs, and it was fun to swim with our beagle. There is a nice small town on the other side of the lake for any supplies you might need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$19
We have camped here for 10 yrs. This was our favorite park because you could camp on the water and sites were large. No more. Now they allow as many units as you can fit per site. Kids run rampant, unsupervised. Campers lack basic etiquette. You can drive and park anywhere and everywhere, creating a congested and ugly view. We wrote a letter and were told that they can't enforce courtesy and they are not enforcing rules because people WANT to camp like this. Huh? We'll camp elsewhere in the future where somebody is watching over the fort. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Indian Lake State Park is a large destination facility located E. of I-75 and approximately 50 miles NW of Columbus, Ohio. It is in an active recreational area. Boating, swimming, and fishing activities are found in the 5800 acre lake. The park has excellent facilities for all types of RV and tent campers. The roads and sites are all paved and can handle the largest units. Although this is an older campground, it has had very good maintenance. Like most state parks, the occupancy level increases during the holiday and weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com