219988 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Mantua was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (330) 562-9100
CGID2196

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort at Mantua

Camp Information
Sites
425
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   5   4   1   10   6   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
I enjoy my stay a great deal. The location was great and the people very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This campground was very noisy after hours. A few drunk party goers made sleeping impossible. Our site was very muddy and was quite a mess. There wasn't as much for the kids to do as it seemed. Overall, we were very glad to get home. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Staff was taking reservations when we called for our sites. They indicated that they only had a few sites left in the park and that we could not get the sites requested. On arrival we discovered the park nearly empty, but expected a large influx during our stay, this did not happen. There were only eight other campers in, our table was in bad need of repair, with broken boards with sharp and broken ends. The park is large and could be very nice but really needs some TLC and hard work. The rates are reasonable. They need to look at offering cable and Wi-Fi. Would probably stay again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$56
The upkeep on this CG is going down hill fast. Grass not cut, pool not cleaned, restrooms dirty and the Wi-Fi was down. Years past this use to be an OK place. I will not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
OMG!!! Yogi was ok, but now needs help BAD. The staff was overwhelmed and slow to do anything to make it better. I will look for a better Yogi park closer to home. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$54
Very nice, family friendly park dedicated to the children under 12 years old. Many staff directed activities for the kids. Safe playgrounds next to camping areas. The shower / bathroom areas are the cleanest I have ever seen. Nice roomy sites, safe electrical hookups, good water pressure. Fishing lake has many catchable bass and bluegill right from shore. Kids caught at least 5 each with worms on a hook. Highly recommend Yogi of Mantua! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Overall this is a nice family oriented park that if not for a couple of staff oriented issues would have gotten a higher rating from me. Check in was very fast and while no one offered to lead us to our spot we were able to find it very quickly. The spot that I was given, D1 was not meant for a rig our size but we made do. If it had been a busier weekend it may have been an issue as we were not able to back the trailer completely in our spot and we did over hang the next spot by a good few feet. With that said our space was wonderful. Very well shaded and close to the very clean showers and bathhouse. The campground had outdoor nightly movies and hay rides which were fun. They even had a "wet" hay ride where they had water stations set up around the camp ground and as the hayride passed they soaked down the passengers. Now for the problems. Saturday dawned hot and sunny and the kids wanted to go to the beach at the lake. Once we arrived we noticed all the kids were out of the water. A parent told me that the life guard was on a 15 minute break. One hour later there was still no lifeguard. We telephoned the office and they told us the lake was closed for the rest of the day. The next day we decided to try the pool instead. We were told the pool was closed due to no lifeguards. We went to plan "B" and took our daughter to arts and crafts and paid the fee. About an hour later I look around the corner and the pool is open. Major staff communication issues I guess. We will return and try it again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
This is a great park for families. It is very busy on the weekends during the summer. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and the roads were crowded w/kids on bikes. You have to be very watchful. We have a tall fifth wheel and the spot we were in had low hanging branches from a tree in our site. We asked the manager if someone could come and look at them before we left and no one has shown up yet. The pool is small and cloudy, but the lifeguards did seem to be on top of using the net to get out what hair, leaves, etc. out. The general store doesn't have much in it. There were a lot of events going on through the week for kids to enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
We were in the sites nearest the putt putt golf. The sites were very close together (if you have slides and your neighbor does too...it's a close fit!). We had a cement pad on our site, but just for the picnic table, the parking pad was stone. The pool was terrible. No kiddy pool (it was drained) and the big pool was so cloudy, you couldn't see your feet in the shallow end. Lots of stuff floating in the pool. The beach is very nice and is open to the public ($). We enjoyed the beach more than the pool. Garbage was to be picked up daily...never was until Sunday around 10am, by then large piles had built up. Firewood was expensive and new cut wood that was wet, wouldn't burn. House across the street sold good firewood dirt cheap, buy it there. Not a bad campground, but not a great campground. I won't go back, I will look for something else in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a great campground if you have kids. There is a beach, a swimming pool and many playgrounds within the campground. We never used the pool because it was always full, but there is a beach here also that the kids can have fun at. They also rent canoes and paddle boats. We had a great time here, the only thing I didn't like is how often the restrooms were cleaned. It seemed that no one checked them between 10 PM and 10 AM the next morning. But when they were cleaned they were spotless. Overall we had a great time and probably will return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This is a large campground with plenty of activities for kids: including multiple playgrounds, organized activities (hayrides, contests, crafts ($), movies, etc), mini-golf (small cost), pool, beach, etc. Very clean and all employees were very friendly. Our site was grassy with water and electricity. Not dead level, but pretty close. We camped here in mid-September during a beautiful weekend. Campground was about half full. Pool was closed (it was only 65, so no problem there). We noticed three drawbacks. (1) Quiet hours weren't well enforced: kids were screaming and loud adults playing cornhole, both at 1am. (2) There was some vandalism our last night when some kids (I presume) flipped over a bunch of tables, threw things in the lake, and hauled a canoe up a slide. (3) Bunches of teens talking about highly inappropriate stuff for that age and/or using vulgar language. My wife got a real earful of vulgar, raw language in the women's showerhouse one afternoon. We'd likely camp here again in the off-season (hoping the problems were a one-time thing). It's just too expensive during the season: our $20 water/electric site would be nearly $60. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$57
