221730 User submitted reviews online!!
Top O' The Caves was rated 4 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (800) 967-2434
CGID2222

Top O' The Caves

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   3   3   6   3   2   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We love Top of the Caves and try to stay here every year. It's close to many hiking trails in the beautiful Hocking Hills. This year, they had a little trouble with their water (ran out), so that was frustrating, but they corrected it within a day. I should mention that we usually don't have any problems here. The swimming pool gets crowded, but I guess that's expected. The weekend we stayed they had live music in their barn/arcade/game room. Overall, a great place. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
Campground itself is very well taken care of although some of the sites were not very clear as to where you needed to pull in (note sites 190-194). The bathrooms and shower houses were somewhat clean, but not taken care of from a maintenance standpoint and not heated. We chose not to shower at this facility, so therefore have no idea if the water was hot. The showers were poorly lit and a few had walls covered in mold and mildew, as well as no heat making taking a shower when it was below 50 degrees, not a pleasant thought. The staff was friendly, but we didn't see them much because it was still off season. At one point we were the only camper in the entire park. The roads are gravel and although they were well taken care of, they had not trimmed the trees. We have a very large camper making it impossible not to hit the branches and put scratches down our rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
After reading the previous posts I was somewhat reluctant to camp here. Good news! The campground has recently undergone some renovations in order to improve the camping experience. The gameroom has all new games, which were all working. The putt putt course has been taken care of and is also free, which we liked. The roads have been graveled recently. The people working the campground were very helpful and obviously care very much about improving the experience for all. We also enjoyed how convenient this place was to some of the attractions. We would definitely stay here again and after talking to one of the employees we got the impression that they were going to make improvements in the restrooms and showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2008
$26
Yuk. This place was run down and dirty. The roads were not taken care of with new gravel causing them to be muddy. The game room had nothing but OLD run down video games that hardly worked (some controllers bad). The putt-putt was covered with small pieces of gravel, weeds and the green carpet was old and torn up. The water kept turning orangish-brown and the pressure kept getting low enough to hinder a good shower. Graveyard nearby. Will never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
We made reservations over the web after calling them to see if we could stay one night instead of the required two on weekends. They allowed us to do so. The site we reserved had water and 30A electric. Our son and granddaughter went with us, so we ended up paying extra for each of them. The sites were small. We ended toward one end of a loop next to the seasonal campers. They were friendly enough, but there were numerous sites available - why crowd us up against the clique? The camp store was small with only a few items. The restrooms were quite bad. We chose not to take a shower. The pool was closed for the season, so I cannot speak to that. Our granddaughter is too young to use play facilities, so we didn't get too close of a look, but what we saw was not at all impressive. I would not recommend this unless it gets cleaned up or nothing else is available. Too bad, there is so much to do in this area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
Very friendly staff. Fresh water to trailer had a yellow tint to it. The water pressure dropped down to almost nothing on one night. Pond had fish in it but you could only get to about 20 feet of the shore line to fish it due to the cattails. The "game room" had about 12 games in it with only half of them working. The pool closes what we thought was early (8 pm) for summer hours. They pick up your bag of trash for you if you set it out along the road in the early a.m. The staff helps you find your site and even helps you back in when you get there. The staff checks the area by golf cart quite often making you feel that they care about what is going on there. Thats a plus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Let me first say that we stayed here 7-8 years ago and thought things were fine. This time was a mess. I reserved a site with water and electric about a week before my trip through their web site. When checking in, they said they did not have a site for the four nights I had reserved but I could have a site with electric only. They said that the web site does not keep up with their reservations (so why keep a web site in the first place???). We decided to cut our vacation short and stay the first two nights that both electric and water were available (We needed both for the 90 degree days we were having). The bathrooms were one of the worst I had ever seen at a campground. My one son held off going #2 for a day because of the conditions in the bathrooms. The toilets were not clean and they had spiders, wasps, or other bugs on or around them. The showers were just as bad. It's a good thing we had a shower in our camper because there is no way we could have showered there. They had two bath/shower houses that were both just as bad. Having a pool was nice but it was also in bad shape. You could see all of the rough patch work around the pool and there were some chunks missing from the bottom of the pool when swimming. My biggest complaint with the pool was that they didn't open until noon. It was 93 degrees outside and very humid but they wouldn't open the pool any earlier. The night before we left, a heavy rain came through and the electricity throughout the campground went out. So, we had no electricity or water for about five hours. Or course the pool couldn't be opened during the downtime because of the filters needing to be run. My kids were very upset because they only got to swim once. They didn't like the playground either (it was very outdated). It's a good thing we spent a lot of time at the local attractions. Sites were small. It seems like everyone was pushed together. On top of everything else, the circuit for our 30 amp hookup was bad. We ended up routing our electric to a 20 amp hookup at the next site because of this. This campground has a good location; it's too bad they can't perform some upkeep to their facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
We camped at Top O' The Caves in July of 2005. Our experience was okay. We reserved an electric tent site beforehand, but when we arrived there were no electric sites available. Then we reserved a site for Memorial Day weekend 2007 about a month in advance. Our credit card was immediately charged for 1/2 of the stay. One week and 1/2 before our trip we saw that the credit card had been credited the amount originally charged. We never received an email or phone call as to why. When we called to inquire the man on the phone said they had over booked the campground. He was very rude on the phone and didn't seem to be bothered that they ruined the vacation of 4 returning customers. Now we are very hard pressed to find a campsite with this short notice on a holiday weekend. We are disgusted with our experience and would not recommend this campground to anyone. Very disappointed! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2005
$29
We were really disappointed in this campground. It was very run down. We were there early in the season, but if we had reserved a site, they should have at least had it ready for us. The picnic table on the site was upside down and when we flipped it, it was covered with mud, worms, and bugs. Besides, grass had grown all up around and through it. Sites were very uneven. Restrooms were the worst I have ever seen, and that includes "pit toilets." My son was scared of them. Luckily we only stopped to use the facilities as we were pulling out. I would have gone all weekend without bathing rather than use those showers. The benefit was that it right in the heart of the hiking of Hocking Hills. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Reserved two weeks prior to my arrival and paid full amount for full hook up site with credit card when making reservation. When arriving at campground was told to take any site and found all full hook up sites (20) all ready taken some with tents. Several campers dogs were wandering around loose, Roads listed as gravel were muddy (first day of rain in 30 days). When I complained about no full hook up sites was told take any site and most campers would be leaving the next day and I could then move to full hook up site. Sites were also poorly marked and many campers were taking more than one site. We decided to leave early and when finding the owner he did refund fees for next two days. This park needs more oversight and control and needs to establish rules (it has none and no handouts when checking in). Recommend you stay at Hocking Hills State Park about 3 miles away from this campground unless you need water and sewer hook ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Small, busy campground. Sites were small & close together. Ours (open site) was so close to the next that our sewer hook-up was nearly underneath their trailer. I would suggest requesting the shaded section to the left of the campstore next time. Small clean pool. Campstore stocked with usual items & some gift items. Showers need updating, pull-chain type & dark inside. Definite iron content in water resulted in yellowing & slight smell when heated. Gameroom and mini-golf available. Fire rings are buried in the ground so can be difficult to get started (especially when wet - we were there when raining). Rentable cabins of various sizes sleep anywhere from 2-10. Walking distance to Ash Cave & close to Old Man's Cave & Cedar Falls. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com