223089 User submitted reviews online!!
Cedar Point Resorts / Lighthouse Point Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 77 user reviews. Phone: (419) 627-2106
CGID2218

Cedar Point Resorts / Lighthouse Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
283
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$99



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   9   10   9   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$99
Lets get the negative out of the way. For such a fine modern park the bathhouse and toilets suck. They are not well cleaned or maintained and there are only a handful of toilets for the entire park. OK, with that out of the way this place rocks! Plenty of room for our 40 ft 5th wheel. The sites are not huge by any means but who goes to Cedar Point to sit at theie camper? Our site was clean and neat and featured full hookups plus cable TV. Be sure to bring your coax cable. The camp store was well equipped and the shuttle bus was a nice touch. Don't let the high price turn you off. If you go Friday to Sunday you get a free Friday night entrance ticket and $10 off your Saturday ticket for a savings of $40 per person. 3 people buying tickets will save enough to pay for half of your site fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$68
We stayed here for three nights. In all fairness, we got the three day ride and slide package with our stay, and spent from opening until close in the park, therefore we didn't spend a lot of time on the RV grounds. The small time we did spend, we found it to be a nice RV park. Lots of room for big rigs, concrete pads, with concrete patios. Well maintained grounds. On two occasions, the bathrooms were not very clean, having towels gathered in the corner, and small amounts of garbage in another corner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$104
Just about perfect in every way. Great for visiting the amusement park, you can simply walk over to the entrance. We did have Wifi near the office, worked very well. Very well maintained, clean, with friendly helpful staff. We've stayed here before, and will again. Discounted tickets help to offset the fairly high price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$97
Very nice campground with excellent pool. Also has a nice pier with beautiful views of Lake Erie. Sites are modern with level cement pads. No fenced in pet walk is the only thing that kept this campground from a perfect rating. Walking distance to amusement park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
Absolutely the best campground/Resort we`ve stayed at. I will say this place is nicer than Fort Wilderness!!! We stayed in the Lighthouse Point section the week after the 4th. The pull throughs required absolutely no leveling, just drop the jacks and your done. Perfect setting with views and sounds of the Roller Coasters and other rides. Hookups were perfect and cable worked great with at least 60-70 stations. If there is anything negative to say, it is that the check in is very slow, and the camp store doesn`t offer much for the RV`er. They offer very little in the way of food and more souveniers, but that is all forgotten after 5 minutes in the campground. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$83
From I-80/90, take exit 118 instead of exit 110. Exit 118 is a more direct route and exit 110 meanders through a residential area. As you cross the land bridge to Cedar Point, get in the far left lane and stay far left through the park entrance gate all the way to the campground. There are two adjacent campgrounds. Camper Village does not have full hookups in all sites and is older with gravel sites. Choose Lighthouse Point which is much newer with concrete pads and nice landscaping. This is a destination park with many things for families to do, both in the campground and in the theme park. The pool at the campground is the nicest we have seen anywhere with a lifeguard and overhead sprays to run under. It is an expensive campground, but you get more. We recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Park was kept clean and orderly. The showers were also very clean. The park employees were very helpful with a shuttle service that took you just about any place in the amusement park and at some park restaurants. They have a small store in the camping area that sells just about everything you forgot to pack ! Staying at the camp grounds offered a hour early admission from the general public. WI-FI available near the main hotels. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$90
Pricey, but worth it for a family trip. We stayed in the Lighthouse Point section of the campground, which seemed to be a litter less cramped than the other section. Sooo convenient to be right next to the park which you can walk to, or shuttle to. You also get to enter the park one hour early staying at the campground; we rode the most popular rides (ie Millenium, Top Thrill Dragster) in that hour rather than wait hours for those particular rides later in the day. It was wonderful to go back to the campsite during a brief rain storm and rest up, eat home made food and then go immediately back to the park again. Note; there are grills at the sites, but campfires are not allowed (so no s'mores). It's OK, because staying at the campground allowed us to stay in the park until absolute closing time. After a whole day at Cedar Point we didn't care too much about having a campfire. The park is clean and kept up. Bathrooms clean. The campground is not really "pretty" but that's not what we're there for, however, there are trees and shrubs. Lake Erie is right here and its nice. Soak City was fun and not very crowded. We enjoyed our stay here and would do it again; we recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$80