We camped here over Memorial Weekend. Overall the place is nice and clean but in the area we were in (Section N) the sites were very close together. For the money, you could find other places with similar amenities. Although there were activities planned each day, my kids (5 & 7) only found a few of them interesting and some of them cost extra. Since you are not allowed to bring wood in (due to Ash borer containment) you can buy it from the ranger station for $1 a log. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$58
Campground was very nice facility. Sites were good size. Staff was very friendly. Heated pool was a plus. Unfortunately lake events were closed during the two days we were there as campground experienced a problem with staffing. Kids were disappointed in regards to this. Would stay at campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$49
This campground is a little expensive. It has a very large lake and a lot of sites, many of them seasonal campers. There are a lot of activities for the kids. The full hook-up sites in section N are pretty tight. We stayed in section E and had a little more room. One complaint was that we had some heavy rains while we were there and our site got a little flooded. The water ran through our site and collected in a low spot behind our site. The campground was very busy, almost too busy if you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere. The park is also very large, so you’ll need bikes to get around, especially to the swimming section of the lake. You can also rent golf carts. The pool was warm and decent sized. There was not always a lifeguard on duty at the pool, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$51
My family and I were very impressed with the cleanliness and amenities this park had to offer. The grass and landscaping was all nicely manicured. The lake area has a nice new playground along with several older playgrounds scattered throughout the park. The full hook up sites along Rt 82 (Section N) are tightly packed next to one another and the traffic noise from the road could keep you awake at night if you leave the windows in your camper open. To their credit however, all the sites were level and on gravel. Strangely the picnic tables are bolted to the patio. That can pose a challenge when trying to park your camper next to it and get your awning directly over it. There are planned activities for the kids all day long. The free daily wagon rides and movies (Yogi Bear cartoons) at the outside theater are a nice touch that the kids really enjoyed. The camp store has limited camping equipment and a few overpriced groceries and souvenirs. There's a modest game room and snack bar on site which can keep the kids occupied in bad weather. Most activities are free and they offer golf carts and pedal cars for rent. Criticisms aside, we will definitely make this an annual destination even after the kids are grown & gone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$49
This was a very nice park. Very kid friendly for all ages. There was so much to do within the park itself. The park was very neat and clean and well groomed compared to other parks. I was surprised for the amount of people in the park how quiet it was at night. The only con would be that, it is expensive but in my opinion worth it for the cleanliness of the park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Great place for children. Plenty of activities to keep them busy. We have camped here before and always enjoy going back. Internet access does not work well even at the main building. Restrooms are always maintained. There are some shaded areas but not the majority of sites have it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
We camp here once a year, my kids love it! Yes it is expensive, but they do have a lot for the kids to do. The pool is great and the kids love the big sand pile at the beach. They now have water inflatables at the beach. The sites are close together, but we don't camp here for the camping experience we camp here for the kids. It is also very close to Geauga Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$41
A great campground with children. Multiple play areas and nightly Yogi Bear movies a great way to end the day! My children loved getting to meet Yogi, Boo Boo, and Cindy Bear. The only negative is there is no internet access. Friendly staff and well maintained grounds. Definitely will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$49
This campground was expensive for families, and the sites are close together. All activities cost money. Bring your own fire wood if you stay here. The lake was not clean and the lifeguards only let you swim 20-30 minutes at a time because they take so many breaks. Was not very fun for the kids. This is the one so so park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$49
Even knowing it was expensive, we chose this campground because it advertised a laundry and WiFi. When we checked in and asked for a site where WiFi would work and near the laundry, we were told, "that's going to be a problem". The laundry was too far away from any campsite to easily carry your laundry between your RV and the laundry. We drove our motorhome to the laundry and stayed there until we were done before hooking up. We've used WiFi throughout the country with few problems. Here, we were told "our WiFi doesn't work well" and our experience was just that. The first site we were given had no signal (using our directional Hawking antenna placed on the roof of the motorhome pointed at the building the office staff told us contained the antenna). We changed to the nearest site to the WiFi antenna and we were able to connect to the access point, but not use the Internet. The next morning, we were able to connect to the Internet at speeds slower than our 14 kbps cell phone connection. Also, this is one of the few campgrounds that uses WEP on their WiFi system, making it more difficult to connect. We were provided no written instructions and had to ask the office until we were provided the WEP password. We didn't like that kids were driving golf carts through the park well past Midnight. The sites are close to the road and to each other. The hookups worked and the campground is clean and neat. There are many activities for kids. We didn't enjoy our visit becaused we NEEDED a WiFi connection and didn't get it. The park was not worth the $49 nightly charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
