206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails Preserve / Wilmington was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (937) 382-5883
CGID2236

Thousand Trails Preserve / Wilmington

Camp Information
Sites
173
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   6   7   10   7   7   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
Nice and clean park, hard to get a sewer site as they are mostly taken by seasonal campers, which is not what Thousand Trails was set up as. Park grounds kept very clean, well cared for. The pool is indoors which is nice but in dire need of a paint job, you could feel the paint flaking off the bottom. Wi-Fi only at the lodge which is usual for TT parks but got slower as more were on it. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon and were told that there was only one full hook up site left. We went straight to it and claimed it. The reason there is a shortage is because, as is common for Thousand Trails, they have sold so many sites to seasonals. The preserve is nice - wooded and hilly. Using my cell booster I had solid 4G. We were in loop A and had a poor connect to park Wi-Fi. We were there over Independence Day and there were plenty of activities scheduled. Some got rained out, but that's certainly not the park's fault. On Sunday some of the seasonal residents brought in a couple of gospel quartets for a concert. It was very good. You want A or C loop. You really don't want B for anything other than a short stay. It is the original park with tighter sites, no sewer hookups or even restrooms. While there we especially enjoyed a day at the National Museum of the USAF. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$0
Thousand Trails rate. The campground re-opened April 19 for the current season, and much remains to be done in the way of maintenance. Unusually heavy rainfall has brought some muddy and soft conditions to some roads and campsites. B-Loop is water and electric, C-loop full hookups and treed, A-loop has some water and electric sites and some full hookup sites and most are open for satellite needs. There is a high number of annual sites which makes finding a good site a real challenge. The campground does have ponds but there are no waterfront sites, only view sites. Wi-Fi is weak at best and available only in the store/office area 12 PM to 7 PM daily. Our wireless hotspot pulled in a strong signal. A neighboring site daily left a little dog alone during extended times away from the campground and the dog barked continuously until the owners returned. The campground is understaffed. Some power pedestals are inconsistent; #49 spiked to 139 votls and our EMS automatically disconnected until the voltage returned to normal. Pool/Spa should be opening for the holiday weekend. This is a quiet and well located campground. We would return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$0
This is a very nice campground with decent roads and well kept sites. The grass is kept cut by a contract service and looks very nice. The Verizon signal is only 2 bars but it does work, as does the Mi-Fi, and we had a strong Dish satellite signal. Since we arrived a few days after Labor Day we found that there were NO activities scheduled, no food service, the beautiful indoor pool was being drained and the hot tub was out of service! Many of the sites are occupied by long term renters who only take up sites without being here. I know Thousand Trails needs money for maintenance but this is not what many of us bought into. The staff were certainly friendly enough although they didn't have much to do that we could see. There are no 50 amp sites but the 30 amp service was quite good as was the water and sewer service. This is a nice area to visit and we would stay here again while in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
We stayed here for 5 days in our motorhome. The hot tub was a welcome relief after a few days of driving. We found the showers, laundry room, and adult and family lodges clean and in good working order. Like many TT campgrounds, many sites are reserved and occupied by long termers, but everyone was friendly and neighborly. Many families were here and the campground was full, but not loud or noisy. There were many pets camping with families, but no problems were evident. I didn't see the previously mentioned owl lady. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
The park is very quiet and there are quite a few people there. There did seem to be a large number of retirees there but there were plenty of kids for my son to play with. The restrooms/showers were cleaned regularly but could use some updating. The staff was great and very friendly. The best thing there was the Owl Lady. She has a Barred Owl call that will bring them running. Every night there would be 3-6 of them flying around. It was great. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
Better then average T.T. park, but not very many satellite friendly sites. If you like shade, this is the place for you. A/C power better than most T.T. parks, but still no 50 amp sites. While we were there some moron with a weed wacker trimmed around all the power/water posts and sprayed the RVs with grass and rocks. I was so mad I couldn't see straight. Nothing like getting your paint all chipped up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$1
Pool and hot tub not in service while we were here (opening week for the season). Three fishing lakes. Fair Verizon data & voice. Fair air TV. Level gravel sites. No cost to Thousand Trails members. About $40 for non members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Better maintained than most Thousand Trails parks, but still needs lots of work. For instance, the doors at the indoor pool are always kept open because the handle latches don't work. What a concept, how about fixing the latches? So as a result, the indoor pool area was always full of flies and other insects, and the pool was dirty as a result. Campsites are generally very large, though not all are full hookup so you have to look around for one of those. Staff is very helpful. Grounds are mowed on a regular schedule (unlike some other Thousand Trails CGs) and there are nice flowering plants around the park. Convenient to Dayton, lots to do there. Near Caesar Creek SP also. Would definitely stay here again, the pros outweigh the cons. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Beautiful park. Very well maintained. Loved our stay. The only drawback is most of the best sites are taken by long term lease. Didn't use to be that way. Not a fan of that. But, enough sites available that we got a nice one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$0
Fantastic park in the TT system. This was our 1st visit and loved it, just be careful if you have a large MH or 5th wheel, the back section has a pretty steep gravel grade to go down or up, all 6 of our 5th wheel wheels were sliding and locked all the way down it, just go easy. But over all it's a great place to see, and easy access to Ceaser's crk flea market and close enough to town to enjoy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
This is a very clean and well kept park. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is easy access from the Interstate. Will definitely stay here again. From site 27, I was able to use the park's wifi from my trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
This is a nice Thousand Trails park. Our phone worked but not our computer EDVO card however we managed to get a site close enough to the Welcome Center (where the wireless is located) to pick up the signal in our rig. Good activity schedule in the park and quite a bit nearby--flea market, pioneer park less than ten miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$01
A nice Thousand Trails campground. Typically clean and reasonably maintained. Convenient to freeway, but not a lot of activity in the immediate area. Wilmington, OH is not much for a college town. Very pleasant, helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$1
A well secured private park (membership only) just two miles from the interstate. Plenty of weekend activities plus a few daily activities during the week. Restrooms and showers were spotless. Friendly campers throughout the reserve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$1
This is a membership resort, we were invited to visit and listen to the sales pitch. I remember this CG from the 60's when it was called Hillside Haven. It is larger then I remember, but for the most part, still the same. I gave it a low overall rating over the pool. We have small kids, under 10, and they did not know about the "Adult Swim" times. They were told to leave the pool. I had to listen to kids complain that they were not allowed to swim. I did not buy into Thousand Trails, and may never do so now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$2
Many on-site storage units, but many sites available on a first come basis. Quiet peaceful well maintained park. Large indoor pool. Convenient to Dayton and Cincinnati. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$29
This is a Thousand Trails Preserve between Wilmington & Waynesburg. Large sites, only 2 pull-thrus but back-in sites are spacious. Indoor pool, 2 lakes, clean laundry facilities. Store did not seem as big as it could have been. Grass needed cut. There were workers doing grass and trimming but they seemed to be shorthanded. Would go there again. Nice park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com