Resort is well maintained, groomed, and clean. All concrete pads. The resort is very busy, and doesn't allow bicycles or golf carts. Very pricey, but worth it when buying theme park ticket packages. Shuttle bus takes you any where you want to go in the park. Never had to wait longer than seven minutes. But then again, the theme park is walking distance anyway. Check in wait was around twenty minutes. Being right on Lake Erie had awesome views. Be warned that there is one way on and one way off Sandusky, so, traffic is a nightmare during peak park hours. Requesting certain sites or areas even a year in advance, is not even considered we learned when we checked in. Free wireless would have been nice, at the cost of these camp sites. Overall, very nice resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$90
We stayed here so we would be able to enter the park one hour early and to avoid the daily parking fees. It is a nice enough resort although it is time to trim some of the trees in the campground area. The check-in area should have the parking spaces marked as RV PARKING ONLY. When we checked in there were single cars parked in 8 of the check-in lanes. That made for a real mess during check-in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$72
It is very pricey for a sardine packed campground with only 30 amp electric. They do not assign sites until you arrive. There is a filling station for water located on the side of the bath house in the middle of the circle, but it's very hard getting out of there because of the way people parked their vehicles. There is not a lot of room to get into your site. It was very hard to get around their circle to our site because of the small sites and people parking their vehicles on the edge of the road. You have to pay the parking fee at the entrance from the causeway, but when you check in they reimburse you. They have discounted park tickets and early entry to only those staying on property to the indoor water park at Castaway Bay. We would probably stay on property again because it's convenient but would chose a full hook up site because those are bigger and more spaced out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$65
If you are going to the amusement park, the campground offers such a great location to go back and forth to your RV. Shady and wide spots. Our first site was a bit too close to the water park for us, so they easily moved us to the other side which we loved. Although the campground didn't have Wi-Fi, we simply walked next door to the hotel and used it in their lobby while sipping on complimentary coffee and tea. Pools at the campground and hotel were great. The price is worth the convenience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$72
Very nice park, We stayed in a pull through site on the lighthouse point and had nice room between sites. Also every site has small pine trees between sites. The shuttle was always running, just had one morning they showed up very late (had to walk) to get in at the early in time. The park noise wasn't that bad, thought it would be louder. The only bad thing was the bathroom/showers. They only have 4 bath/shower rooms for the whole section of the lighthouse point, had to wait at times, plus people at the pool use them also. Showers are bathtub with showers. They were somewhat clean. We would stay here again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$72
Loved this site for location if nothing else. Park was packed when we went. Requested a pull through 50 amp FHU site however, only a back in 50 amp FHU available (#319). Not a problem maneuvering 43' motorhome to get into the site. Was near a bath house and easy access to the park, shuttle or other resort areas, no Wi-Fi though. Problem came with 50 amp service. We kept blowing the breaker at the breaker box, even when we set our RV to only use 30 amps. Contacted maintenance by phone 4 times over the first two days and asked them replace breaker; in the meantime we would just reset it ourselves at the box. On the 3rd day we had gone back into the park around 6pm, returned home about 11 to no electric and could not manually reset the breaker. It had totally died. Had to run the generator while we tried to locate a real person to talk to, they tracked down the electricians and someone finally replaced the breaker about midnight. Not quite what I expected for $72/night, however, would go back again just for convenience sake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
We stayed in the 30 amp older section of the park and sadly it was one of the worst camping experiences we have had in a long time. The campground is made up of sites in concentric circles with the bathhouse in the center. Way too many sites for a bathhouse consisting of 5 showers, etc. especially considering sites did not have full hookups. Our campsite itself was entirely gravel with no grass whatsoever, which served as a blessing later. Standing on the steps of my camper I could reach out and touch the slide-out of the pop up next to us. The troubles began when storms rolled through the area on day 2 of our 4 day stay putting most of the sites literally under water. At no time did I see anyone from Cedar Point drive through to check on the condition of the sites or offer any assistance pumping water, etc. The campground's supposed main selling point is its convenience to Cedar Point and "early hours" access. We found the early hours to be a joke since only one or two coasters were operational during that time - and they were not the major attractions. Lastly, during the course of our stay the overwhelming number of major rides were intermittently closed despite the weather being warm and sunny. Overall, I would suggest to anyone that they avoid this place and if you desire visiting Cedar Point stay at one of the other nearby campgrounds since the cost of staying at Camper Village way outweighs the supposed convenience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$80