Woodalls rates this campground as a 5W/5W, and my kids gave it a "10", but it wasn't my cup of tea. Recognizing it's appeal for RVers, I've rated it an "8. " The sites are open, level, grassy, and some have gravel pads and concrete patios. There certainly are lots of activities, especially for children. Nice 50 acre lake for fishing, boating and swimming. There are many seasonal sites, with separate areas for transients. We prefer more wooded campgrounds. Some sites, particularly those in the "N" section are too near the road. Most sites have one or no shade trees and there is little privacy between sites. This made it difficult to deal with nearby campers that played loud music during the day and violated the quiet hours (campfire and talking until 3 AM). Although there is a restriction on the number of camping units per site, further restricting the number of people and vehicles per site would have helped the situation. The neighboring site had 15 people with 4 cars camping in one large travel trailer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$85
Rate was so expensive ($85) because we had a tent on our RV site. The campground was beautiful with so many things to do! We were there for the Chocolate Weekend and were very impressed! Nice lake and pool. Many children's activities! We saw Yogi, Boo Boo, and Cindy every day, twice a day! Great family campground! Camp store was very expensive compared to other Yogi parks we have stayed at. All in all a great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$50
Liked the layout of the campground as it was nice and flat for us to ride our bikes. The kids loved the lake/beach area which was very clean when we were there. The playgrounds were nice and clean, well kept. The cartoons were a nice little extra. We didn't do the crafts, minigolf, boats or paddle boats as they were all extra money. Pool was supposed to be heated but I'm certain it wasn't on or working cause it was like ICE. Our only major complaint was that we were not happy about our site, it was a pull-thru and you were pretty much right on top of your neighbor. I complained about how much room we lacked. It wasn't really even safe to have a fire at our site. The ring was 2ft from the picnic slab, which had a bolted table so you couldn't move it, and 2ft from the other side was a tree. They only offered another site that was on the very opposite of the park and being we were there with friends and that wouldn't have worked. They offered no other sort of compensation at all. We probably would not do it again because it was a bit expensive and were not happy about the lack of assistance with the site problems, but if the kids insisted I MIGHT consider it but I would certainly have a different site location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2004
$40
Stayed in off season. Nice place. I don't know what they do when you pay full price, but I hope it's worth it. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$53
I thought I should post this review in appreciation of the staff at Jellystone Park. We made reservations for the Labor Day weekend after having enjoyed the park so much about 5 weeks earlier and they were very clear about their cancellation policy for the holiday weekend and what the refund policy would be (or not be). We ran into a problem with my Dad being hospitalized and called to cancel. Despite being very clear at the time of reservation and I was only expecting 1/2 of my payment returned they offered to send me a credit for the full amount to be used within one year due to the special circumstances. I think that type of understanding and compassion deserves to be mentioned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$39
This park is a joy to go to, nothing else will compare after being here. It is expensive but like the old saying goes, "You get what you pay for" and you get a lot here. The grounds are the nicest anywhere and all of the sites are well maintained from the site being level to the hookups being in good working order, clean and thoughtfully placed. There are plenty of activities for kids and any that do have a cost are clearly marked as such. The lake is very nice and clean, the pool is heated and the campstore is adequate (but somewhat pricy). The beach is only so-so but at least they have one and do their best with it. Don't expect an ocean front beach. Putt-putt is very challenging and reasonably priced for once. The showers and restroom are miraculously clean. There is daily trash pick up so there are no dumpsters sitting around attracting flies. It is very secure and rules are enforced which is good since there is an overwhelming amount of children frolicking about. The staff is friendly and professional. The only thing we didn't like was the snack shop/game room was very dated and noisy. If you are looking for peace and quiet, don't stay along the main drag (Jellystone Ave.) as there is a lot of foot traffic and overly excited children running around. Cartoons every night on a big screen are a gas. Already have a return trip planned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$47
Great family site, though a little expensive. Lots of activities for kids, some sites are a little too close togehter. However, overall it was a great a camping trip and the entire family had fun. We will be going back next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$51
Very Expensive, Every activity there costs money! small pool. 50 acre lake that is polluted and full of weeds! (100% fish kill in winter of 2003). Wireless Internet, Daily activites for the children($), Recommend getting "Rustic Site" if you want peace and quiet. Very busy place on the weekends and no security. You have been Warned We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$47
This park had everything, for adults and kids alike. Very family oriented. Staff very friendly and helpful. Faculities very clean and well maintained. Full days of planned activities. Individual on-site activities include numerous playgrounds minature golf, fishing, peddle boat,swimming pool, kiddie pool,and also lake swimming. Cartoons for the kids every night at the ampitheater. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com