223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Jellystone Park Gulf Shores (formerly Lazy Acres RV Park & Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (251) 986-3566
CGID22

Jellystone Park Gulf Shores (formerly Lazy Acres RV Park & Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   10   8   9   10   5   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
Rate reflects passport America discount. Excellent place, very friendly staff, great place to camp with the family. Nightly campfire with smores provided. Pool was clean and they had a new splash pad. Sites were well maintained and beautiful scenery everywhere with shaded trees. The internet was extremely fast. This place is a hidden gem! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Price reflects Passport America rate. We stayed one night on our way from Alabama to Florida Panhandle. Full 50 amp hookup gravel pull-through site. Sites are very long and spacious. Gravel roads. Lots of pine trees so satellite signal may be difficult. Free and fast Wi-Fi. Very friendly lady in office. Activities for children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
Passport America rate. This is our first trip to Alabama and we wanted to find a family friendly place that was central to everything we wanted to explore during our short stay here. This park is perfect for families with children and anyone else looking for a clean wholesome place to stay (read- no scary clientele). It's very "country" yet so close to the Florida Alabama beaches. We're also able to visit the USS Alabama in Mobile and the Pensacola Air Base in FL without having to drive all the way up from the beach. Look at this camp on a map and you will see it's in the perfect spot. We have been traveling extensively in our motorhome and really love to stay in camps run by a family. The folks that run this camp are so nice and work hard to make sure the grounds are groomed and that you are happy. The sites are all spacious with tall pines. Even though there are very few children in the camp other than our two (it's offseason) they still had hayrides and a campfire with smores. I was shocked none of the snowbirds joined us ;). Speaking of snowbirds, this is a great place for them too. The playground isn't smack in the middle of everyone's site. The activity areas are more around the outside of the grounds and we saw a number of big rig snowbirds tucked here and there and everything else on down to the couple tenting across from us. It's worth the stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$22
The off-season means we were the only ones with kids in the park. Still, they got the wagon out for a ride and crafts for my two boys. Tall pine trees everywhere on all sites. Nicely spaced out so not too crowded. Very nice fishing lake. Nice playground and pool (pool not open in off-season). No cable but Wi-Fi was great! Most games in the gameroom were "Out of Order". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
Love this campground. Our favorite out of a dozen stayed in this trip. Tall pines, lots of room at sites. Good Wi-Fi even in the back corner. Very quiet. A few longer stay guests but well kept and not noticeable. Easy access. Well laid out. Wonderful, caring staff who love what they do. Gravel roads well packed, grassy sites are level and very generous size. Very pet friendly with loads of room for good walks and play. We will go back as it felt like home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
We stayed in a premium site along the 1.5 acre pond. The kids enjoyed swimming, fishing, Water Wars, crafts, etc... Each site had a good amount of shade. Because this Jellystone Park is new, they are adding fun things for kids and families each year. I am a southern girl so I know pine straw falls all year round. Very clean sites, restrooms, and clubhouse. Those residing month to month were gracious and I can't wait to return with my family next year. This is a great family campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
With smaller children, we enjoy the Jellystone Parks. This one, however, was our least favorite. Smaller park, so the permanent campers/residents really stand out with their older living quarters. We only stayed one night as we were traveling to another destination, but first impressions would keep us from staying again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
Campground is now a Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park. It's a nice, comfortable place to stay. Stayed 5 nights, Passport America rate shown. Sites are level and very large, both in length and width. Heavily shaded by pine trees. Nice clean laundry. Excellent wifi (although we're close to the transmitter). Lots of permanent campers, but most are in decent condition. Great place to walk dogs. Convenient for visiting Pensacola and the Gulf Shores area, but there isn't much to do close by. We would stay here again if we return to this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
Very friendly staff and ownership; many children's activities and facilities include playground and pool. Facilities are very clean. Sites are very large and well shaded. Excellent community clubhouse and many activities. We are Passport America members and rate reflects that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