Pretty nice campground. The sites are a little tight, and they ask you to make sure you're at least 15' from the next camper, including your awnings, which is hard to do given the site size. No Wi-Fi. I wish $80/night campground "resorts" would get on the ball with that! But otherwise it's a very nice campground, and you can walk to the park gate easily, so heading back to the camper for a break is very easy. We'd definitely stay here again for another visit to Cedar Point. One FYI note: they charge you $15 at the front gate the first day, then refund that to you in cash when you check in at the campground. Not a big deal, it just would have been nice to know ahead of time how that works. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$90
Excellent in every way, best choice if you are going to Cedar Point Amusement Park or Soak City Water Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$70
What an overpriced campground! We payed $70 a night for an electric site only. They promise you early entry to Cedar Point when you stay there and buy a combo pass. What they don't tell you is that everyone staying in a hotel or resort gets in early as well, so lines are still long. Plus, the only rides that open early are like 3 big rides. Water rides don't even open until 11a.m. The convenience of walking back and forth to the camper and to the park was nice, but definitely wasn't worth the money. They don't even have Wi-Fi. Noisy campground as well. We will look for somewhere cheaper next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
Enjoyed this campground. Love being right at the theme park. Hookups were in great condition and everything was landscaped. Check-in girl was amazingly cheerful. Don't really know the rate as I bought a ticket/campground combo for my family of six. We have our own MiFi, so can't comment on theirs Wi-Fi. Happy to experience this park and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
What a great park. Clean, well maintained, lots of shade. It's right next to Cedar Point amusement park so there is lots of background noise from roller coasters and park activities but we knew this going in. It's also right on Sandusky Bay with access to the beach by the hotels. Nice pool too. The only drawback is no Wi-Fi but the cell service was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$87
This is a super great RV park for dog lovers. People who always bring their dogs with them. There are many places to walk them in the park. Perfectly landscaped emerald green grass, sidewalks are lit up at night, and trash cans every few steps to dispose of doggies bags. We had a back-in 50 amp full hookup site which was very nice because we had a nice little backyard for our dog and lots of privacy. This is our second time here. We love the concrete paved sites for our 43 ft. motorcoach. Very level and solid sites. Pool was open during our stay. Very convenient to the park, must stay here if going to park. This is the best option for dog lovers who are going to Cedar Point Amusement Park. The only minus for this park is no Wi-Fi. But there is free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby next to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$87
This was the nicest RV park I have ever camped. It was very clean, you park on a level concrete pad and even though you are close to your neighbor, the landscaping puts a nice barrier between the sites. It is expensive but you get discounted tickets to the parks, early entry, and a shuttle bus. It was only a five minute walk however. There was noise from roller coasters, but you at a roller coaster park, I expected that. And it wasn't that bad. We plan on going back next year and staying longer and checking out the whole Sandusky area. We left the dog at home and I was glad due to no good place to walk them. The check in area was quick and streamlined, the store was nice and stocked, and the staff friendly. Just keep in mind if you go to camper village you will pay more for stuff due to being at an amusement park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$80
Impressively well maintained park for an amusement park. Very clean, cement pads, and modern. Very close to water park and 5 minute walk to amusement park entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$68
This was our second stay at this campground. The price is high for the services provided, however, it is worth the cost to have quick and easy access to Cedar Point and Soak City as well as the discounted park tickets and early admission. The bathrooms were generally pretty clean, but did get a lower score because they ran out of paper towels and toilet paper in the afternoon several times during our stay and it was not replaced until the next day. We had a pull-through site on the inner circle close to the restrooms and it was very shady. The campground has three different circle loops and there are no pathways to get to the restrooms from the outer loops. As a result, people staying in the outer two circles had to walk through campsites in the inner circle to get to the restroom building. Since we were in the inner circle, there were a lot of people using our campsite to walk through to get to the restrooms. Most people were respectful and tried to walk on the backside of our camper so as not to disturb us, but several people were pretty rude and walked right under our awning (several times when we were sitting there!) to cut through. If that was the only place to walk we wouldn't have cared, but they could have easily walked on the back side of our camper or through the site next to us where no one was sitting outside and wouldn't have disturbed us. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will definitely camp here during our next trip to Cedar Point, but will probably request a site in the outer most circle so as to avoid the people cutting through our site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$99
