220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Mohican State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (419) 994-4290
CGID2192

Mohican State Park

Camp Information
Sites
186
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   6   2   8   8   9   10   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
This campground gets crazy busy during the summer and on special event fall weekends, but was only about half full when we stayed here. This makes a world of difference because it's a beautiful park. Had peaceful site across from the flowing water. Bathhouse was clean and usually empty. Flat roads for bikes with trail to town (about 3 miles). Got good Verizon service, both phone and MIFI. As with other OH parks, limited staff available...have to register and drop in box when store not open. Park entry never attended, so park stands open all day/night. Most sites are electric only with water available to fill tanks. A few full hookup, but more expensive. Rate reflects Golden Buckeye discount (also accept Passport America). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$60
Bathrooms didn't have toilet paper and I reported that they need some two days later still wasn't any. Showers and bath houses are 1950's a small shelf to put you tooth paste and hair products. The showers you cannot adjust so you might get warm water, the shower curtains are too short so when you take your shower the water goes into the very small dressing area so you are stand and dressing in water. Have complained about this numerous times, but they don't care. Sites are nice and roomy and area and pool is nice. But if you plan on taking a shower or use their bath house be prepared to share it with the bugs because they don't clean them out each day or any day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Easy access off Highway 3 a few miles south of Loudonville. The park was extremely busy on our visit. We did not have a reservation, but rented a non-reservable, pull-through, paved site with 50 amp electric only. All interior roads and RV sites are paved. Some shade was available. Verizon cell phone service was minimal. No problem receiving satellite TV at our site, but would be a problem with many other sites that offer full shade. Many hiking trails, tubing and canoeing are available. This campground is very popular for family camping. Lots of things for kids to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Sure, there are water and sewer hookups, but they are very limited. We had what we thought was a "full hookup" but ended up with electric only. At least it was 50 amp in this extreme record heat for the area. Was surprised to find out that we did not have any water hookup. Good thing we still had some fresh water in our tank. The good: Paved roads and paved sites. The Bad: Very tightly spaced, no privacy. If you like a quiet and peaceful natural park...this place is not for you. Do you like a circus atmosphere? This is your park! All sites seem to circle the huge swimming pool in the middle of the field. This pool has masses of screaming loud children, teenagers, and wild adults. The "river" is simply a shallow stream that has more of the above floating down with blow up inner tubes in only inches of water, which we could not use our canoe in this. Our site, #85 was suggested as a "great site". When we arrived, the paved site was covered in 2-3 inches of gooey mud. They apparently tried to soak up some of the mud with straw...which made it worse. Was never told this on check in. It is also right next to 2 smelly dumpsters. The shower house (and they are limited) was never cleaned the 4 days we were there. That huge spider in a web over one of the only 2 toilet stalls in that bathhouse got really fat on all the masses of bugs that were all over the place. Litter everywhere inside added to the atmosphere in the bath house. This place is also very dog friendly. They are everywhere. Though campers walk them on leashes, many did not pick up the "doo-doos", though bags were furnished free at the bathhouse. The only good thing I could say about this park is the full facility cabins in the rear of the park. They are in a beautiful quiet area with lots of room on the peaceful end of the river and very nicely laid out in shady huge yards. Would never stay here again...in an RV anyway. Cabin...yes...but no to "the zoo'. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
As a previous reviewer stated this is a very popular park. I tried to get reservations on line, but they only let you reserve two nights on the weekend. I only needed Saturday night. But, we took a chance and drove to the park and they did have some sites for one night. They don't let you drive through the park to look at the sites, but do have a nice book that has pictures of the sites. We had site 152 at first, which is right on the river, but when we got to the site it was so tight and right on top of the neighbors, which I hate. That loop also has tons of sites really packed together and it was noisy. We moved to site 68 which was quite private, quiet and pretty, good move. The full hookups sites are huge and very spacious. The majority of the sites (not all) in my opinion are close together and not very private. Oh, also the park has sites 1-16 that they save for walk in people. The river and pool look like the big attractions. The park is paved so bike riding is good and there is a paved bike path that goes into town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
There was no one at the house to check-in: self check in. The commissary was open and very nice. No camp store that I saw. Lots were well laid out and very large. My wife, I and 18-month old son drove through and decided we'd stay here next time instead of Mohican Adventures. Only because we really like large comfortable lots and our 18-month old was not old enough to enjoy all the kids stuff and activities at Adventures. Bathrooms were simple but clean and adequate, had hot water and pressure and there were several of them around. There was sand volleyball, a basketball court, horseshoes, a simple small playground, but that's about it, and they weren't fabulous. Looking a little work down in general. But if you like large comfortable lots over amenities and activities, this is your campground. Lots along the tree line or along the river are roomy and very nice, but not quite as big as the ones toward the interior (which are enormous), but a bit more private. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This is a very nice campground. We were in a pull through site with full-hookups. The pull through site was a little different as you are parallel to the access road. This is a very popular campground. We stayed through the weekend and were surprised it was still full in Sunday evening. It was very quiet and clean. The commissary was nice-nicely stocked and they serve ice cream! The only issue is you can not get any TV reception as you are basically in a valley. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Golden Buckeye card discount makes this camping experience even better. We live near this area, but never really gave the State Park a try until this year. Wow, were we surprised and impressed. Clean..big lots (full hook up)great reservation list and site descriptions. Lots to do in this area. Canoeing, hiking, tubing in the river, fishing, and other activities outside if you want. Swimming pool was clean...not great..not deep but great for the grandkids. Lots of area to bike ride. Just a great place to visit, relax, and enjoy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This campground is very popular and usually booked out. We had stayed there several times before and liked it very much. But the last time we stayed there in June of 2008, after a typical(!) summer rain, many of the spaces were flooded. Come to find out that not only the non-reserveable spaces are regularly under water, but so are those next to them!!! No alternate spots were available and the one we had booked months in advance war several inches under water! We managed to get a refund for the remaining days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Large park with a lot of hiking trails in the heart of Mohican country. There are no frills as this is a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