We too noticed that something was going on between the owners and a couple of the RVers. This CG is family owned, and they are in the middle of making it a Yogi park, so there was lots of painting, fixing and cleaning going on. There were not many people around this time of year, so they didn't have many activities listed, but , whenever they did, it was not run very well. There was one time that they were supposed to have a hot dog cookout at a certain time, and everyone was there on time, but the owners had changed there minds and decided to postpone because they had just eaten.They eventually lit up the grill when they saw all the hungry beedy eyes. Overall, this was a nice place and everyone was very friendly; the campers and the employee who worked in the office was awesome!!! The owners wife could have used some friendly training. Either she was under pressure with the repairs, or she just picked and chose who she wanted to socialize with. The campground was clean, except for many pine needles that were never picked up. The showers and bathrooms were very clean and kept up daily and the small rec room was kept clean and always open. It had full TV, kitchen with fridge and stove. So you could use all of their appliances and heat/AC and never use yours. They had bingo and movie night on occasion. Sometimes you wouldn't know until that day or a few hours prior. Aside from these minor flaws, we loved the roominess of each site and the quiet location. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
I wanted to stay for 5 months, but stayed here for 7 weeks, and paid for 2 months. I left early due to the management/owners not taking care of the park. I was expected to cut my own grass during my extended stay. However, the park grass was not being cut by the park. There was poor communication within the park. The free WIFI was the best I have ever had, until it quit due to a lightning strike. 3 weeks later the park was still trying to fix the WIFI. The owners failed to take the problem seriously for the first week. The owner wants to convert park to a Jellystone park and is doing what appears to be random repairs/upgrades in the park. Meanwhile, regular maintenance is not being conducted. The owner parked a golf cart over a deep hole to plumbing access for weeks until properly fixing. I liked the area and will consider staying again only after major changes are made in how the park is run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Many pines, making difficult dish access, but shaded. Smooth gravel roads that are dusty. There is a one mile long dusty gravel road to campground. It is quiet and clean. There is a playground and good management. Cell phone service is OK. There are long pull through sites, used as back to back for TWO RV's when there is enough business to require that. Campfires are OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$19
Very rural. Very friendly and helpful staff. Park is .9 miles down a dirt road, and all internal roads and sites are dirt/sand. Park is well kept. Price reflects Passport America rate, which is why we picked this park to overnight in. The only negative I would mention is we had trouble getting a satellite signal because sites are heavily treed. The manager was very cooperative and did give me a site she thought would offer the best chance of grabbing a signal. Our TV worked on and off all night: kept losing the signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Clean, quiet, big spaces, many tall pines. Out in the country. Good management. Big group room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$24
Very clean, well kept park. The pull through sites are extremely long and maintained. Staff was friendly and waited after hours just to make sure we arrived and got into our site with no troubles. Cheap monthly rates and very quiet. Tall pines throughout the entire park. Its a bit off the beaten path, but that's better than being next to a major highway. We will stay here again!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
Lots of pine trees with pine cones and sap, not good for TV reception, sites very long but tight on the sides due to the trees and how close the sites are to each other. Bathrooms were cold. We had items stolen from our site. Wireless internet is only good withing about 40 feet of the office. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$25
Nice out of the way campground with a lot of potential. Hurricane Ivan took its toll and there are still some "clean-up" workers living there, but we still enjoyed our Thanksgiving holiday visit. Large, level sites with plenty of trees. The host and their family were great, everyone was super friendly. There were quite a few "snowbirds" either there for the winter or for a few days. I will be going back. The approach road was rough but explainable with all the heavy equipment moving in and out due to the clean up efforts. That fact should not deter anyone from enjoying the campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Also Passport America park. One of the best kept secrets of the south. We really like this park! It is close to Pensecola and the Naval Air Station (the Blue Angels), Mobile along with the USS Alabama as well as the Gulf of Mexico. The campsites are huge and nestled in the pines. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the bumpy, dusty gravel access road to the park. We have camped here on numerous trips for extended times and will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com