Great campground, with or without the amusement park next door. Perfectly level site, space between rigs was good, water pressure great, clean grounds. Like Fort Wilderness, but better. We paid $150/night for a pull through but that included tickets to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Wow we had a great time I highly recommend this campground we had a blast. The sites were all concrete pads with very modern hookups and included a grill and table, very nice. Just a short walk through a parking lot and you are in the park. You can leave and go back anytime. If you stay at one of their resorts they let you in an hour early which is huge during the busy season. The park is awesome we all had so much fun. The pool is big and has a life guard until 11pm it was great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$89
What a great set-up from which to visit Cedar Point! Campground is flat, paved, and sites are concreted, level, and very clean. Sites are crowded but you are there for the Cedar Point attractions. We were walking distance from the park that allowed for lunch, snacks, and occasional breaks...very convenient. Yes, the price is steep, however, the discount ticket packages and the location made up for it. Better than remotely camping and going to the parking lot for your camper! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$65
This is not a traditional campground, just a place to sleep while you visit Cedar Point. There are no fires, (but charcoal grills are provided). Being able to come back to the camper that was so close to the park for lunch and dinner was well worth the expense compared to the amazingly overpriced park food. The sites are small but ours was nicely landscaped to give privacy from our close neighbors. There is a constant breeze from Lake Erie that makes warm weather more tolerable. The restrooms are family style, a full size tub/shower, toilet and sink with a lockable door and hooks to hang stuff. They were moderately clean, but never had enough hot water for a comfortable shower, forcing us to shower in our rig. A very nice pool with kids play area was close to our site, and the courtesy shuttle pickup/dropoff was there. Just call for the shuttle from the courtesy phone, and one was there within minutes. There was an overflow lot to park our rig in after checkout while we went back to the park. The camp store seemed pretty well stocked but was expensive, though ice wasn't too expensive. On our next trip we will stay here again, but maybe plan on showering at night in hopes of hot water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$70
This was our second stay here and we love it. We stayed in a full hook up back in site. This year we stayed 4 nights and purchased 3 day ride and slide tickets which are only $83 for resort guests. This is a great deal off of the gate prices. The bathroom and laundry facilities are excellent. You can walk to Soak City, the beach and Cedar Point. You get in a hour early to ride select rides. They have free shuttle buses to take you around if you want to go to the marina or front gate. The pool area is nice. If you want Wi-Fi, you'll have to go to the hotels. They have lots of channels on the cable. The sites are level and the hook ups conveniently located. They have a camp store which is convenient for ice and milk. One tip when you go to the park, at all the places that sell fountain Pepsi you can get free cups of cold water. If you are going to Cedar Point with an RV stay here for all the perks of the resort and the great ticket prices. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$92
We stayed in the Lighthouse Point section of the campground. Sites were concrete, level and well manicured. There was plenty of room for a 45' motorhome with 4 slides and an awning, plus a large SUV. We could have easily fit another car on the driveway. The picnic table and grill were in good shape. No campfires allowed, but we knew this ahead of time. There were 4 complete bathrooms (tub/shower, toilet, sink) plus a laundry facility near the pool, and they were cleaned frequently. The view and sounds of the roller coasters were a plus for me: that's why we were here, after all. The park was a short walk away, plus there were shuttles to take you there. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$78
The older "circle' part of the park is 30 amp electric only with both pull through and back-in sites available. The newer portion of the park is a full RV resort: sites are beautifully landscaped with full hook ups including cable TV. There is free efficient and friendly shuttle service available throughout Cedar Point, including the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$90
We stayed in the new Light House Point section of Cedar Point's Camper Village. Very long pull-thru concrete driveway and picnic pad, complete with permanent grill and clean picnic table. Concrete site is perfectly level. Landscaping is beautiful with excellent manicured green grass and privacy evergreen trees around the concrete patios. Not waterfront, but water view. Entry to park is a quick 5 minute walk or shuttle bus. Trash pickup service everyday. Nice registration office and campstore. Noise from rollercoaster is only a low rumble, not a big deal. In short, campground reminds me of a high end luxury motorcoach resort in terms of looks and long concrete pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$85
Had a wonderful time here at the campground. The grounds were always clean and well manicured. Our site was level and easy to get into. The camp store was well equipped, a little pricy, but worth it if you forget something. The shuttles were great. Most of the drivers were pleasant to talk to and were knowledgeable about the park. If you didn't want to take the shuttle, the walk wasn't bad at all. If you are tired of the park and want to do something different for a day, take the Jet Express to Put-in-Bay, rent a golf cart and see the island. A relaxing time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$85