I would have given a "10" if the price had been a little more reasonable. Great facilities, great location, lots to do, and you are in Amish Country. Come and enjoy, but make a reservation! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This is a very nice place to camp and home base while enjoying the nearby Amish country shops and beautiful Ohio countryside. Will definitely return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We love this park because of the area. It is natural and really pretty. It is a very peaceful and restful. You do have to make reservations in advance to get the site you want and the dates. We go there sometimes twice a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Very nice area, have been here several times and have never had a problem. Great for motorhomes as well as tent camping! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
One of the nicest places that we stay. It has become our Labor Day Weekend favorite. The sites are spacious and well kept up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$38
What a beautiful campground this is! We stayed from Wednesday to Saturday and there were very few other campers here but by Friday night the place was packed. We were pleased with our site (number 27). It was a pull through with the immaculate restroom/shower house on one side and a neighboring spot on the other. There is so much space between campsites that you never feel squeezed in. The restrooms and showers were very clean with the most interesting floor made of tiny river pebbles. It only cost $1.00 each to wash and dry clothes. The pool was very clean as was the entire campground. We found it centrally located to many activities. We travel with my mother who has cancer and is in a wheel chair and the camp staff were very helpful in suggesting appropriate activities for accessibility. My husband and kids went kayaking while mother and I went to Malabar Farm. This is an interesting stop full of history where Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall were married. This campground is the nicest we have seen in the Ohio Parks network and they accept the Golden Buckeye Card for up to 50% off campsite rates depending on the day of the week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Wonderful state park. Campgrounds right along the river. Extremely scenic. A great place to camp in a tent 'old school' style. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
This was our 10th trip to this campground and have never been disappointed. We stayed 5 nights this time along the river in site 85 which I think is my favorite in the whole park. This was our first summer time trip and we could use the pool and it was very pleasant. The campground staff is the best anywhere and goes beyond helpful by being so friendly. We love the camp store and the huge ice cream cones they give you. This is probably the prettiest campground you will ever see, spring, summer and especially in the fall. Very close by is the little town of Loudonville which is nice if you need something. A short trip to Malabat Farms and Mt. Jeez is worth the trip to see the valley especially at sunset. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$36
This is a great family campground, with plenty to do for everyone. There is a stream/small river that flows through the park that is a blast to float down in a tube {which are available at the camp store for $13}. There is also an inground pool. The place was very clean, and the staff were friendly. I can't wait to go back again. The park fills up fast, and reservations should be made well in advance during the summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$29
Beautiful area. Hard to follow the signs if coming from the south. We had plenty of grass area in our site. Nice swimming pool. Only have 33 full hook up sites. Only problem was the shower house nearest our site didn't have hot water for the weekend. Nice camp store if you need something. No mosquitos, but the flies were bad. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$15
It's hard to beat any of the state park campgrounds in Ohio! This one is mainly shaded, fairly private sites, with mountain trails for hiking. The kids loved the playground, and the pool looked large (unfortunately closed during our stay). We also stayed at the park's lodge a few months later for skiing - it was great, too! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
We loved this park; the site we had was right on the river and it was beautiful; plenty of room and pretty well level; it was very typical of state park setup...The bath houses and restrooms were in clean shape and the sites were well maintained. The park is huge; has a covered bridge and trails to hike and ride on. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loudonville is close to Amish country and a very nice town also... We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$24
This campground is in the Ohio State Parks Network. This park is in a beautiful area of the state with small mountain ranges, a beautiful river that offers a lot of recreational opportunities (especially canoeing), there is large lake nearby, a state forest, gorge overlook, hiking trails, etc. We have made three trips and have not done everyting there is to do. There is a very nice camp store and game room, they sell ice cream cones and very good supply of necessary and often forgotten items. Swimming pool, basketball, playgrounds, excellent bathrooms and showerhouses (no waiting yet). The park offers 33 full hookup sites which are very large, some with pull throughs and the rest of the sites offer electric only and not as spacious although not cramped by any means. There is a road across the river which is not busy but you do hear a little bit of traffic. The full hookup sites are not along the river so it makes it a tough choice between convenience and seeing the beautiful river whenever you want to. The nearby town of Loudonville is very charming and relaxing to visit as well. We camped here three times in 2003. In April, May and October and each trip was better than the last. Definite return trips planned. The Ohio State Park system also accepts reservations now up to 5 months in advance which is very helpful since this park can be very difficult to get into. There are also cabins for rent. I would give it an "11" if I could. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com