214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Austin Lake Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (740) 544-5253
CGID2229

Austin Lake Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   7   8   9   2   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
When we phoned for a reservation the manager warned us about the steep downhill entrance to the park, but he forgot to mention the rough road. The park has many seasonal sites, and the friendly manager introduced us to a nearby camper. He also made sure our site was suitable for us. We had excellent WI-FI, and the restrooms, showers, and laundry were very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We try to visit a different campground each time we go. There are very few that I want to visit twice, except this one. Fabulous! I agree that the road going in is narrow, but we had no issue with our 41 ft coach. There is so much to do here. I liked that you could buy an arm band which enabled you to use all the equipment. The campground is huge and the sites are so spacious and level. Tree limbs were not an issue, yet we had a shady spot. If you have a gas powered golf cart, you would get your use out of it due to the many roads. Each section/pod has it own playground with unusual equipment. American Bald Eagles have a nest nearby and they fly over the lake by the marina. The owners and campers are all so friendly and we had good conversation with several. An adult could easily bike here as the roads are level. We learned the hard way NOT to depend on the ole GPS. Use the directions the campground provides! Give this one a try and you will be pleased. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We stayed here over Memorial Weekend. We stayed in Keyhole which is the primitive section. There is plenty of space and shade. This is a very nice campground with a owner that cares about how your stay is. At night he patrols the campground at quiet hours and makes sure that no one is being too loud. There are plenty of playgrounds for kids. The beach is very nice as well as the rug slide, and pedal carts. The fishing in the ponds is very good as well with some nice size fish in them. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The bottom line is either good or bad depending on your tastes: access to this park is terrible. It's miles from anything. Frankly, this is not a big rig friendly park and far from a motor coach resort. This is old school, remote CAMPing. It's rough in a quaint sort of way but there is so very much to do. Read their website for the details. These people are salt of the earth and fantastic in every way. Come here for an old-school, family camping experience. Do not come here for a couple nights on a long trip across the country. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
This campground has great facilities and a gracious friendly host. It now has Wi-Fi at site and 2 TV channels. Scenically it is very pleasant and of course it has no competition as there really isn't another place to stay in the area, unless you want to use a Wal-Mart parking lot. I gave it an 8 because it has nice facilities. However. The road here is horrible, one-lane wide and no passing zones, and it is about 2 miles long. We did not meet anyone passing us but it was major worrisome. There are private homes on the access road too which could increase traffic. We would not camp here again because of the road, and it is really in the middle of nowhere. If you want to bring children and have a fun, quiet time, then it would be great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This is one of our favorite parks, for the reasons the previous poster did not like it! I love not having cell or tv, that way work cannot contact me and the kids are forced to play outside instead of watching tv all day. The owner goes out of his way to make sure eveyone is enjoying themselves. I like that the road down is a little hairy, if it wasn't then getting a site here would be next to impossible. 2 miles from the front of the campground to the back, for the most part seasonals kept separate from weekenders, huge tenting area. Bathrooms in the middle of the campground recently redone, not sure about the ones near the lake. Laundry facilities and a snack bar. When we want to get away from the world and just relax for the weekend this is where we go. If you are looking for a resort, this is not the place. If you are looking to get back to nature and "camping", this is your place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
Let's start with why I rated this park so low 1. No cell phone service. There is a phone booth in the middle of the park for everyones use, other than that you are out of luck 2. No tv reception and no cable, you need a dish for any tv reception 3. Bathrooms, or lack thereof, there are outhouses located in the park, that are disgusting for your use. It's sad that an RV park with such a wonderful location could be so out of date and in such a state of disrepair. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
I would rate this campground higher if the road access was better. The hill you need to descend to the campground is steep and narrow. Of course, the campground owner doesn't have any ability to fix the county roads. The owner is readily available and goes out of his way to make your visit as pleasant as possible. This owner knows the importance of keeping his customer happy. We enjoyed our stay and would return to this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
Shhhhhh: keep this a secret! We found Austin Lake a few years ago. I was at an RB shop in Madison, Ohio and saw a fluorescent yellow brochure for a campground I had never heard of before. Decided to check it out and have been going back a few times a year since. We are not resort type campground people, preferring nature over glitz, and let me tell you, this is the only private campground we have been to that is like a state park. You will not get phone service and you may not get radio or TV, which adds to the beauty of this place. You truly can get away for the weekend and just enjoy yourself. The owner is one of the nicest people you could meet. The "seasonals" do not treat you like they own the park but rather welcome you. Our kids have never had a difficult time finding things to do, but they also enjoy exploring, biking, swimming, hiking, etc. I just can't say enough about this campground, but shhh, don't let the word get out. Let's keep this our little secret, okay? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
While RVing for the past nineteen years we stayed at 830 campgrounds throughout the country. We rate Austin Lake Park Campground, our 815th, in the top ten for a place to spend the summer. The friendly and helpful staff made the month we stayed there a happy and memorable vacation. If people are looking for a seasonal park in an exceptionally nice setting we highly recommend this great summer retreat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$24
Nice park for families with older kids who are into the boating, fishing, skiing. Not much to do with younger kids, and the playgrounds are cheap as if they were afterthoughts. You have to pay to fish the big lake but the small bluegill ponds are free. The road down the hill to the campsite is tight, winding and extremely rough. You better have good brakes and engine if you are going to get up and down to this campground. Campsites are nice and shaded and most of them back up to a small creek. Might consider going back once kids are older. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com