We just got back from a great Cedar Point trip. I haven't had a bad trip here. This was our first trip with the camper. We stayed at a full hook up back in site. The best deal for staying on park property is a package with tickets and coupons for stuff to do. We had enough room for our awning. A user had stated that could be a problem. Another review said there was no camp store but there is a really nice camp store in the building where you check in. It is fairly well stocked with ice, food, drinks, souvenirs, etc. It's probably cheaper to bring your own but if you run out of milk and don't feel like driving out to get some, I think an extra dollar isn't too outrageous. If you are staying at this property, you're going there to go to Cedar Point and Soak City. You're not going there to camp out in the wilderness. But it is a nice place to take a break from the hot sun. I think it is worth the extra money for the time saved by staying on property. The noise from the coasters didn't really bother us. Our two little kids took their afternoon naps. We were further away from the Mean Streak but could here the Magnum going up the hill. The place is clean and the bathhouse was clean. Somebody had clogged up the sinks and the cleaning crew was working on that the morning we left. I don't know why people or kids have to be so inconsiderate by messing up the bathhouse. We plan on staying here again. If you are going to Cedar Point, I would say stay here to enjoy all the park has to offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$65
Part of the park is decent, part is not. You are here only if you want to go to the amusement park. Fires are not allowed & you may or may not have enough room to get your awning out. There is no camp store. If you have a big rig, watch out for the trees & low-hanging branches. As a campground, this place rates a 1 or 2. Since Cedar Point is within walking distance, I gave it a 3. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$85
Great Park. Very clean. Would not hesitate to go again. Highly recommend. By far, the best one in the area for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$80
This campground was awesome. If you plan on spending time at Cedar Point, this is the place to stay. Yes you spend a little bit more but you get the convenience of being right outside the parks. You also get the benefit of entering Cedar Point one hour earlier then anybody else. Huge benefit to get onto those rides that would usually be packed. The pool is excellent and located just off Lake Erie. Staff friendly and helpful. Restrooms were extremely clean and garbage pick up was maintained. Take your kids on a great trip to Cedar Point and stay at Campers Village! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$64
This campground is not a luxury campground and is basically there to allow easy access to Cedar Point and Soak City. As other reviewers have stated, the sites are very close together and many of them back up to the Soak City fence, so there is not much privacy when the water park is open. We had site 123 which backed up to the wave pool area and other than the workers cleaning the area with a leaf blower at 7:00 each morning it didn't bother us. We actually spent most of our time in the park while we were there, so the visitors to Soak City didn't bother us at all either. If you are staying in Camper Village, there are only electric hook-ups and to get water, you have to go to the restroom building. Also, if you reserve a back-in site, try and request one on the outer circle, otherwise other campers will have to walk through your site to get to the restroom building as there aren't any walk through areas for the inner circle sites other than the campsites themselves. I felt bad every time I went to the restroom building as I had to walk through 2 or 3 occupied campsites on the way. The restrooms were cleaned regularly and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is definitely overpriced for what you get, but when you compare the cost to staying in one of the resort hotels it's definitely a better deal! Also, it was very nice and economical to be able to come back to our camper for a late lunch and a quick rest during the afternoon. We are looking forward to returning next year for another visit to one of our favorite amusement parks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$69
We have been coming to Cedar Point for years and this was our first stay in this campground. This campground is what the reviews say it is. We had an electric only site in the older section of the campground. The sites in the older section are very small and crammed together, but they are paved and level with plenty of shade. We fortunately had an end site that was well shaded and a little larger than most sites in the older section. The restrooms and showers were old and fairly clean, but not spotless. The newer section of the campground has full hookup sites that are a little larger and have more updated restrooms and showers. You can’t have bikes or campfires. This is basically a place to sleep and rest when visiting the park. You pay for the convenience of being able to walk into the parks directly from your campsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Good park if you want to just have a home base for Cedar Point. Not much to do at the campground. VERY close to highway, and security wasn't great. Sites were a bit tight. Camp store VERY sparse, and it's a drive to a WalMart or Meijer to get supplies. As I said, good "base camp" if you plan to spend much of your day away from camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$84
We have been coming to Cedar Point for many years, but this is the first year in a RV. If your site is too close to the park the noise from the coasters is quite loud. But if you love roller coasters this is the place for you. No open fires are allowed at your site. They have swimming pools and access to the beach, and we saw some guys fishing off the pier. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$71
Nice campground, great perks. Close to the park and early entry to Cedar Point. We like staying here because of the convience. You and take a break from the park, eat lunch and cool down before heading back out for more fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$80
This lives up to its name as a Resort. If you love roller coasters and such you will love this campground. We did not use the amusement park since it was cold and rainy. Opting instead for a lovely drive along the lake. The campground is well manicured and very clean. We had a tire problem and the Resort maintenance came and helped us - wow, I had to twist his arm to give him a tip. 2 complaints would be that it is loud due to the roller coasters, and you can not get a lake site since they have cabins all along the lake front We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$80
Great location if you are spending the day at Cedar Point. Free shuttles or a 5-10 minute walk across the parking lot to the back entrance to the park. The pool was open, even in October. Eveything is paved and level. The back- in sites in the newer section seemed larger, though louder due to being closer to the main road and rollercoasters. Cute cabin and cottage rental available for friends traveling without rvs. It was very nice to be able to come back to the motorhome after 14 hours at the park while everyone else was stuck in traffic trying to leave at the end of the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$1
Extremely clean CG right at the base of the roller coasters at Cedar Point. Very sterile looking though - not like a normal CG more of a resort. We were at site 238 which was next to “Mean Streak” roller coaster. Good site but it was still a long walk to the park. If you go, look to stay in sites 284-321. This is a little closer to the park. We went to a bath house close to the swimming pool, to shower one morning, and the showers were terrible. They were dirty, and the drains were blocked so you showered in a couple inches of water. There is another very modern bathhouse in section 284-321. Needless to say, we showered there from that point on. Great long cement pads at each site that could fit a camper and truck. Fantastic amusement park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$60
We got a pull through site which gave us much more room. Rained the whole day & they were nice about letting us transfer our time to another stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$70
The newer area of Lighthouse Point has a new bath house and it was in great shape. Parking on the cement pad was a breeze and worked out great for the two nights we were there. The 'camper village' one was cleaner this year than last. I had the same "SLOW" check-in procedure and lost valuable "line waiting" time in the park. If my family does this again, I will arrive early in the morning, register and park the rig in the lot until check-in time. The extra cost for 'tickets' was a waste. We entered an hour early and nothing was running with the start up maintenance just getting under way. I would do it again but plan differently! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$80
Great family campground. Large heated pool with hot tub. Campground store stocked with basics. One thing we noticed was the bathrooms were not very clean. They need to be cleaned more frequently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$65
A very nice RV resort. A little noisy but thats due to the proximity to the roller coasters in the park. Be prepared to wait in a long line to check in. If you get there early and want to park and go to the amusement park the overflow lot fills up fast and I got mildly hassled by an attendant at the lot across the street for the Cedar Point water park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$65
Sites shaded, but on the small size but understandable due to the space available. Water is available at bathhouse in middle of circle but water is on the wrong side of the trailer if you pull in correct direction. Wonderful being within walking distance of Cedar Point and getting in an hour early and getting a 20 minute wait for the Maverick one day and Millennium Force the second. Price is expensive but the one day we ate at the park, we spent 100 dollars between lunch and dinner for five people and spending zero the second day as we ate at the trailer. Can use pool at lighthouse point but is a walk from Camper Village. Staff is friendly but check in can take a while and would recommend getting there early in the afternoon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We spent 3 nights in an "electric only" site here while we visited Cedar Point Amusement Park. I thought, "Wow, $60 per night for electric only"? But in retrospect it was worth it for the convenience in accessing the park and early ride times. My only complaint is that the staff were not the friendliest - we were rushed thru at check-in and no one told us where to fill our fresh water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$77
What a great stay, close to all the rides, able to walk the beach, swim, and a friendly staff. What more can you ask for. We already booked next year. Can't wait. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$85
It is a resort campground so it is expensive. The park is laid out well in the space available. We were disappointed in the lack of cleanliness in the bathrooms. Can't beat it for the easy access to the amusement park but the shuttle vans need to be replaced. They appear to be many years old and in need of repairs. Also would not expect a tip jar for drivers for an included service. Bottom line is there is room for improvement but if we visit Cedar Point Amusement Park in the future, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$60
Every year we debate on whether its worth the price to stay here ($60 for electric only!) but convenience always wins. Our site this year was in the back by the lake and the mayflies were terrible! The restrooms were as clean as could be considering it was prime mayfly time. There were 6 of us so the price evened out but I would not stay here if it were just the 2 of us. If you are spending several days at CP and SC this is the place for you. If you are only visiting CP for one day you may want to look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$75
Excellent for access to Cedar Point, but they're about to chase us away as the price increases every year. There are campgrounds right outside of Cedar Point that are as good and are much less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$60
Very friendly staff, clean & level sites, very large pull through sites, pools and hot tubs nice after a long day at the park, shuttle buses take you right to the gate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$63
This CG is good for what it is- a place to stay while doing the park and soak city. As for a "normal" CG it is way off. First and foremost your not allowed to ride your bike!! Come on! I've been to many CG and have yet to see a problem caused by a bike rider! The bathrooms were a mess at all times! Staff were business friendly only. English was a major problem at CG and park. Quiet time was fine and the camping area was fine. Good electric and water pressure. Shuttle vans were a big plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$52
Great place to camp and go to the park. Sites are tight in the older section and do not have water but being within walking distance of the front gate to the park is worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$65
Immaculate RV Park perfect for those who want to maximize their stay at Cedar Point or Soak City. Awesome pull thru sites with full hookups and picnic table, but no campfires allowed. Thrilling roller coaster noise gently floods your campsite. Convienient shuttle to park entrance or walk for about 5 minutes across a parking lot and you are through the gates! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$69
Great campground, well worth the money, well maintained! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$77
Very nice campground right next to the park. Only draw back is the price. Beauitful, well maintained, level sites. Nice pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$99
We paid $204.00 for two nights. This was for a pull through site, full hook ups, also included 4 tickets for Friday night and 2 tickets for Saturday. It was great to be in the shadow of the coasters. The price seems a bit steep until you look at the tickets to the park you get also. If you go here get one of the package deals from them on the web site. The only drawback was the bathrooms were a bit on the messy side. They could have been a bit cleaner to get a "10" from me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$50
This is really a clean campground. A little pricey, but check for a package deal and it helps. Also remember that it saves you from paying parking fees at the park. It is really nice to camp right under the coasters. Easy access, and campground guests get to go into the park an hour early. Will stay here again, kids will love it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$55
The $55 per night is for electric only, full hook-up is $72. Way over priced. Disney's Fort Wilderness is not that much! The shower curtains had green mold all over them. It took a phone call in the morning and then a personal appearance that evening to complain at the front desk to get them cleaned. The bathroom stalls constantly had paper towels all over the floor. The sites are level and while not huge, you did have some room between you and your neighbor. Check out is 1:00pm, we didn't check in until 7:30pm and there was still garbage (bones from chicken wings and beer bottle caps) from the previous campers on the site. The gnats were a huge problem - swarms af them everywhere. Easy access to Cedar Point is the only thing going for this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$64
We were in the newer, full hook-up section of Camper Village which extends into the Lighthouse Point (camper-cabin) area. Top-notch resort-type campground, extremely clean, well-kept, and landscaped. Uniformed, polite staff on duty until after 11pm and campstore open until 1 am. They even clean the grills every day! No campfires allowed. We walked 5-10 minutes to the waterpark and theme park, but shuttle-service is constant. Not a lot of shade in this newer section. I wouldn't do it in the summer without A/C. Our site backed-up to the road, so we had a LOT of people walking through our site (what's up with that, anyway? Don't folks know you're just not supposed to do that??). Some full hook-ups are literally UNDER the wooden roller-coasters which runs until close to midnight. If we were to stay there again, I'd get one of the pull-through sites, which are in their own section, very long, closer to the pool. All sites have level concrete pads AND large faux-slate patios. Hookup water was colorless/odorless. Campground pool was large by campground standards, adjacent was a large fountain/waterworks-valve area with cascading water, pool was always life-guarded. Just past the pool area is a large pier going out into Lake Erie. We saw beautiful sunsets and huge ships just a couple hundred yards from shore coming into Sandusky Bay - awesome!! The nearby Soak City water park has waist-deep adults-only pool with a well-staffed swim-up bar. Thought I died and went to Heaven. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$72
I have to rate this low because of the reservation system. We reserved a full hook up site only to arrive and have them tell us that we did not. After showing proof that we had, we ended up having to move 3 times before they got us on the right site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$72
My FAVORITE park on a cross country excursion and the last one before returning home. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN, friendly, beautiful large pull thru's (if you can get them) great electric, great scenery, pool, dock, Amusement Park. I cannot say enough about this park. We called a day ahead and they happened to have a cancellation on a premium pull thru site so we were lucky. I plan on staying again and making reservations for several nights. A good park even without the amusement park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$63
This is the nicest place we have ever been to. The parks are fantastic. It was like staying in our driveway at home with our camper. Beware of the mayflies. They were late this year and came to visit us on our second day. Other then that, this place was great! We loved it and can't wait to come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$66
We stayed at Camper Village in the newer section with full hook ups. We stayed 3 nights at the first of June. It is expensive $66 a night with full hookups, but worth it for the convenience. Cedar Point is pretty isolated from the town of Sandusky it takes a good 30 minutes to get off the island, go into town and find something to eat or a grocery store and the same to get back so forget about leaving for lunch unless you want to lose 1-2 hours. It is a well landscaped, clean campground. Every site has their own trash can emptied daily; they clean your ashes out of your grill daily if you BBQ. The best part of it for us was the ability to get up eat breakfast, walk into the entrance an hour early before park opens to the general public, get the big rides out of the way before it gets crowded, then go back to trailer eat lunch, then change into swimming attire and go to the water park which is even closer maybe 100 yds, the water park is really nice and all of it is heated alot. I wasn't expecting warm water in early June. Then after several hours go back to the trailer eat dinner, change clothes, and go back to Cedar Point for the remainder of the evening. Between the money I saved for meals for 5 of us at the park, and the daily parking fee of $10 that I would have had to pay if I stayed elsewhere, and the convenience it was well worth it to me, especially if you get the 2 Day Ride and Slide like we did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$72
What a great campground, very nice staff, very clean site with Concrete pads! You get in 1 hour early into the park. They have package deals for both parks and camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$70
This place was the greatest! Disney would roll over in his grave if he saw this place. Can't wait to go back with the wife and kids and dogs. LOVED IT! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$50
A bit pricy unless you stay as part of a package deal, then it's pretty reasonable. The sites are a little close together. Not quite sardine like, but closer than we prefer. We were on the end of a row and there was no one on the other side so it wasn't too bad. Plus we spent most of our time in the amusment park. It was great not having to get a locker or drive to another location at the end of long day from walking and standing in lines. My only real nit about it are the park maps. The one for the campground itself is OK, but it doesn't tell you where the restaurants and other things in the resort are nor the park entrances. The map for Cedar Point itself is cartoon like and hard to understand. This doesn't sound like a big deal, but when you're trying to find out how to get to an onsite restaurant, it's annoying. I would still highly recommend staying here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$70
This is one of the nicest RV parks that I have been to. The campgrounds are spotless. The staff has a can-do attitude. The new sites for 2004 are large, about an 80 -85 foot in length concert pad. The park is well patrolled with Cedar Point's own police force. When you stay in the RV-park, you get to enter the amusement park at 9 AM, 1 hour prior to the general public. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$68
This was a great park, we stayed in the newer section, paved sites and patios. Walk into the back of the park:) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2003
$69
We stayed in the original area of the campground, where there are electric only sites. The sites are close together and the landscaping is minimal. Updates are needed in this section. I'm very surprised at these comments--I think people are factoring the fun from the amusement park, which is fun! It is noisy, especially on the weekends as the roller coasters run late. Regardless, we had fun. I recommend the two day pass with water park included. That is very close to the campground and it is well done. All in all, we might have saved money by camping, as silly as that seems. We ate all our meals in the camper or on the picnic table and drank all our drinks there. That saved us lots of money. Besides, the food served at CP is not very good or healthy. It was fun to escape from CP to the camper. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$68
We camped here in August, 2003. Wonderful campground. Large pull through sites on concrete pad (70'). Each site separated with landscaping and each site has a slate patio with small charcoal grill. Each morning staff would clean out grill and also dust the picnic tables for spiders etc. My children thought they had gone to heaven being able to camp literally under the roller coasters. We were able to sit at our campsite and watch them all, anticipating the fun to come. Staying here is considered to be onsite by Cedar Point and entitles you to resort priviledges. Only downside, by the end of 5 day stretch, mom and dad had enough of "roller coaster noise". We are definitely adding Cedar Point to our coaster park circuit and will be back again to Lighthouse Point. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$66
This place was awesome. Right at the theme park and water park. Plus, had a nice pool for the kids. Trash was constantly being picked up by camp personnel. Large sites. This place was great! We're going back next year for a week! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com